The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Great Date Now/Meet Over DrinksDating Scam

Review of Great Date Now. They don't provide the service they promise. Although Catherine Ginter says she will be in touch with you regarding feedback from your dates to bridge that divide from online dating, this is not the case. There is a huge lack of communication. They do NOT have enough men in their system to meet the need for the amount of women paying lots of money for their service. So buyer beware although Catherine Ginter says from her heart "friendly" responses, that she will follow thru, that is not what will happen. I say DO NOT pay to join this service. They charge anywhere from $2, 500 -10, 000. So go else where. They also are in the process of changing their names to MEET OVER Drinks. Do not waste your money. And beware they have opened up office in NJ and Long Island.

Responses

  • Lu
    LulaBets Jun 03, 2014

    Thanks for all the insight...it was helpful since I was going to try a dating service...seems like all dating is risky!
    How do you meet someone in the suburbs other than at a bar?

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    LLCisyouandme Oct 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Not as far as I know--the owner went on to start "Helping Hands, " which is being described here as a scam as well.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Char1ie W Sep 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LLCisyouandme - you write in the present tense. Are they still in business in some form?

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    LLCisyouandme Sep 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They tried to sign me up, but I said no repeatedly. They finally gave me a "continuing trial membership" or something, where I didn't have to pay, because they don't have males signing up at all. It's supposed to be a secret, but I told every date thus far--I thought they knew and that's why I had like 5 dates in 3 years. The "matches" seem entirely arbitrary.

    0 Votes
  • De
    december 2009 Apr 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just an update, I have gone to the New York State Attorney General's Office and have received a letter confirmation from that office that they are investigating MOD and I have a complaint number from them.

    I STRONGLY ENCOURAGE ALL OF YOU who have been scammed by Meet Over Drinks and if want your money back or some of it or some justice done, TO CONTACT YOUR STATE ATTOURNY'S OFFICE ASAP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Char1ie W Feb 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In case any of you don't know the ethics of the person you are trying to get money from ... (though fortunately this second little skirmish should result in enough adverse publicity that he won't be able to con anyone anymore...):

    http://www.finra.org/web/groups/industry/@ip/@reg/@notice/documents/rca/p002412.pdf


    Gary Michael Ferone (Registered Representative, Tuckahoe, New York) submitted an Offer of Settlement pursuant to which he was censured, fined $250, 000, barred from association with any NASD member in any capacity, ordered to disgorge $14, 070 in commissions, and make restitution in the amount of $469, 000. Without admitting or denying the allegations, Ferone consented to the described sanctions and to the entry of findings that he engaged in private securities transactions and failed to give prior notice to and receive consent from his member firm to engage in such activities. The findings also stated that Ferone engaged in the sale of unregistered securities. Furthermore, the NASD determined that Ferone recommended the purchase of securities to public customers without having reasonable grounds for believing that such recommendations were suitable for the customers based upon the customers’ financial situations, needs, and stated investment objectives, and induced public customers to purchase securities by means of misrepresentations and omissions of material facts. Also, the NASD found that Ferone failed to register as a broker or dealer with the SEC and functioned in the capacity of a general securities representative without the benefit of proper registration with the NASD.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Char1ie W Feb 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sorry & Pissed - thank you for elucidating the situation at GDN/MOD. One question: did you _really_ think the company wasn't breaking any laws, when its primary mode of advertising was those ugly (not to mention ILLEGAL) roadside "Single? Single in..." signs? And did you-all just not ever do a search on "Gary Ferone" to find out about his insider trading past?

    To the rest of those victimized - I hope you find strength in numbers and are able to get your money back.

    To Mr. Ferone - too bad, you can't take it with you.

    0 Votes
  • So
    sorry and pissed Feb 17, 2010

    As a former employee of Meet Over Drinks who has been mentioned in some of these posts, I am just as upset as all of you. I, too, was "scammed" by Gary Ferone. He owes me money, as he owes almost every employee who worked for him. He pocketed our TAX MONEY, he made empty promise after empty promise to all of us. We had ZERO warning when the system was locked. We were told not to come in the following day and we would be given an update the following day when the "system was back up."We were unable to log in and access any of our members profiles. Then we were told (not by him personally because he has no balls) that he was "not going to take money out of his own pocket to pay us and we were lucky to have been employed this long." I was there for the clients as much as I could be. The ONLY reason I stayed as long as I did (which was not very long at all) was because I felt that I was the only saving grace for the clients I had built a rapport with. I had a genuine passion for helping people find love and I tried to help people through an emotional process. If we made matches and the matches did not call you back, there is NOTHING we can do about that. Some people were just inconsiderate and too vane for this. When I was approached and informed of matches not calling back or whatever the case may have been, I was on it and reaching out to people to see what their situation was (traveling, not interested in the match, etc) and I did my best to rectify the situation. This was a matchmaking service, not a miracle working service. It is still "dating" and it does not change what you look like, who you find chemistry with, who enjoys your company or what your personality is. We simply took the work out of finding people that are close to what you are looking for and setting it up for you. The ones who went into this process with REALISTIC expectations had a great time meeting people and sometimes even found love. Regardless of what Gary did or what laws he broke (without our knowledge until NOW), we were in that office every day trying to make people happy and building relationships with some really great clients. I hate that my name is attached to this and I am after Gary myself, as are all other employees that he made look like scam artists right along with him. We are going to the Attorney General next week and we ENCOURAGE clients to join.

    1 Votes
  • De
    december 2009 Feb 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been having similar problems with MOD. I will submit my complaint to Westchester Co. Consumer Protection and the State. ...but maybe if we ban together we might have more power.
    email me: [email protected]

    I joined in Nov. 2009 and NO dates at all and no one is answering my calls or emails in any of the 3 offices (NY City, Purchase or the Connecticut). I called all 3 staff: Luella Lusk-Balint, Alicia Albano and Alexandra Parisi. They stopped answering my calls and emails in early January or maybe it was the end of December, I'll check my email to see.
    Very UPSET, I too don't have $1, 000 to throw away!

    0 Votes
  • Si
    singlenlonely Feb 12, 2010

    Similar experience, I paid 2000 for 6 months many of the dates I would be refered to never answered my calls or emails. Tragic experience for people seeking help in a very vulnerable area. I would love to find out how to get him back. I went to the office where they took my money in Darien Ct. and no one was there. Many calls went un returned. I feel taken and very upset.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chrisnxd Feb 10, 2010

    I, too, have been having a problem with Meet Over Drinks.

    I signed up in September '09 (and paid $2500) for 6 months or 6 matches. They would match me in a timely manner, however none of the matches would answer the phone, let alone return a phone call. After giving each match a considerable amount of time to get back to me (to no avail), I e-mailed either Dina Pepe or Alexandra Parisi who would match me again and the same issue would take place. And trust me, it's not because I'm a bad looking guy either. Their matches were either decoys or already pursuing another relationship, proving that Meet Over Drinks did not follow up with their clients. I even stepped out of my comfort zone and called the girls I didn't think would work out.


    So here I am, 5 months later and haven't gone on a single date. I also haven't received a match in 2 months. The site appears to be shut down, as well as the member's site.

    The question now is "what can be done?" If anyone has any leads, I ask of you to e-mail me and share your experiences. Maybe a class-action lawsuit?

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thief of Hearts Feb 04, 2010

    Looks like EVERYONE was scammed including the one's who worked for him. This man needs to be punished. As a client I feel embarrassed, used, and ripped off. How dare this man take my money, ALL OF OUR MONEY, knowing he's closing his doors and running. He is a coward. Gary Ferone was accused and convicted of Securities Fraud in 1996 for steeling over a million dollars in client funds. Ths man has to be stopped. If you would like to convey your thoughts to him you may do so at: /removed/. Or visit him at /removed/. This is the man that stole your money, never paid his employees, and filing chapter 7 to get out of all of it.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    matador192345 Jan 28, 2010

    I met Alex and I met Dawn both this past summer. They gave me dates but none were even close to what I wanted. I even gave them pics of my former match.com dates and they were leagues better than the ones they showed me. I can't believe I paid 2000 for this?! I hope this guy rots in jail. I will never pay for an agency again. This is like those Russian Dating scams! I just checked the website and my account -both defunct. And I was wondering why alex never got back to me???

    figures...you can't buy love?!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela M. Fradella Jan 27, 2010

    i have tryed to contact Meet over drinks several numbers cant get through i filled out a complient with the Attorney General in New York State and filled out other complaints i payed 750 for 4 matches and i got no matches i was waiting for my hearing aids which still did not come in yet. i feel burned and very upset i dont have 750 to throw away. Angela M. Fradella if anyone is suing this company let me know i want to also. Angela

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela M. Fradella Jan 26, 2010

    i joined in July 14, 2010 and i have not received one match because of my hearing aids i am still waiting for them and the office in Purchase is closed and no one is getting back to me so i filed a compaint with the New York Attorney GENeral office. Angela

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jessesgirl Jan 25, 2010

    I too was also roped in to join the Great Date Now experience when Beth O'Malley was there. I was told that I would have about one date a month and had given very specific criteria as to what I was looking for in a mate. They would "waste" my dates on older men that wanted attractive, younger women. They would market them to me as "in great shape" and "very young at heart". I went out on 4 dates in 6 months and only one guy was normal enough to go out with again. He had told me that they gave him a "good deal" because they were short on men.. He only paid 700 where I had paid 2500. Another friend of mine joined as well. SHe loves to travel and has two young children. They set her up on a date with a man who has never flown before and did not want to date anyone with kids. They still "charged" her for the date anyway...It is poorly organized and run. It seems like they just match people up when the women call to light a fire under them. So not helpful and many interesting women with alot to offer are being ignored. AJ

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Theresa H Jan 22, 2010

    I agree. I had a real great experience with Nancy & Dawn! At first I was a skeptic but now I am engaged. Go figure. I just think employees may have gotten a bad name from this person Gary Ferone who it seems all he cares about are his pockets. Although Dawn was not always reachable, she would email me back within 24 hours and call back within a few days. Nancy was always pleasant and around to assist. Dawn even taught me to like the inside of a person and not be so superficial. At least I can share my positive experience and say I am very thankful to these young ladies for making me happier than ever. Unfortunately my girlfriend lost a lot of money before they were able to find her someone. Shame on you Mr. Ferone. What goes around comes around.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Getzfrid Jan 15, 2010

    This orgnaization is a scam, that does not live up to the contracts that are signed. Buyer beware.

    0 Votes
  • Gg
    GGiaIII Jan 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's a pitty. The company was a great company until the economy tanked and so did the the firm. It's very unfortunate. I loved my experience with them back in the day when I worked with Beth O'Malley and Catherine Ginter. She and Catherine as well as Donna Rossi were some of the greatest matchmakers and women I have ever met! Beth worked as a psychologist and really helped many of her clients see their blind spots. Obviously the sort of people seeking out a matchmaking service need some help otherwise they would be dating on their own! And Catherine, who also works as an image consultant, tweeked and improved the image of countless men and women who quite frankly needed a serious image update in order to re-enter the competitive dating world. Catherine tweeked my friend and me as well, and I still use several of the techniques she gave me that dramatically improved my image and confidence. I am better for having worked with each of them. Donna was just a pleasure to speak to everytime I had a question about my matches. Some of the greatest matchmakers the Company had left after the owner changed the business concept and platform. Many matchmakers chose to leave the company because they did not agree with the company's business practices. Did the company ever bother to inform the clients of their departure - no. I wish everyone well and wherever they are.

    0 Votes
  • Gg
    GGiaIII Jan 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dawn Tefel


    NYS sues and seeks to enjoin Great Date Now and Meet Over Drinks

    Click here to read the story:
    http://www.pogowasright.org/?p=6658

    Click here to read the petition:

    http://www.courthousenews.com/2009/12/28/OnlineDating.pdf

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    D Canali Jan 15, 2010

    I believe they are closed now-the website is not working-the office in Englewood Cliffs is closed. Yes I too have been ripped off from signing up last year. There new format was horrible! Constant changing assistant matchmakers, the head matchmaker Stephanie Ross was a good sales person-and that is exactly how I should have perceived her and so was the original matchmaker who I signed up with. The matchmaker should not have been linked to sales commission-leads to a partial result. I am going to seek action through the better business bureau and Consumer Protection Agency also alerting my credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Completely Disgusted! Jan 11, 2010

    For ALL to read and ALL to see ... I was a client of Meet Over Drinks until the Owner Gary Ferone decided to delete his database, delete the website, and close the doors! I have been calling and calling only to leave message after message to no avail! He took his company from Great Date Now, filed chapter 7 to open up a new scam called Meet Over Drinks! He charged clients more money, ripped them off, then close his doors officially filing chapter 7 on Meet Over Drinks. The company was viewed on channel 2 news December 30th for it's deceptive practices. I did, however, have the pleasure of working with a few employees who truly cared about servicing me. In doing further research I have learned that he did NOT pay his employees in over a month, abused them on a daily basis trying to make them partake in unlawful practices of which they wanted no part of. In promising to pay them, they continued to work in the hopes they would see their salary. He closed down shop and never paid anyone. These are employees who would like nothing more than to service all of us if they could. I have now taken personal interest in making sure they all have alternatives and making sure Gary Ferone has his day. Research also shows him listing two of his most loyal and valuable employees as part owner in this scam. I can assure you that Dawn Tefel and Stephanie Zipf are in fact NOT owners or affilitates and listed them to share in his trouble and expense. Looks like EVERYONE was scammed including the one's who worked for him. This man needs to be punished. As a client I feel embarrassed, used, and ripped off. How dare this man take my money, ALL OF OUR MONEY, knowing he's closing his doors and running. He is a coward. Gary Ferone was accused and convicted of Securities Fraud in 1996 for steeling over a million dollars in client funds. Ths man has to be stopped. If you would like to convey your thoughts to him you may do so at: /removed/. Or visit him at /removed/. This is the man that stole your money, never paid his employees, and filing chapter 7 to get out of all of it.

    Any questions????

    0 Votes
  • De
    december 2009 Dec 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I Agree, I was a Great Date Now client and was really unhappy with them. The Meet Over Drinks people pursuaded me to check out their "new" platform/process and I stupidly signed up!
    My guy friend and I signed up at the same time (about 2 months ago) and he's had 2 dates and I've had none. I'm also unhappy with their service, they've not been very repsonsive to me and the main matchmaker, who I met with, I feel is not the one picking my actual introductions, I think her assistant is and she never met me, so she doesn't know what I want. I regret resigning up and they charged me $1, 000.00 for 10 dates (I got a few extra dates b/c I referred my guy friend to them). I think he might be happier with their service b/c he's actually gone out on 2 dates already. I think they have ALOT more women clients and very few men clients. So, I would encourage you not to join this Meet Over Drinks, especially if you are a woman. Beware.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RobMota Nov 05, 2009

    Has anyone tried not paying these criminals? Do they really go after you. Has anyone tried cancelling before the deadline and not pay any fees?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MAngels Nov 05, 2009

    Not sure what to believe.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scammedand spammed Nov 05, 2009

    These people are the lowest of the low...it is an opportunity to prey on people's need for companionship and they know you are too embarrassed to admit you have been scammed. In hindsight of course it is all smoke and mirrors.
    They have stolen your money and you must call the consumer affairs department in your state's Attorney General's office. File a complaint and they will begin an investigation and get your $3, 500 back as well as bring criminal charges against these con artists.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BElizabeth Oct 29, 2009

    I live in Phoenix AZ and had the same experience. I had dates with two people (who appear to have been picked randomly) and then the office closed. I contacted Kitty who had been in charge of scheduling my dates and she told me that she no longer works for the company. I don't know much about the process (having never been scammed before) but isn't there a way that a class action can be filed?

    0 Votes
  • Uc
    uchusky99 Oct 14, 2009

    I had no complaints with "Great Date Now" and had a good relationship with my consultant, Jessica. This new format is horrible-and the communication is non existant. 5 calls and 6 emails-and I have yet to get a response. Do not sign up!

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elizabeth201 Oct 12, 2009

    Meet Over Drinks is the BIGGEST SCAM on the planet. Just a legal heads up to all you former Great Date Now Clients. They cannot legally protect themselves under the new name. It is the same owner (Gary Ferrone) He is still actively involved with another partner. Please somebody file a class action suit against these con artists!! I am in the process of suing them and make no mistake I WILL get my money back

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Char1ie W Oct 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Look at this ad they are placing for a "Sales person/Matchmaker" - it is clear that you don't have to have ANY experience to be a matchmaker for them - just good at sales:

    http://southjersey.craigslist.org/sls/1373835074.html

    Meet Over Drinks Matchmaking, with 10 locations throughout New York, New Jersey, Philadelphia and Connecticut, is seeking a STRONG SALES PERSON/MATCHMAKER for their PHILADELPHIA office location.

    Rapid growth in our service requires top closers with an energetic outgoing personality. If you have what it takes to be the area's best matchmaker, we should talk. If you have experience in health clubs, diet centers or media sales, you may be the perfect fit. Other great fits include professionals with a psychology background, promotions experience or experienced recruiters.

    If you have the desire to create dynamic relationships while growing a truly rewarding income in a service oriented business, then this opportunity is for you. We have ten great locations and continue to grow with new locations opening every year.

    If you feel you are a great fit for this position, please respond by email to this ad or fax your resume to [protected], subject header: PA Matchmaker.

    We look forward to hearing from you and hope you will visit us at www.MeetOverDrinks.com to find out more about our great services.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stunner Sep 30, 2009

    Same crap. They said refunds must be done with TWO DAYS of signing the contract. HUH?? That doesn't even give you a chance to go on one date! I asked for certain ethnicities, they gave me others. I asked for people who enjoy certain activities, they gave me the opposite. Also I am 5'8 male, they set me up with a woman over 5'10. It was akward for both of us. Can't anyone bring a class action suit against these jerks?? I was stupid enough to resign with them after the "new improvements". I asked to speak to "management" and they said there is no one I can speak to so I had to speak to the receptionist. I signed up for It's Just Lunch service and so far they seem much more engaged and take a personal interest... although it is early so i can't make a fair judgment yet.

    0 Votes
  • Pp
    PPT Sep 14, 2009

    Absolutely agree, no service at all, total rip off. I am talking to my lawyer now to sue them.

    1 Votes
  • Nc
    NC2123D Aug 20, 2009

    Hi I'm a client of GDN. I started in the Englewood Cliffs office and have recently transferred to the Morristown office . I would love to talk to you about your negative experience with them. I am currently in the process of determining what to do

    Please email me at [email protected]

    ND

    1 Votes
  • So
    socalledlife Aug 13, 2009

    I completely agree with everything here. A complete and total rip-off. I worked with the Morristown office and it is a complete train wreck!

    0 Votes
  • Gd
    GDN Never Again Aug 07, 2009

    Great Date Now/Meet Over Drinks is a questionable company. GDN has been sued in Small Claims Court in Connecticut several times. They seem to charge different clients with different rates at will. There is no actual matchmaking. Rather, they send you out on dates just to fulfill the contract. Your hopes, dreams, desires, wishes are irrelevant to them. Their follow up and lack of communication is astonishing. From failing to follow up on dates and confirmations, to changing times of dates within an hour or less of the date time, to substituting dates at the 11th hour, I have experienced it all. Currently, I am on hold with GDN because I do not feel safe or comfortable with their service. I was contacted by them again recently, to tell me about their "improvements" and to meet the new Connecticut matchmaker. I will not be following up because I have no confidence in their company.

    0 Votes
  • Great Date Now and Meet Over Drinks is the same scam company owned by the same scammer cheater owner who just steals peoples money. DO NOT give them any money. Please sue them to get your $$$ back but even then he might sue you back. The owner, Gary Ferone, is a cheat. Google his name. He was convicted in 1996 in NY by the SEC (Securites and Exchange Commission - yeah, like Madoff) of selling stocks by falsely misleading clients (telling them that the stocks were good for them when they were not) and by giving them false info (aka - LYING!!!) Sound familiar. He even had his corporate bank account levied by a client who tried to sue him but in the end got all of the $$$ back. He is living off all of your $$$. The Matchmaker's who have been there a while know it, too.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smartbeaut Jul 16, 2009

    same thing happened to me when Beth O'Malley was there (in Darien and Milford) is she still there? it was a disaster, I printed all my emails, correspondence, etc. in the hopes of getting a refund but they refuse to do so. AWFUL. horrible matches, disgraceful. They even had me go on dates without person showing because they "forgot" to tell me or them the time/date, etc. literally had 4 dates in almost 2 years.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Veronica918 Jul 14, 2009

    They are horrible, Virginia Rupert in Darien sent an email to me that was meant for the Milford office saying that I was ### because I wanted to see who they were sending my phone no. and pic to. I have waited for customer service to get back to me for 3 weeks after numerous phone calls and emails. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JamieS Jun 25, 2009

    There is a new matchmaker at the Manhattan office but Catherine is no longer working there.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JamieS Jun 25, 2009

    Catherine Ginter has not been at the firm for two months. If she is not getting back to you, it's because she is no longer there.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.