The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Merit Technical InstituteScam

If you looking for an good LPN program please run the other way. This school is only interested in your money. They are FRAUDS that do not care if you pass or fail. The more you fail the better for them they can rake in your money. They were convicted of fraud in 2006. (http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/oig/invtreports/nj042006.html) The previous owner Victor Mungai Kamunge was found guilty of fraud and since then has left the school in charge with her wife Eunice and Winnie Kamunge. He is still very much involved in all the daily activities of the school just at a remote location. Please do not waste your time or money with these people. They do not care and are not out to help anyone.

More Merit Technical Institute Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ba
    barbara joseph Apr 17, 2018

    we were the first class to pass I have been a nurse for 10 years stay focused and stop making excuses

    -3 Votes
  • Sa
    Sally1023 Jan 11, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Run for your lives this school is really helll the Admdminstation sucks and the are disrespectful to the students! Don’t waste precious time and money!

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shoesgone Nov 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Currently a student..yes they teach you higher than the LPN .. but the administration MR Richard don't care about any one.. In a class of 42 students 3 pass midterm and they don't see a problem with than. Prof Wanga talk crap .. Prof Kinsley is the only one that stand up for his students... And it's all about money.. the one that teach exist is not even a professor in America.. yes and I do study very hard.. never fail a class until now ...

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emmanuella Oct 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please anybody take the lpn entrance exam for merit technical institute, I'm going take it, I need some help. Do you guys have the Study guide

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony Tone Sep 29, 2016

    Where do I start, hmmm... Im a present student at Merit first of they lie to you the program is not 12 months its actually 18 months there are students that have been in the school almost 3 years. your best bet is 18 months no sooner if you never fail an exam. The teachers are uneducated and unprofessional. Those teachers that are educated and dedicated to your success leave as soon as they are met with the BS in this school, please dont waste your money please RRRUUUNNNNNNNN far away in the opposite direction from this school. Not only will you save yourself grief but you just may save yourself from a murder and assault charges, ive never failed an exam and is presently progressing good [take that with a pinch of salt]. God knows these people have raised my blood pressure a time or two. Our class literally has to fight with them so they wont take advantage of the students in our class, we are then branded a bad class, but its because we stood up for our selves we have manged to still be there. why pay your money to be in a constant state of unease. they dont show you your grades, for midterms or finals i googled a question i remembered from a midterms exam, it came from RN NCLEX. last time i checked i was in an LPN programme. The school is designed to fail the students so you pay more money to repeat or resit an exam.They pretend to care about the students...LIES.They are about your money. please save yourself while you can please i beg of you. DO NOT COME TO MERIT. find another school.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    MerritAlumni Aug 18, 2016

    Hi I am a Merrit alumni. That first greet may seem like a proud student from that establishment but it is very much the opposite. Instead I am proud of this achievement. From excitement for passing the entrance test and interviewing with Mr Mungai to the numb feeling of exit. I wasn't planning to write anything here I was only curious on how my start up school was doing after +3yrs in my rear view mirror. Those were the Ms Webber days.
    If your on a look out for a nursing school especially as a quick route to graduation, I would agree look back the other way not for another lpn though. Go straight Bachelors as you know you will qualify to sit for you lpn boards nearly half way through that program. What that means is that you get to consolidate your efforts while accruing actual college credits towards your nursing career. Thankfully there are several colleges out there and they may not be as hard to get into their programs as one would think. You have options. More importantly though colleges have standards of practice which I highly doubt merit would have in my time or to this date.
    If you are already in this school my suggestion is to network your way through, tough it out and put work to get your rewards. Your hard work will not pay off if you don't Network with this school unfortunately that's a fact that I have repeatedly tested during my time in this school. Obuteh is the rudest African I know that's also a fact may god forgive his transgressions and his delusions of grandeur and yes he does stink lol! Winnie and Eunice are running their own scams so in many respects that school can be a scam; especially when you repeat a class. for example you practically have unlimited failures cuz they could be bleeding you dry because they give you a separate receipt they would most likely not report in taxes. when they give you your school tally for tax purposes it does not include your repeat classes if you have noticed yet. If your deep into the program where you have invested too much already its worth for you to press on and make the best of it.. that can also be your opportunity guys. don't let it break you. At the end of the day you need their referral for you sit for your boards so push forward. Remember Networking? well you will only make it together study groups with contents and all!.
    The only worst experience than mine I would say is probably a person who did not get to finish the programs. I had to borrow money, sell my possessions to pay merit and 1yr program... smh from ms1 to 3exits I spent 9months in this school! no failures! until they ok'd me for boards I never saw that light at the end of that tunnel.. smh. I became numb towards the end cuz I was averaging 1500 questions easy per chapter. studying every book under the sun attending obuteh reviews etc. And still at the time the school required an average of all your finals as accumulative points to fully exit the school and that is despite the newly implemented no Exit necessary NJ law. All of that still didnt prepare me for my boards and I have to say the Ready To Pass review God bless them served me with the tools to effectively tackle and pass my NCLEX. I wont take away from my exposure from Merrit but unitl this day now that I have my BSN and am working on MSN.. I still cant shake that feeling that RTP review did in one week/40hrs what Merrit couldn't do in 2yrs!
    Bottom line is Not Obuteh no administrator no brother sister husband or wife can stop you from achieving in or outside of merit. Only you can stop yourself so press on. Not sure how it might be these days but hopefully you went for bachelor in a community at the very least instead for a certificate like I did. Teachers could make a world of a difference yes but it all would amount to nothing if you don't study preferably prior to lectures anywhere you go.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    MerritAlumni Aug 18, 2016

    Hi I am a Merrit alumni. That first greet may seem like a proud student from that establishment but it is very much the opposite. Instead I am proud of this achievement. From excitement for passing the entrance test and interviewing with Mr Mungai to the numb feeling of exit. I wasn't planning to write anything here I was only curious on how my start up school was doing after +3yrs in my rear view mirror. Those were the Ms Webber days.
    If your on a look out for a nursing school especially as a quick route to graduation, I would agree look back the other way not for another lpn though. Go straight Bachelors as you know you will qualify to sit for you lpn boards nearly half way through that program. What that means is that you get to consolidate your efforts while accruing actual college credits towards your nursing career. Thankfully there are several colleges out there and they may not be as hard to get into their programs as one would think. You have options.
    If you are already in this school my suggestion is to network your way through, tough it out and put work to get your rewards. Your hard work will not pay off if you don't Network with this school unfortunately that's a fact that I have repeatedly tested during my time in this school. Obuteh is the rudest African I know that's also a fact may god forgive his transgressions and his delusions of grandeur and yes he does stink lol! Winnie and Eunice are running their own scams so in many respects that school can be a scam but that can also be your opportunity guys. don't let it break you. At the end of the day you need their referral for you sit for your boards so push forward. Remember Networking? well you will only make it together study groups with contents and all!.
    The only worst experience than mine I would say is probably a person who did not get to finish the programs. I had to borrow money, sell my possessions to pay merit and 1yr program... smh from ms1 to 3exits I spent 9months in this school! no failures! until they ok'd me for boards I never saw that light at the end of that tunnel.. smh. I became numb towards the end cuz I was averaging 1500 questions easy per chapter. studying every book under the sun attending obuteh reviews etc. And still at the time the school required an average of all your finals as accumulative points to fully exit the school and that is despite the newly implemented no Exit necessary NJ law. All of that still didnt prepare me for my boards and I have to say the Ready To Pass review God bless them served me with the tools to effectively tackle and pass my NCLEX. I wont take away from my exposure from Merrit but unitl this day now that I have my BSN and am working on MSN.. I still cant shake that feeling that RTP review did in one week/40hrs what Merrit couldn't do in 2yrs!
    Bottom line is Not Obuteh no administrator no brother sister husband or wife can stop you from achieving in or outside of merit. Only you can stop yourself so press on

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    djoune May 24, 2016

    www.meritlies.com
    Wow, where do i start. I am a victim!!! i enrolled in Merit on February 2016. I read all the comments before i attended the school, but didn't believe them and still went there. Oh Lord, that was the worst mistake i've ever made in my entire life. The school is horrible. The school is all about lies from the moment you step foot in the school. Weeny the director is so uneducated. The professors are so unprofessional/ Class never starts at 9, teachers come anytime they want and teach only for 30 minutes if lucky then 1 hr. All they want is $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$. the professors tell you clearly, "i don't care whether you come to class or not, whether i teach or not, whether you learn or not, i'm still getting pay the same amount." What does that tell you? Prof. Yaw is unprofessional. all he talks about is women. He needs counseling. The school is 18 months, 3 exits, they fail u in purpose. Please save ur time and money, jut RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUN

    1 Votes
  • Az
    Azalea abu May 19, 2016

    Don't go to merit they are thieves they fail you for spite they don't show you your midterm or final grade they force the teachers to fail you so you can pay $100.00 for a challenge exam which is the ATI exam no one passes the challenge they give you exam every two days you have to get 77% to pass I call nj state of nursing on them it suppose to be 75% be case lpn is a diploma program not a degree only degree program is 77% they give you Rn exam for your midterm and finals they get their exams from rn Pedia they have unprofessional teachers they make you pay $500 .00 for orientation and $3000.00 for a&p they fail the whole class so you can pay to redo the class their program is 2 years with three sat exit exam if you fail the three exit consider you never did the program they are money hungry don't go there my whole class fail African owns the school the owner went to jail for thief put on your roller blade and run worst school go to hunter or sierra they are good the fbid needs to investigate this school they are criminals

    1 Votes
  • Lp
    lpbrooklyn Nov 12, 2015

    I graduate from merit in 2012 and i have worked at different places and i have not seen any lpn to out shine merit graduates.this view is backed up by many of fellow graduates. I think merit is a tough school but you leave prepared above the lpn level. Most of my fellow gtaduates would tell you that Merit prepare you to the level that if we could have taken the rn exam we could have done so and pass. I realize that the students in their 40's and 50+ age group are more serious about school than the younger ones and they are the big complainers.
    they put cell phone, party before studying .they want easy ride go around hunting for past papers and cheat. When they cheat and cannot pass they blame the school. As for the negative comment about obuteh, if these students sleep with him and they end up failing who is to blame.study your lesson bunch of losers.i believe my class had about 35 students and the pass rate was the highest of any other previous class. You losers wasting your money when you do not study stop blame the school. I have recommeded serious people to merit and i will continue to do so.everyone from my class can only give merit high marks so where these lazy, buch come from

    -1 Votes
  • Jl
    jlo2120 May 23, 2015

    i am a current student in merit and i agree. i wish i would have read all this before because exactly what your saying is correct. These scammers want you to fail because its putting money in there pockets.this school needs to shut down. theres no tutoring and they do nothing to help you. They lie and say the school is 12 months and its 18 months

    3 Votes
  • Li
    lizzymore Feb 10, 2015

    I disagree with the last person comment. All the negative comments people said about merit are all true. I am currently attending the school. The school is a fraud. They are there to drain your wallet dry. The administrative are less concern about the progress of the students. They purposely fail students so that they can collect extra money them. The school collect one hundred dollar($100) for each class you challenge including classes that are one week after paying #500. My advise to students is never to take the challenge but wait and repeat the class because the possibility of passing the challenge is less than 10%. Questions on the challenge are very difficult -questions that are advance than the class you fail. Also students that fail a class whether they take the challenge and fail or not, have to pay half of what they pay to take the class to repeat the class. The minimum fees for a class is $500 for a week class. $1000 and $1500 for other classes. Ms Lee ( ex. admin) was brought to school by Ms.Eunice with the intention of raising non- taxable money ( money paid for challenge and for repeating classes are not recorded in your total schools fees of $15000) for them through the method of failing students.
    Now that Ms Lee left the school Ms Eunice herself is now doing the dirty work. She made students in Med Surg 1 and 2 to pay for their homework. Students had to pay to get the access code to go on David edge.com ( an online questions and answers on topics in nursing subjects.) I personally don't mind using the website but why do we have to get it through the school and why is Ms Eunice using it as our homework, when we have already pay for homework with the fees we pay for each class. For the evening students, All their class tests and midterm are derived from the website. students don't have time to study the text book to get the concepts of each topic taught in class because you have to spend lots of time if not all in practicing questions on Davis edge if not you will fail the class. This is another way the school is using to drain our wallet. I will not recommend this school to any body.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    New nurse Dec 22, 2014

    I disagree, the only people that failed were the dumb ones that never studied, came to class when they felt like n failed almost all the class test. I am one the feb 2013 students n everybody that made it thru med surg ll passed the exit n the board only one time. Stop spreading lies, it's not the school's fault if u don't study but expect to pass

    1 Votes
  • My
    myownperson Sep 11, 2014

    Merit is a terrible unprofessional practical nursing school. It's the unprofessional attitude that have left them with no Administrator. Ms Lee ( ex. admin) left the school after making sure that more than halve of the Med Surg II student class of Feb 2013 failed the Final exam. Merit is a big fraud. Moreover, I can't belief it's being run by Africans.(Kenyan and Nigerian- Obuteh). Obuteh is there to make life miserable for students, always pretending to help student. Actually, I believe he is the one that will run that school down. He is very rude and arrogant.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken Gathers Aug 02, 2014

    I don't know. I am looking for a good LPN program. I am looking past this one, however.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Margret22 Jul 23, 2014

    Merit LOVES to fail their student and takes pints out of their grade especially when they dont like you. it happened to some bunch of student including me.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Margret22 Jul 23, 2014

    Its a lie. Merit is a complete Fraud. they have a new administrator called Lee she is terrible. Students are leaving the school now. That school would make u to regret life and beyond. do not step ur foot in there or else u would regret the day u were born. some ppl have it easy becuz they sleep with professor thts y they tell u its a good school to go. ITS A BIG LIE. Students r not passing midterm and finals not to even talk of exit so its up to u which ever one u choose.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    pride merit student Dec 31, 2013

    Go Merit! Best school. i am currently a student at Merit. I am finishing with Med-surgical 1. So far so good. The review professor Dr Abuteh is very dedicated. The school gives you the material to succeed (you can either use it or lose it)

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    focus and determine Sep 13, 2013

    I am a graduate from Merit ; it does take 18 months instead of 12 months but if u focus and not caught up in the hype of other students you will pass through.I think all this neg that are posted are from students who want a free ride, nursing is never easy.Yes it is challenging but thats nursing. They do require you to do 3 exit exams before u graduate. In my opinion that makes u feel more confident taking the boards. I am a proud graduate of class 2009. they had a 100% pass at the board for that year. Merit just keep you on your toes academically wise.I WOULD RECOMMEND THEM TO ANY STUDENTS WHO ARE WILLING TO STUDY HARD EAT, BREATHE MERIT FOR THE NEXT.12-18 MONTHS WHICH EVER COMES FIRST AND CAN AFFORD THE TUITION.

    3 Votes
  • Fo
    focus and determine Sep 13, 2013

    I am graduate Merit it does take 18 months instead of 12 months but if u focus and not caught up in the hype of other students you will pass through.I think all this neg that are posted are from students who want a free ride, nursing is never easy.Yes it is challenging but thats nursing. They do require you to do 3 exit exams before u graduate. In my opinion that makes u feel more confident taking the boards. I am a proud graduate of class 2009. they had a 100% pass at the board for that year. Merit just keep you on your toes academically wise.I WOULD RECOMMEND THEM TO ANY STUDENTS WHO ARE WILLING TO STUDY HARD EAT, BREATHE MERIT FOR THE NEXT.12-18 MONTHS WHICH EVER COMES FIRST AND CAN AFFORD THE TUITION.

    4 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel Barros Aug 13, 2013

    I AGREE. THIS INSTITUTE DOES NOT DELIVER GOOD RESULTS! I WOULD RUN THE OTHER WAY! MUNGAI KAMUNGE TAKES THE MONEY AND GOES TO CHINA IN ORDER TO TRY TO GET MORE MONEY FOR THE SCHOOL. EVERYTHING THAT MERIT TECHNICAL SCHOOL IS TELLING YOU IS ALL LIES! MUNGAI KAMUNGE TAKES FEMALE STUDENTS TO HIS OFFICE AND TELLS THEM THAT IF YOU WANT TO GRADUATE, YOU HAVE TO FIRST HAVE SEX WITH ME AND PERFORM SEXUAL ACTS.
    MUNGAI KAMUNGE IS A RAPIST AND A PEDOFILE. HE ALSO HAS SEX WITH HIS DAUGHERS WINNIE AND CAROL WHILE HIS WIFE EUNICE KAMUNGE IS NOT AROUND.
    THE FBI IS GOING TO SHUT DOWN THIS INSTITUTION AND THE FEDS IS GOING TO CONFIGSCATE OF ALL THEIR POSSESSIONS.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Flo2013 Jun 14, 2013

    http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/nursing/DeanNDirectorLtr.pdf

    Please check this letter from the board of nursing. They are no longer allowed to require the exit exam as part of the graduation requirement. It can only count as 10% of the final grade. If you are still in the school please READ... any issues call the board of nursing in NJ immediately. Spread the word to any Merit students. Good Luck!

    0 Votes
  • Jx
    JX90 May 17, 2013

    THIS IS THE MOST TERRIBLE SCHOOL. I PASSED ALL MY CLASSES AND NOW THEY'VE IMPLEMENTED A NEW RULE WHERE WE NEED TO PASS 3 EXIT EXAMS BEFORE GOING TO TAKE THE NCLEX. THE PROGRAM IS NEVER 12 MONTHS IT'S MORE LIKE 18 OR 24 MONTHS .. STUDENTS HAVE MIDTERMS/ FINALS AND CLASS EXAMS I DON'T KNOW HOW THEY GET IT, BUT THEY DO. PROFESSORS ARE ALL UNQUALIFIED! ABUTEH STINKS!!

    1 Votes
  • Si
    simply1 Feb 07, 2013

    PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE don't waste your attending MERIT TECH INSTITUTE. Big scam going on in that school. As a former student, my advice is RUN AWAY FROM MERIT. Unqualified teachers, family scam business and time wasting.

    2 Votes
  • Cv
    Cvdinccareers.com Aug 07, 2012

    For one, keep posted on these scams and tell others!
    Think you can Take what Education you Have and get a job?
    I have attended, worked, taught and instructed at various programs.
    Currently I teach on the college level and see differences but still know there's a better way!
    Looking for an organization that can help? Run by CERTIFIED and Liscenced medical professionals that work in the field and have REAL job connections and medical business tech school students can learn and get REAL medical experience by running healthfairs, informationals about healthcare and opportunities for FREE job training in Medical technology thermal imaging!
    We also offer refresher courses to prepare you to take certification. We are a certified test site and we can prep you and help you pass!!!

    Have you spent thousands of dollars on technical, trade, adult school or college and still have zero career to show for it?
    Free Job and Career Education seminar!
    Find out from seasoned adult education specialist how to make your education work for you!
    Find out truth about adult education
    Find out where the jobs are and how to get them
    Career transition, entry level and resume ideas and tips
    This seminar is GUARANTEED to give you information you have never had before
    Just go here to read what others are saying!
    http://www.cvdinccareers.com/Products.html
    We specialize in veterans career transition, adult education and technical school students or attendees, current or pass students.
    Entry level and second career.
    FREE SEMINAR! What have you got to lose? Only information to gain and internship or healthcare fair organization.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    simply1 Jul 19, 2012

    I am currently attending this institute and strongly agree with the above comment about this institute. They constantly failed just so they can charge them $500 to repeat the class. The secretary and Miss Winnie sell midterm and final exams questions to students. I wouldn't recommend anyone to this institute

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.