Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Internet Services People-Records.net They didn't tell the truth!
More

People-Records.net - They didn't tell the truth!

J
Author of the complaint
3:16 am
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I was interested in building my family tree and finding ancestors. I paid on line for a 5 year membership for unlimited access to public records. Every time I searched for someone it said it wasn't available even tho I entered names I knew the information for. Then I tried something different and was told I had used up my credits. Nothing was said about credits when I signed up. I am calling my Credit Card Co. and if I can't get a refund then I am calling my Attorney. It may seem like a small amount but it is the principle of it, I can't believe they can continually get away with this.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More People-Records.net complaints & reviews

People-Records.net - Scam!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
32 comments
Add a comment
C
Mar 18, 2008 3:16 am

I joined this site for one year for 19.99 to help me locate people and to look up old marriages and deaths. I started with one i knew and got very little information. I then tried more names that were family. They all came up no data when i know there is. I feel like i got ripped off for the 19.99. If this is all I'm going to find it was very bad advertisement for i can't believe all the names i have are no record. This was a good lesson. Wish i could get money back as I'm retired, but I'm sure i can't.

Helpful?
0 0
E
Nov 19, 2008 3:16 am

I PAID TO REGISTER 11/01 AND EVER SINCE I CANNOT GET INTO ANYTHING ON THE PEOPLE-RECORDS.NET ...I TRY TO SIGN IN USING THE LOGIN PHASE AND RECEIVE NO RESPONSE AFTER USING MY SIGN IN NAME AND PASSWORD. PLEASE REFUND MY MONIES. THANK YOU ELMER NIEBLER 611 OVERLOOK PATH, SOUTHINGTON, CT. 06489. I AM 88 YRS. OLD AND THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Apr 30, 2008 3:16 am

When I filled in the registration, I forgot to put the verification # in and now they won't let me go back
and redo it...is there some way that you can correct
the situation for me? The number is: 643. Thank you for your trouble and assistance.
Also, is this the reason I am having trouble getting
any responses?
Jo-Ann Foster-Upson
[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
J
Mar 05, 2008 3:16 am

I paid thru clickbank for membership to People-Records.net and they never send password or username, you can't research then from their site.

Nothing for my money!

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 29, 2008 3:16 am

I paid for an annual membership to be able to look-up records but nothing comes up. It can't find anybody and they don't return emails regarding support or complaints. I think this is a ripp-off site.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jun 03, 2008 3:16 am

They Lie and take your money!

Helpful?
0 0
D
Oct 14, 2009 3:16 am

I have come acrosss the same fraud while visiting CensusRecords.us. at www.censusrecords.us. It positions itself as the USA Official Census Records Provider. They offer several subscription plans (unlimited access to census records). When I signed up for one of their plans ($8.40/month) using my credit card, I received a notification that an email with login and password has been sent to me. Instead, I received an email from a click.bank stating that my bank account has been billed. What made worried is that the bank statement said that my account will be billed every two weeks - the term I had not seen before signing up. Any attempts to use their services are absolutely useless, the system says you are not a registered user. THIS IS A SHEER FRAUD. I applied to F.B.I. and blocked the card.

I suspect this is the same bunch of swindlers as those that created People-records.net.

NEVER USE CENSUS RECORDS.US! IT'S A BIG SCAM!

Helpful?
0 0
G
Sep 01, 2009 3:16 am

Disgusting company, a total rip-off; they are playing games with refunding the customer; my bank will fight them for my refund, and I too am contacting the BBB; they should be out of business

Helpful?
0 0
K

I also joinedPeople-Records on28th Dec., within 2hrs I decided to cancel as records dont go back any further than1974, plus I couldnt find anything, I paid $50.I was offered 5yr membership if I stayed Plus supply information and they woulds do research for me etc. ect I supplied them with information only to find, no information, from 28th to4th Jan e-mails every day from them with offers, every day I told them to cancel and refund my moneybut no luck so beware this search was worthless to me.
Kath Carey

Helpful?
0 0
G
Dec 02, 2008 3:16 am

I too feel like I've been ripped off! I complained the same day, asking for my money of $34.99 back and did I get it, no.

Gail Garcia-Smith
Grand Rapids, MI

Helpful?
0 0
T
Dec 01, 2008 3:16 am

I'm going the BBB etc, etc. RecordsArea.com is the same logo in Az. Scam's, are the same company.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Nov 09, 2008 3:16 am

i have had people records.net since april 2007 and have not been able to get any information i look for they just sak for more money. when i complain all i get is an e mail saying they will respond but not to reply back i will never use the internet for any other service that cost and i will tell anyone and everyone i possibly can.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Oct 19, 2008 3:16 am

I just signed up for the 1 Year access to Unlimited People Searches "" $29.95 ($14.99) One Time Billing
YES! I also want UNLIMITED ACCESS to People Lookups, Inmate Records, Ancestry Records, Death Records, Sex Offenders, Census Records, Court Records, Cell Phone Trace, and much more! for only $9.95 (Save $90.04)
YES, I also want Access to your EXCLUSIVE PREMIUM DATABASES! Including Criminal Records, Civil Records, DMV Records, and your All-in-One Background Check Database for only $9.95 (Save $109.97) Discount Ends Soon!"
October 18, 2008 = They are still a SCAM and should be in JAIL as the District Attorney should any SCAM artists - Thief! Fraud by virtue of "Intent to deceive" Easily proven by the previous price list for services rendered. THey cut me OFF completely after I complained to their support division. CLK BANK who does their billing needs to have a civil suit for their assistance in this fraud and a jury to award penealty.
The owner of People Records .net needs to be identifies for prosecution.

They are the ### of the earth and desparate. Department of Consumer Affairs is useless. But enough compplaints and they might get off their "state tax paid" buts and do something.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Oct 10, 2008 3:16 am

i know that i keep paying more than what i have been able to find anything. also can someone get a number for this company

Helpful?
0 0
J
Oct 09, 2008 3:16 am

I to have paid for membership and haven't yet succeeded in gaining any information and cannot get any help from anyone, feel a real idiot for paying for this and have cancelled my credit card (just in case). Everyone be aware this is a real scam.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Aug 23, 2008 3:16 am

THIS COMPANY IS UNBELEIVEABLE

THEY DONT EVEN HAVE A CUSTOMER SERVICE PHONE NUMBER

WHAT SENSE DOES THAT MAKE

TOTAL THEFT

Helpful?
0 0
K
Aug 04, 2008 3:16 am

Did anyone get a refund ? I cant seem to get any info on the company to get my money back. Did anyone get a phone number ?

Helpful?
0 0
B
Aug 04, 2008 3:16 am

I am requesting People-Search/clickBank the $39.94 that I paid for their unlimited search services. I have tried for two days to get some kind of search information even infomation I already have to no avail unless I pay additional monies. I have sent multiple e-mails to the company asking for help with no response. I am now contacting the F. B. I. and the F.C.C. for theft. I paid for a service and this company is not providing it.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jul 20, 2008 3:16 am

I also paid $29.94 for a service I have not been able to use. Seems I am not the only one. WHAT A SCAM.
Something should be done.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jul 04, 2008 3:16 am

I have experianced the exact same thing and I am very disapointed! I too am on limited income and I could put this money to much better use! THANKS FOR NOTHING!

Helpful?
0 0
K
May 25, 2008 3:16 am

people-records.net
is no good at all they get me for $29.94.
there again.
LOOK OUT.

Helpful?
0 0
M
May 17, 2008 3:16 am

I found that I had no results from any searches I made. I found this board and saw that I was one of many with the same problem. Therefore I did what most of us do not do!

I actually read the terms and conditions posted on the People-records site. There they clearly tell you that they are selling you nothing! They rely on the general public being lazy and not reading their terms and conditions.

Also I found that they list how far back by years which their records searches go back by type of search per state. Most of the data bases only go back to the 80's or 90's with one going back to 1974.

This makes the searches worthless for me and I am sure most other consumers.

The most important lesson I learned from this encounter is "buyer beware!". Do your due diligence before making a purchase.

I now know how dumb I really am! Enough said.

Helpful?
0 0
M
May 16, 2008 3:16 am

I had the same problem with People-records, and they told me to send them the information I was looking for and they would find it for me. But when my bank statement came in I called clickbank and they sent me a confirmation that they are returning my money. The number to them is [protected]. They did not ask any questions. I told them I had been trying to get my money back.

Helpful?
0 0
H
May 10, 2008 3:16 am

THis make my forth time trying to get information why I can not fet on line with people-records.net, I paid my $29.99 by visa My order number is as follows (DE238TST). I am still waiting fopr your answer!

[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
H
May 09, 2008 3:16 am

Believe it was the 7 May 2008, I joined People-records. my order number is DE238TST. paid $29.99 and as of this date 13 May 2008 have not been able to get on line, All the E-mail that I have send to you haven't been answer. If I don't get answer right away will be canceling oorder with you people.
[email protected]
[protected]

Helpful?
0 0
S
Apr 27, 2008 3:16 am

I joined and they did not give me a password & now I can't get in without it and no place to call or contact them. It is a ripoff

Helpful?
0 0
S
Mar 28, 2008 3:16 am

Don't use these guys they are a rip off! I doesn't work. No information no nothing!

Helpful?
0 0
V
Mar 02, 2008 3:16 am

I paid good money to get my father obituray but you say he didn't die in Maryland which is not true. Then I looked up my birth and you also said that I was not born in Fort Worth, TX which is not true again. Then I looked up my father born place and you also said that he was not born in his home state which I know is not true. Then I ask about my sons born and you again said that he was not born in Minnesota which I know is not true because I was there. I want you to return my money because you are no good for records.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Feb 24, 2008 3:16 am

I have just today signed up for People-Records and have already found out that it is not what it was represented to be. I could not get information for anyone I was searching for and the one that I did find there was an additional charge to get the information I wanted. There was a warning on the link to this website to the effect that not everything was what it advertised it would be. Dumb me. I failed to heed the warning. This is indeed a SCAM outfit.

Helpful?
0 0
G
Feb 21, 2008 3:16 am

No doubt, I had the same experience. couldn't even find phone numbers that I know are listed. What a sorry bunch of rip off artists. next time I'll check the web for complaints BEFORE I buy. I'll also be contacting visa for a refund. I agree, its the principal of it all.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Feb 20, 2008 3:16 am

Peopl-records.net does not disclose all info concerning membership. One fact is thst whoever is a member has to buy extra credits to do searches. There is not hardly anywhere a searcher can go that a fee isn't charged. Only once was I even able to find a person I was searching for . It is a rip off. I too will be contacting my credit card company to get a full refund. It has been only a few days for me also, and I've been cheated.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Feb 14, 2008 3:16 am

I too had the same experience. I entered info on people who I know. Nothing came up. This is a rip-off. I will be contacting my credit card company to get a full refund. With that, you can not contact them. I feel cheated.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT