Consumer Health Benefits Association Complaints & Reviews

Consumer Health Benefits AssociationFTC Cases Opened - Unauthorized Charge to Credit Card

I worked for a company for 27 years and was laid off due to a change in contract. I retained my health benefits during my six months severance period, but after that they ceased. I couldn't find another job and I couldn't afford the astronomical cost of individual health coverage, so I went looking for a more affordable alternative. That's when I found CHBA. They charged the credit card I designated $129.95 per month for their discount plan. I didn't have any health situations that required doctor, ER or hospital visits, but I did use it for prescriptions. It worked okay for that.

I got a job in April and became eligible for their insurance coverage on 7/9/2010. I called them on 6/28/10 to see about cancelling my coverage. They had already billed me for 7/2010. I expected this and was okay with it. They told me to call back on 7/20/2010 to cancel coverage before August was billed. I don't understand why I had to call back, but I didn't make an issue of it. I called on 7/20/10. They had a record of my previous call. They asked their questions, I answered them and they assured me that the plan was cancelled and no further charges would be added to my credit card. I checked my account on 8/2/10 and discovered that on 7/30/10, they had billed me for $129.95 again after assuring me on 7/20/10 that this would not happen. I called them immediately and had to leave a message. They called me back. They agreed that the charge was in error. The person I spoke with said she would forward it to a supervisor to be reversed and this would take 7-10 days.

I monitored my account, but the charge did not get reversed. It still isn't reversed. In the meantime, I have attempted to contact them eight times. Twice I was able to leave messages, but they were not returned. The other six times I got the VM message which listed their business hours and gave their web site as a reference. Then it said to leave a message including my name, group number, and issue after the tone. Then it said the mailbox was full and couldn't take any more messages. Finally it said, "An error has occurred."

My final call took place today. I dialed the CBHA toll free number and instead of getting their message, I got a message from the FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION (FTC)! This message states that three cases have been opened againsts CHBA for false advertising and other offenses.

After listening to the FTC messages, I called my credit card company. I had already opened a dispute with them when I couldn't get through to the CHBA telephone number. My credit card company is taking the charge off my card.

If CHBA has defrauded you or owes you money, you may want to call [protected] and listen to the FTC message to see what to do about it.

Good luck!

  • Ak
    akailiajade Sep 02, 2010

    Addendum:

    On 8/31/2010, I was contacted by Tese & Milner Llp Law Office. I Googled them. This is a law firm in Greenwich Village in NYC. The guy told me they were participating in the actions against CHBA and wanted to know if I had cancelled my plan with them. I said yes and briefly told him what had happened to me. He assured me that he was noting that I had cancelled my coverage and I that I should receive no further bills.

    My credit card company reversed the unauthorized charge that CHBA made on 7/30/10 and is aware of the situation. So as far as I can tell, I shouldn't have any further problems regarding CHBA.

    By the way, here's a link to the FTC page that details that lawsuits that have been brought by them against CHBA:

    http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2010/08/hustle1.shtm

    Good luck to you in straightening out whatever issues you may have with CHBA.

    0 Votes

Consumer Health Benefits AssociationFraud and lies

Just a few minutes ago a man named Gary from Consumer Health Benefits Association contacted me over the phone trying to sell me what he said was a health insurance plan. It was in response to an inquiry I filled out online. He was somewhat pushy and wanted me to make a decision on the spot and pay over the phone. He said this was a special deal only made available to the public once a year and today was the last day of the offer. I first asked very clearly if this was a HEALTH INSURANCE plan or a MEDICAL DISCOUNT plan. He said this was most definately a HEALTH INSURANCE PPO. I then asked if there was a website I could go to to review the details of the plan benefits. He said it was under construction and there wasn't one right now.He asked if I had access to a fax machine, and only after i told him I did not, he said too bad because he could have faxed me some information. I asked if he could please e mail the same information, he said it it would take to much of his time. Strange, wouldn't someone trying to sell a policy want to make the sale by taking a little time to email someone details. He then wanted to talk to my husband because in his words, ' I really need to speak to the decision maker' I had already told him we make decisions together, as if he thought a woman wasn't capable of doing it. He said well if you don't want this or need it I guess... ok give me your number I said, I will call you back. My husband is still asleep from working night shift. We'll talk it over when he gets up.He gave me the phone number. But I came straight downstairs to my computer and did a search for this company. What I found didn't surprise me. There are lots of complaints on many sites. I also found through the consumer complaints that this is most definately NOT a health insurance plan but a discount program. I'm just glad I checked it out for my self and didn't let this man push me into buying anything. If something sounds to good to be true it probably is, like the $129.95 monthly premium they were offering for our family of 6 with preexisting conditions. He also told me that they have worked with somelarge national companies like SC JOhnson and some others I cant remember( not sure if he was trying to insinuate they provide coverage for them or what). Frankly if I was on of these large companies I would be very upset to know my company name was being used in this guys sales pitch. So please check out all details before you buy anything. I will not be doing any kind of business with Consumer Health Products Association.

Consumer Health Benefits Associationrip-off

This is a rip-off. salesman came into our home for over 1 hour telling of thew great savings on medical, dental and vision care. over 200 per month have tried to use it 3x in the past year, no luck... I need to travel ove 30 miles to use their so called network providers, for a $5.00 savings. This was suppose to supplement my medicare coverage but cannot use for my local physicans or hospital. Called the program yesterday to try and use for dental and vision. No help can not speak to a supevisor they do not accept calls, the reps will take a message for someone to call when they have time! Read the guarantee which states that if you do not save more than paid for a year can receive a refund or anothe year for free. Tried to speak to someone and they told me I had not used it enough, so of course, no refund... Still no phone call back from a supervisor, will keep trying.. Told them I wanted to cancel, they told me I wa covered to the 15th of next month, best part the cancellation would take effect today, so they still get 25 days of coverage for essentially free, a penalty clause.

Consumer Health Benefits AssociationFraud and cheating!

I was contacted today by an agent for Consumer Health Benefits Association named Daniel Cintron. I have been searching for health care coverage because I am on Social Security Disability Income and do not qualify for Medicare and Medicaid. I have been denied by several major health care companies due to my disability and the amount of my total prescriptions.
I was thrilled when Daniel Cintron contacted me. He informed me I was approved for "health care benefits". He talked so fast that I had not had time to digest where he had gotten my personal information. I of course accepted without doing any internet research. He informed I could continue to see my current doctors.

When I had a moment, I googled the company's name and well, freaked out. I read so many complaints on-line about this company. Also, I looked through their provider directory. Obviously my current doctors were not listed. I wondered how could I see my current doctors if their not listed. I then decided to call some of these doctors and find out some information. The first doctor's office I called had not heard of Consumer Health Benefits Association and placed me on hold to confirm with the office employee who handled medical claims. She too had not heard of the program or company and wondered why they would be listed as a provider. I called a second number and it was disconnected with no forwarding number. I called a third number and it was too disconnected. I called a fourth and it was a personal residence. I called a fifth and it was a local business not related to health care industry. I called a sixth and it was a doctor's office not even related to the listed doctor. This company is a scam and when I called back to cancel my membership, Daniel informed me that I had to submit in writing that I wanted to cancel, and hung up on me. I didn't get an address and imagine that, they do not have an address listed on their website.

Beware!

  • La
    Larry C.Miller Dec 21, 2007

    A man called my 82 year old widowed mother on Dec.13,2007 representing himself as an employee of her bank and asked her the number of her last check she had written. She gave it to him and he hung up. She became suspicious and immediately went to her bank and reported the phone call. The bank had no employees by the name of the man who called her. The bank immediately froze her checking account. That night an electronic debit was charged against her frozen account by Consumer Health Benefits Association for $399.00. This money never came out of her account due to the fact the bank had stopped all transactions on the account. The bank arranged for her to have a new account with a new number. The bank gave my mother a zerox copy of the attempted debit by Consumer Health Benefits Association with their customer service phone number. I called the number and told the man who answered that I was inquiring about the Consumer Health Benefits Association. He told me that he answered several companies phones and that this was just one of the companies. I told him what had happened to my mother and that the bank had notified the FBI. At that point the man who answered the phone became very agitated and stated that there was no cause to make this a legal thing and wanted my mother's phone number and address.I gave him neither and hung up. I am a retired State Investigator with the Alabama Attorney General's Office and I spent the last 14 years of my career in the White Collar Crime Division. I know a scam when I see one. I believe the appropriate authorities in Florida or wherever should initiate a criminal investigation into the Consumer Health Benefit Association before they take anymore money from elderly ladies who cannot afford to be ripped off.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    diana Apr 08, 2008

    Hi Michelle:

    I too was taken in by these people, and boy, are they good! I consider myself an intelligent woman, but they gave me the "bum's rush" and also I wasn't feeling well, after having been on antibiotics. So, I was in a weakened state when the sharks moved in "for the kill"!

    To make a long story short, I got my money back. All you need to do is contact the attorney general for your state and foward all the information to that office. Usually, there are online forms you can e-mail to them.

    While I don't know if its totally illegal, the way this company presents itself IS unethical. Within the time of the one phone call I had with them, I was told I was being offered "insurance" and then "health benefits." So, clearly they can't keep the story straight.

    Trust me - if you threaten with action from the state consumer board and the attorney general, you WIll get results and more than likely a complete refund.

    It worked for me, and I wish you success in your efforts.

    0 Votes

Consumer Health Benefits Association — What a fraud!

Below is a copy of my complaint to the BBB against Consumer Health Association. As stated in the complaint. I...

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem