Rehm Animal Clinic Logo

Rehm Animal Clinic

Having problems with Rehm Animal Clinic?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

+1 251 300 5347 (Hillcrest Road, Mobile, AL)
+1 251 633 7292 (Schillinger Road, Mobile, AL)
+1 251 661 6560 (Service Road, Mobile, AL)
+1 251 964 7501 (Loxley, AL)
951 Hillcrest Road
Mobile, Alabama
United States - 36695
Mon7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tue7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wed7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thu7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Fri7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sat7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
SunClosed
Schillinger Road, Mobile, AL
75 N Schillinger Road, Mobile, Al 36608
 
Service Road, Mobile, AL
5352 Hwy 90 W Service Road, Mobile, Al 36619
 
Loxley, AL
12481 Co Rd 64, Loxley, Al 36551

Complaints & Reviews

Rehm Animal Clinic — Money Hungry

I have used Rehm for several years for any issue other than routine vaccines, my biggest complaint used to be...

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Rehm Animal ClinicPoor Service, WITH Mouthy, Neck Bobbing Receptionist

My puppy (may as well be my CHILD) recently broke her leg [3/30/2012]. With this being my first broken bone experience on an animal OR human, I was in quite a state of despair. Upon arriving at Rehm Animal Clinic, I was quickly moved to a room, where a technician (I assume) came in, asked what happened and quickly gave my pup pain medication and ultimately a sedative, to take x-rays. A young lady (long dirty blond hair) then came in, also asked what happened. I told her, the pup jumped off my lap and screamed in pain and here we are. She NEVER introduced herself OR identified herself as a VETERINARIAN! I asked her what to expect. She said they could do x-rays, but that they were to busy to "take care of" my puppy...couldn't I see that all their rooms were full and they couldn't "deal" with my broken leg until Monday morning. I was in such shock from her attitude and the $350 estimate, JUST THROUGH the x-rays, that i told her just give me my pup and we will go elsewhere. She left the room, with the door SLAMMING. I was dumbfounded that these PROFESSIONALS were not more sympathetic, empathetic OR compassionate.

THEN, the fun REALLY began with the receptionist. She was speaking in a calm monotone voice, but with attitude in the way she was bobbing her head back and forth, insisting that I HAD seen a vet, that as soon as I walk in the door of the clinic, I have to pay the office visit fee. I had to sign a waver saying I was leaving against medical advice. She told me I should calm down and treat her with respect. That she had a right to be treated with respect (head bobbing).

I had been to Rehm once before this incident, and they were great, but WAY overpriced. I can assure you, I WILL NOT be back. yOU are supposed to be the calm in the storm - not antagonists, egging on our stress and anxiety. Shame on you Rehm. Consider sending your employees to some personnel training sessions, mandate that your veterinarians INTRODUCE themselves and teach them how to be compassionate towards the stressed/anxious/owners in DESPAIR over the fact that their BELOVED FAMILY MEMEBER is in the middle of a crisis.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Tt
      Ttbmm Jul 15, 2012
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      I apologize for the negative response you received from our clinic. We strive to provide the best medical treatment to your pet during each and every visit. I will look into this matter and correct any issues that are not supported by our owners. If you would like to speak to a manager or owner, please call the clinic so we can resolve any issues.

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Rehm Animal ClinicVET CARE

    We took our poodle to Rehm animal clinic on Hillcrest Road in Mobile on October 28. 2010 as we thought he was having trouble having a bowel movement. We learned that he had more trouble than that according to the vet, Dr Chris Rehm. He told us that our dog had heart, kidney and back problems as well as needing to have his teeth cleaned and that he had tape worms and needed to be dewormed and an IV as well. We have had our poodle since he was 8 weeks old and he now was 11 years old. It true that you get very attached to an animal and yet a vet should not play with emotions as he did and as the staff did. I asked if he was dying and if so how long? I was told that he can be cured and that he could live another 2 to 3 years with treatment. I told them to treat hin and they did...as well as treated themselves to CASH. We left that day with a bill of 615.00 and came home and started giving the meds. On Saturday the 30th of October 2010 he was worse and I called the vet and he told me he wanted to put him on three more meds and that I can pick them up and they would help him even more...Well he helped himself to another 215.00.
    My Poodle DIED at 8:10 Sunday morning and I am glad that we were all there around him as to let him know how much he was loved and stilled loved and will forever be missed but never forgoton.
    Rehms knew he was dying and yet never advisored us of this..TO THEM IT IS ALL ABOUT HOW MUCH MONEY I WILL NEVER EVER GIVE THEM ANY KIND OF REC.

