The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Meet over DrinksFraud / seeking refund

Joined this dating service on February 18, 2008 and did not receive the services they promised in their contract. Calls to their offices went unreturned (copy of phone log available). When a live person was finally reached I was told that they had been bought out by another company that had been in business for many years - the company name was now Meet Over Drinks. I met with their representative who wanted me to pay an additional fee to have my account changed over to the "new" system. I refused and they eventually transfered my account at no cost. Almost immediately thereafter, the services provided were subpar at best, not providing proper service or customer service. Calls again to their offices went unreturned. as of this writing, calls to the office is met with a disconnected phone line. I am seeking a full refund and/or being made part of a class action suit against this company, it's affiliates, representatives and owners.

Responses

  • Wo
    Won Over Dating Service Scam May 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a similar experience with Great Date Now. The matchmakers came and went like the wind. They changed their name in April, 2009 to Meet Over Drinks, and I have the emails to prove that they are the same organization, just with a new name and a "fresh start, " as the matchmaker of the moment wrote. I had foolishly signed up in March, 2008 with Joe Colon in the Manhattan office, who charged me $3, 000 for only 5 introductions, which he said was the minimum (although I'm reading on the internet that others got better deals). He wanted to take $7, 500 from me for 15 matches! He tried to match me with some people from the other offices in other towns that he had never even met. One of the dates they arranged didn't show up at the restaurant. Joe Colon left and then there was Catherine Ginter (who gave me unsolicited advice on how to dress). Then, they transitioned to Meet Over Drinks and she tried to get more money out of me (like $360). I said no. They set up a date (a whole year after my first date, in April, 2009), who, also, didn't show up at the restaurant, although I did meet him the next day. There was a lack of communication between their various offices. Then, there was another matchmaker, Dawn, who said she would send me some men (after making judgments about my life). I ended getting my third and last date from them. Dawn had told me that if I didn't pay more money to join Meet Over Drinks, the men wouldn't be able to see my picture. The man I met happened to be a lawyer, and had a printout of my photo. He encouraged me to take them to Small Claims Court. Then, Dawn, the matchmaker left, too, and another matchmaker called me later on and tried to get me to pay them between $700 and $800 to get into the Meet Over Drinks database, or she couldn't help me any further. I refused to throw good money after bad. In December, 2009, I spoke to their main office in Purchase, N.Y. and the representative said she would add me to their database with a profile and send me the remaining 2 introductions. They tried to send me someone whom I happened to have met before, whom I declined to meet, and said that I had joined because I wanted new introductions. After that, I never heard from any of them again; they don't answer their phone or emails. After reading on the internet that the New York State Attorney General's Office is prosecuting Great Date Now/Meet Over Drinks, I filed a complaint against them, and received acknowledgment from the Attorney General's Office.

    I finally went to Small Claims Court and won the case (I spoke with an arbitrator). However, I never expected to be able to collect the money back, given that they declared bankruptcy. So, I reopened my dispute against Great Date Now with American Express. I WON!!! I was credited back the entire $3, 000. So, if you paid by credit card, I advise you to dispute the charge. Show them all the internet documentation of how the New York State Attorney General's Office is prosecuting them for fraudulent, deceptive, and illegal business practices. Also, provide them with all your documentation, especially your contract, the terms of which were not met.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marco Pietrangelo Feb 01, 2010

    I joined the site, they took my money and they are now closed, I was a member for less that 3 months. Site is now closed, the phones do not work.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Completely Disgusted! Jan 11, 2010

    For ALL to read and ALL to see ... I was a client of Meet Over Drinks until the Owner Gary Ferone decided to delete his database, delete the website, and close the doors! I have been calling and calling only to leave message after message to no avail! He took his company from Great Date Now, filed chapter 7 to open up a new scam called Meet Over Drinks! He charged clients more money, ripped them off, then close his doors officially filing chapter 7 on Meet Over Drinks. The company was viewed on channel 2 news December 30th for it's deceptive practices. I did, however, have the pleasure of working with a few employees who truly cared about servicing me. In doing further research I have learned that he did NOT pay his employees in over a month, abused them on a daily basis trying to make them partake in unlawful practices of which they wanted no part of. In promising to pay them, they continued to work in the hopes they would see their salary. He closed down shop and never paid anyone. These are employees who would like nothing more than to service all of us if they could. I have now taken personal interest in making sure they all have alternatives and making sure Gary Ferone has his day. Research also shows him listing two of his most loyal and valuable employees as part owner in this scam. I can assure you that Dawn Tefel and Stephanie Zipf are in fact NOT owners or affilitates and listed them to share in his trouble and expense. Looks like EVERYONE was scammed including the one's who worked for him. This man needs to be punished. As a client I feel embarrassed, used, and ripped off. How dare this man take my money, ALL OF OUR MONEY, knowing he's closing his doors and running. He is a coward. Gary Ferone was accused and convicted of Securities Fraud in 1996 for steeling over a million dollars in client funds. Ths man has to be stopped. If you would like to convey your thoughts to him you may do so at: /removed/. Or visit him at /removed/. This is the man that stole your money, never paid his employees, and filing chapter 7 to get out of all of it.

    Any questions????

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marcia222 Nov 28, 2009

    This company is setting me up with matches that live 1 -hour away.
    Some of the people they set me up with are to even calling me.
    I can not tell much about the people they set me up with.
    I do not know if I should get my money back.
    Maybe I am just wasting my time.

    0 Votes
  • De
    debdo927 Oct 25, 2009

    This is a service that provides introductions to the opposite sex based on your preferences. They have failed to provide quality men, out of my age range, too far in distance or just not what was requested as a mate. They have just thrown contact info at me, do not return phone calls and this is the biggest scam. This is not an inexpensive service that is billed as upscale. I would not recommend anyone paying for these types of service because you do not have any recource as they will tell you that they have fulled their contractual obligation by providing introductions. Sure, but not ones that meet my requirements, which are not unrealistic. At the very least the haven't even come into the age range, which would just be my age. So again not unrealistic.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Char1ie W Oct 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Look at this ad they are placing for a "Sales person/Matchmaker" - it is clear that you don't have to have ANY experience to be a matchmaker for them - just good at sales:

    http://southjersey.craigslist.org/sls/1373835074.html

    Meet Over Drinks Matchmaking, with 10 locations throughout New York, New Jersey, Philadelphia and Connecticut, is seeking a STRONG SALES PERSON/MATCHMAKER for their PHILADELPHIA office location.

    Rapid growth in our service requires top closers with an energetic outgoing personality. If you have what it takes to be the area's best matchmaker, we should talk. If you have experience in health clubs, diet centers or media sales, you may be the perfect fit. Other great fits include professionals with a psychology background, promotions experience or experienced recruiters.

    If you have the desire to create dynamic relationships while growing a truly rewarding income in a service oriented business, then this opportunity is for you. We have ten great locations and continue to grow with new locations opening every year.

    If you feel you are a great fit for this position, please respond by email to this ad or fax your resume to [protected], subject header: PA Matchmaker.

    We look forward to hearing from you and hope you will visit us at www.MeetOverDrinks.com to find out more about our great services.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Char1ie W Sep 25, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Are you fed up with all the illegal, ugly, unrecyclable advertising signs found on the side of the road? Here is one of the worst offenders:

    www.meetoverdrinks.com

    Meet Over Drinks buys HUNDREDS if not thousands of URLs, e.g.,

    www.datinginmonmomouth.com
    www.singlesinfairfield.com
    http://www.findingloveinpa.com
    www.stamfordsingles.org
    www.westchestersingles.com
    http://www.fifthavenuesingles.com

    etc. (they even use the same pictures) and puts signs that say “Single? Single in __________” etc. on public and private property in NY, CT, NJ, and PA.

    They do NOT give their name. ONLY if you fill out the form do you find out that Meet Over Drinks is the "parent company" - as in, they paid $10 for the local-sounding URL, so they can try to HIDE from anyone who is upset at their ILLEGAL SIGNS.

    They will NOT tell you who their "marketing company" is because it is a Panamanian company, NuStar Solutions, that owns THOUSANDS of URLs and puts HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of these ILLEGAL, UGLY, HAZARDOUS SIGNS UP NATIONWIDE.

    Everyone who is offended by this practice should call the police and Departments of Public Works to make this company STOP foisting its costs of advertising onto the public and taking up taxpayer resources to get rid of.

    The contact information to help get this company FINED and make them stop BREAKING THE LAW is:

    Stephanie Zipf
    Vice President, Corporate Development
    Meet Over Drinks
    585 Stewart Avenue, Suite 520
    Garden City, NY 11530
    [protected]
    [email protected]
    www.meetoverdrinks.com


    And check out these comments - it's not surprising that a company that is unscrupulous in its advertising practices just MIGHT not be the most legitimate otherwise:

    Great Date Now/Meet Over Drinks — RIP OFF

    Great Date Now/Meet Over Drinks — Dating Scam

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reneeangelou Sep 23, 2009

    THIS COMPANY PUTS ILLEGAL SIGNS ON YOUR PROPERTY OR YOUR NEIGHBORS OR THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT THE NEIGHBORHOOD, THEY ONLY TRY TO MAKE MONEY. THE SIGNS SAY ' SINGLE? 'DATESTATENISLAND.COM" - AND IF YOU REGISTER WITH THEM YOU WILL GET A CALL BACK FROM THIS COMPANY. THEY PUT SIGNS ON THE PROPERTY I RENT SO I CALLED THEM AFTER I READ THE ARTICLE IN THE STATEN ISLAND ADVANCE. THE YOUNG GIRLS WHO ANSWER THE PHONE SAY THE SIGNS ARE PUT THERE BY "THE MARKETING COMPANY" AND ACT AS IF THEY DON'T KNOW HOW THE SIGNS GOT THERE.

    IT IS BREAKING THE LAW TO PUT YOUR SIGNS ON YOUR NEIGHBOR'S PROPERTY OR TELEPHONE POLES OR ALONG THE SIDE OF THE ROAD!!!

    CALL STEPHANIE ZIPF AND TELL HER TO MAKE THEM STOP!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.