The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Pekingeseselling mutts for purebreds

Bought a puppy that was supposed to be purebred Peke. Have papers saying he is peke, but he is not. He is a great puppy, and we will honor our committment to the dog to care for him always...but these people are NOT breeding pekes. They seem to be a peke/chin mix, but definitely not purebred.

Responses

  • Ch
    ChrisC Aug 22, 2009

    Hi, I was just looking at the Caney Creek Pekingese website and was about to buy from them when I read your complaint. How do you know if your puppy is a peke/chin mix instead of pure-breed peke? Is it because of the fur color or because the nose is not snub enough? And did you contact the breeder about your problem and did they reply?

    -2 Votes
  • Bu
    buffsstuff1 Oct 19, 2009

    Caney Creek is an excellent place to purchase a Pekingese. We purchased one in February and according to the vet, he is pure Peke. Japanese Chin and Peke look alot a like, but the Chin has longer legs. They both came from the same line of dogs. Here is a link for educational purposes:
    http://www.thepekingeseclubofamerica.com/The%20Pekingese%20and%20The%20Happa%20Dog, %20with%20photos.pdf
    Some people will complain about anything, but that is one of the liberties we enjoy.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    JapaneseChinBreeder Nov 18, 2009

    Come on guys! Use some common sense! Do you have any idea how much a Japanese Chin cost? It's MUCH more than the $400 that these breeders are charging for their Pekingese. I am a breeder, and from my point of view...If I was lucky enough to own Chins, I would not be letting them accidentally breed my Pekingese. I'd be breeding them and making $1, 000+ per puppy!!!
    So for an average Joe, like the person making the complaint, to say that his/her Peek puppy is half peek-chin, is a joke. The 2 breeds are so similar, that the average person could not tell the difference. In the show ring, after the dogs are fluffed up and super groomed, there's a difference. But if you compared a regular every day Chin to a regular Peek, you cannot tell the difference.
    So to sum it up...if you're looking for a Pekingese that looks like it just stepped out of an AKC show ring, you're gonna have to spend $2, 000-$2, 500.
    P.S. I am not affiliated with this breeder. I am a breeder myself, and was searching this site for complaints on a different breeder when I found this. I just had to speak up when I read such an uneducated opinion, from someone who wanted a show dog but was too cheap to spend thousands for it.

    Photo of a Japanese Chin is attached.

    3 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammi13 Feb 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought two pekes from Vicky at Caney Creek and they are wonderful. Are they show quality?..no. But the person above is correct. You don't get show quality pups for $400. Please learn the difference before you go saying things you could be sued for. These dogs are not 'mutts'. First you need a DNA test to prove those allegations. Vicky shows pictures of her place and all her dogs. I find it difficult to understand where you would come up with them being part chin. Pet quality dogs can have differences in appearance from show quality dogs. It doesn't mean they aren't purebred. I hope people who read your complaint don't lose out on getting wonderful pekes by not buying from Caney Creek. It would be a great loss. She takes such good care of her pups.

    3 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman Mar 16, 2011

    You're right, IF I were not being truthful I could be sued. I haven't been, and I'm not worried about it since I'm being truthful. I care about the purity of the breed. I have no interest in show dogs and didn't anticipate getting one for $400. The dog I bought from CC came with papers saying it was pure peke. I DID DO DNA AND DNA TESTING SHOWS IT IS NOT PUREBRED. 70% peke, 30% "other" (Apparently Chin is not one of the genomes that is mapped). My only interest is in stopping the dilution of the peke breed. Anyway, I warned everyone, so proceed at your own risk of getting ripped off, but least you were warned. DON"T BREED THESE DOGS, THEY ARE NOT PUREBRED.

    As for the "breeder" who claims "average joes" can't tell the difference between pekes and chins... that "breeder" is woefully ignorant and stupidly condescending. All you have to do is read the standard from the AKC to see the MANY differences. One big difference is the coat. Pekes have coarse straight hair with a VERY thick undercoat. This dog has silky hair, NO undercoat, and after 2 YEARS, his hair doesn't get more than 2-3 inches long. This is also not a peke trait. there are many more differences, but I'm not inclined to waste more of my time and effort for ignorant folks like the "breeder". Anyway, like the ignorant "breeder" says, DNA is PROOF. And now I'm so aggravated I will go ahead with my complaint to the AKC.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammi13 Mar 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I feel so sorry for Vicky having to deal with all this. I just love my dogs pure and simple. If I was so dead set on getting pekes with the qualities you state, I'd have paid $2000. Regardless of what you say, if you wanted pekes with those guaranteed characteristics (and no, pet quality dogs are NOT guaranteed to have the qualities you listed) then you would have paid more than the piddly $400. And yes in the dog breeding world that IS a piddly amount. It's too bad you are so set on making a sweet lady miserable. I feel bad for you as well that you feel you need to do that. Did you really get DNA testing? If you won't pay for the qualities in a peke you want, why would you pay for DNA?

    0 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman Mar 17, 2011

    Whether Vicky is a sweet person or not is irrelevant to this discussion. I too love my dogs pure and simple. However, if you advertise a peke and provide AKC papers, they should be legit.

    2 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman Mar 17, 2011

    p.s. Dog DNA tests cost $60, another piddly amount. If I suspect I'm a victim of false advertising why not pay a piddly $60 to find out?

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammi13 Mar 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm just saying that if show quality traits are that important to you, it would be best in the future to pay more than Caney Creek charges. A purebred pet quality peke CAN have short hair, no undercoat, non-standard features, etc. I've had four pekes, only two from Caney Creek and all four had short hair, one with no undercoat (not the one from Caney Creek).. Therefore, even if DNA shows they are 100%, you apparently won't be happy with a $400 pet quality pekingese. Just a suggestion for the future so you will be satisfied. I have a friend who wanted a peke like she would see in dog shows and she had to pay over $2000. You most likely will not get what you're looking for, for the amount of $400. I know you must love your dogs regardless. But its best to get what you want. Also Vicky has photos of all her pekes on her website and most or all have medium to short coats. That should have told you they would not have the long coats of show quality dogs. So I'm a little confused if you wanted a long peke coated dog, why you would buy from there in the first place? I'm sorry if I'm missing something here, but something doesn't make sense.

    0 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman Mar 17, 2011

    Show quality traits are not that important to me as I have already stated. Paying for a dog that is ADVERTISED as PUREBRED and comes with AKC papers and getting a dog that is NOT PUREBRED...that is the problem.

    What I don't understand is your crazy interest in this...it's looking like you must have a connection to CC Pekes.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammi13 Mar 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don't even live in the same city and have never met Vicky. My puppies were delivered by a dog shipper. Think what you want. I'm not the unhappy one here. I'm perfectly satisfied with my dogs and haven't bothered to get DNA testing. And don't plan to.

    0 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman Mar 18, 2011

    So, you are only connected to people who live in your town? That doesn't make sense. You've never met Vicky, but you insist she is a "sweet person". You say you are satisfied with the dogs you purchased, yet you are posting on a complaint board. You say you just bought two pups, so you are probably not looking for an animal to buy. So wondering, since you are so happy with your pups, don't need any new pups and don't have a connection to CC Pekes...why ARE you here wasting my time? I'm done with this, you are the one missing something- you don't make sense at all.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammi13 Mar 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How unfortunate I'm wasting your time. I've come to the conclusion that you are a person who perhaps likes to make other people miserable. And for that I pity you. I'm intrigued by your obsessive need to waste everyone's time who reads this because YOU don't make sense. You wanted a show quality pekingese (apparently) yet you bought from a breeder who obviously only sells pet quality. That is illogical to the max. So you've wasted time and money when you would have done well to just make better decisions. Hopefully next time you will go to a breeder with dogs that have the qualities you want (for instance long hair...when NONE of Vicky's dogs have that kind of hair..duh). Can you see now that YOU are the one not making sense...her dogs NEVER had the qualities you were looking for yet you bought anyway. I hope you do love your pets even though they are sub-standard in your opinion. Look in any breeder magazine and when you see the term "SHOW QUALITY" and it shows pictures of the dogs that come from those lines, THEN go there...that makes sense...what you did, does not. And please don't insult me when you are obviously the one with issues. And for your information I have the right to answer to any public forum anyone posts on. I do not need a reason OR your permission. Also if DNA shows they are not 100% peke, then contact Caney Creek. Have you even done that or do you just want to complain? I'm sure Vicky will at least refund your money if you show proof of certified DNA testing. But you don't mention doing this, so I wonder if this whole mess is even legitimate.

    0 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman Mar 20, 2011

    This is not and never was about show quality vs. pet quality. It is about AKC papers given for a dog that is NOT PUREBRED. I feel sorry for you that you have nothing better to do with your life than butt into something that you say doesn't concern you.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jamie44 Apr 29, 2011

    Have you ever contacted Caney Creek Pekingese about this problem? If you didn't that tells alot about you. Vicky probably got her dogs the same way you got yours. Did you ask to see DNA papers on the mother and father. AKC only requires DNA from the sires. I dont think CCP would ever mislead people intentionally. I think you are someone just trying to cause troulbe for Vicky.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamie44 Apr 29, 2011

    I have just checked CCP's web site. At the present time Vicky is selling babies. I personally believe you just come to life when it's time for her to sell a litter. You must be a sad and bitter old lady that has nothing better to do. Are you trying to sell puppies, and having no luck. So you are blaming her !! Just look at her male dogs, and tell me they aren't AKC. I personally have visited Vicky"s home, and her dogs all look just fine to me. I have bought 2 puppies from her, and never had a problem. I feel sorry for you. God Bless You

    1 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman May 05, 2011

    Yes, I talked to Vicky, and right after that she changed ALL of her breeding dogs. This happened over TWO YEARS AGO. Interesting that the writing is the same style as the other person above...meaning that you are trying to insult me personally when the issue is the dogs. I don't feel sorry for you, just feel sorry for anyone who has to be around you. In fact you seem bitter and obsessed with a problem that is between me and the breeder. I am not a breeder, both my pets are spayed.

    2 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman May 05, 2011

    p.s. The "God Bless You" is very hypocritical. It's clear you don't mean it.

    1 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman May 06, 2011

    NOTICE: This posting was intended as a cautionary warning for letting people know that they should check pedigree and DNA for purebred dogs. I did talk to Vicky at Caney Creek at the time this all happened (two years ago). She told me I would have to wait until the dog was 2 years old see his "grown-up" characteristics. Now, two years down the road, I am very happily bonded to the dog, whom I love dearly, regardless of his questionable pedigree. He is bonded to me and my other pet as well.

    I am not/never was looking for reimbursement for my beloved dog. The breeder did change her studs after this occurred, so it is possibly no longer an issue. I have ZERO interest in the ongoing insults and argumentative posts from the person(s?) above, they serve no purpose and accomplish nothing. What is with all the personal attacks having nothing to do with the situation at hand??? Of course, anyone can create many multiple user names for this site, so it is impossible to say if the personal attacks above came from one person, or separate individuals. Writing style (or lack thereof) seems to indicate that it is the same person using different user names.

    I will say that Vicky does seem to keep her dogs very well. My dog is healthy, happy, and adorable.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammi13 May 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm not the same person as the one above. Wow you're sounding a bit paranoid. This board is meant for people to be able to answer back if they disagree with the original poster. Obviously others disagree with your views besides me. If it upsets you don't post. But please don't think every person who comes along from here on out and ALSO disagrees with you happens to be ME using different user names. I have no problem talking to you under my original name. If you feel 'attacked' maybe you should consider the source. And for your information I would never say "God Bless You'...you have your own karma and God doesn't get involved in that..in my opinion. I'm glad you seem to have gotten your issues straightened out. From the fact Vicky changed her breeders, she obviously didn't mean to cheat anyone. I believe if you had chosen a better title it wouldn't have seemed you were just an angry person causing trouble. I wouldn't consider these dogs 'mutts' because they didn't have 100% peke dna. Less hyperbole in the future would help.

    -1 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman May 09, 2011

    I *DO* consider the source, which is you, attacking seems all you know to do. It seems you just argue for a hobby. I have much better things to do and my problem is resolved. Can't tell what your SPECIFIC problem is, but then I realy don't care to try to sort out your weird neuroses. For your "new" comments: Asked and answered, see above. You're looking like a stalker to me.

    1 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman May 09, 2011

    fyi By DEFINITION, a dog that is not purebred is a mutt. see below. Doesn't matter what YOU "consider", a NON-PUREBRED dog sold with AKC papers is CHEATING, just ask the AKC.

    MUTT: 1: a stupid or insignificant person : fool
    2: a mongrel dog : cur

    MONGREL: 1: an individual resulting from the interbreeding of diverse breeds or strains; especially : one of unknown ancestry
    2: a cross between types of persons or things

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammi13 May 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Whatever...you're unhappy. I get it. Love your dog and stop obsessing. I'm not the person who posted under the other name. You wish to be angry, fine. I'm not a stalker. Get over yourself. I'm responding to a complaint forum that I have every right to respond to, whether you think so or not. It's the REASON for the forum!! To respond...stalker??...jeez, dude..you're not a special snowflake.

    -1 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman May 10, 2011

    WHATEVER. SEE ABOVE.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammi13 May 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It just seems you're being purposely hard headed. It's cheating if the person KNOWS they're breeding 'mutts' as you like to put it. They got AKC papers from the organization same as anyone. She didn't print them out off computer software. So AKC is cheating too I guess...probably a lot of 'purebred' dogs are going to have some junk dna in there. It's not that unusual and doesn't mean the breeder knew about it. Your gripe should be with AKC, not Caney Creek. So you're basically upset that some grandparent or great grandparent of your dog had a smidgeon of 'other' in it that it passed down...wow. Plus I've been reading about DNA tests on purebred dogs and time after time they were coming up with mixed dna in there. Purebreds actually come about by breeding qualities from other dogs...dna will rarely show 100% anything and the science of it even states that it can't be used to prove a dog is purebred. Do the research and maybe you won't be so mean-spirited when you understand the genetics of breeding. Caney Creeks dogs are pekes, just not the $2000 pekes that you wanted. Unfortunately for them. And please stop telling me I have no right to respond. If you don't want to read what I post, don't read it...sheesh. I have two dogs from Caney Creek so there's my reason for posting here. I just happen to disagree with you...see above...it bullets AGREE - NEUTRAL - DISAGREE...meaning I can post here whatever I wish. Calling me names only demeans you.

    -1 Votes
  • Wg
    w goodman May 11, 2011

    Whatever. SEE ABOVE.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angela828 Sep 05, 2012

    Wow. I feel sorry for the poor little dog that ended up in this person's home. He/she obviously is "very" hard to please. I got my precious, adorable peke from CC and she is the absolute JOY of my life. I thank God every day that I found CC and my baby peke who I couldn't live without now. All this petty bickering over something as ridiculous as DNA??!! You just can't please some people and, like I said, I just feel sorry for the poor dog. Seems like someone forgot what a pet is REALLY for -- to be loved and spoiled and nurtured -- just like your children. Can't imagine being disappointed that one of my children didn't turn out as "pedigree" as I had wanted. Can we say "shallow"?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SharonKEmerson Nov 19, 2012

    I bought a puppy from Vicky at Caney Creek Pekingese and Im more than satisified with her. Her papers came back with her pedigree in tact as well :) Im confident that she is indeed a purebreed. She's 3mts old now and doing great. Vicky is a very sweet person and I was in talks with her for mts before getting my LouLou. She's an honest person and I think you cannot go wrong is getting your Pek from her!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mariesouthport Jul 07, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think everyone missed the picture. ...I bought a puppy from Vicky at Caney Creek I saw the mom and dad and saw the litter. I was pleased with what I saw, and that is why we bought at Caney Creek.
    it is not the blood line, how cold is that, you have love for these dogs, that is why we get a Pekingese.
    The puppy that I got last year is Bella, she is fantastic, so smart and sweet.
    She is a therapy dog for a Hospital Nursing Center in our town.
    you couldn't ask for a better behaved angel.in fact we want another.
    Sheila

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kitbem Jul 15, 2015

    I bought two female puppies from Vicky about four years apart and could not be happier. They both are spitting images of their respective fathers and have the best personalities. The oldest is seven, is a therapy dog, and has her canine good citizen certificate. Vicky told me the story about why she had to get new studs and it was very sad. These are some of the best pet quality pekes that I have owned. I have also been duped into getting puppy mill puppies and I can tell you without a doubt that Vicky's dogs are not that. I have no connection to Vicky other than buying puppies and I have recommended her to people who have complimented me on my girls.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions