Medley communicationsDarren Medley

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I went to work as I normally do, made it on time to the morning meeting. The owner was there starting it. First thing he does was talk about what great jobs we're doing then looks at me and starts yelling " YOU"RE DONE MAN YOU [censored]ED IT ALL UP, GET YOUR [censored] AND MEET ME IN THE OFFICE" ! By this time I was in shock that he just did that to me in front of all 35 people that work there and being one of the most knowledgeable technicians he has for a year and a half. I felt so bullied and embarrassed I couldn’t even look at anybody. I have never felt so low and worthless in my life and I hope I can put some judgment down before it happens agian to someone else there. The company is WRONG.

Responses

  • Ri
    RippedOff Jan 05, 2009

    I was there and saw it. Couldnt beleive it. I was surprised dude even went to his office. I'd a left. It gets worse. They do this kinda stuff to ya all the time. And they take your money. You never know how much you will make each week. They say it depends on how you did a month ago like anyone remembers back that far or could proof it. And then they take money back from you and its a lot. if they go out and find you did some little thing wrong they take money back. Some weeks its one amount but they changed it again. $150 they can take from you if you mess up enough. So you could end up making less than minamum wage!! you cant plan anything cuz you never know how much your check will be. Medley is a bad place to work. Lots of us are looking for someplace else. New trainees lots of times dont last long especially if they can find somethin else.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cableguy123 Apr 06, 2009

    I am employed by Medley Communications, Orange County. I have been making $200 dollars a week due to the lake of support from management. I have heard Daren go off on individuals in front of the whole crew (how degrading). I was initially impressed by their training course (going on about team work, blah blah blah) but come to find out it's just a bunch of lip service! I have come to find out a few things about operations; They are treated like Shi#(Shi$ rolls down hill), under staffed and they are all pot heads...

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    Captain howdy Apr 28, 2009

    I was trained and out in less than two weeks. I was #1 or in the top five in all categories. I went the extra mile and had my ego stroked by these guys. The whole time they were giving the money jobs to themselves (The five or six supervisors/dispatchers/supply guys). You see, they all had second functions around the shop. This would justify them getting the paying jobs and leaving the trouble calls to the other poor saps (myself included). I also didn't join the trainers clique, which sort of hurt me in a political sense. After they took out money for my tools, and meter rent, I was averaging about $250 a week. I lasted about eight weeks. They apologized to me and said Cox was screwing them. If you like a 50-65 hr work week for about 200 bucks, sign up with these guys!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Duffy May 16, 2009

    I work for medley in the tucson system, i have been here for about 4 months. when i first started checks were small. coming from a working class family i have worked in construction and worked for piece rate before. i knew what i was getting into when i took my job. Over the last few weeks i have gotten faster and better at this, and as a result the money is starting to come in. ive been taking home around $550 a week wich is about $125 more than what i was making at the job i left to come work here. I work under a good super and on a good team. There is never a lack of guys willing to come help me when im running behind. A few weeks ago my truck broke down and my super took the time to help me find one that i could affored so i could get back to work as soon as possible. My experience here has been a good one and im proud to say i work for this company.

    3 Votes
  • He
    hemetcable1211 May 24, 2009

    I work for Medley Hemet. I have been here for about a year and I have noticed that the guys the complain about their checks are also the ones that want to go home by 3:00 everyday. Then when they see their checks they want to blame managment for their small checks. I say put up or shut up. They have been nohting but fair to me. Those same people who complain about their checks are the same ones that are failing q.c.'s and all that. If you are not happy the leave, stop wining and move on...

    2 Votes
  • ive been doing cable for three years you all sound like a bunch of complainers be happy medley even gave you a job and that you have a job in this crappy economic time ... for real the medley family are good people and will and everyone at corporate are here to help all of us not screw us.

    6 Votes
  • El
    elrhyno Jun 17, 2009

    I've been in the cable contracting industry for nearly 10 years, and enjoy it very much. It's not right that an organization jerks you around like that. It sounds like they have a tendancy to "charge-back" their technicians for work, which is illegal in the state of CA. I know this from experience with a class action suit I participated in. The state of CA also requires that you are paid at least minimum wage for time on the job, and overtime for anything over 40. I would recommend contacting a good labor attorney and hammering these guys for breaking the law. It's not right to work for a bunch of idiots. Let them have what they deserve.

    -4 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Duffy Aug 28, 2009

    "I've been in the cable contracting industry for nearly 10 years, and enjoy it very much. It's not right that an organization jerks you around like that. It sounds like they have a tendancy to "charge-back" their technicians for work, which is illegal in the state of CA. I know this from experience with a class action suit I participated in. The state of CA also requires that you are paid at least minimum wage for time on the job, and overtime for anything over 40. I would recommend contacting a good labor attorney and hammering these guys for breaking the law. It's not right to work for a bunch of idiots. Let them have what they deserve."


    this is all common knowledge, medley never back charges ever. ive failed QCs and never been back charged. No laws are being broken no one is being unfair. the bottom line is that some guys work and some guys don't, the guys that work succeed, the guys that don't ###, quit, and go do the same song and dance somewhere else. don't worry guys if you don't like it call centers are always hiring. Its is a simple thing, the expectations are laid out clearly and the company gives you everything you need to accomplish what they are asking.JUST DO THE JOB! I take a great deal of pride in my work no matter what i am doing, if i am putting my name on it i am going to do it well, educate myself, further my knowledge, and be better.I have no sympathy for a scab worker who wants a check for nothing. work harder!

    1 Votes
  • El
    El_Diablo Sep 27, 2009

    The freaking Arris system sucked. There was no transparency in billing nor anyone teaching you how to bill. I think the guy above was right about the money jobs newer people always got to work the"70"

    -3 Votes
  • Lj
    ljutes Oct 09, 2009

    Whiners are whiners. They will always find something to complain about and somebody else to blame. Anybody gives you a job in this market is to be thanked. Piece work is for peope that produce at a high level and slackers weed themselves out. Good workers thrive in piece work jobs. Slackers leave and then look for the State or attorneys to do the work they aren't willing to do themselves.

    El-Diablo senority earns you the better paying work. New guys earn their way through extra work.

    Elrhyno you are an idiot. You bite the hand that feeds and soon you have no one stupid enough to hand you anything. Then you will be getting what you deserve.

    2 Votes
  • Id
    I DONT LIE Nov 20, 2009

    Medley Communications is the most corrupt and unethical cable contracting companies I have ever worked for. I have been doing cable for 6 years, 4 with a previous company and 1 with Medley (thank god), and the reason why is because 1. They do in fact steal money from there contractors by doing "charge backs" for failed Q.C.'s they charge you $50 a failed Q.C. 2nd they implement new changes and procedures on there techs all the time which takes up alot of your time in the field like for example they want you to read from a cue card to the customer explaining who you are and what the company is about which is embarrasing and takes up time which if your a contract cable guy you get paid by the job and time is of the essence. 3rd. You never know the amount of your paycheck becuase they're the only company that fluxeuates your pay every week, if you have failed Q.C.'s they charge 50 for that and they drop your overall pay for the week, so basicaly every week you just hope for the best cause you just never know what your check is gonna look like. 4th. The management system is bull, Darrin the owner is a spoiled rich kid that has a huge fit when things dont go his way he yells and rants at techs and management in front of EVERYBODY! Hes actually comical when he comes in to try and inspire the techs at morning meetings because he talks about team this and that and 2 seconds later hes cusing you out and your fired. Basicaly Medley Communication is a horrible company to work for and thats saying it litely, and im not sayin that cause i hold a grudge against them or anything cause i actually quit and am back in school because installing cable isnt the best career move for me but while i did it Medley was the worst and really gave me that push to look for a better career where i didnt have to take the bull that Medley does to its employees. I will acknowledge Damian Klas and Randy from Orange county they unlike Darrin are the only good part of the management over there.

    -1 Votes
  • I worked for Medley in Tucson. And if you figure in the time you travel plus the jobs. You are making well under minimum wage. I was actually told by the local management to lie about my mileage to get extra money. I could not work for such an unethical company and that's why I quit. And they never tell you how to charge for work. That should be apart of the training. I want to warn everyone about another company in Tucson. See I thought I would give cable another chance thinking maybe it was just Medley that's messed up. So I got a job with BEAR communications of Tucson only to find out there even worse. They are a contractor for COMCAST. They pay even less because they supply you with a truck. And you buy your own gas. Same deal they work it so it appears on paper you make over minimum wage. Plus it was mandatory to work 6 day's and 50+ hours a week. People I can go on and on. This is the most anti employee industry I have ever been associated with, never have I been asked to do so much for so little. And when you deliver like I did, Never once did ether of these company's appreciate it. In not one meeting did I ever hear of them saying anything positive to the employee(Slaves).The cable industry is a joke. Here's a message to any cable contractor company owner's that might be reading this. You have the cream of Americas work force right now. That wont last for ever. Soon we will be back in are industries that care about there most valued asset there employee's. And you will have the bottom of the barrel unless you change your greedy way's.

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon Q Public1111111 Dec 18, 2009

    "Exceeding The Expectations Of The Customer By Giving Your Best Each And Everytime In Order To Produce Predictability", is what your brainwashed with every morning, its the same as saying "pay attention to this so you don't realize ur getting screwed by this", Managers at Medley are battered wives to Darrin Medley's abusive husband, his crazy mood swings are not hush hush or infrequent. I've heard stories abought him screaming at the top of his lungs and beating the walls because every team member didn't remember to put his cone behind his vehicle at 7:30 am after more than likely pulling a 14 hour workday the day before. I've also heard a manager softly saying how much SHE wished it could've been perfect for Darrin when he got there, Every successful person in history has failed more than they succeeded, its how you learn, its how you grow, thats why good parents don't put up with Tantrums they're toddlers throw ( hey that rhymes).

    Medley in a sense however is the most ingenious legal masterminds in the market today, to pull what they pull without breaking any laws must've taken the entire 18 years they been in business to perfect. It breaks down like you have read, you are responsible for your tools your vehicle and Insurance as well as your performance and billing your relationship with your co-workers your relationship with your managers, your relationship with your customers and above all your relationship with your client (Time Warner/ Cox Cable). In turn Medley is respnsible for...HELL I DON"T KNOW.

    They Don't make sure your income is in a certain range, they don't make sure they're employees are in good health and not working themselves into health problems, they don't provide vacation time, medical, even basic holidays are out of reach depending what system you work in. THEY MAKE SURE YOU MAKE THEM MONEY WITHOUT COSTING MONEY.

    Now some guys post that whiners are whiners some guys post that hard workers succeed, but ask yourself guys was it worth it? The top guys in my system had no personal lives whatsoever, nothing to talk about except work and getting drunk, I got scolded for not going to a company BBQ, as if I dont see these people enough. Maybe exconvicts can appreciate a career like Medley because they will never know how good it feels to have a decent legal goodpaying job, where putting your personal life on hold time after time again is NOT the mark of hard work but the mark of a SLAVE LABOR, and don't use the poor economy as an excuse, ITS BECAUSE OF COMPANIES LIKE MEDLEY THAT WE"RE IN THIS MESS. THE HARD WORKING LOWER MIDDLE CLASS ARE THE GIVERS AND THE SPOILED, BORN RICH, RECOVERING DRUG ADDICT, UPPERCLASS ARE THE TAKERS! By the way Damien Klaas how the ### did you blow through a million dollars in a year on drugs and friends? MEDLEY COMMUNICATIONS IS A LEGAL AMERICAN SWEATSHOP.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Ben Derdundat Jan 03, 2010

    I've been in the industry for 13 years. I've read this board before i worked for Medley to research what i was getting into. I lasted 5 months at the Medley institution. It is Darrin's company and he runs it the way he wants. He sees order, client appeal and exceeding the client and customer's expectation. No the expectation of the employee is never exceeded. Nor has the employee been provided with predictability. Medley Communications is a BUSINESS. If you don't like it then leave. Which i did. Darrin, although in my opinion a nice guy, fails to realize that his rules and regulations leads to the degradation of most techs and implications of racism and discrimination. Medley Communications IS NOT FOR THE EXPERIENCED TECH. If you have no experience in this field of work then Medley is a great place to start. Think of Medley as a trade school that's paying you and you will survive 6 months to a year. If you are an experience tech you are better off at McDonalds or Walmart. Medley makes careers for admin NOT TECHS. So if you're a tech seek employment elsewhere after about 4 months in the field. You'll find that you'll make more money and have less job stress.

    1 Votes
  • Jd
    jduffy Feb 13, 2010

    Wow, never knew this site existed. I used to work for Medley. I am sure all the complaints (which most are true), I am a witness to.

    Whiners or not... I speak from my own experience working for the company. I saw a hard working woman work for the company who was sexually harassed, call it playful banter or whatever. She always laughed it off. Worked hard and when she ran into a legal problem, they basically told her she needed to work whether or not she had a suspended license or not!!! If you as so much as let them down in any way, you will pay. They let her go because she chose to do the right thing... which was the wrong answer for Medley.

    Hey "Girl", If I were you, if you ever run across this... I would find a lawyer and sue them. I will totally stand up for you, I was there. What they did to you was unethical and just wrong.


    I know what "GIRL" your talking about. She got a DUI How is that anyone's fault but her own? Dont get me wrong i love her to death but she made a bad choice.

    -2 Votes
  • Ca
    Carkip Feb 20, 2010

    I find this site laughable. Employees who whine and can't even spell?! My suggestion: pay close attention to details---all of them. Learn something from those in charge. Quit whining and do the work . Listen to instructions and follow them. This philosophy works in all jobs. Retired teacher...

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    nick o Mar 29, 2010

    Most of the former "techs" on here complaining about the company, were the one's who weren't cut out to do contract labor for a company that cares about quality. Most contractors have low quality control and a simple mindset of; make money, get out. This is why cable is such a revolving door and contractors have a bad reputation. Charge backs on QC's is very reasonable, the supervisor has to fix the fail that the tech neglected to do upon the initial order. Consider it a fair warning for negligence. Medley is a great company to work for, not once in my near two year employment have I ever been treated poorly or routed unfairly. Darrin is a character, the man sure knows how to talk. But he has never shown disrespect to me or anyone doing their job. He always finds time to take care of any concerns and works hard to keep his employees satisfied. This company is fairly large but is still run like a family business. Anyone new to cable is going to be frustrated at first, seeing venerated techs making over eight hundred a week verses their checks is very discouraging. In a piece rate industry, it is all about completion, when you spend four hours on a trouble call that pays twelve dollars you ruin your chances of making any good money that day. The best thing to do is pay close attention in training, ask a lot of questions and don't waste time back-tracking. If you aren't sure, call someone and get an answer.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MattFungini Jun 19, 2010

    Medley sucks. Bottom line... they are getting sued, and pretty much are gonna go down for their unprofessional ways. No matter how they go about threatening people, etc. No offense to Darren, when I worked for Medley years ago, I thought he was actually a great guy, it was mostly the people who worked under him who he had run their offices. I thank God I threw in the rag 2 years ago when I did, otherwise I'd be miserable. I feel sorry for my buds who are still employed by these people.

    0 Votes
  • Every one Read this, its long but worth it.
    Wow I just got this letter in the mail, Medley communications being sued, did it sound like this: I wrote this, Created Tuesday Jan 27 2009 with about a year in and quite a few months later because they wanted to fire me for being better than everyone else and they just gave me $500 dollars for passing all my Time Warner QC’s. I didn’t post it because I try my best to practice not to ever complain or explain, just keep on keeping on. But now I got to post this, also hey you, marathon man remember me…loser.
    Medley Communications.

    First of all you’re not a contractor; you’re a technician working for a tyrant contractor. You are to believe your efforts will be rewarded in exchange for your hard work. A rude awakening will inspire when you find yourself using your own truck and the expenses it takes to upkeep your own vehicle do not match what your putting out, especially your fuel expenses. On the average you will pay about $100+ a week in fuel; driving to Medleys customers, not yours. Who is getting the bigger percentage on the job from owing the business, Medley is of course, you’re only getting pennies on the dollar tech. You will eat this cost many months with low pay. Your paycheck will be below minimum wage, they will match what you’ve made: for example 5 bucks with 3 bucks and some change to make things look nice for their books. But in turn your fuel is much greater than that, remember you are paying out of your own pocket. FYI Many techs are not making enough to take care of themselves independently (cost of rent, food, and utilities).
    Your salary is based on your jobs completed, not to mention other techs will get the better paying jobs. They pick favorites and reward them, in turn you watch Medley give out prizes to top performers, which is not bad; But they save on their own overhead expenses by not paying you for your own overhead expenses, thus they have money to give back, but not to YOU. What gets me is when they encourage you not to put down your hours correctly, they tell you not to mark your overtime so you will get part of your fuel cost back. Its not mileage your getting back it’s their own unique cost of savings in doing business at your expense. Let’s look at this in a business perspective, you’re the employee they are the employer, you work they don’t want to pay your overtime, you see my point. By the way, your not taking a day off or a vacation with pay; you don’t work you don’t get paid. Hmmn, do you still think this is a good company? The hours: Start at 7:30am till 7pm and even 10pm or later. Like in construction, but with a twist, when you have a job on your list you have to service it till complete, its gets later, your hungry, tired, making mistakes, finish it, its now 11pm, but your encouraged not to mark your overtime; then the next day they charge you for $ 50.00 bucks for not tagging a line in the dark.
    Think about it, by the time you get to speed you will have lost more money than you have gained, not to mention industry fluctuations in piece jobs available (your pay will shrink due to little or no piece work available for each week). You might think, this is like going to college and you have to put your time and money into it. Wrong, look at the above comments made by other good people like yourself, they will charge you for not putting a tag on a wire, $ 50-$ 150 US dollars! Un-heard of right, your not going to get ahead working here, don’t think about that BMW 3-series dream you have, you will not be able to buy it working here. Hey! You, if you think I’m a jerk for writing this, look in the mirror I’m you, I just had enough and wrote it down first. Also ask anyone about the employee turnover here, you will see for yourself. On the flipside of things, they will send techs home for a few days for not passing QC’s like this will solve their problems. It may be needed for techs with no company values; they should be fired in any business model, but not to the hard working employees that have made their own personal sacrifices for the company’s mission.
    This is not a good career move; take this lesson from the wiser, you will hurt those around you by not being able to contribute to your daily family expenses (or your own) and relationships. You will be better off getting a minimum wage job and waiting it out till something else better comes along. I have spoken. FYI don’t talk to anyone you can’t trust there, they will stab you in the back like the [censor]. Hemet, CA Ex-employee.

    1 Votes
  • One more thing, this company will always every day before you leave to the field, threaten your job, how would you feel if your boss did this to you every day, and this is not an exaggeration my friend. Later; Medley start liquidating your assets for my savings, thanks for your tuff love.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jduffy Jul 08, 2010

    Here I am over a year after my first post. Still keeping track of this smear campaign. Some of the things I am seeing simply blow my mind. Lets review some of my favorites.

    " You don't work you don't get paid"

    Hmmmm I wonder why!? Oh! maybe it is because you AREN'T DOING ANYTHING! What is in your head that makes you think you should get paid by your employer for laying on the beach, or sitting next to the pool drinking beers instead of being at work? If you wanna take a day off by all means take a day off. Get some rest, spend some time with the family. Don't cry when you don't get anything for not doing anything.


    "They pick favorites and reward them"

    Why not? This happened at every cable contracting co. out there.Lets think about this. Lets say you have a shop with three techs. Tech 1 has been with you for 6 years, tech 2 has been with you for 3 years, and tech 3 has been a part of the team for 6 months. Hmmmm why wouldent you be loyal to the guys who have put faith and energy into you? Outside of that point we all know that the better paying jobs are always the harder jobs. Can tech 3 really handle the work load that tech 1 and 2 can? Or would tech 3 sink under the heavy (higher paying) work load and then run home get on the Internet and cry about a "lack of support".


    "It is Darrin's company and he runs it the way he wants."

    Thats rite! It is Darrin's company! If you had 20 years of work into something you started would you do everything you had to do to safe guard it? Not only for yourself but for the men who have been loyal to you for years? If it is so terrible to work for Medley why can i think of guys off the top of my head who have been here for 6, 9, 12, 18 years!?

    "By the way Damien Klaas how the [censor] did you blow through a million dollars in a year on drugs and friends?"

    WOW!!! I thought we were here to discus our opinions on a company that we have all worked/work for. Not take cheap personal shots at someone your really don't even know. My posts on this board have stayed fairly professional but for that comment i will deviate from that approach. Jon Q Public1111111 [censor] you and your rederick.

    "The freaking Arris system sucked."

    This is true. I have worked for cox and time warner and Arris is much better than toa but it still sucks. but that is in no way controlled by Medley so why blame them?


    I find it really funny that you all have so much to say but you hide who you are. Cowards. I used my real name on everyone of my posts.If I am saying something I want everyone to know that I am saying, how much do you really belive what you are saying if you ardent even willing to put your name on it? Take some pride in what you say and what you do and maybe your next job will work out better.


    Im Still Jeff Duffy.
    Im still here.
    Im still proud to say I work for Medley.

    Late!

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MattFungini Jul 10, 2010

    For your information Jeff, people in Medley like to [censor] their ex workers more than one way. When they fire you, or you quit, they have a good habit in making sure you can't work for ANY OTHER COMPANY IN TIME WARNER PERIOD. I'd like to ask you this Jeff. How long have you been with the company again? How long have you been in the telecommunications field all together? I've bet I can out beat you in my experience, and years with cable all together. The only thing keeping you with the company are probably you keeping your knees dirty, and something else... oh right, you defend Medley's [censor]. Good job. Someone's gotta do it right?

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Miller, Attorney Jul 21, 2010

    I am one of the attorneys representing the employees against Medley. If you have worked for other employers and have similar complaints to Medley, please feel free to call my office.

    Scott Miller, Attorney
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Can anyone tell me the grounds on which Medley was sued in California.

    0 Votes
  • [protected]@yahoo.com. Send me your stories. Let's force these rat's into daylight.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nope69 Aug 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have to tell you I was in the field of installation for this company and was also one of the top tech's. I got fired on my day off, I felt like craig from Friday. My "boss" couldn't tell me why I was fired and I guess from all the bs that medley pulled with the state of Arizona, they didn't know why either. they are a company that feed their employees and customers full of lies.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bryan Silva Sep 19, 2010

    Hey now,

    It's been a while since my first post. I was the one who put on the message boards to all the employees in Cali that were being wronged and possibly not being paid for their time for lunch breaks and for their 10 min breaks. I had wrote my feelings and was totally honest with what I wrote over a year ago.

    After I wrote the truth about Medley and the laws in California, I received a call from Medley Communications which I sent to my voice mail. About 30 seconds later my wife comes to me and hands me her cell phone and says its Darrin Medley. Darrin was so nice and polite to me. I was wondering what was up. It seems he didn't like the truth that I wrote about the laws that the state of California has. Darrin asked that I take down the post. When I asked him why, the only reason he gave me was that it "didn't look good" for clients who he does business with. He then began to ask if I would like my job back (I quit), at which point I said I am done working for the cable industry and Medley Communications. I told Darrin that I wrote the truth and that I felt that he has some major issues with his company.

    I wrote the truth about the laws in Cali and the truth about Medley Communications. For some reason; I was feeling nice and said that I would make the attempt to take what I wrote off the message board. I'm glad that some of you were able to read my original post before I had it removed. I wish I would've kept it up as I feel it was important for people to know what the laws are regarding OT, lunch breaks, and paid 10min breaks.

    I put in more than 40 hours a week, but was told to short my hours every week so it didn't take away from my vehicle reimbursement pay. I was usually at work at 645am to hand out supplies, hardly ever got a lunch, a 10min break. However, if you looked at my pay stubs at the end of the week I would only have 32-38 hrs of time that I put down so I was able to get my full vehicle reimbursement. I know that I will never see any of the money that I am owed from Medley, but that doesn't mean that others can't collect for what they are owed or deserved. I believe the statute of limitations for labor complaints in Cali is 2 years for back pay. It is 1 hours wage for each lunch break and 10min break that you don't get. It is the responsibility of the employer to maintain and have these records on file.

    Here is the email which I sent to Darrin and his reply:
    Darrin,

    Per our conversation; I contacted the complaint board via email to have the posts removed. I am unsure how long it will take them, as it took about 12 hours for them to respond to my email. I am a man of my word, and I said I would do everything in my power to rectify the situation.

    However, this still doesn't change the fact that there are some serious problems at Medley Communications-Tucson. The lack of training is a serious issue. I know there is a lot of turn-over within the company and it is a fine line to waist resources on training when someone may quit after the first day or week, but there were safety issues that were not addressed to me during my initial class with Damien and during my 10-day field training. In fact, the first time I heard about not cutting the mid-span first (when removing a cable) was after about 4 months of working for your company. I find this to be unacceptable, and often wondered how many other things that are detrimental to my safety that I didn't know about because of the lack of training. Let's just say there were more occasions that I learned about valuable safety items that were never addressed to me during training.

    Not having proper equipment to do your job on a daily basis is one of the things that will crush morale quicker than anything. I worked in the back and handed out supplies for 4 months. During that entire time it was an everyday occurrence to not have supplies that technicians needed to do their jobs the way that we were supposed to do them. I knew of technicians that had to use house-wrap for underground drops, underground or aerial for house wrap. If they hadn't done it that way then they would have to cancel the job, get marked against their numbers for completion (which, as you well know hurts the way they are routed for the next day and week), and having to risk losing out on pay. Cable was just one of the many supplies that we would be out of. I was told for almost 4 months that things were going to change. That a supply list would be handed out to individuals, so that there would be a way to see who was using what supplies. Needless to say, that form was never implemented.

    As for me, it was the supplies and bad equipment that did it for me. Additional things, such as my blackberry. I loved using my Blackberry, TOA and homecert. It made me a more efficient Technician, and as you are aware, that makes me and you more money.
    My phone broke and a new one was ordered. It took less then 3 days to get me a new phone (which was great), but for some reason homecert did not work. This made a 10 minute trouble call turn into 45 minutes worth of work. You could swap out the box which would fix the initial problem, but had to wait on hold for upwards of 30 minutes to find the levels on the MTA in the house. These are problems that need to be rectified as they are morale killers. Trust me, I brought this up to my supervisor a number of times, but was always told they were working on it. After a while you see how things really work and you just give up, because your marked as a complainer or a 'whiny [censor]'.

    As for the message board complaints, like we talked about yesterday; I was not slanderous or used libel defamation in anyway. Being a criminal justice major, I picked and chose my words wisely and used factual statements in my posts. Those were my words based on actual facts and laws. I could've easily hid behind a fake screen name. I put my name up there because I am not trying to hide from anyone. I just wanted the truth to be told. There are many problems in your organization that you are and aren't aware of. There needs to be a form of checks and balances to ensure that things are getting done appropriately, because they are clearly not.

    Best regards,
    Bryan Silva

    Darrins reply:
    Bryan

    Thank you for your feedback. I really do appreciate your input, as it is valuable coming from the Technician prospective. I take your input very seriously and assure you I will use it to improve things in Tucson. I do not know if you talk to any of the Techs there anymore, but we have made a big push to ensure that they can use TOA. We also are making a lot of changes in the warehouse to fix the equipment and material issues. Anyway, thanks again for your feedback, and being a man of your word. I wish you the best.

    Sincerely

    Darrin Medley

    _______________________
    Darrin Medley
    Medley Communications, Inc.
    CEO / President
    Work 951.245.5200

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon Q Public1111111 Mar 25, 2011

    So how is it goin Jeff Duffy, you still the company fool?

    0 Votes
  • Te
    telxpert Jan 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is Joe Baro I am a customer who been wrong by Medley and Time Warner. The box is defective emitting 122 vac thru chassis ground. When the technician plug the HDMI my TV that is off at time and the coaxial cable lit up and trip the circuit breaker at my house. The harassment fallowed and medley time warner sends me a letter today that they will pay for nothing. They also use my house like a testing station with defective cable boxes. If anyone please only honest real story about this matter. Thank you all and wish you all found better jobs.
    P.S
    Please to Medley and Time Warner you are NOT invited or welcome to answer my blog.

    1 Votes
  • Te
    telxpert Jan 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This Joe Baro my last blog I did not clear up what happen on my Samsung 52”LCD TV 120 HZ. Medley installer blew it via TIME WARNER cable box. As I said when I test with my voltmeter, the box is emitting 122 volts AC thru the box chassis and passing through my TV ground. I will be very candid how to explain this technically in court of law.

    If anyone please only honest real story about this matter. Thank you all and wish you all found better jobs.
    P.S
    Please to Medley and Time Warner you are NOT invited or welcome to answer my blog.

    1 Votes
  • Te
    telxpert Jan 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can conjecture you are not on my crosswise and beating your individuality. Perhaps subsequent stretch I will typeface without hastening and if you are from Medley or time warner originated forward with your offense weakling.

    1 Votes
  • Te
    telxpert Feb 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Joe Baro on my last blog I ask that Medley and Time Warner are not welcome to comment, please do. Please real stories and be honest about your experience with dishonest Medley/ Time Warner. Thank you and God bless.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Just a Tech May 23, 2012

    OMG, OMG OMG the way you people represent your cases to the public is embarrassing. I hope you you are better cable techs than you are spellers, by the way I doubt that. I am sure you are failures as cable techs just as you are as writers and spellers. To succeed you must represent yourself properly, first impression means alot in the public eyes. We are the public we are reading your complaints but you are hurting our eyes. If I were one of your customers I would have kicked you out of the door at Hello. I am sure the successful technicians are out making money while you are sitting here whining. There are two types of techs MONEY MAKERS and BOTTOM FEEDERS. Which one of those are you?

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    DMStory Aug 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wait till you hear this... (this may need its own thread)

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cable Dispatcher Oct 19, 2012

    I know its been a while, but thought you guys might be interested in this article. I came across it as I was searching something one of the Cable contractors here in Las Vegas is doing to the technicians which is pretty much the same as this company. I'm sure Cox is not renewing they're contract. They do so much shady ###, and the environment there is beyond Hostile. They are thinking charging the techs for all the back-charges on failed QA's (Here in Vegas it's QA not QC) and for getting hit on trouble calls and lates. That company needs to go down, and so does Medley which I've never heard about until I saw this, but it seems like they have NOT learned their lesson. http://www.lasvegassun.com/news/1996/feb/23/cable-installation-firm-to-pay-back-wages/

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas Hicks Dec 01, 2012

    I don't know if anyone still reads this or not, but the people that think there is nothing wrong with the way Medley treats their techs must have the wool over their eyes or doesn't want to see it. Medley sits there and says we are here for you and your families, has long as the company comes first. Must be nice to be home every holiday and weekend with their families when the back bone of the company is out their making the money for them. I don't disagree that all the higher ups where techs at one time. But how many years ago was that. Techs today have to jump through hoops to get things done and when they do they are told they did it wrong and get crap for it. I was with the company for 4 years and I say a lot of marriages fall apart because of this company. I mean how can you follow the owner of a company that says we appreciate what your families give up for us to work when he cant even keep his own marriage from falling apart. I would have rather been given better working environment the big parties that really did mean anything. I mean I don't think they know what stress the techs of today have to put up with for the pay they get. I am sure it will be said that I was no good as a tech and that is why I failed. Maybe they are right, but if saving my marriage and my family by walking out and getting a less paying job where I am home at night and on the weekends they it is a choice I made and am glad I did.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary1966 Dec 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I worked for Darren in Las Vegas in the nineties. He was one of the best bosses i ever had. I never saw any corruption or mistreatment of anyone. I never had a complaint about pay or anything else. Darren like his father and sister has very high morals and integrity. I have met his father and sister and they both are very friendly people as in Darren. I enjoyed working forr Darren and even years later he remembered me as an employee. I would reccommend working for him to everyone. Even when we had employees who were not up to standards i never saw or heard of Darren ever yelling at them. They eventually moved on because they wedre not suited to work in this industry. I have to think the complainers just are not suited for or adaptable to this line of work.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    MAKMAN Jul 27, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ladies and Gentleman;
    I can sure tell the one's that have been truly burned by Medely and the ones that work for them! NEWS & FACTS for all of you!
    Medely Communications has a CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT against them for not paying wages & overtime properly! How do I know this factually? Because I am the one that started it! I asked that ALL PEOPLE PAST, PRESENT AND FUTURE be contacted and be part of it!
    I am PUTTING UP and SHUTTING up now! SEE YOU IN COURT!
    Too all those so called "Complainers"? You will be contacted and if not, I will find out if I can post my Attorney Firm name here so you can contact them.
    HAVE A NICE DAY!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MAKMAN Jul 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Reading all the replies I can sure point out the employees getting kickbacks from the REAL MEN getting screwed!
    The complaint is factual and validated by similar complaints! I worked for Medley and I have to admit I had the wool pulled over my eyes for a short period even with 37 yrs of experience!
    I REALLY thought after the training at CORP and the "SPEECHES" that this was really a company that cares about not only their employee's but the client, the customers also! HOW WRONG I WAS! OR should I say HOW RIGHT ALL THE "Complainers & Whiners" ARE! My paychecks were NEVER right and they could NEVER explain WHY! Now they will have too. But, I have already proven I was paid wrong on reg time and overtime!
    And to PROVE it, I will see them in COURT on behalf of myself and all others that worked / work for Medley!
    Its a CLASS ACTION filed in May!
    By the way Medley employee that hates misspellings and no actual names online. First of all you don't have to SPELL CORRECTLY to be CORRECT MORALLY! I would much rather be a poor speller than a LIAR & CHEAT!
    And regarding putting your name out there, what does it matter of the exact name? The STATE & FEDERAL COURTS only care about the FACTS! Get a grip!
    HAVE A NICE DAY!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    class instructor Oct 09, 2013

    gratefully retired.. I am a previous tech of medley communications and although i have taken the time to read each and everyones comments, i realize they all have some validity to them. As for me the good have out weighed the bad. we all knew what to expect upon coming to work that very first day. if you didn, t then you didn, t either read the fine print or when you were in class you felt it wasnt important enough to pay attenton to what was being said, so when reality hit about the info you didnt think was important enough you looked for someone to blame. dont be so naive!!! life is full of lessons. take this as one of those lessons and continue on. its only a bad thing if didnt learn anything from it. take those tidbits as lessons, grow up, and learn. quite blaming others for your mistakes..

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.