    VET CARE

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Cj
        C. J. Rehm Nov 10, 2010

        I am responding to a complaint about "Noodles", a poodle we saw for the first time on Thursday October 28, 2010. Noodles was a sweet, loving dog that was presented to my office for constipation. Upon examination I discovered Noodles had numerous problems, as the anonymous author of the complaint noted. Physical exam showed a very infected mouth of long duration, there was pus in the gums, horrible hallitosis, and abscessed teeth. Noodles had an advanced heart murmur, a grade V on a VI points scale. He had tapeworms and a pustular skin infection on the rear legs. He had good color ing his gums, and decent muscle mass for a dog his age. Radiographs (xrays) showed that Noodles had a large heart with flluid at the base of the heart, signs of congestive heart failure. Also, they showed severe inflammation and spur formation of the lumbar spine, a very painful arthritis and disc disease of the lower spine. Xrays also showed a very large liver. Blood test were consistent with chronic kidney and liver disease. I would never offer the possibility of a cure for a presentation like this. I recommended fluid therapy with vitamins, nausea and antacid medications for the kidney and liver problems. We treated the intestinal parasites. We offered to hospitalize Noodles but the owner declined. We gave out patient care, fluids, antibiotics for gum and skin infections, heart medications, oral hygiene drops and asked the owners to call if any problems or questions as we are open until midnight and have 24 hours critical on site 24/7/365. They could come back anytime before the scheduled medical progress exam, Monday 11/1 if needed! I gave their dog a guarded prognosis and I gave the owners treatment plans with the costs which they approved and signed. I never "played" with their emotions although their letter to you without actual facts and filled with falsehoods definitely plays to the emotions of your audience! My staff and I were saddened to hear of Noodles passing. However, at 11 years old, Noodles died of natural causes, multi-organ failure and infections. I have never told anyone how long their pet would live as God is the only one with that knowledge. Also, the owners of Noodles failed to mention they returned, FOR CASH, the unopened and unused medications that were dispensed to try and help Noodles! I am living my dream, caring for pets. I take my job very seriously, getting 3-4 times the required continuing veterinary medical education hours to maintain a license to practice every year. I travel the country giving lectures and participating and facilitating in round tables in veterinary issues. I serve on the Board of Directors for the American Heartworm society, Veterinary Advisory Council for a prominent Pharmaceutical company, and several other boards both locally and internationally. We have been honored to be voted the best veterinary clinics in Mobile and Baldwin counties 9 years in a row or since the inception of the Readers Choice Awards by the Mobile Press Register. Our slogan is "Caring for Pets and People since 1983" and that is what we do at Rehm. I just wanted to present the actual facts of the case mentioned so your audience could get a better feel for what we have been doing for over a quarter of a century. In closing, I want Noodle's family to know I am a pet owner myself, and I hope they can find healing comfort and closure because losing a loved one is heart wrenching. I believe all life is precious and they are in my prayers. Respectfully submitted, Dr. Chris Rehm, founding partner of Rehm Animal Clinic.

        2 Votes

      Rehm Animal ClinicDead Dog; Horrific Experience

      My seemingly (fairly) healthy senior citizen dachshund started vomiting in the wee hours of Saturday morning. Then he seemed better, and I thought he'd just eaten something he shouldn't have. But later on Saturday morning he declined rapidly.

      Because it was Saturday, my vet was not reachable. Her on-call doc referred me to Rehm. I rushed him out there, and was told there was no one ahead of me and the doctor would be right in. However, it took about 20 minutes for the desk to input the pet info into their computer. They didn't ask for much. It's hard to comprehend why that wasn't a 5-minute job or not necessary at all before seeing a doctor since this was clearly an emergency. Young vet with obviously limited knowledge and experience came in after about 30 minutes and immediately wanted to run several hundreds of dollars in tests, while simultaneously telling me my 15.5 year old dog was in critical condition.

      I knew he was severely dehydrated and pleaded with her to please start a fluid IV to try to deal with that. Vet yammered and yammered, trying to sell me the hundreds of dollars in tests. It was obvious that she is an expert at playing on the emotions of we pet moms, who clearly love our dogs and want them to survive. I asked if it would be necessary to stabilize him first before anything related to any test would matter? Her answer was, "Yes, but she'd recommend blah blah blah blah blah." Almost an hour after arriving, they finally started him on an IV and intravenous antibiotics to try to stabilize him. And that only happened because he vomited again, on the examining table, and she said she couldn't hear a heartbeat. She rushed him to the back to resuscitate him. THEN told me they started the IV.

