Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Business & Finances OAN Services manipulate phone calls to get you into charges

OAN Services  -  manipulate phone calls to get you into charges

T
Author of the complaint
6:24 am
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

OAN Services should not be trusted they manipulate phone calls to get you into charges on your phone bill that can ad up quickly $29.95.

ADVERTISIMENT

More OAN Services complaints & reviews

OAN Services - fraudulent charges on Verizon bill
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
OAN Services - fraudulent charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
OAN Services - yp values, llc fraudulent chgs
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
OAN Services - unauthorized billing
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
OAN Services - fraudulent billing
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
OAN Services - unauthorized charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
85 comments
Add a comment
D
Jun 25, 2008 1:47 pm

I was charged for O N A Services on my phone bill. I live on a fixed income from Social Security and can't afford surprises like this from someone that I never even heard of. I was also billed from I L D Teleservices and E S B I (Enhanced Services Billing Inc.). Both of whom I've never heard of until now.

M
Dec 06, 2009 10:31 pm

This company started billing me through my verizon bill a few months ago. Immediately i called them to ask why they charged me when i never ordered this service, they told me my father, who passed away almost 4 years ago, ordered the service online. Ok, so know i new this was a scam, told the rep to cancel this service and credit my verizon bill. I was assured the account was closed and given a confirmation number. Now months later i am still being charged. I have also complained to verizon, who put a block on my account but somehow the charges keep showing up. I am at my wits end. I refuse to pay any of these charges. This fraudulent company needs to be shut down!

M
Feb 15, 2011 10:45 pm

Received my Verizon account additional unauthorized charges on my account. One from ESBI and another from OAN. Spoke with OAN Larry stated that someone in my household who is not authorized to modify this account added this service. Spoke with the person and he assured me which I know he didn't do that he didn't add anything to this account. I think this is just another company dumping something on your account hoping you will just pay this account without checking your bill. That is the reason I don't allow direct debit monthly for a bill because, fraudlent charges can occur or mistakes can be entered causing you serious problems.

F
Jul 17, 2009 11:51 am

My dad recently switched to FIOS received our phone bill and it came out for 400 dollars for a few calls made to Europe. I Called Verizon said I have to Call OAN Services. They guy told me my dad verbally agreed to this service 4 yrs ago and he canceled my service before I could finish telling my story to him. He said a supervisor will call us back. My dad has made called to Europe this past year and those charges were not there so they must have took his number and added him to their scam operation recently and the guy lied to me saying it was agreed 4 years ago because we never seem this before. Guy (jose) tried to make me look stupid saying oh you never checked you bill in 4 yrs sorry you have 30 days to cancel and we keep our voice recordings for only 2 yrs sorry you got to pay. THIS IS A SCAMMMM!

H
Oct 19, 2010 9:38 am

OAN is a complete scam. Third party charge to my verizon bill. When I called the toll free number, after being on hold for almost 20 minutes they insisted that I had requested the service. I did no such thing. Refused to credit the account. Even provided me with a phony "contract" where I had signed up for the service. However, it would be impossible for me to sign up for the service on the date they provided as I was nowhere near a computer on the date/time in question. How can Verizon allow people to just charge things to your accoutn.

R
Dec 10, 2009 10:07 am

Very displeased to see unauthorized accruing charges.. contacted last month, and takes 3 billing cycles to clear.. which means it is still being charged to date.

Then another OAN email stock service bill hit the verizon acct, in addition to the voice mail that is currently contested and disputed.

Will call again tomorrow...

I don't really understand why Verizon allows this OAN to use their company to include this type of charges in the same statement as verizon is.

Is Verizon receiving commission for billing this to rip-off customer? It is definitely not right to treat their loyal customer...

A
Jan 25, 2011 6:20 pm

OAN is listed as the ones to contact regarding a charge on our AT&T bill. Calling the OAN number simply forwards you to some other company. OAN does not appear to have anyone who actually answers phones or questions. The company OAN forwarded me to, Official Small Business Association, doesn't seem to have any employees to answer phones or questions either. I was forwarded to Official Small Bus. Assoc. and was asked to choose from one of three options that sticks me in limbo and endless soft jazz.

My thoughts are, yet another scam; some fake company with a website and no employees, charging for non-existent services.

Welcome to the world of free market deregulation.

K
Oct 20, 2010 8:48 am

I've tried to phone them to ask that they get off my phone service, they put me on hold for hours. They have no right to get on a persons bill without there say-so.I just want them off my phone bill thats all. OAN charges me for e-mail service when I don't need them. My e-mail service is from Frontier and Yahoo. They can add there service to any bill and it's almost impossibe to get them off. It's just not fair to the consumer. We need a way out. Thank You.

N
Apr 28, 2010 6:19 am

I was scammed by OAN and Kool Telecon, I called them and they said they would credit my account.

I called Verizon and they added me to their complaint list.

Verizon said they could do nothing about this. What a great country.

At OAN i talked to "Curtis" At Verizon I taled to "

Ms. Barnes" both acted like this was a normal thing.

Do you realize how many people this goes unoticed ?

The cost is probaly in the millions, and we have to close our State Parks because of budget shortfall. This date is April 12th, 2010.

I am very pissed, the amount was $17.76.

D
Nov 02, 2007 12:00 am

I received charges on my AT&T home phone bill for $9.23 (8.43 + communication taxes) on a day that I was 1000 miles away from my home. When I called their 800 number on my bill the person on the other side of the world said it could take up to two billing cycles for the charge to be removed. That means they get to use this money for two months with no interest. That is just my $10 plus how many others? 1,000... 10,000 ... 100,000... 1,000,000 x $10.00 easy money for OAN. How many people would even notice this charge. It was easy for me to spot my phone bill is normally $24.00 per month. Some people may have larger phone bills and the charge may go unnoticed or they don't think it is worth disputing. Now I have to pay the additional charges to avoid additional charges for not paying the scammed charges while they have my money (and others) in their pocket for two months interest free. This needs to be stopped. I vaguely remember this happening before with my phone bill but not sure if it was the same company.

N
Nov 23, 2009 9:51 am

Never signed up for this service or ordered it, when I called to cancel, the agent was a total snot!

Called my phone company and had them put a block on my account so future charges like this false one will not be added to my account without my authorization, the block was free and the company I do business with was VERY helpful.

Call as soon as you see the charge on your account and be sure to write EVERYTHING down, including the date, person you spoke with and any confirmation information they give you then follow thru because the charge may still be there next month!

U
May 21, 2007 12:00 am

I received my ATT phone bill and immediately knew something was amiss. My phone bill is usually . I opened my current bill and it was $35.96.

The charge for the call was $35.96 billed by OAN Services, Inc. with a number listed for them as [protected].

I stated to the staff person, that if this became a regular occurrence, that I would cancel my hard line phone and just use my cell phone.

It appears OAN believes it can tack on a $35.96 charge to a bill here, and another charge to a bill somewhere else and people won't notice the charge and just pay them. Unfortunately for them, there are those of us who do not have 2 or 3 pages of long distance calls and collect calls each month, we have none, so we catch them at their scam.

M
Apr 23, 2010 4:59 am

Oan-kooltelecom tried to get $19.00 by 3rd party billing our at&t phone bill. I thought at&t was a reputable company!

Tried the better business bureau, that website of theirs is a joke. What ever happened to customer service? I wonder, can you report the bbb to the bbb?

At&t was no help, they think oan is a great fcc regulated business. The good news is, AT&T is not the only game in town, we have choices now! There are other phone companies that do not 3rd party bill. We are switching to one of them asap.

Apr 13, 2008 1:04 pm

We had a charge of $12.95 in our bill from a Oan Services inc and we dont know why can you please figure this out and take it off. Make sure this does not happen again my parents got really upset because the internet bill and phone bill was really high it was because there was some kind of fee from a website no one entered it came from Oan services inc please figure out why and dont let it happen again. I thank you for the time to read this but hopefully you guys figure out why and how this happened thanks!

Jul 16, 2008 9:46 am

I was looking over my phone bill this morning and much to my surprise there was a charge from some company called OAN Services for $13.27. I called the phone company they said they couldn't help me and that I would have to talk to OAN directly. After talking to OAN I found out that they charged me for a service that I was said to have signed up for (I didn't sign up for anything web hosting service).

Be aware that OAN Services is out there and is willing to bill anyone and everyone they can. My suggestion is to review your bills every month, if you see OAN be aware of their unethical business practices.

R
Feb 07, 2011 1:11 pm

OAN is a scam. We recently found these unauthorized charges on our phone bill. They claim they have a verbal agreement with one of the guys and play a bogus recording they have done because it was not the man they claimed it was on the recording. They have absolutely no documentation to support their claim and we do not do phone soliciations! Our guy has stated he never heard of or signed up for any service from them and refers all sales call to the appropriate people. The man they claim authorized the charges does not even have the authority to do so. After much time and arguement, they are going to stop the charges and refund 3 months worth of charges but they have still stolen over $400. Everybody out there PLEASE watch your phone bills because the phone companies will do nothing for you and are helping these people steal consumers money. Why doesn't the FCC insist that the phone companies can't bill for any third parties and can only send consumers invoices for the phone companies charges only? This would help out consumers a lot!

T
Sep 29, 2009 12:19 pm

This is so wrong! how can someone be charged for things that were not authorized? I in no way, shape, or form authorized an additional $12.95 a month charge on my phone bill. OAN was putting charges on my AT&T home phone bill for web hosting services! I don't even know what that is! Who is to blame? OAN or AT&T for allowing it to go on for so long? How does this happen? it needs to stop! I see I am not alone in this distress and frustration. I called the OAN services number to remove my name and I did not even get to speak to a real person. It was a recording. Chickens! I hope this stops soon!

J
Aug 12, 2008 7:16 am

Received unauthorized bill for "USF Recovery fee" which appeared on my AT&T phone bill. When questioned, AT&T advised they have to put these charges on bill and can not ask nature of the bill due to the privacy act. OAN services advised the charge was put on my bill in error and they would credit my account in 1-2 billing cycles. This is unacceptable as I do not get 1-2 billing cycles to Pay my bill. I've disputed the charge with AT&T who have put a "dispute" on my bill however this should not have to be managed in this way.

R
Mar 09, 2010 12:18 pm

I never order any service from any second or third party i call them to complain about it and stop it they say they will and that was in december and now i got a bill in february and they still billing me why why when i have no idea what the service is for, i have unlimited long distance serivice with my phone company why will order another, do i look or sound like i am f...ing dumb Oan is a big rip off company well now they have to deal with the phone company and i will call consumer to report it.

G
Jul 31, 2009 3:32 pm

I just received a $22.95 charge on my AT&T bill from OAN Services. After contacting AT&T they told me I would have to deal with the company directly and gave me their telephone number: [protected]. They had signed me up for VOIP. They claimed they had telephoned me. If they had, I never answered it. I have caller id and never answer calls from telemarketers. Plus, I am on the Do Not Call list. They also had an e-mail address that I never use. I called them and they said they would credit my account and gave me a confirmation number. We'll see how that goes next month.

I would advise everyone to check their phone bills.

B
Sep 02, 2009 7:37 pm

We are a company not a person. They have gotten us for the last 3 bills! We called it in today and this is what happned. Called OAN they told us to call ATT. ATT said call OAN again bc they couldnt cxl. Called OAN who hung up on us twice but then said call Info Dial.

Info dial gave a fictional name of a supposed employee named Courtney T who authorized We dont have anyone by that name as we are only 20 ppl in office.

Got a cancel notice from info dial. they got us for the last 3 months.

S
Jun 02, 2007 12:00 am

OAN continues to bill me for Long Distance service that I canceled 4 months ago. When I try to call and talk to them about it, they admit the service was canceled, but can't explain why I am still being billed. The last supervisor was rude and totally unprofessional. She said she had the power to delete the charges in one day or she could wait more than a week before she deleted them if she wanted to. This company really is a scam. They are illegally collecting money for not providing service. Then they threaten you when you catch them at their game. Someone needs to slap a class action lawsuit on them.

Sep 15, 2008 12:11 pm

I opened my AT&T phone bill and seen it was higher. This company claims that I "signed up" for a 1-800 number. Which never happened obviously. Then I called and talked to someone that could barely speak english that said I signed up on-line. I asked her to repeat my soc. sec. number and was told they don't require that number. So anyone could have done this. Beware. You don't need personal info to order this and be billed. Just watch your phone bills. Oh, and yes I was told that I can cancel this fee but I would have to pay for this months bill! which I am not.

D
Sep 08, 2007 12:00 am

I just received my Verizon phone bill. On the bill is a $ 7.64 charge, for a 1 minute operator assisted phone call, allegedly made from my phone. This charge was submitted by OAN Services, Inc. on Aug 10, 2007 at 3:07 pm. I know that this call was not made from my phone and I know that no one was home at the time of the alleged phone call. I also seem to recall that the same happened several years ago. Upon searching the Web I see that other people have complained about the same thing happening to them. My question is this, What government officials are on the take. Why hasn't this company been severely fined or close down for consumer fraud.

J
Nov 12, 2008 6:51 am

Current ATT phone bill contained a charge for a monthly fee that was never authorized by customer. Company was notified, agreed to refund the amount by a check. How can this Company just add a charge to your account without prior authorization and how can a Company like ATT allow such to happen?

J
Apr 27, 2010 8:23 am

I was billed for a service that I never signed up for.

D
Oct 15, 2007 12:00 am

oan services inc. on our phone bill.! unautherized billing !

A

I did not ask for voicemail services from OAN

R
Jul 13, 2008 7:15 pm

Being charges for services when it was not requested /ordered.

J
Apr 09, 2009 11:50 pm

I have a minimal landline from AT&T that exists solely for 911 call usage. We have never made a call on this line, but on the latest bill find a charge for $16.07 for "new services provided and billed". I will call AT&T tomorrow morning to dispute this charge. While at it I will cancel my line because when we started it they "forgot" to send us a bill for the first two months and then hit us up with a late fee. I refuse to support such shoddy practices.

C
Oct 30, 2008 7:45 am

I have been charged for services not requested or wanted by OAN Services through my AT&T telephone bill. How can this be legal?

D
May 31, 2011 11:31 pm

Interesting. I just got a call from a collection agency in regards to a Verizon residence account that I have not been at for over 7 years. Verizon informed me that this had to do with OAN charges from May of 2010. How they got my name and old number I will never know but the scary thing is that Verizon allows them to bill you even though they know the complaints against this company. I am going to contact them (OAN) and see just exactly how and why they did this. Wow I haven't had the service for over 7 years, I do not even get a bill or statement from Verizon to check for fraudulent charges...I am still shaking my head.

G
May 04, 2011 4:07 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I called these people today and "tried" to talk to their representative in India. He was very arrogant, said my wife had authorized the addition to our phone bill. When I tried to ask questions and/or make comments regarding our non-authorization of these services, he proceeded to talk over and argue with me. I was never actually able to find out EXACTLY what the charge of $14.95 to our phone bill was for, but finally got the impression it was for satellite radio on our computer. I asked him how this came about to be on our bill and he said that it would be done by going to WalMart, Best Buy, Home Depot, or on the internet. I told him that was interesting, because we went into WalMart all the time, and was on the internet a lot, and had never seen anything that remotely looked like a subscription offer for OAN Services and that we were not impressed with their scam and fraudulent activities. He wasn't impressed! I'm also not impressed with our phone company will allow these scam artists to charge our phone bill without our approval. I think about all the other poor, unfortunate folks out there who don't look at their bills as thoroughly as we have to in order to prevent these unwanted bills.

I
Oct 01, 2010 9:57 pm

I JUST GOT A CHARGE OF $14.95 ON MY VERIZON BILL. MAKES ME WANT TO CONVERT TO CELL PHONE COMPLETELY!

S
Jul 22, 2010 2:50 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Horrible...Horrible companies. OAN and ILD have been hitting my business AT&T bills for several months. Shame on me for not paying more attention to my bills but like all single proprietorships, I am busy. When I caught on to the scam, I called AT&T and was told that they just do the billing and that I would have to call these firms direct. I called both firms and tried to cancel my service with both of them. When I mentioned to both companies that I did not authorize these charges to my account they played a message where a foreigner with an impossible to understand accent explained to me that I was going to get a free listing on www.search local.com. I sounded distracted on the call and agreed to this "free" listing. This free listing has been costing me $49.95 a month from ILD and $29.95 from OAN. Even though I called both companies last month to cancel my services, they didn't. In fact, ILD double billed me this month ($99.99) and when I called they told me it was going to take 2 or 3 billing cycles to get my money back. OAN acted like they had never heard from me before. Why would AT&T allow anyone other then themselves hit my bill. I have this trust that my service providers are only billing me for my services. Horrible ...awful companies! Oh, I forgot to mention that AT&T had been charging me to be my web host as well. They argued with me that they were not my web host. From this point forward, I will watch my phone bill like a hawk.

M
Mar 09, 2010 10:23 am

Have your elderly relatives check their bills! The internet is great but there may be too much information available to these companies with unscrupulous business practices that they can identify an elderly person who may be an easy target.
My 80+ year old mother got a new $14.95 charge to her bill. I checked with AT&T first who was most helpful explaining that federal law protects these companies who send them charges but, also helping me with exactly what to say when I made my call to OAN. The representative at OAN explained that the charge was for directory services and had been ordered on-line by my mother. My mother has no internet, or computer for that matter, wouldn't know what to do with it if you sat her in front of one and hasn't been out of the house! After our discussion of the facts, the rep agreed to cancel the service, gave me a cancellation number and said they would refund the charge in two billing cycles.
I called AT&T back who put a "hold" on the charge so she would not receive late fees for not paying the extra $14.95 and also put a "block" on her phone for additional services. They explained the block is not always fool proof so, we should still review each bill.
How do we get the federal laws changed so these companies can be stopped?

R
Mar 09, 2010 8:58 am

OAN is a billing clearing house. My OAN charge was for a company called TRAVELERSVMAIL.COM, with a 12.95 monthly fee. I talked with Travelersvmail [protected]) and was told that I signed up online for their service (did not). The rep was very snippy, but agreed to credit my phone bill for the charges.
I then contacted ATT and had them put a stop to any 3rd party billing, which they were happy to do. They also agreed to "put aside" the disputed amount until they receive a credit from the 3rd party, OAN.
CALL YOUR PHONE CARRIER AND HAVE THEM STOP ALL 3RD PARTY BILLING ON YOUR ACCOUNT.

L
Feb 10, 2010 8:59 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I started having a bill from OAN; I figured they were something that CenturyLink used. Today, I read everything a little closer. I was billed $8.23 for a service fee for 0 (zero) minutes of service. I used a search engine and found many links about fraud and class action suits. I called CenturyLink who said, "Thank you" and transfered to OAN. Boy, was I mad. I hung up and called CenturyLink again; this time the rep told me, "We can block their service". "Yes, I want their service blocked. Now, I understand that you have blocked their service?" She replied, "Yes, it is blocked; now you have to tell OAN that you don't want their services." So I did. OAN claimed that a relative had ordered a toll-free number. I asked this relative about it and got a big, "No". So I will wait until next month and see. OAN said they would refund the money. After reading the experiences here, I doubt it.

B
Jan 27, 2010 3:47 pm

These scams are made up of a pyramid of sleazy businesses in order to make it difficult for consumers to complain. I found a $53.74 cram on my last AT&T bill. The original charge is from Digital Services, Inc. for a bogus "webhosting setup fee". Digital Services, Inc. used OAN Services, Inc. to bill me on their behalf. OAN is supposedly located in New Jersey, the phone cram capital of the world. However, OAN is simply a DBA for BSG Clearing Solutions, which is located in San Antonio, TX. You can find more details on each business name by simply checking out the BBB reports for either business name in New Jersey or Texas. If you file a complaint with the FCC, be sure to include all business names and locations. While I have always found the FCC to be pretty useless in addressing these scams, the more complaints they get with the same business names should encourage them to get off their lazy taxpayer-funded butts and do something about this. Also, call your phone company and demand that they block third party billing. Verizon is the only phone company I know that will block third party billing without giving you the run around. AT&T will flat out refuse to block third party billing unless you continue to escalate the matter. AT&T can in fact block third party billing, it's just a matter of getting through to somebody willing to do it for you.

C
Oct 12, 2009 7:28 pm

OAN Services
Fraud and Cheating

They charged and I don't even know what they are

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT