Proactive & Vitaclear VitaminsVery unhappy about both companies

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Wow so i will never recommend using proactive, it had horrible / harsh results on my skin and that wasn't even daily use like your suppose to. My skin probably would've been a lot worse than it already is. I just called proactive to recieve a refund and i'm glad i did today or i would've been sent another proactive system without my consent! I've looked everywhere and have tried all of the numbers given to me for the stupid vitaclear vitamins that i keep getting charged. So i will cancel my debit card after i recieve my refund from proactive. The numbers you call you are on wait for over 15 minutes and you still are unable to get to a live person and they do not have a direct website.
Proactive was horrible on my skin and vitaclear has no way of getting in contact with them directly!! Let me applaud them for having such a wonderful company.
Alanna

Responses

  • Am
    Amaka Agbata Jan 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Now I'm more scared than ever. No interest in either of the products again. Had just ordered 2 different packages of proactiv for a total of $60 for my baby sister who has big acne/pimples problem. Though I'd ordered one for $40 for myself before and have been using it but it's been over drying my face, and the free eye brightening gel nearly shrunk my eyes to closure then I quit using that. Anyways, so far, I noticed that my own big break outs ain't popping up again. But the tiny little ones still do. The dark spots are also fading gradually. Though I don't use the products as often as prescribed it still burns and cracks and shrinks my face. So I use a different calmer and cooler moisturizer every night after following the proactiv routine or not.
    Can I get a refund if I call in the morning to cancel the order I'd placed tonight for my Lil sister cos usually she complains that harsh products messes up her face the more? Someone advice me.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    msbhavin Mar 12, 2015

    I've been using Proactiv off and one since 2010. I can say it has worked for me. Over the years I have tried other products that did not work as well as Proactiv. However, when I received the VitaClear, I thought it was a product of Proactiv. Today is my second day of taking the pills and I am sick to my stomach. In the trash they go. I can barely sit up straight. I decided to read the reviews of this product and this is what I found. I am so displeased right now. I called the company and the rep told me they couldn't find anything under my name or billing zip code. I never gave VitaClear authorization to do anything with my credit card or account. I never even established an account with VitaClear. I told the rep if my account is charged, legal actions will be filed for fraud. And I'm serious.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    ajd33 Jan 27, 2015

    I had great results with the customer service. I knowingly enrolled in their trial when I purchased proactive. I did not cancel the trial before they sent the bottle. I expressed concern over this when I went to cancel as it had not been a full month. The service rep was very friendly, removed the charge and said to not worry about returning the other bottle. For everyone complaining, I understand as I have been burned by free trials, but Vitaclear is very clear on their product and they then send a notice stating that you will be charged if you do not cancel. No complaint.

    0 Votes
  • As
    Ashlynn Elise Jan 15, 2015

    EVERYONE THAT WAS "SURPRISED" OR "ANGERED" BY THE COMPANY CHARGING YOU DID NOT READ. I was made aware when buying my first box of Proactiv that this product could be added to my cart free of price for the 30 day TRIAL. It also stated that after the 30 days, it would charge you for further payments. Now I have to admit, I didn't notice a MAJOR difference in my completion after using it... Although it has only been two weeks. I decided to cancel my membership anyways and asked the agents at Proactiv for instructions on cancelling. They gave me the number, and I called and cancelled in about two minutes. I have no clue what these people are talking about because as far as customer service, I received the BEST!!! And I may decide to reactivate my account later if I choose to do so. It was very clear to me that if I was not satisfied with the vitamins, I needed to cancel BEFORE they charged me the amount for the next shipment. It's not that hard to read people. You just saw free and bought it without reading.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boodoo Jan 01, 2015

    I purchased proactive plus on line and they have been sending vitaclear since then. i have asked proactive to stop sending their product ...they have stopped however i am still receiving vitaclear and they continue to take money out of my credit card when i call the number there is no answer . I am totall fed up with these people don't know why they continue to steel my moneys...and they are theives...i have to go to my bank and cancel my credit card

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    SMITHTOO Aug 08, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here's my follow up to the Proactive/Vita Clear experience. I received my products on time. I called the same day to cancel any additional orders from Vita Clear and Proactive. I received a cancellation confirmation in my email.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    SMITHTOO Aug 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OK, based on all the comments that I have read about proactive and vita clear. Here is my situation. I have used proactive in the past and it worked wonders on my African American skin. I stopped using it and went to the dermatologist since I thought that would be better. However, the dermatologist got to be very expensive and I decided to go back to proactive. I ordered it online and accepted the free vita-clear...THEN I read all of your comments (shame on me for not doing my research first), my proactive arrives tomorrow. 8/5 I definitely plan to use it. When I receive the free vita clear, I plan to cancel immediately, as I only got it because it was "free". Has anyone ever cancelled before they received the vita clear product in the mail? If so, how successfully were you with the cancellation? Thanks in advance.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarahcwhite86 Jun 09, 2014

    I got my pro active plus in today and I also received the sheer cover makeup as well as the vita clear vitamins. I Have used proactive for the last couple of Month It works super good. Not only does it clear your acne but it makes your complexion look super flawless. Almost like your skin is photo shopped or out of a magazine. Now I ha vent tried the makeup. But I heard it works really good and is really good for your skin. I took one of the vita clear vitamins about 45 minutes ago and I feel really sick to my stomach. However the bottle says Its preferable to take with food. Which I did not do so that could very possibly be the reason for the Nausea everyone is experiencing. I will make sure to eat tomorrow before taking the vitamin and give it another try. If I feel like I do right now I will stop taking the vita clear vitamins for sure and cancel my prescription. As for pro active..I love it and will continue to use it. When I first started pro active my face did break out pretty bad then got better. I believe this occurs because it is Pushing out all the acne that was to come. It pushes out the oil and dirt. The term "it always gets worse before it gets better" definintly applies to this product. Thanks! I recommend pro active for sure! Not so sure on vita clear yet!

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    Uri Idstrom Mar 24, 2014

    I am investigating claims against VitaClear. If you signed up for a free trial of vitamins and were charged for unsolicited monthly shipments, please feel free to contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    Uri Idstrom Mar 21, 2014

    I am investigating complaints into VitaClear. If you signed up for a free trial and were charged for unsolicited, monthly shipments, feel free to contact me at [email protected] I may be able to help you obtain a refund.

    0 Votes
  • To
    toricatx Mar 06, 2014

    I cancelled my Proactive subscription after three days of using it. DESTROYED MY SKIN!!

    The Vita Clear Vitamins.. I was not even aware that I was being charged separate.. I received an invoice for $98 that had already been charged to my banking account.. I am a waitress.. I can't drop hundreds of dollars on vitamins that do not work

    the entire system was awful

    called the number on my invoice and cancelled it all

    0 Votes
  • Hh
    hhuff Feb 18, 2014

    I just discovered that this is the phone number that does work [protected], it didn't take long to get a hold of someone and they let me cancel and return the last unopened box of pills and are going to refund my account for December, January and February.
    Wahoo!! Finally got them to stop sending them too me!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    angelwriter Feb 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have used Proactiv in the past and loved it. Not sure why I stopped using it. I just started my son on the teen supply and received the Vitaclear today. I am not sure how this works but we did get meds from the doctor that were prescription and those we were told would break him out more the first couple of months and then become clearer. Most of these products seem to have that effect when they are drawing things out. Then they clear up but you have to continue using it or the oils will pile up on your skin again and cause the same issues.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mizzmiller Jan 20, 2014

