Neon Cat - Marian GoodingSold kitten with ringworm & yeast

V Review updated:

Marian Gooding is the owner of Neon-Cat. She regularly posts on www.planetdevon.com, which is where we found her listing when we were in search of a devon rex kitten. She had a new litter and sent us pictures. We put a deposit down on a little female kitten. We were in constant contact with Marian. She obviously loves her cats, and sent us many pictures, updates, etc. We talked on the phone numerous times. We finally picked our little girl up at 3 months old. In the next few days we realized something wasn't right with our new baby. She had a black crusty buildup around her eyes, nose, and in her ears. She had black spots on the bridge of her nose and under her chin. She also had bumps and scabs on her neck and down her back. We contacted Marian, who told us the bumps and scabs were from playing with other kittens and getting scratched. She told us the black buildup was yeast and that all of the kittens she still had at her house were now fine and that she had put neosporin on it. We weren't happy with those explanations and took our baby to a cat specialist. It turns out our new kitty was loaded with ringworm and had a ear infection, and yeast in between her paw pads, around her eyes, and her nose. Upon informing Marian of this, we have not been contacted back since. We have emailed, called, and even the vet called her and left a message. Our little Ariel is doing much better and in her third week of treatment.. but it is unfortunate for us (and our kitty!) that we had to go through this. I know things happen, but the fact that she has not answered us since then says she knew something was up. She loves her cats, and Ariel is the sweetest most beautiful little kitty you will find anywhere.. but use caution if buying from this cattery, and absolutely check for ringworm ASAP!! Come to find out we are not the first to get a kitten from her with that problem.

Responses

  • Ri
    Risa Lundquist Sep 09, 2012

    I bought two cats from Marian in Augut. One was sneezing on the way home. It got very sick with upper respiratory. Vet swabbed and called a week later and said it tested positive for Feline Herpes and that I was going to have to treat it for the rest of its life for this condition. THe second will most probably get it as it is extrememly contagious to other cats. The same cat was covered with small bumps when I picked it up. I thought it was from playing with other cats, but I have now come down with strange lesions everywhere the cats slept on me. I went to the Dr, but he couldn't tell me what they were. Now I have to go to a dermatologist and take the cats back to the vet to determine exactly what the bumps are. I too, called Marian and she denied having any sick cats and insisted the cats were fine when she had them. THe vet told me the cats were sick when I got them. I also asked Marian for a refund and she told me she could not do that. Please beware of this cattery. This was a very expensive lesson for me and I am not sure my cats will not have to be put to sleep because of all the illnesses they have and disease from this cattery.

    2 Votes
  • Ka
    katiestauffer Oct 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have most recently had an experience with two very lovey female kittens from Marian. On the way home from Texas (drove from Midwest) we noticed that both cats were covered in fleas which Mairian said they got from her barn cats. Days later we noticed that both girls were having breathing problems and had patchy pieces on their backs. Taking them both to the vet we discovered that both kittens have ringworm and have major respitory issues. One of the girls can barley breath through her nose and the other still has bald patches from ringworm. These kittens have been sick since June and it is now October and there is no end in sight. They undergo constant trips to the vet, are on antibiotics for many illnesses and are still sick. They have clogged tear ducks, conjunctivitis, black goop in their ears, and at any given time sneeze with such force that brown mucus is expelled in volumes from their little noses.
    I have had cats on and off during my many years but I have never had cats as sick as this or with as many issues as these two have. They are so loving and sweet but have such poor quality of life, they have never been well. They are now on medicated food so their little bodies can get some protein and have yet to achieve any major weight gain as they get older, hence they do not grow.
    It is absolutley tragic that this is happening, this woman continually has new kittens for sale with no regard of the illnesses she is spreading or the heartache that is allowing to happen, she NEEDS to be STOPPED!!!

    2 Votes
  • De
    Devon Rex Lover Oct 26, 2012

    I also got a kitten from Marian Gooding. I took the kitten to the vet and it was diagnosed with ringworm. Please take your kitten to the vet immediately if you buy from this cattery.

    2 Votes
  • Dc
    DCS0722 Jan 26, 2013

    My daughter received a kitten as a present and MARION GOODING of NEON-Cat Devon Rex was the breeder. Long story short, I had to take our 7 month old kitten to the vet to be put to sleep while my three kids were at school. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH MARION GOODING...not only is she dishonest, she is one of the least decent human beings I have ever dealt with. When I raised this issue of her selling a sick cat, her response was to accuse us of killing this sweet kitten. BEFORE YOU PURCHASE A KITTEN FROM HER, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE...email me at [email protected] and I will be happy to share pics, emails from Marion, and emails from the Better Business Bureau of Forth Worth, Texas. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS WOMAN.

    3 Votes
  • Dc
    DCS0722 Jan 26, 2013

    DO NOT BUY A CAT FROM MARION GOODING of NEON-CAT CATTERY!!! Email me at [email protected] and I will be happy to share my terrible experience with you.

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    Majape Feb 13, 2013

    I'll start by saying I'm very happy we found these reviews online when we did. We originally visited Marion in September 2012 to look at her kittens, she had several available at that time. After visiting we decided we very much liked a boy she had in her litter named Jack. A few days later we put down the $250 deposit for the kitten, happy with our choice. Shortly after we put down the deposit we came across this site and started reading what others had posted. We became concerned. At that same time, Marion had contacted us to let us know that the kitten we'd put the deposit on was a female, not a male after all. Given these comments we decided that we needed to go back and take a closer look at the kittens, their environment, and to make a decision on how to move forward. We went back to decide if we wanted to continue forward with Marion, or to find our kitten elsewhere. Upon our arrival we started to look past the cuteness of the kittens to the actual environment they were in. Overall there were an estimated 15 cats confined to a room off the living room, in addition to the kittens we were looking at, she had two additional litters in that room as well. With kittens and cats I would guess that 25 cats were in the home. As we closely inspected the kittens (taking lots of photos) we noticed most of them had fleas, but otherwise looked fine. We decided that fleas were something we could easily clear up, and that although the living conditions were not great we would provide better conditions and that our kitten would soon thrive. We told Marion we were ok moving forward on the newly female kitten (renamed Jacki). A few days later I found myself in the doctors office with red splotches all over my arm, I'd contracted Ringworm. Although TECHNICALLY you can contract ringworm from any source, I strongly believe that it came from handling these kittens. At this time I emailed Marion and told her we were not okay with moving forward, using the sex of the kitten as my reason in hopes to get our deposit back. After not hearing from her for about a week, she called us to let us know the kitten was ready to bring home, Awkward for us, having to explain it again at that point, and she stated she never got the email. At that time, she agreed refund our deposit to us once she sold the kitten to another home, finally last week I reported her to the BBB, and received our refund in the mail this week, along with a very rude response to the BBB. Overall we did not get a kitten from Marion Gooding, and I feel very lucky that we saw these postings when we did. We have since adopted a female Devon Rex kitten from another breeder. I can not say that you shouldn't' get a kitten from her, because I've not had one of her kittens, but I would caution you that any attempt to talk to Marion in any professional manner may be difficult, particularly if you have any issues or problems with your kitten or transaction.

    3 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Cat Mar 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received adult cats that were retired from Marian Gooding and the cats were excellent, had zero health problems and I found Marian Gooding a very wonderful person to deal with. Donna, Rockport, Tx

    2 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Cat Mar 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I adopted two retired Devon Cats from Marian Gooding and both were in excellent health. Marian Gooding is a wonderful person to do business with and I highly recommend her. I think some people are making mountains out of mole hills. Donna Cat

    -3 Votes
  • Me
    Mercato Apr 24, 2013

    AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!! Please find another breeder to avoid having your cat suffer and possibly die of diseases that were caused by negligence and maltreatment of a "breeder" like Marion. We have adopted a kitten from Neon Cat that was infected with calicivirus, herpes virus and microplasma, upper respiratory infection and coccidia. We took him to the vet because he had what seemed to be a mild respiratory infection. I have multiple vet reports confirming the cat arrived at our house being already infectednce and maltreatment of a "breeder" like Marion

    0 Votes
  • Br
    BrokenHeartedCatOwner May 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received a female kitten from Marian Gooding 10 years ago, and my cat just passed away this week. As much as I've loved and cared for her, the past 10 years have been a series of nightmares with this cat. Had I seen complaints like this 10 years ago, I would not have taken a kitten from Ms. Gooding. On the other hand, I suppose I'm glad that it worked out the way that it did because I feel like I saved a kitten from this monster.

    Because I live out of state, Marian had suggested that I connect with another woman who happened to live near me and was also getting a kitten from the cattery. We made an arrangement where the other buyer would pick both of our kittens up and drive them from TX to CA. All seemed well until the night I picked my kitten up. The other woman told me about the horrid conditions of Marian Gooding's home. She explained in great detail how filthy and smelly everything was and said that cats were stacked in cages everywhere she looked.

    A couple days into life with my new kitten, I noticed that her ears were full of gunk and she had black specs all over her tail and face. I'd never seen anything like it before. She also had a severe, jagged scar from being spayed - the surgery was obviously done with haste, and probably at bottom dollar. In fact, this kitten was too young to have been spayed at the time but Ms. Gooding made sure that her cattery's profits came first by ensuring that the kitten would never breed. My poor little kitten was TERRIFIED of people and never fully grew out of her fear. Our vet even suggested that we put her on anti-depressants to ease her constant anxiety. In our 10 years together, I was never able to pick her up without her clawing me to shreds. Our interactions were limited to when she would choose to jump up on my lap.

    I contacted Marian with a full report of my complaints and told her that it was unconscionable to sell kittens in this condition. I asked for a refund to cover my unexpected vet costs right off the bat. Her response to me was full of venom and she insisted that I return the kitten to her right away. She reacted as though I was the one who had done something wrong. HA! What kind of person would send an innocent animal back to a breeder like her?! I said as much to her in a following email and she never responded again. She at the very least should have checked in with me at some point to see how the kitten was doing. Nope. Not a word. She got her money and she was done.

    Within a couple of years, I was told that my cat had a heart murmur and there was nothing we could do other than keep an eye on her. Additionally, she seemed like she was a VERY clumsy cat (always falling off of chairs, tables, etc.). It turned out that she was having seizures where her body would tense up as though she had cerebral palsy. The vet had no idea why it was happening or what to do about the episodes, so again we were left "keeping an eye on her" and just trying to make sure she was comfortable and safe. On top of all of that, she started losing her teeth before she was even 1 year old and in the end had only a couple left.

    Flash forward to the end ... I tucked my cat into her little kitty bed before heading to sleep a few nights ago, and when I woke up the next morning I found her cold and paralyzed from the waist down. Her physical symptoms were almost like her seizures, but this was something different. I rushed her to an emergency vet and after a quick x-ray the doctor literally begged me to put her down. Her heart was doubled in size and was actively failing, her lungs were full of fluid and her legs had developed blood clots. She had seemed perfectly fine 6 hours earlier, and there I was signing her life away. I didn't even have time to say goodbye because she was suffering so acutely. Once the vet learned that she had a heart murmur, she explained that this outcome had been inevitable.

    All in all I wouldn't take this experience back for anything because I truly loved my cat, but I do feel the need to warn others against Marian Gooding's compromised breeding practices. She's in it for the profits and puts dollars over the good of the animals. She's about as unethical as they come. I would love nothing more than to see her cattery shut down and her remaining cats rescued.

    8 Votes
  • Dc
    DCS0722 Jun 13, 2013

    DO NOT BUY A CAT FROM MARION GOODING...NEON CAT...please contact me and I will be happy to share with you my experience, vet records, pictures, videos, etc. See my post above...

    3 Votes
  • Dc
    DCS0722 Jun 13, 2013

    BrokenHearted...she did the same thing to us. I have saved all of the horrible emails I received from Marion Gooding...I am happy to share.

    3 Votes
  • Im
    Imagine_That Dec 23, 2017

    @DCS0722 I too have saved all of my emails from my interactions with her. My poor kitty came home with ringworm (she denied that it was contracted at her cattery and suggested that “I” exposed her to it.). I have emails showing her demanding that I give my kitty back to her to exchange her for a healthier cat. It doesn’t work that way, I wouldn’t exchange an adopted child if they were sick. They’re a part of the family.

    My kitty has had lifelong issues with PTSD due to the overcrowded and dirty atmosphere in which she bred her cats. It may have changed since 2006, but when we picked her up and went inside, it reeked of ammonia and there were smatterings of feces all over the living room and bathroom where she let her cats roam free. A friend of mine lost her cat who was born with a terminal illness not more than 4 months after getting her from Neon Cat. My friend also said that in a phone conversation, this breeder admitted to euthanizing some of her adult cats out of fear of being reported for overcrowding. I don’t have proof of that, but it’s horrifying to think about, nonetheless.

    I cannot stress enough that people need to do their research before bringing home a fur baby.

    1 Votes
  • Dc
    DCS0722 Jun 13, 2013

    DonnaCat...it is no coincidence that we have all had these horrible experiences with Marion Gooding of Neon Cat Cattery. I would be happy to share the terrible emails I received from this woman. Her business and personal ethics are highly questionable. These cats are not important to her...selling kittens at all costs are her priority. She sent us a sick cat, then literally accused me, my wife and my 3 kids of killing this kitten. My family has owned 9 Devons...we love the breed and are not new to it.

    2 Votes
  • Ar
    AriDy Jul 07, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @DCS0722 Hi, I would like to hear more about your experience and maybe some other breeder options. Can I please have your email?

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Luedtke Jul 03, 2013

    I don't know why I came back on this website. Probably with some hope that there wouldn't be any new postings. We have already lost one of the 2 kittens bought from this evil woman. I have called the ASPCA and Texas Humane Society. They will only shut her down if they can prove mistreatment or neglect. We have one little girl left and now she is sick. She is a year old. We have all had ringworm from the kittens. They had yeast infections. Their immune systems are weak. Our existing girl kitty weighs only 5 pounds. She is so sweet and loving, but is not a normal cat. I have had cats all my life and have never experienced anything like this. We have had 3 vets at our animal hospital take care of these kittens and have been told they were compromised. I sure hope this one makes it.

    2 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous11111111 Aug 15, 2013

    We adopted two Devon Rex adults from Marian in late 2000. We drove from Lubbock to Ft. Worth to pick up the cats, and when we arrived, we were shocked at the conditions in which the cats were being kept. Both of the cats we had agreed to adopt had obvious medical issues when we saw them, but we decided to bring them home with us anyway. We took them to the vet as soon as we got home; they both had yeast issues on their skin, around their eyes, etc..., ringworm, and slight behavioral problems. Our vet was incensed at the conditions of both cats and contacted local authorities, but to no avail. Both of the cats were absolute sweethearts and gradually adjusted to living in a normal environment, but they never quite got over their behavioral issues and skittishness. Within 18 months, both cats had passed away from undetermined causes. In dealing with Marian throughout the initial ordeal (she eventually stopped returning our phone calls and complained about US on some message boards), it became obvious that she is a "Cat Hoarder." She does care for her cats, but is blind to the fact that she is not properly caring for them. Now, in 2013, we are entertaining the idea of getting another cat, and were disappointed to see that Marian is still at it. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH NEON CAT AND SUPPORT THE NEGLECT THAT MARIAN PERPETRATES ON HER CATS.

    2 Votes
  • Lm
    lmh1981 Oct 01, 2013

    I got a kitten from Neon cat last year and I wish I had seen these posts. After seeing the conditions of her house I immediately took my kitten to the vet and she was diagnosed with ringworm, even though Marian tried to tell me that the kittens did not have ringworm. A couple of months later my poor baby wasn't gaining weight and was very lethargic. Let me add that my cat has not been around other cats since I got her. My vet did some blood work and she has been diagnosed with feline coronovirus. Right now we are on antibiotics and my vet is getting some other testing done to help rule out FIP. We are hoping for the best at this time.

    4 Votes
  • Ju
    Judy Manning Oct 14, 2013

    I wish I had seen this website! I have a lovely Devon I bought from Marian in 2009. She had a watery eye which no vet has been able to confirm if it is Herpes or a blocked tear duct. I didn't think of it as too big of a deal since I had a cat with Herpes who died several years ago (not of Herpes, but CRF). But for a year she has had an itchiness around her head & neck and has lost all of her fur on her neck. After spending almost $400 at my vet, I took her to a dermatologist today ($$$$$). Not sure if she has a food but probably has a Devon Rex condition called hypotrichosis and will probably go completely bald! Marian told me that she had feline acne which is not a big deal but the shampoo she recommended didn't help and feline acne would not cause baldness. I bought another cat from Marian which I guess was stupid but she sells so many cats that it is difficult to believe that people would keep buying from her if the cats had health problems. Some of her clients have bought 2 or 3 cats.

    3 Votes
  • Ju
    june_m Oct 15, 2013

    I bought 2 cats from Marian. One in 2001 was fine, but the runt of the litter I bought a few years later came to me sick with ringworm, a terrible respiratory infection and she wouldn't eat for days. I spent over $500 in vet bills within the first week on my second baby, thankfully she recovered. When I called Marian crying about the situation and worried about the finances, she was very rude and began to try to accuse me of making the cat ill with negligence, which was basically by the contract she had me sign, a threat to repossess my cat and stick me with all the medical bills and bills for flying the cat back to Texas. So I quickly realized it may be dangerous to push her, or ever deal with her again. Do not buy from Marian.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    june_m Oct 15, 2013

    Additionally, besides telling your story here, please file an official complaint with the BBB. ( http://www.bbb.org/fort-worth/business-reviews/pet-grooming/neon-cat-in-fort-worth-tx-235968030 ) This may be a more effective way to communicate to Marian that her costumers will not tolerate her questionable practices.

    2 Votes
  • Ju
    june_m Oct 15, 2013

    And omg, this complaint made to the BBB is unbearable for me to read... it makes Marian sound very bad, in my opinion:

    http://www.bbb.org/fort-worth/Business-Reviews/pet-grooming/neon-cat-in-fort-worth-tx-235968030/complaints#breakdown

    3 Votes
  • Im
    Imagine_That Jan 21, 2019

    @june_m What happened to all the complaints listed on the BBB website? It now shows zero. Somehow she’s skated by...again.

    0 Votes
  • De
    devon cat lover Jan 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I couldnt agree with all these comments more! We purchased our cat from Marion in January 2012, and my kids all got ringworm from our new kitten. She also had scabs all over her body. I too, tried to contact marion, but she NEVER responded. Thankfully, our cat is healthy now, but I would NEVER do business with this woman again. The living conditions horrified me!!

    1 Votes
  • Nf
    NFurrate Jan 25, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a kitten from her 12 years ago. I agree with all of the other posters about her friendliness before the sale and her venom after she is informed that the kitten is sick. All she was willing to do for me was refer me to another Devon Rex owner she had sold kittens to who was willing to adopt the cat for free. I had wanted two kittens to keep each other company but when I had contacted another breeder about a kitten and she found out that I already had a kitten from Marian, the new breeder would not sell me one of hers because she was afraid for hers to get sick. Seems Marian had a reputation for sick cats long before I got one from her. I loved the kitten but was able to get two healthy ones from the other breeder once I found a home for the sick one. It's a shame no one has shut her down. I had my kitten flown to me, but I did know someone who went to her home after I purchased my kitten and said the conditions were deplorable.

    3 Votes
  • Ju
    Judy Manning Jun 21, 2014

    My sweet Miranda Rose died today, a month before she would have turned 5 years old, a very young age for a cat to die. She had a lengthy illness of about a year and a half which cost me $1500 in vet bills, She had a skin condition in her neck and lost all her fur on her neck. Antibiotics didn't help. At one point, she had a swollen lymph node which gradually went away. Had a needle aspiration & nothing showed up. But she gradually lost weight and although her blood work was normal. One Vet said she had a heart murmur so could have cardiomiopathy. 3 other Vets never mentioned a hear murmur so I dismiissed that. Whatever affliction she had, it killed her at a very young age. I suspect that it could have been Feline aids or Feline leukemia.

    2 Votes
  • Co
    conniers Jul 06, 2014

    Please google and check the BBB for complaints about ANY cat breeder before you buy. And BELIEVE what you read. There ARE unscrupulous breeders out there just for the money. There have been many hearts broken because of sick kittens. I just can't imagine that anyone would take the time to complain without grounds!

    2 Votes
  • Te
    Terrafria Jun 21, 2015

    I have purchased 6 cats from this breeder in the past, and have never had serious health issues upon bringing them home. No flees, no ring worms the worse I had was one got car sick. Later in life they have had a few health issues all of which are common to the breed. As a responsible pet parent I've gotten them treatment as needed, because like humans any animal can get sick at any time.. She keeps her home clean as can be with cats being present and devon are curious animals who like getting into things so this is no small feat! She works hard to make sure she doesn't breed or sell animals who might have health problems. My father fell in love with a chocolate girl and at first she wouldn't let us have her because her brother had died suddenly. She had resolved to have her fixed and simply care for her till the end of her life. Thankfully she has never had any issues other than reactions to having to many shots at once, and is still a happy health member of our family. We are so glad we managed to convince her to let us bring her home! Mind I still have one who I purchased in 2002! Jazz is my precious baby an orange and white female who while I won't say has had perfect health her whole life, she has and still is happy and well! She also likes you to send proof of an animals illness, such as vet records if their is a problem with the kitten so she can document any problems and remove cats from the breeding line if need be. Each kitten gets checked by a vet before going home to their new family, and if there is an issue she will not release them. All and all I've never been unhappy with a kitten that I have received from Marian Gooding. As for all the complaints listed here I have no idea, I've never seen any of theses things with my pets and I have visited her recently to look at kittens and have seen no evidence of these issues.

    -1 Votes
  • Dc
    dcs722 Nov 30, 2015

    Do not buy a cat from Marion Gooding of Neon-Cat...I had to have my kitten put to sleep at 7 months old and my parents just had to put their baby to sleep at the age of 4. Buyer beware!!!

    1 Votes
  • Dc
    dcs722 Dec 03, 2015

    Please feel free to contact me regarding my experience with Marion Gooding of Neon-Cat Cattery...as you can see, I am not the only one that had a very bad experience with her. She provided us with an unhealthy cat and a less than cordial response to the issues we raised.

    2 Votes
  • Dc
    dcs722 Dec 03, 2015

    I suspect that marion gooding is actually posting as "terrafria" above. However, on the off chance that it is not her, i will say that i sent this woman vet records, bills and an autopsy from the university of kentucky veterinary diagnostic laboratory. Her reponse to all of this was to accuse me and my family of killing this sweet cat. She is an unscrupulous breeder and a very disrespectful human being. Avoid... Avoid... Avoid!!! Again... I am happy to share it will anyone who would like to see it.

    4 Votes
  • El
    ElizaAustin Aug 09, 2017

    @dcs722 Actually "terrafria" is my cousin, not Marian. I can vouch for her healthy cats as well as my own.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SamH72 Feb 22, 2016

    Sam72
    I purchased a male kitten from marian in may 2015. I did go to her home to choose the little male and an adult companion which she said had been around the kittens and was accustomed to the little ones. When i got them both home i saw that was not the case at all. The adult cat was very aggressive to the kitten and would not let me near her. I ended up returning the adult to her. Also, when i got the kitten home he was very sick! My vet determined it was giardia. Poop everywhere! It took several medications and several weeks to cure him of this. Along with the giardia he also had ringworm. I got it, my husband got it, my daughter got it ; and what's the worst part is that my 1 year old grandson got it. We have all cleared up but almost a year after receiving my kitten my grandson is still on medication to clear up the ringworm on his scalp. When i contacted marian to warn her that other kittens from the many litters that she currently had may have the same thing; she denied any problems. Which could not be true because this is spread through the litter boxes. The treatment to resolve this was very expensive. Not to mention all the other things in my home that had to be thrown out because of the highly contagious nature of the giardia once it has made contact. No kidding, he couldn't help himself. The poop was everywhere. Even though i tried to get marian to compensate me for the vet bills which i provided her she refused. I love my kitten which is much better now. However, it is in spite of his beginnings that he survived and is thriving. I went to her because she was half the price of other devon rex catteries that i had looked into. You do get what you pay for. If i had to do it all over again i would definitely spend the extra money. Do not purchase a cat from neon cat!

    1 Votes
  • Co
    conniers Jan 10, 2017

    She only cares about money. We bought two kittens from her about 5 years ago. One died of FIP at 8 months and the other died of an autoimmune disorder at 4 years. They both died horrible deaths. She blamed our 13 Auburn trained vets for their deaths. BTW, we have had several cats and dogs in the 50 years of our marriage. Our other Devons have lived to be 12, 14 and most recently, 17 1/2! We take excellent care of our pets...they are all well loved family members. I hope she gets shut down so other folks don't go the heart break we have because of her. Marian Gooding/Neon Cats...Heartless
    Do research before your buy a kitten. There ARE reputable breeders out there...She is horrible. May she rot in hell for her actions.

    2 Votes
  • Ni
    NinjaMao Jan 12, 2017

    @conniers I got an email reply from her blaming me for killing my kitten.. Even though I sent her a video of her seizures & sent all the documents from two vets in town saying that our kitten was diagnosed with FIP. I didn't feel the need to spend $800 dollars on the kittens post mortem body to have it be what it obviously was. Marian is bat #### crazy and I hope karma kicks her in the a## from all the families that have lost their furry loves because of her greediness. She has an excuse for everything, is two faced, and in complete denial of her " healthy kittens." She knowingly will sell you sick kittens, then blame you for when you contact her telling her something is wrong. I know she will get what's coming...

    2 Votes
  • Co
    conniers May 14, 2017

    The least of our problems with the Neon Cats we purchased was the ringworm.
    We did opt for a post mortem on the first one to die and it was definitely FIP. Of course, she blamed out vet for the FIP!!! The other sweetie died a horrible death at 4 years of age from an autoimmune disorder. I wish potential buyers would read the complaints about this heartless woman. There are so many good breeders out there who care about their kittens, Gooding is certainly not in that category . I will do my research before buying another kitten. Heartbreaking! Karma is a ###!

    1 Votes
  • Al
    AlexisInTexas Jun 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought the sweetest boy from her last year. He was the best kitten I could ask for and always filled with love. My baby boy was diagnosed with FIP 5 months later. I took care of him 24/7 for 2 weeks as he couldn't walk or pee without help. After the two weeks, it was time, and my angel passed away, surrounded by the people who loved him most. Be weary of shopping here. Her prices are low for a reason.

    2 Votes
  • Ki
    Kimberly Knight Oct 23, 2019

    @AlexisInTexas I also bought two kittens from Neon Cat. Both had ringworm and round worms. One also has FIP. It’s so terribly sad.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    PetLover42 Jul 15, 2017

    We are unfortunately enduring the same nightmare as everyone else has written on here. In regards to the last person's comment, we are experiencing the same neurological symptoms of FIP. We have worked with vets and specialists to come to an accurate conclusion/diagnosis.

    Marian Gooding's website states that her cats are tested periodically and she has never had a health issue in 20 years of breeding. Both of those are lies, you can see from these reviews her cats are riddled with disease and infection. We did our own research and the vet she uses for her kittens does not see her adult cats. Please do careful research before you choose to purchase a kitten from this breeder. She cares more about making money than she does about the lives of these helpless kittens.

    As you have read everyone elses experience on here, you can see the emotional heartbreak and trauma families have experienced losing their beloved cats and depleting their funds on vet fees. Please, I urge you to consider another cattery, and don't be afraid to ask them health related questions. You have every right to know the true health of the kitten you adopt. We, too have learned from this experience.

    3 Votes
  • El
    ElizaAustin Aug 09, 2017

    My personal experience with Marian has been completely positive. My family, including me, my mother, my aunt, and my cousin have been adopting Devon Rex cats from Marian for over 15 years. I just lost my first Devon at 14 years old. She only had some minor health issues such as irritable bowel, which is common for a purebred cat. I'm happy that Marian is still around to provide me with new loves. Marian's home is spotless. She cares for those cats and kittens -- down to small details like cleaning milk from their eyes. She's a smart lady, and if she was in this for the money, she could be doing something else to make a whole lot more money than she does. Don't be fooled by these lies and finger pointing by emotional people. I see a lot of people who are upset by actually having to give their pet any veterinary care. Pets are family. You should always be prepared for vet bill -- especially when purchasing purebred animals. Be careful. This board is for COMPLAINTS and ANGRY, EMOTIONAL people. You don't get to hear all the wonderful things people have to say because there's no reason to seek out and post that. Don't believe everything you hear.

    -1 Votes
  • Pe
    PetLover42 Aug 09, 2017

    I'm not sure what's worse, Marian selling sick inbred kittens or Marian coming to this board and posing as a happy customer so she can continue her sickening practices.

    Please feel free to call her local animal control, they are carrying out an investigation into her.

    0 Votes
  • El
    ElizaAustin Aug 24, 2017

    @PetLover42 Looks like you're claiming that I am Marian. If that's the case, wow. Just wow. I would offer you an email address to email me at, but I don't really want mentally unstable people having my information!

    0 Votes
  • St
    str8nguyening Jan 29, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We went to visit Neon Cat over the Christmas holiday.
    We could see the cats through the window and we were excited! However, as soon as Marian opened the door we were taken aback by the immense smell of cigarette smoke. My sister complained that it was so hard to breath in her house and that young kittens, or any cat for that matter, should not be subject to such poor level of air quality.

    We noticed that several cats had bumps and redness around their necks and ears, especially Isabella. When I left I noticed I had started to break out on my arm. Turns out, after reading these comments, I probably have ringworm which is why the rash hasn't gone down in 5 weeks. I'll be buying cream after work. Hopefully I didn't give it to our cat.

    I emailed her later that day that I would not be going forward with purchasing one of her kittens. As cute as they were.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    Planet Devon Apr 07, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Neon Cat was last listed on Planet Devon in 2011. This breeder has not been permitted to post any cats she offers for more than five years. Planet Devon is a responsible and ethical source for reputable and experienced breeders. Any complaints are taken seriously and catteries who have verified complaints about the health of the cats and kittens are banned from our website.

    Please consider revising your comment to remove the reference to Planet Devon-Planet Devon is one of the best resources on the Internet for an about Devon Rex cats.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    Planet Devon Oct 23, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am the owner of Planet Devon. Marian Gooding and Neon Cats has jot been listed at Planet Devon since 2013. We regard these complaints with great respect - when a complaint against one of our breeders is filed the listing is suspended until the cattery cn prove the complaint is erroneous or the issue rectified.

    Please remove the Planet Devon reference as this cattery has nOt been listed on Planet Devon for more than 6 years.
    www.planetdevon.com/breeders

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cam2020 Jul 15, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We put a deposit down for a kitten from Marian and were scheduled to pick up our little guy early September. We stumbled upon these reviews and were concerned to see so many reviews stating their kittens had health problems with the reviews spanning over such a long period of time. We very nicely and calmly shared our concerns upon finding this complaint board and just asked for more information to ensure our kitten would be healthy. Any person who reads reviews like this would have concerns especially when making a large investment in a new family member. Instead of ensuring us that our kitten would be healthy and offering to provide health check-ins along the way, she immediately got extremely defensive. She texted us and told us her kittens were healthy and that vets also owned some of her cats. She also told us that it was basically our problem for believing online extortion for free cats and money when really we were just looking for some assurance and clarity based on what we read here. She told us we put a cloud over her and her kitten, which I’m not sure how inquiring about their health when finding terrible reviews brings a cloud, but oh well. She ended her text by saying she was sending our deposit back and we would no longer be getting the kitten we put a deposit down for. It’s just very upsetting that we were pushed away for asking questions, even if they may not have been something she wanted to discuss. It’s so important to feel comfortable to ask any and all questions when dealing with breeders and I can’t believe we lost our kitten because we wanted to ensure he was going to be healthy. We’re still just in shock over the whole thing, but are thinking it is probably for the best because her reaction was a huge red flag and leads us to believe that we may have received a cat with many health issues. Now, we are starting back at square one. If you have any breeder recommendations that don’t have a one year waitlist and are an open book, please please let me know. We are so eager to get a devon Rex and are devastated over the kitten we thought we were getting in a few months.

    1 Votes

Post your comment