The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Readers Club Home OfficeMagazine Subscription Scam

I have no idea how this started, but I began receiving phone calls to confirm my "magazine subscription." They already had my address and my phone number, they just asked me to confirm. I began receiving multiple phone calls a day. I started asking questions, "What magazine subscription?" The call was disconnected. "How do I cancel?" The call was disconnected. Then I found a charge on my credit card, that I never authorized. I'm contesting it through my credit card company. When I call the toll-free number, I receive a recording that prompts you to leave a message - no company name is provided.
This is a scam.

Responses

  • Ra
    randy bricken sr Aug 04, 2018

    I have been involved with this mess since 2015. I don't even know how it happened.I have paid out a lot of money trying to get this setteled but so far no luck. Just received a call yesterday from Baker & McKensey law firm that if I didn't send $499.99 I would receive a summons to appear in court.I just don't know why these magazine companys cant be stopped from continuing these practices and I cant belive they can get law firms to represent them in court.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sheetmetal Diva Mar 05, 2014

    I am now receiving notices from a Umbrella Recovery Team claiming that I'm about to be sent to collections for $1, 148.85. FOR WHAT I don't even remember ordering any magazines. I don't want the stupid things. I called my credit card provider to get credit card paper and got suckered into something because I was promised a free gas card. Then I'm getting bills for magazines I didn't ask for. I am so tired of being scammed can anyone help without trying to drain the bank?

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rahi79 Feb 03, 2014

    The readers club home office called my number and said that I need to give new credit card number and I cannot cancel it as it is pre ordered and there is a one time payment and now charging every month when I asked them to cancel they are threatening that they have my recording and will send it to recovery and sent me a bill of $ 1500 that I have to pay . I have not even received any magazines, when my husband talked to them they said if he pays 650 $ they will close my account all they want is money, please close down these people I have complained in FTC I dnt know how to put an end to such people. Open to any suggestions - [email protected] gmail.co

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daughter11 Sep 26, 2013

    My 86 yr old mother was called and charged an unauthorized fee for $19.99 from USA Readers NY. Please be aware these telemarketers calling everywhere in the US and taking advantage of Seniors. My mother's phone number unlisted so I don't know how they found her #. She has no computer. I am looking for their Ph# so I can register that # on the Do Not Call List. Can anyone please respond to this mssg & post USA Readers phone # if you experienced the same. Appreciate, DLM, concerned daughter.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeCoolioness Jan 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Katrunyon - you are obviously being paid to promote this scam company or else you haven't received your $30 a month bill yet for these "free" magazines.

    1 Votes
  • Dk
    DKPeppers Jan 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I do not know how I ended up with these people, but I cannot get rid of them. I do not want their magazines and it is costing me a fortune to pay for what I don't want. I want these people gone.l

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daveandme Aug 03, 2017

    @DKPeppers I'm having the same problem! Not only with these people, but with 3-4 other magazine suppliers that are most likely scams!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katrunyon Oct 22, 2012

    received a call from reader's club wanting to know how I was going to pay my bill. I never said I wanted anything. They had all my info and last four of credit card. I asked how she got this info to tell me the name of the person who she got this from and she said that she would turn me into the collection agency. I told her that she has a screen in front of her all she has to do is tell me who I gave all this info to and she hung up on me. I tried to call back but the recording said to leave a message to be put on the no call list. and that no operators were available. I left a message so I will see if they call back.

    0 Votes
  • De
    debbiej0 Jun 14, 2012

    Couldn't be anymore happy with my subscription of magazines that the READERS CLUB HOME OFFICE sends me, I'm even allowed to switch them up so my kids and family get the magazines they want FREE OF CHARGE. They even call to check that my supscription is giving me the best service! THANKS RCHO!

    -1 Votes
  • Cy
    Cyn1004 Dec 07, 2011

    The same has been happening to me, Ive been trying to play along to see what their angle is I never gave them my credit info but they did ask what my favorite CC was and a bunch of Demographic questions hopefully they don't charge my card anything. I guess i'll keep an eye out . It's def a scam though, they'd prob make more money if they tried as hard to get legit actual subscriptions.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.