Proscan TVProblem with ProScan TV - Thomson, Inc.

Y
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

The remote sensor of our 5-year-old 32-inch Proscan TV broke TWICE within a year. At the second time when the same part went bad (May 2006), I didn't want to fix it without knowing what's causing the problem; rahter, I wanted to buy a new more-dependable TV. Thomson, which is the manufacturer of
ProScan/RCA TVs, could not answer my question, but their representative told me to get it fixed by the authorized repair company in town (we hired them.), Tyler's TV, again, then get the money ($89.95) back from Thomson. I trusted his words, got it fixed, and sent the letter of explanation and copies of receipts as instructed by this representative, instead of getting the money back from Tyler's TV and toss this costly TV. However, I had not received any response or refund by Thomson for the past two months. I myself called them today only to find out that Thomson changed their minds (Today's rep said to me "it was two months ago" - meaning their response is different now.) and decided not to give me the money back. The fix is already done two months ago. I can't call Tyler's TV now to void the fix
and give me the money back. Is Thomson a reputable and trustworthy company? Do a consumer always have to cry over the spilt milk? Any comment will be appreciated.

Yukiyo

following is the complaint letter I sent to their Headquarter:

July 10, 2006

Consumer Relations
Thomson, Inc.

Re: case# 11X09 (#11LPM)

To whom it may concern,

I am writing this letter today to claim the reimbursement of $89.95 from Thomson, Inc. On May 19, 2006, your representative Albert @ [protected] told me to send the letter of explanation with copies of receipts, and I will get the money back from Thomson, Inc. So I followed the instruction.
However, I did not receive any refund, phone call or even letter to follow up on the issue. I finally called today to inquire about it, and Jeffery at the same phone number told me that the company had received my letter on May 23, 2006, but had decided not to give the money back.

Prior to sending the letter to you, I had spoken with several people of Thomson, Inc., including technical support, trying to find out what’s wrong with our remote sensor of TV, which had been broken twice within a year. Nobody could explain it; therefore, I decided NOT to fix this Thomson TV and
buy a new TV, instead of spending another $89.95 to fix it. I made an appointment with Tyler’s TV, your authorized repair company, to get the new part off our TV and give us the money back. It was set. Then, Albert, your customer representative, told me I don’t need to do it; rather, I would get the money back from the company. It was a good news to me. So I went ahead and canceled the visit by Tyler’s TV, wrote the letter to Thomson and waited for the money back from the comapny.

Two months later, not only I did not receive $89.95 back, no one from your company even confirmed that they received my letter; no one from your company called me or wrote to me to tell me that Thomson changed their mind and decided not to give the refund to me. Jeffery even told me that the
refund was promised 2 months ago, now they say no refund. Can a reputable company change their mind like that? How can I request Tyler’s TV now to come back to my house, get the new part (now 2 months old) out and give me the money back? Would you call Mr. Tyler and ask it?

I fully trusted your company and your representative’s words, so I canceled Mr. Tyler’s appointment two months ago. How can I ask him to give me the money back now because Thomson changed their minds? This is absolutely ridiculous.

At the end, Jeffery told me to write to you to solve this issue. The whole case is written in your case files of #11X09 (and #11LPM). Please give me the money back as promised.


Sincerely,


Yukiyo

Leesburg, VA 20175
703-443-1sss

More Proscan TV Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Us
    user loser Dec 22, 2018

    I am having trouble with my PROSCAN TV exhibiting (DVR screen) and I am not able to get the TV Screen. so I can adjust my new remote. Calling support is useless; they will not assist unless I have receipt of Bill of Sale, date of purchase, serial number and model. I advised that the TV was a gift and the giver can not locate the Bill of Sale. I realized when the agent was barely able to speak English or read from the written instructions, that I was in trouble. Oh where or where has America gone?

    I will not encourage anyone to buy a PROSCAN product.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    panama rick Nov 03, 2018

    Wow! The first thing that caught my eye was the relationship of Thomson with Proscan. I have a defunct G.E. tv from Thomson built under the auspices of RCA under the G.E. label. My 24" Proscan LED tv has a flashing red power light and won't turn on.. We don't need tariffs- just boycotts.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Ulanskas Jun 06, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Have 50" proscan watching TV and a loud pop came from tv now doesn't turn on red light stays on tried other methods still nothing. Bought at Kmart 4 years ago . Buyer beware.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dirtygirl Mar 27, 2018

    I can not believe the crap, Its three weeks and still waiting for a power cord. Walmart says it sells American Made.
    Not The Pro scan TV is from over seas. And trying to get any help is mind blowing. I can not believe the night mare this has become this is what happens I guess when you don't deal with true Americans and American made. You cant even get a American speaking person anymore. I strongly believe we have become the minority in our own land.
    Just take a good look around. And you will agree.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cosmas Ampah Oct 05, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a proscan tv and as is turned on for about a few minutes, the pictures will automatically go off but I will hear the sound. Help me

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    pro-scam May 05, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Proscam has the worst warranty and staff and the better business bureau should be called to shut them down. I will never buy any of their products ever again. I hope they go broke and they can go to He11 too. Please be forewarned their tvs are junk.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Proscam ! Feb 28, 2017

    PROSCAM 24" Wide Screen Digital LED TV. Received it as a gift December 2015. Sound quality was 2 out of ten. Problem : Speakers were so shoddy that anything above a whisper on the volume would result in a horrible buzzing. Solution : A soundbar took care of that perfectly. However, As with many of the other commenters, I also now have a terminal RED light on my TV. Forget the remote, the manual power button on the TV itself does nothing. Unplugging the TV does nothing. I only used the TV once in a while as it was in my den, so maybe I switched it on once every two to three weeks. I am out of the warranty cycle so customer service would be a lost cause. ~ Honestly, I thought I had a good one. Remember those old console TV's with the tubes and the wood grain cabinet ? Had ours in the family for 15 years and then put it to the curb. Not because it wore out but because we wanted one of those 'newer' modern TV's.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tater11bug Jan 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought 2-40" pro scans 33 days ago, the one worked beautifully until today now it won't stay on, can't turn on with power button on the t.v. have to use the remote. Store won't take back because it's been longer than 30 days, how do I contact pro scan? the other t.v. when I took it out the box, has a beautiful picture but it also has a 5" crack at the top of the screen. What I've read on here sounds like pro scan is a garbage but I still want to give customer service a ear-full and if ya'll really get a class action law suit going please feel free to include me or let me be a part of it also.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rivera winston Jan 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I WAS READING ALL THE COMPLAINTS, AND IT DOSE NOT SOUND GOOD I ALREADY FEEL LIKE ITS A WASTE OF TIME CALLING THEM. I HAVE A 43IN PROSCAN AND ITS LESS THAN A YEAR OLD AND IT BROKE LINES ALL A CROSS THE FRONT. I WORK LATE HOURS BEARLY LOOK AT THE TV, NOW ITS NOT WORKING. IM MAD AS HELL. IM GETTING READY TO CALL THEM NOW. RIVERA FROM SAVANNAH GA

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amanda1988 Aug 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought our proscan November 2015 it just randomly shut off today then when we finally got b it to do something its just sound no picture...less than a year old

    0 Votes
  • 12
    12joe Jun 26, 2016

    thank you for your reviews i will not buy a PROSCAN TV THANKS AGAIN

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Prozac tv Feb 23, 2016

    I bought a 42 inch from best buy, five years ago. Now the bottom of the screen is black. I guess I am lucky it lasted that long. I was trying to find out if it can be fixed, but after reading all these comments, I think I will just get a new tv... and not a Proscan!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    Airon Barnes Nov 15, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Proscan doesnt even list this tv on thier own website!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    Airon Barnes Nov 15, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This tv also has no rca input jacks. So if you are not hooking up anything through hdmi its going to be difficult.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rod23 Nov 08, 2015

    The built in sound on the new PLDED4243A TV WITH 4k HD SOUNDS VERY CHEAP! There are NO audio outputs on this TV period so hooking up a sound bar to it is impossible through even at least RCA jacks, let alone optical audio. Then I thought, okay I'll try inserting headphones into the headphone port, but no sound came from it and still the sound came from the TV. I called support who told me to buy an RF Modulator to hook up a sound bar. Why should I have to buy extra expensive equipment to resolve a flaw that wasn't built in?

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    ms m2 Sep 09, 2015

    We are having the same issue as many of you - 50 inch LED Proscan TV suddenly would not come on - no lights at all. We tried everything. Nothing worked. The manufacturer's (Curtis) customer service center was no help at all, and neither was their website. I think we should boycott any store that sells this and any other incredibly lousy product. We bought ours at Kmart.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Very unhappy couple Mar 23, 2015

    Our 50" proscan tv just gave out, a year and 5 months old. No picture but sound. My fiancé called the company and they told him nothing they could do because it is past warranty . They told him to drive 2 hours to get it repaired, our expense and it would cost $40 just for the repair guy to look at it, and anywhere from $300-$400 to repair it. This is redicious!!! The company would not offer anything. This company sucks and should be looked into with the crappy products they are selling. This is not good enough!!!they should rename there product " ProSCAM"!! You just lost our business and we will be telling others!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anti-Proscan Feb 02, 2015

    Both my kids received Proscan 32' as gifts and both went out within a month apart. The TVs aren't even 2 years old. I don't recommend this brand to anyone.

    -1 Votes
  • Jp
    JPB7 Aug 10, 2014

    Bought the 50 inch LCD Proscan with 1080p and 60 Hz and 3 HDMI
    From the beginning the sound was off, it kept fluctuating during the shows (commercials were even worse when it would go way up). I figured I would just adjust it when necessary.
    The picture is beautiful. After about 11 months I noticed that after I turned it off to retire for the night, it would not turn right back on with the remote, the next day. The power light stayed red, then turned blue with the Proscan logo which always would show with the bright blue backdrop, but then nothing else would happen, it did not change to any channel, it was just frozen with the logo displayed with the power light blue-nothing else. After playing with it for a few minutes it would come back on when I unplugged it and then re-plugged it back in and then turned on the remote or manually on the unit itself-then the blue light came on and it showed the same Proscan logo, paused like it has always done since it was first used and then a channel would appear for viewing and was fine all day. As time went on, it got harder and harder for the picture to come on to watch anything after numerous times unplugging it and re-plugging it the next day. Now it is extremely difficult to get it to turn on past showing the Proscan Logo to even watch any TV. I purchased the 2 yr. extended Smart Plan with K-Mart but they override the plan that is in writing by dictating the terms at their discretion forcing me to by another TV at their store with a gift certificate and no money back to shop elsewhere. I think this entire ordeal is an attempt to defraud the consumer with promises they do not intend to honor and force the customer to continue to buy SUBSTANDARD, DEFECTIVE, UNRELIABLE PRODUCTS that do not hold up to any standard of quality, workmanship or reliability. K-Mart's customer service has developed a track record of dishonesty, misrepresentation, and fraud with absolutely no liability or accountability for their unethical business practices. There does not seem to be any remedy for the customer, and there is no intention for them to hold up their end of the agreement regardless of how hard you try to seek a remedy for their actions. They still have my money which I should have the right for reimbursement and use towards the purchase of another TV elsewhere. It does not seem right or lawful for a customer to have to endure such dishonesty, misrepresentation and lack of respect for the consumer which is entitled to their money back after K-Mart fails miserably to uphold ethical and moral business standards which they promise but yet seem to spin for their own dishonest business practices. K-Mart used to be the store to buy from, but it seems now that a company that could at one time stand on their company name, now uses it to lure in customers for ill gotten gain with lies and deception, using words like money back guarantee, protection plan, added coverage as a punch line!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Just the facts, Aug 04, 2014

    Bought 32" Pro Scan TV April, 2014. TV broke (would not turn on) by mid June, 2014. Shipped to them at my expense within the 90 day warranty period. Received by them July, 22, 2014. Called today 8/4/2014 for status. They said to call back for status in 6-8 weeks. Phone number for in warranty repairs is [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    Plain Over it Jun 19, 2014

    Same stuff with me, 50 IN proscan 2 yrs old, red light turns blue when I turn it on but no picture or sound and then when I hit power again to turn it off and try it again, the light wont turn back to red showing that the power is off. Kmart is no help, repair guy said its a power supply board but he'd have to charge me 89 bucks flat labor charge to fix it then charge me for the part which was 100 bucks, so I said forget it, bought the same part for85 bucks after shipping and installed it seeing how all it was 4 plug and play connectors and 4 screws hit the button same thing as before, luckily I got a 15 day return agreement but I'm over proscan, any company that doesn't stand behind their product is a not a company I want to deal with. These people need consequences to their actions other wise they are free to cheat and basically steal from the honest hard working people of the world. This type of stuff pisses me off especially when you feel like the only way out is bite my lip and purchase a more responsible and honest company's tv. You never get a second chance to make a first impression, Proscan, and RCA for that matter, just lost a customer in me that's for sure.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    warren zunino May 10, 2014

    On the Proscan PLDV321300 TV you can repeat a DVD over and over, which is what I want it to do but there is a clunky logo on the screen of an elongated circle and the word Title that remains on the screen forever. Does anyone know how to make it disappear?

    0 Votes
  • Uu
    Uugene Dec 08, 2013

    I purchased a 32 inch HDTV Proscan back in December of 2012. It worked great until a 6" horizontal line appeared on the right side of the screen giving the picture over there a ghostly appearance. It is really starting to hurt my eyes & no one is helping us. We have had Direct TV come out & change the lines & fitting and it's not that. K-Mart said they can't do anything for me. We are on a fixed income & can't afford to replace it. Any ideas?

    0 Votes
  • Md
    MDonovan May 13, 2013

    I purchased a 32 inch LED Proscan TV in December of 2012. Its been less than six months and the TV does not work. When plugged in the red light will come on periodically but the TV will not turn on. I contacted Kmart (where I purchased the TV from) and they have not been able to assist me either.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    sweetsienna Mar 08, 2013

    Same here proscan turns off after seconds wont turn back on. Only a few years old from costco. It's very frustrating for months it sits broken in my bedroom. I dont replace it because it looks still brand new but doesnt work.

    What do you recommend besides replacing it. At this point I will never by proscan again.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gayle lynne Dec 25, 2012

    I have had this TV for 6 weeks and the sound is completely gone. I have tried everything. The picture shows but no sound!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    williebobo Aug 17, 2012

    I am so happy that i read this post cause i was thinking of buying a pro scan.we should all get to make
    a donation of some kind and get a good law firm that when anyone of us get into this kind of RIP off
    they can take care of the problem. we have to start to fight back with these company. we buy it from a big company then
    when something goes wrong they tell us that they can help us but then again we bought it from them. it makes no sens

    1 Votes
  • Br
    bringam Mar 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought a 42 inch proscan and totally agree with screen name -rgmbem this TV should be recalled. My husband and I bought it from Sears about 4 yrs ago. My 11 yr old son was watching TV the other day when he noticed that smoke was coming out from the top of the TV, he went over by the TV and it smelled like it was burning. He called us into the room to come right away and my husband turned off the TV right away and unplugged it from the wall. This could have caught on fire and caused harm to our child. I consider Sears a reputable company that stands behind their product and noticing the other complaint listing above makes me think twice about purchasing other products from Sears again unless something is done to take care of the issue at hand. I have emailed Misty H. a Social Media Moderator for Sears in hopes that she will take care of this issue. I will remove my complaint or readdress once this is taken care of.

    1 Votes
  • Ak
    akajulz Oct 25, 2011

    I am having similar problems to those who are responding to this thread. The red light button is lit on the front of the TV (Proscan LCD 32"), but the TV will not power up to a blue light, which results in an actual picture and sound. Even if I press the manual on/off button on the side of the TV I cannot power it up, so I know it is not the remote. When I aim the remote at the red light button it flickers, so I know there is a connection between the remote and the TV. I now have an ugly wall ornament with a glowing red light and no picture. I tried turning it off for 5 minutes, and next I will try for at least an hour. But it seems others have tried this as well with no results.

    2 Votes
  • Wi
    willtill2000 Oct 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I want to connect a sound bar to my Proscan tv but can't find any audio outputs.HELP. 37 IN BOUGHT IN 2009

    3 Votes
  • Ka
    Kazman Oct 03, 2011

    I have a 32" Proscan LCD. Turns on and I get sound but no picture. Nothing! Call proscan they send out repairman to fix. Repairman says it needs parts, ok, order parts wait another 10 days, repairman comes and say he cant fix it, it is the monitor. He argues with tech on the phone with proscan. Then he says they will have to replace it. OK now its going on three weeks and I cant get a hold of ANYONE! I am so pi#$ed off at them. Finally a person calls at 3pm and I miss call but she leaves voice mail. OK so I call back at 3:30, then 4, then 4:30 what freakin time do they work till. Still no solution to my problem. I would NEVER buy another product from Proscan OR RCA !!!

    Kaz

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jan Wagner Aug 27, 2011

    I bought a Proscan Lcd tv/dvd #37LB30QD. Whn I power on, the blue light will come on for a few seconds, then turn back to red. Then it will have no response. I unplug it and it will do the same when I power it up again. After it turns red, there is no response whatsoever. We try to turn it on for hours and finally it will turn on occassionally .. like maybe every 3rd week. I have done a lot of research on the internet and this is being reported on several models all over web. How do you start a recall or class action suit? By the way this has happened before: 'consumer product class action which resulted in a settlement of $100 million in cash for consumers of approximately 6 million affected RCA, GE and PROSCAN televisions across the country. ' I wonder if they put the leftover parts in this model!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dal Cole May 11, 2011

    My televison is still under warranty by manufacter but i am unable to get a working number.

    0 Votes
  • SearsCare Apr 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear rgmbem,

    I am sorry to hear about the issue that you are having with your TV. I saw this comment and I wanted to reach out to you to see if we could be of assistance. We would like to look into this on your behalf to see how we can resolve this to your satisfaction.
    My name is Misty with Sears Cares and we would like to discuss this with you further. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [email protected] so we can help. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the TV was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (rgmbem) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.


    Thank you,

    Misty H.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

    0 Votes
  • Rg
    rgmbem Apr 21, 2011

    This comapny need to recall the 42 inch Prscan TV, Our started smoking and u can smell the wires or something buring. The TV is only 2 years old, And Sears wont take it back or anything. was on the phone wit them for 49 mins. Dont buy from this company beening they dont worried about that product catching fire

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    arlyn johnson Feb 22, 2011

    i got a proscan 40 inch year and 3 months ago screan went blue doesnt work anymore shouldnt have to buy extra insurance for tv they should last 2 years or your money back

    0 Votes
  • At
    AtomicDog Oct 31, 2010

    Just bought a Proscan 40LD45Q 40" LCD about 3 months ago. Beautiful picture, but now it does not turn on. The blue light will come on for a few seconds, then turn back to red. Then it will have no response. I unplug it and it will do the same when I power it up again. After it turns red, there is no response whatsoever, until I unplug and plug it back in again. Who do you call for that?

    -1 Votes
  • Ke
    ken carnahan Oct 04, 2010

    we have a 32 inch proscan and the sound went out, i cant figure it out, i think its gone for good.im going to try to calling proscan to see if they can help, but reading all these complaints has got me worried

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The Henge Aug 25, 2010

    Biggest P.O.S I bought the one and only thing I will ever buy from HGTV came with the dvd playera nd surround sound neither of those work and now I just get the greaan screen on the T.V. SO I have to shut off and turn back on far too often. 37" LCD model

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    M. Rodriguez May 01, 2010

    we just bought a 40" proscan LCD, and love everything about it, except for the lack of quality sound. this is our first hdtv and everything about it is so much better than the old clunker we had. however, after reading these reviews I wish I had waited to afford to buy a more reputable hdtv. But you can't cry over this; I am grateful for this new tv, my husband and I are totally enjoying it. Any suggestions on adapting speakers and surround sound? Much appreciated, thanks.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.