      They absolutely would not allow me to stay with him or even see him. And she told me it would take about 6 hours before they would know if he was stable. Because I was never allowed to see him, I have no idea whether he was already dead and they lied to me to earn an easy few hundred dollars since they're all about the money there. Vet called 2 hours later to tell me he died. She was surprised when I wanted to come get him to bury him. I could tell by the smell that they didn't clean him before putting him in a box so I took him out and cleaned him up before packing him up to bury him. I could find no indication of an IV having been on/in him.

      While my dog was old and might have had something serious wrong with him, I'll never know if he'd be happily walking in the park today if IV fluids had been started in a timely manner. If you can avoid Rehm, do yourself a favor: Stay away from them.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Sh
          shellyscorner Apr 04, 2012

          Dear Emelde: First of all, let me say, I am SO sorry for your loss! I know that people who don't have pets because they don't want one think that people with pets that think of them as family members are nuts! Well, so be it then...if thinking of my animals as family makes me nuts, then I must be absolutely certifiable! I have a 7 y/o male pitt/rott mix (Isaac), a 5 y/o male Eclectus parrot (Gabriel), and a 6 y/o female Green Iguana (Lucy). I also have a 27 y/o daughter, a 25 y/o son, and a 24 y/o daughter. I will gladly admit that Isaac, Gabriel, and Lucy mean as much to me as my three "REAL" children do. But I will also say that if it came down to it my real children, would of course, come before my 3 "adopted" children. I mean seriously, I can't imagine ANYONE who wouldn't put their children before their animals, but it doesn't mean that you love those animals any less! So that being said, I would really like to comment on your complaint against the Rehm Animal Clinic. Now, understand, I live in a TOTALLY different state (North Carolina). I've NEVER even ridden through Alabama, I haven't even been to the Rehm website. So in NO WAY am I trying to justify what happened to your baby. HOWEVER, having worked in medicine for many years, people medicine, and having had many animals of my own and fostering several dogs through rescue groups, I have an awful lot of experience with what you're talking about.

          So lets start at the beginning...Yes, the receptionist should have and probably could have gotten your info into the system quicker than she did. What we don't know is why it took the doctor so long to come in. Maybe she was waiting on the receptionist (I surly hope not!), but she may well have been in the middle of something that she couldn't walk away from in the back. Sometimes, when they have animals in their care that are to sick to go home, they have procedures and/or tests to run that are timely (mostly the procedures), and once you start them...you can't just walk away from it. You gotta finish it. You can't just "restart" it later when it's more convenient. IE: cleaning and re-bandaging a wound, or recasting a leg, or something of the sort. Those things take time and once you've started them, you can't walk away from it until it's done. Can't you see taking the cast and bandages off of a dogs broken and severely cut leg and walking away to deal with something else leaving the dogs leg unbandaged and unprotected!?!? Only to come back later to find that even though you had put the dog back in it's kennel that it had somehow not only ripped out all of it's stitches but had also further damaged the break in it's leg maybe even to the point of needing to be amputated! Talk about a law suit looking for a place to land! I know that sounds extreme, and I obviously have NO way of knowing what the Vet was doing, I'm simply making the point that she may simply not have been able to get to you ANY quicker than she did. It's sad, and I REALLY wish that doctors across the board would do a better job of communicating with their patients and their families! But they usually don't.

          Now, as to the IV issue... Yes your dog could have been and probably was dehydrated. So why was she sitting their yapping about all these tests that she wanted to run and going on and on and on about all the tests and the costs and etc, etc, etc, Well, Vets have been historically burnt. Many a vet has gone out of business because they ran their business with their hearts instead of their heads. Well! Isn't that what their supposed to do!?!?!? Aren't they suppose to have a heart!?!?!? Well, yes. They are. And most do. BUT, they are not, can not, and will not run their BUSINESS with their heart! THAT IS EXACTLY why ALL doctors be they animal doctors or people doctors have BUSINESS OFFICE MANAGERS! That vet wants to be able to treat your pet and he/she WANTS to be able to send you home with your pet and they WANT to be able to tell you that your pet is going to be fine!! But they obviously can't always do that. And truthfully, what I think ALL of us sometimes forget at one time or another is that THIS IS THEIR JOB! THIS IS HOW THEY FEED THEIR FAMILIES AND PAY THEIR BILLS!!! The reason that it is the way it is, is because just like people doctors, you used to be able to go to the vets office and if you couldn't pay the whole bill then they would let you make payments. Problem was...people want their cake and they want to eat it too!!! To many people, WAY more then MOST people, never pay the bill. Just don't. Some never intended to. Some just forgot to. Some ran into hardships...etc. So they had to stop taking payments. Based on some of the comments about the Rehm Clinic make it sound like they still do. If so, you have NO idea how fortunate you are! So, the other thing that happens is that when it comes time to pay the bill, people choke, cough, and gag when they hear the total. They then stand their and look at the receptionist and ask, "$4, 354.21...? ARE YOU @#$%^ kidding me!?!?! FOR WHAT!?!?" And the poor individual sits and reads off this litany of tests and procedures that was done...and the pet owner says, "WAIT A #$%#$% MINUTE! I NEVER AGREED TO ..., OR TO ..., AND WHAT THE ^*%& IS A ..., AND A ...OH H^%*% NO!!! I ONLY SAID HE/SHE COULD..., I NEVER AGREED TO ANY OF THE OTHER STUFF. HE/SHE NEVER EVEN MENTIONED THAT TO ME!" And sadly, some of it may not have been mentioned. So...now, most vets have a policy that they want to go over EVERYTHING that they want to do, from tests, and the possible outcomes and then the procedures from there. And part of the problem is that your dog might have benefited from the IV for the dehydration, but it's possible that they wanted to draw blood and what not BEFORE administering the IV or any other medicines so that the test results didn't get skewed from whatever was in the IV, because then they could end up giving the wrong diagnosis. Also, when we're in a state of panic and/or shock, we just don't hear everything that is said to us and worse than that, we often just flat out hear what we WANT to hear. Like if the vet says, you're dog is dying. You might respond back with how long does he have. Vet says, well without treatment, a couple of days to a couple of weeks at most. And you ask, ok...and with treatment? Vet says, Well there's really no telling. I've seen it make not much of a difference and I've seen them live on for another 2-3 years. What do you think you're going to leave the office with? You've come down off the moon...you leave the vet's office and go home to talk to talk to your hubby. He says, well, how's Rover? What'd the vet say? Well, Rovers dying but he gave me medicine for him and as long as we give it two him...He'll live another 2-3 years. Now you know darn good and well that that is NOT what the vet told you, but that is WHAT YOU HEARD! We have such STRONG visceral emotions at times like this. That's why witness accounts of a crime are not usually real reliable. Because our emotions are so strong and the adrenaline flows so strong there is WHAT we saw and there is what we THINK we saw. Somewhere in the middle is the truth. So while you were pleading with her to start the IV she was trying to keep you calm by staying calm herself (which often times looked back on and thought of by the pet owner as the vet being cold and uncaring, which is not true), and trying to make sure that you understood what tests she anticipated needing to run. Now unfortunately, in your case, your baby started going downhill rapidly. There is one thing that even though I'm not a betting woman, I would put my entire months salary on... You made two statements. 1) "...I have no idea whether he was already dead and they lied to me to earn an easy few hundred dollars..." That just did not happen. and 2) "...I could find no indication of an IV having been on/in him." You probably wouldn't have been able to. As to the first statement, no vets office would be able to practice in such a manner for very long before they would get caught. Mostly because, most people that go to work in vet clinics do so because they care about the animals AND their owners. The likelihood of having an office full of people and no one coming forward about it is VERY small. If everyone that worked there was that cold hearted, they wouldn't be there in business for very long because people would feel the cold heartedness and wouldn't go back. As to finding the hole for the IV, unless you've been trained in Veterinarian medicine, I think it would be highly unlikely that you could find and IV site. First of all you would have to know what area of several possible areas they used to look in, and think about when your dog got a tick. If you ever checked you kids or your dogs for ticks then you know how hard it is to find them...trust me...a tiny little hole from a needle ###...under all that fur...not likely to be easily found with out shaving the dog.

          As to not cleaning the dog, that saddens me a bit. I'd like to think that either everybody thought someone else had done it and it didn't get done or they just didn't have time to get to it, or maybe they just didn't think it mattered. Which would be sad. This place clearly sounds like they could work on the customer service personable skills, but I read another comment from someone else and I think I had read they had been around for almost 25 yrs., in which case I promise Dr. Rehm was not going to leave a young, incapable vet there to handle HIS BUSINESS if he didn't feel COMPLETELY CONFIDENT that she could handle things. And, I also feel confident that is she were that young and wet behind the ears, that if she didn't know something or was unsure about something than someone that did know was only a quick phone call away. As to the cost of the tests they wanted to run...Everyone thinks that the Vet offices rack up on and make HUGE profits off of doing the medical tests. They'd have to right? Why else would they always want to run so many? Well, actually they don't, in fact several that I have spoken to personally about this type of thing have assured me and have in fact shown me invoices where they were charged and then what they in-turn charged the patient. I was shocked to find out that they were charged almost the entire fee that they charge us. What little markup that they put into the fee was used to cover their expenses for the supplies they used to draw the blood for instance. The needles, the tubes, cotton balls, alcohol wipes, etc...It's just plain expensive! I recently took my parrot to the vet for a problem with one of his feet. They took an x-ray...that's right...ONE x-ray...it was almost $300.00 for ONE STUPID XRAY!!! I just about died on the spot!

          I guess that the last thing that I want to mention is that as sick as it sounds like your baby was, I seriously doubt that if they had put an IV in the instant that you walked in the door, that it would have made a difference. I think he would have passed anyway. Again, I am so very sorry about your loss! But I would encourage you to think about one thing...When we have something bad that happens to us, we are taught, intentionally or unintentionally, we are still taught, to place blame on to someone. We inherently just don't want to accept that sometimes bad things just happen. That if it's a living breathing thing, that if it was born, it will for sure someday die. Whether it was due to someones mistreatment, negligence, or accident, or if it was just completely natural causes, whatever the reason it will someday die. But that's not good enough for most of us. Because most of us are highly sheltered from things as we grow up...we don't like truth, so we don't like our kids to know the truth, so we hide it. For instance, on of the things in the news here of late, has been the new controversial ads about smoking. How graphic they are! People don't want their kids to see that stuff, "Oh! It's just to much for them!" NO! It's not. It's to much for us! The adults! We don't want to look ourselves in the face in the mirror and admit that the little swizzle stick that we hang out of our mouths is going to kill us. Period. But worse than that...we don't want to look at our kids and have the innocent little eyes look at us when they ask us, Are you going to die too? No one likes to face their own mortality. But we also don't want to have to face the fact that we can't justify a behavior that will leave our kids with out a parent before it's time. Then how do we look at them later and tell them, don't you do that! You could get hurt! Don't go drinking a driving! You could get killed! Some how that statement doesn't carry much wait from a parent that smokes once the kid knows whats really going on. So no, the ads aren't to much for the kids, theyre to much for the adults! But sometimes, there just isn't anyone to blame. And that might just as well be what's going on here in your case. You took your baby to the vet knowing that he/she was sick. And you left him/her there in good faith that they were going to make it all better. But sometimes they just can't. And as sad as it is, and as much as it hurts, what I hear and "see" going on here is that you're taking your natural "anger" here for unexpectedly losing your baby and you're transferring that anger onto the vet by finding things that she did "wrong" when actually, I don't really think she did anything wrong. Yes, there were a couple of things that I think that they could have done better, but over all... I truly don't think that they did anything wrong.

          I also don't think that you did anything wrong. You just lost one of your best friends, if not your best friend. I hope you feel better now. It's been almost a year. You may never see this, but I know others will, so maybe it will help someone, even if it's not you!
          Many Blessings...

          0 Votes
        • Em
          Emelde Apr 04, 2012
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          I was notified that this had been posted. Yes, it's been a long time since I lost my beloved dog.

          You obviously had a need to write what you did, but you should know that to a person who has lost a pet -- possibly through the gross incompetence of that horrific vet at Rehm, about whom I have now heard more horror stories than I can count -- your comments feel totally cruel and unhelpful. We'll never know whether he would have survived with competent care, will we?

          I am a former corporate executive. I know how a business is supposed to be managed. I've dealt with extremely competent vets for years. This place is a money machine that habitually rips off pet owners, especially in emergencies, when they are the only place open. That was the only reason I went there; there was no other vet available. I would not wish what happened to me on anyone, and I would certainly never try to justify their gross incompetence. What is wrong with you?

          Please think about the impact of what you say on the intended recipient before you post something so cold and thoughtless in the future. A pet owner, who deeply loved their furry friend, doesn't need some person with no knowledge whatsoever of the situation attempting to validate these blood sucking, inhumane excuses for pet care.

          0 Votes

        The complaint has been investigated and
        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
        Resolved
        Rehm Animal ClinicResponse

        A website for complaints only is so ridiculous! A few bad experiences could well destroy the reputation of these businesses. I am responding to the negative posts regarding Rehm Animal Clinic. This is the ONLY place I would take my animal. They are very caring and offer first rate service. They may be more expensive than other vets but in my opinion, you get what you pay for. Their high standard of service far exceeds any other practice in our area and I have seen how many run from the inside out. In the past, I also felt that Rehm was pricey but now that I am more informed and educated, I say again that you get what you pay for. Their vets excel in their fields and Dr. Metcalfe is the best ortho in this part of the country. Their vet techs and office staff are well trained and capable of handling all that is required of them. And now, they have extended their hours until midnight in order to relieve the financial burden of afterhour’s fees. What other clinic in Mobile offers that? None! And everyone should remember that there are always two sides to every story. The incidents referenced are told by untrained individuals who do not even comprehend the full extent of their dog’s condition. There are so many variables to the treatment of each injury or illness and so many inconsistencies with these statements…..it would be ridiculous to accept these incidents as pure fact.

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Rehm Animal ClinicLack of care after being a client for 20 years

          I have taken my pets to Rehm Animal Clinic for over 20 years. My Shorkie who has been to Rehm a minimum of once a month for the year 2010, was again having a problem. I was unable to take my dog today, so my son took him in. I have paid Rehm more than $2, 000 through April 2010, for pet care. I told my son to just have Rehm put the charges on our account and we would pay as we always have. He was told that if there was an outstanding balance on an account (160 from the last visit of some $400), we could 1) pay for today's visit, and 2) leave the 4 prescribed medications today, and hope my dog got better; and hope we could purchase the necessary medication at a later date, or be reported for stolen services. At the time my son informed me of this situation, I immediately requested my pet's medical records, and paid my bill IN FULL AS DEMANDED. Does anyone have a suggestion for a good veternarian, that will work with their clients that have always paid the bill over 2 or 3 months when the bill exceed 500 plus dollars and have been a client for more than 20 years. Makes one wonder where the Rehm family vacations? I guess when you have as many mouths to feed as the Rehm family does, you need to get all of your money in full, no matter the circumstances. Money comes first always. Is your pet really as ill as prescribed by the "vet" on the demand pay plan? Do you really need all those x-rays and blood tests?
          Just wondering!

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            • Go
              gogirl Jul 09, 2010
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              I disagree with this complaint.

              0 Votes

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            Rehm Animal Clinic — Disrespect

            Yesterday, I called Timber Run to hopefully schedule an appt. for a spade for a new kitty that we found. The...

            Loxley

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            Rehm Animal HospitalPet Care or lack of

            I am writing to inform you of a situation I experienced at Rehm Animal
            Clinic this past weekend. It was extremely upsetting to me and I hope that
            this letter might draw attention to an inattentive staff in hopes that
            nobody else will have a similar experience.

            Sunday afternoon, my husband and I were out in our yard working. My husband
            had put out fly bait in our horse pasture and brought the container back up
            to the house. While we were still out in the yard, my 1½ year old husky
            dragged the container down off of the table it was on and started chewing on
            it. When we came up to the house, we noticed that she was sick. She was
            salivating excessively and was walking in a disoriented fashion. She was
            having trouble standing up. We immediately brought her inside and called our
            vet (Theodore Veterinary Hospital). The message on their answering machine
            gave us two phone numbers to call, and instructed us to call the second
            phone number if we did not receive a return call from the first number
            within ten minutes. I called the first number, but did not receive a call
            back and called the second number. This number was for Rehm Animal Hospital
            Emergency Clinic.

            The woman that answered told me that there was a vet there and to bring
            Stella in. We loaded Stella up and, because I was in such a panic, I
            completely forgot that we were supposed to be taking her to Rehm and not to
            Theodore. While we had her in the car, I called the phone number and told
            them what type of poison she had gotten into in hopes that it would help the
            staff prepare. The woman on the phone told me that when we got there, she
            would give us the phone number to poison control and that poison control
            would tell us what we needed to do. When we arrived at Theodore Veterinary
            Hospital we called the number back and realized that we were at the wrong
            place, so we were finally on our way to Rehm.
            Once we arrived at Rehm, we managed to get Stella out of the car and to the
            door. There is a sign that says to knock or ring the bell. We did both.
            We waited outside with our very sick dog for five minutes and nobody came to
            the door. Finally the door opened, yet it was not an employee that opened
            it, but another pet owner that heard us knocking form the waiting room that
            she was in. We then waited in the hall another five minutes before a vet
            tech finally saw us and put us in a room. Once we were in a room, she gave
            us paperwork to fill out and the phone number to poison control. My husband
            called the poison control center and I filled out the paperwork, all the
            while, my dog is foaming at the mouth and stumbling around the room. The
            poison control center told my husband that the vet needed to give her
            atropine, but they would not give out any more information to him: the y
            would only talk to the vet. Fifteen minutes later, the vet tech came in and
            asked my husband what poison control had told him. He told her that the vet
            would have to call because they wouldn’t give the information to him. She
            went away and about ten minutes later, a different vet tech came to get her
            temperature and weight and brought her back in the room. In the middle of
            all of this waiting, she had diarrhea in the room and we did what we could
            to clean it up. Stella was also still salivating so much that she was
            slipping on the floor because it was so wet from her saliva. Finally, 45
            minutes after we arrived at the Emergency Clinic, the vet came in to talk to
            us. She only looked at Stella to quickly check her heartbeat. She told us
            what type of poison Stella had ingested and said that we could treat her
            symptoms with IV fluids, atropine, and activated charcoal. She then left us
            while she had a quote worked up. In this time, Stella’s walking had
            improved and her salivating had almost completely stopped. We discussed the
            treatment options and decided that we were not going to treat her since she
            appeared have almost completely recovered.

            When yet a different vet tech returned with the quote, we told her that we
            weren’t going to treat her. I was quite irritated after the treatment that
            we had received, or rather, the treatment we had not received. I told her
            that we were quite upset that we were left to wait for so long with no idea
            of what was going on while we thought that our dog was dying. She told me
            that she would need to have me sign a form stating that we were leaving AMA
            (against medical advice). As this vet tech walked out of the room, she
            slammed the door. That was the final straw. I was very annoyed before, but
            this technician slamming the door in our faces was more than I could take.
            I opened that door and leaned in and told her that we were leaving and that
            they could send us the bill. She came running after us and yelled at us
            that she would call the police and that it was theft of services. I
            overreacted at this point and told her to go ahead and call the police. I
            immediately realized that calling the police was not going to achieve
            anything and told her that I would pay the bill, but that I didn’t want to
            wait another ten or fifteen minutes for them to finally get it taken care
            of. While she was getting us checked out, she made the statement that she
            had only just arrived at work. I then told her, again, that I was upset
            because for the last hour and a half, I had thought that my dog was dying
            and that no one there seemed to care. She then told me that Rehm is just
            like any other emergency room at a hospital. With that, we paid our bill and
            went home. As we arrived at our house, the poison control center called us
            to check on Stella. They said that they had talked to the vet and that they
            didn’t want to get in the middle of anything, but that their main concern
            was with the dog. Apparently the staff at Rehm Animal Clinic told poison
            control that there was a problem with us at the clinic. It is none of
            poison control’s business what happened while between us and the staff and
            we felt like we were being slandered by the staff of Rehm Emergency Clinic.
            It is amazing, though; that the only people that cared about our dog in the
            end, were the people at the poison control center. Stella is at home now and
            is doing fine. She was thirsty and hungry, but otherwise, everything is
            back to normal.

            I would like to say that I certainly hope that Rehm Emergency Clinic is not
            like any other emergency room at a hospital. If my child were foaming at
            the mouth and stumbling around after ingesting poison, I hope that the
            emergency room would jump on the situation or at least let us have some kind
            of clue as to what is happening. At the very least, I would expect that
            they would call the poison control center and find out how to proceed with
            treatment. I have never before been treated with such indifference from a
            veterinarian and their staff before. We were humiliated and treated like
            criminals. The staff of Rehm Emergency Clinic may have felt like we
            overreacted, but for them, it was just another day at work, while for us, we
            felt as if we were watching a loved one die. I hope that this letter might
            open some eyes to the fact that pets and their owners deserve to be treated
            respectfully by staff and that the owners should not be left in the dark
            about their pet’s condition.

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              • Sj
                sjw18899 Jun 28, 2010

                i completely agree!

                -1 Votes
              • Ey
                Eyeamme Sep 28, 2011

                I was not there! I can not agree nor disagree that would be a lie!

                1 Votes
              • Ey
                Eyeamme Sep 28, 2011

                I took my precious baby Peaches to Rehm Animal Clinic. I used Dr. Caroline Rehm. I would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone. Rehm took care of Peaches until the age of 17 years and Dr. Michael Sheffield had to euthanized her (she had renal failure/congestive heart failure) and even after death, Dr. Sheffield was careful with her as if she were still alive. I am VERY grateful for their services. I WILL use them again!!!

                As for the post from 2009, I am sorry that happened and I hope the situation was addressed. I am grateful that your precious baby Stella has gotten better. I still cannot agree nor disagree when I was not there and my experience was very different. It would be a lie!

                1 Votes

              The complaint has been investigated and
              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
              Resolved
              Rehm Animal HospitalTerrible experience

              I brought my dog to Rehm Animal hospital when she started foaming at the mouth and having seizures. This was 10pm they did x-rays and bloodwork I was told my pet had a broken neck that's what was causing her seizures and they wanted to keep her over night to observe her. When I called the next morning mo one would tell me how she was so I went by there she had not changed and he kept insisting that my dog had a broken neck ( she had never fallen) I told him that can't be because she had not fallen by 10 am that morning I was told that my pet needed to be put to sleep because she was not going to make it or she needed to be taken to Auburn University & the only way she could get in was through them no other vet had a back door pass. They charged me over $1200.00 dollars for 12 hours I removed my pet from that office to get a second option and did get into Auburn only to find out that my dog had viral encephalitis from receiving her vaccination shots on Jan. 4th and she did NOT have a broken neck! It's been a month and I have my pet home now. She will be on mess for 2 years and is still a very sick dog!!

              Beware, of vaccination shots from corona. And if you want to save your pet think twice before you take it to Rehm for help because they will do whatever they can to get your money and not save your pet!

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                • Ma
                  mary Mar 26, 2009

                  They told me they would price match for sentinel but only from pet-meds so I brought them my print out showing pet-meds price but it was for a 12 month supply.(they only sell a 6 month price). I got a really good price from a girl at pet-meds because they price match. The girl at Rehm was going to go online to get their 6 month supply price (that would be $20.00 more than the price I got) then she was going to double the price to give me a 12month supply price that way I told her I got a better price than what was online and I wasn't going to pay $40.00 more therefore I wanted a prescription. They won't give you one. Well now I''m looking for another vet. I am also going to request a refund or Im going to call Discover and fight the charges. I was already upset with them for giving my son's dog another rabies shot in December when he got one in June, he isn't a year old until the end of this month they should have known he wasn't due and should look at his records better.

                  0 Votes
                • Ch
                  ChrisJo May 09, 2010
                  This comment was posted by
                  a verified customer
                  Verified customer

                  Call Rehm Animal Clinic and check it out for yourself. They sell 12 packs. They are less expensive than Pet Meds with the Novartis rebate. Why does Novartis give a rebate?? Because they prefer you get Sentinel from a licensed veterinarian who purchases the product directly from them and knows how the product works and will be there if there are any problems or questions. Call Pet Meds and ask the source of their products. They will not tell you. Why??? Because they are buying resold items that are not regulated. would you really buy medicine from someone who bought it from someone else, who says they bought it from a pharmicist. Call Novartis, [protected] and ask where they recommend you buy their product. Rehm Animal Clinic is just trying to look out for the consumer. This complaint is over a year old, how often do you update this site??

                  0 Votes
                • Sj
                  sjw18899 Jun 28, 2010

                  I took my dog to rehm after she was struck by a car. They gave me two options for treatment, one included an overnite stay and i.v's. the other was just her necesseties to get her back to health. of course the first option was what i wanted to do but could not afford. it would have been $600!! i had to go with the second option which was still about $400!! they looked at me and treated me as if i didnt care about my dog because i couldnt pay $600! it was a horrible experience and i will not be going back!! they are money hungry and treat you like you dont care if you dont get the most expensive treatments and medicines! its really ridiculous! my advice, go anywhere but there!!!

                  0 Votes
                • Bo
                  boxrmom Jul 09, 2010

                  A website for complaints only is so ridiculous! A few bad experiences could well destroy the reputation of these businesses. Rehm Animal Clinic is the ONLY place I would take my animal. They are very caring and offer first rate service. They may be more expensive than other vets but in my opinion, you get what you pay for. Their high standard of service far exceeds any other practice in our area and I have seen how many run from the inside out. In the past, I also felt that Rehm was pricey but now that I am more informed and educated, I say again that you get what you pay for. Their vets excel in their fields and Dr. Metcalfe is the best ortho in this part of the country. Their vet techs and office staff are well trained and capable of handling all that is required of them. And now, they have extended their hours until midnight in order to relieve the financial burden of afterhour’s fees. What other clinic in Mobile offers that? None! And everyone should remember that there are always two sides to every story. The incidents above are told by untrained individuals who do not even comprehend the full extent of their dog’s condition. There are so many variables to the treatment of each injury or illness and so many inconsistencies with these statements…..it would be ridiculous to accept these incidents as pure fact.

                  0 Votes
                • Jb
                  jBT666 Feb 12, 2012

                  I took my puppy there for its first shots and they were so rough and careless with the shots I wanted to beat someone up. It's all a money scheme. No one cares for your pet the way you do. I now and have used West Mobile Veterinary Clinice, Drs. Lisa and David Smelley and wouldn't use anyone else. Quality care at a descent price and hearts of gold. There's nothing cheap about pet care so deal with it. They need to come up with an urgent care for dogs on every corner like they have for humans. Seems to be working in Mobile and everywhere else. They maybe open til midnight BUT, don't think you aren't paying for it. There's a reason they are open this late!

                  0 Votes