    I started using proactive about 3 weeks a
    go. At first it did seem like my skin was getting worse. But never the less I continued to use it and my skin is looking younger and clearer everyday. It basically pulls all the bad stuff ou.t and clears it up. Rainbow after the storm kinda thing. Patience ppl this ### doesn't work over nite but I noticed a difference instantly on how my skin felt and feels. My pores are totally smaller and the under eye serum has lightened up my dark circles under my eyes . I take the vitamins and have been for a Month they Make me feel and look refreshed and healthy I can see that continuing to use these I products I will see even better results. It seemed like it took forever to get here but that's because of the business day thing and holidays thanks proactive and I love the vita clear. Also your supposed to use the proactive everyday try using less of the 2nd step

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    NeverAgainInMyLifetime! Sep 25, 2013

    Ditto! Ditto! Ditto! To every letter written complaining! I feel very foolish for falling into this trap!!! Never, ever, EVER! Again!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr David Sep 10, 2012

    Davius Rosius,
    Proactive is a rip off... How can a multimillion dollar company
    Play games with people mind and a motion, It is way to unfair for them not give people back their money. The product does not work ; so whatever you do don't waste you time giving this company your hard earned money. It's better to use something from a walgreen store then to try their products. When I took proactive it broke me out so bad that could not go out for two weeks. The vita care supplement does not work ether; so please people stay away from this product.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lizetteo Sep 02, 2012

    Hey guys i had the same thing happen to me with proactive and after calling numerous tI'mes and sending back packages even after cancelling with them I'm getting harassed by a collection agency for over $100!!! Horrible service and products were very harsh on my face!!! Thankfully i found something that actually works on my face doesn't burn and is all natural! It something iv been referring all my friends and family to! It even helped my little sister with her eczema! Totally dI'minished her eczema on her arms and legs with in 3 days of using this mud soap!!! Here's the website if anyone is interested with the products www.seacretdirect.com/lizetteo it's called SEACRET Minerals from the dead sea. If anyone has any questions fill free to email me at [email protected] :))))))))

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trini100 Aug 02, 2012

    This product is over priced and does not work. DO NOT ORDER. They continue to ship their products and charge your account without your permission. I was still being billed four months after I called and canceled the account. Total rip off.

    0 Votes
  • 00
    007616 Jul 31, 2012

    I was upset with Proactive then incredibly I stopped breaking out. It wasn't because of the Proactive though, it was the VitaClear vitamins. I still can't believe it, you have to give the vitamins time. After 45-60 days of taking 1 per day, not the recommended 2 per day. NO MORE BREAKOUTS, AND THE ACNE ON MY SKIN WAS SEVERE, BREAKOUTS COVERING MY ENTIRE BACK, ARMS AND CHEST, NOT KIDDING. Now all I take are the vitamins, and I order those from ebay, because I agree their billing system is EXTREMELY GREEDY. BUT NO MORE ACNE!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Did anyone read the Pamphlet? that talks about vita clear? probably not.

    -1 Votes
  • VITA CLEAR AND PROACTIVE ARE FROM THE SAME COMPANY YOU DUMB ###

    -1 Votes
  • Vitaclear works for me it gives me extra energy.

    YOU'RE ALL SO ###ING STUPID

    Vita clear does have a site

    and Vitaclear and Proactive are the same ###ing companies.

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    cs090684 Jul 17, 2012

    Proactive is the worst product for you skin. Not only did it make my skin oily, like it was not oily enough, it made my acne 10x worst. I had the regular period or hot weather break outs, but nothing like I did wen i started using that awful product. And its a scam charging people with out their consent. Flat out ridiculous. Don't waist your time or money on them. Now I use St. Ives face wash, that cost $4.50, and my skin has never been better.

    -1 Votes
  • Si
    Sinai_Bb Jun 23, 2012

    I use proactiv and I LOVE it. It works fine for me and no side effects. And those having billing issues you have to pay attention to what they tell you. They clearly explain the .process. But if your still unhappy you should consider buying your proactiv at your local malls. I buy mine at my local mall at Proactiv vending machine. It's simple and easy. No shipping fees and I'm in control when I want to buy more. And as far as Vita Clear they worked great for me. I got them sent to me by mail, and when I decided to cancel I did with no problem.

    0 Votes
  • Nv
    NV1125 May 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WHY DO YOU GUYS DEAL WITH THESE FREE TRAIL OFFERS? the best company to deal with when it comes to fat burns and really good antioxidants is SUPER MAX SUPPLEMENTS. they offer a great variety of different vitamins, the website prices are a bit expensive so i recommend that you call [protected] ext.704 because they are able to give you way better prices. i love this company i have been buying my resveratrol from them for 3 years and i have never had any problems with the company.

    0 Votes
  • Os
    Oshera May 19, 2012

    After reading so many complaints against Vita Clear, I am surprised that they are still in business. We too were scammed, received the "free trial" of vitamins. Next thing I know my account is being charged $59 without my permission and without giving anyone my credit card number. I am very disappointed in Proactive for being a party to this. My daughter likes Proactive and it is endorsed by so many. I personally think it is overpriced and will be canceling. Canceling the Vitaclear was a huge hassle. I called [protected] to cancel. They charged before I even got the first shipment of vitamins. She said to ship vitamins back when I receive them and then call with the tracking number for a refund. So I did. Called with the tracking number and they said that it only works when the receive the vitamins back. Continued to call for the next 4-5 weeks. Had an additional $39.95 taken off the next month. They finally said they received vitamins and said they had "gotten lost". The did refund everything except the $8.95 shipping and handling for a product that I had never ordered!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kellymak Apr 27, 2012

    I called and had them cancel the vitamins and they sent them again and then charged my account twice! I called asking for a refund and 5 weeks later they are saying they still haven't checked to box into their system yet! I told them I was going to file a complaint with the BBB, then she put me on hold and 5 mins. later issued a $77 refund, still have to wait 3-5 days for it to show up in my acct so we'll see! Do not do business with this company they are not professional and might even be running some kind of a scam.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angry angry angry customer Feb 22, 2012

    Vita Clear and Pro Active sends their shipments faster than I can use them. I called 2 months ago to cancel. Today I got another shipment of the vitamins. Now I have to return the package and wait 4 weeks for a credit. I think I will just call my credit card and tell them not to pay.

    0 Votes
  • Ug
    ugh12345 Dec 03, 2011

    i have been taking vitaclear vitamins for about a week now and i would take them after dinner then i would get real sick and felt like i needed to hug the toilet . I thought i caught a virus or something so i started taking then at lunch and had the same effect i was sooooo sick to my stomach...i would not recommend them to anyone ...

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kasindra Aug 11, 2011

    I have been having nothing but problems with GRC Vitamins let me just say that the vitamins dont work at all! I have called to cancel the vitamins and was told that it was taking care of to return them when I recieve them, its been a month now and I have yet to recieve the vitamins and I found out from my credit statement that I was billed again for $32.94 and that this was 2/3 payment they will be charging me?? (This blew my mind ) I have already cancelled these vitamins and why is there a 3 payment charge that I was never informed about? They are making unauthorized payments to my credit card and I had to canel my card just so that they dont continue to bill me. Everytime I call them they give me run around there is no manager you can speak to and they are very suspicious. I have been researching online and there are many people who are having the exact same problem as me. The bottom line is this company is a total scam!

    -1 Votes
  • Sh
    shantee76 Jun 30, 2011

    Hello, I've been using Proactiv for years and enjoy it. I happen to get asked from many Proactiv rep's about trying a FREE 30 day supply of VitaClear Vitamins. So I ended up agreeing to letting them send it to me. I started using the VitaClear Vitamins about almost 3 months now. I'm still yet to see any results and if anything at one point I thought it was breaking me out. lol. I asked my aunt who's a nurse and she read the ingredients and said nothing on there didn't look like anything to break you out. I also seem to have problems with my stomach whenever I take the Vitamins and YES I do eat first each time I take them. At first I thought maybe I was taking them too soon after eating. I'm not sure but I'd rather just cut my losses now and use my Proactiv Solution. I'm sure I can find a Multivitamin that does the same thing and is much cheaper. I'm not knocking it but it didn't work for me and everyone is different. I just canceled my subscription for VitaClear today, so hopefully I don't have any issues with charges in the future. But it's weird how the majority of people I read on here are experiencing the same issues. It was a disappointment to me at the makers of Proactiv. Thank God you cancel at any time :)

    -1 Votes
  • Em
    Emilyandmagic Apr 30, 2011

    I thought I'd try the VitaClear vitamins with my ProActiv but when I recieved the box several days after my ProActiv arrived, I knew that I wasn't going to use them and I needed to cancel. I called the number supplied above (which is also listed on their website if you google VitaClear Vitamins or Guthy-Renker Nutrition) and was easily able to cancel my "subscription" before my bank account went into turmoil.
    Do NOT get VitaClear vitamins! My sister took a few of them and suffered headaches for days.
    If you need a vitamin supplement (Vitamin B is good for acne apparently...) then first talk to your doctor and find a vitamin that works for you, don't get VitaClear!
    I'm not seeing many improvements with my ProActiv. I did when I first used it last year, but now it's not improving blemishes/preventing them. I have moderately severe acne, and thought that this in the combination of BC (though I've only been on BC for a month) would help...I'm giving it until June and then if I see no further improvements, I'm going to try Cetaphil.
    I'm just so tired of trying EVERYTHING and NOTHING working. :(

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GeneDL Dec 30, 2010

    Please report this to 7 On Your Side. I think this is the only solution for all of us.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    user900 Dec 09, 2010

    I really don't know how people said they break them out, because it is just a vitamin. But actaully some people may be allergic to the iron, Iodine ect. But yes, they did over charge my account and I cancelled my order A.S.A.P. I called them actually as soon as my first order arrived. And it worked fine. The vitamins aren't what was breaking people out though, it was simply the fact that it was an allergic reaction to some of the ingredients.

    Better luck next time, (:

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tannerwife2010 Nov 22, 2010

    i have the greatest solutuon ... i just used a prepaid visa or mastercard its perfect..they can charge all they want i just never reload that card so if they keep sending then there getting screwed not us. the proactiv is ok so far pills just started to day i am a bit skeptical but thats just me ... nothan works

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jarod m. Nov 08, 2010

    i have been using proactiv's three step system for about two months and it is extremely effective and im very confident with my soon to have shipment of vitaclear vitamins. If people are not smart enough to research what they are paying for they deserve to be taken from

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    KaiCourts Oct 14, 2010

    I think there is enough ppl on here with the same problem to start a lawsuite???? Anyone interested?

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KaiCourts Oct 14, 2010

    VitaClear STOLE money from me as well. I NEVER ordered it from them it was a FREE sample when I ordered proactive and they never told me that Vitaclear was going to continue to send me stupid vitamins that I have never taken and continue to charge me $33 a month.. I called over a year ago to cancel this and they still have been charging me. I called this morning and they were so rude to me. Telling me that there was nothing that they could do for me. I find it funny its easy for them to take the money but not return it to me. Im calling a lawyer to see what I can do since they took over $200 without my permission!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Al
    Alliegator Oct 02, 2010

    TO EVERYONE SAYING THEY GET SICK OFF THESE:

    You NEED to take it with food. Otherwise, you are almost guaranteed to get sick. It even says so on the box...but that's with most pills. You need food to help absorb everything.

    And I am scared to keep taking them because after about 4 days, I started losing vision in my left eye and getting lots of pressure behind it. I stopped taking the vitamins and it hasn't happened since. I'm not sure if it was due to the vitamins, but it was REALLY scary!

    Whoever said vitamins aren't harmful is wrong. If you have liver or kidney problems, or any major health problems, you should check with a doctor. Sometimes you can be getting TOO much of something that will harm your body. (doctors like to prescribe vicodin to patients even if they have kidney problems and vicodin will shut down your kidneys.) Listen to your body, people.

    -1 Votes
  • An
    ana25 Jun 07, 2010

    How do i take vita clear? How many times a day?

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.