The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Max White Teethteeth whitening scam

C

I stupidly signed up for a FREE trial of two teeth whitening products as seen on an adverstisement within the Hotmail website. I am now trapped in a scam which enrolled me into memberships because I agreed to the FREE trial. IvoryBrites at least will allow me to return their product for a refund and they were reachable by phone to cancel my membership. I had to request a return code from their support dept and I have yet to get it but I am hoping one thing goes right in this whole mess. Max White however, did answer my call in India but they are not willing to allow you to return their product for any refund. The operator made me read off my full address, name, phone #, and email before he would cancel my membership. I don't know if he was confirming my information or writing it down for the first time. I spent 17 minutes on hold while he "cancelled" my membership. I am also being charged by Axis Wellness for $9.99. Apparently I was given(charged for) a memership to their website. I had to request that cancelled through IvoryBrites as well. The FREE trial is not with the hassle of cancelling these memberships. Obviously, the TERMS are not very clear as you breeze through the screens to receive the free trial. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY AS I HAVE!!!

Responses

  • An
    Angelasinfo Dec 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was scammed a year ago by, oh I forget the name smile, a teeth whitening company.
    I did find this while searching on the internet last month and wanted to see if it was for real and it is. So I decided to post it on every board that is about people being scammed by teeth whitening companies.

    Apparently, the owner of this company was scammed years ago and decided to start a company doing things the right way. When I called their customer service number I was speaking to American people, “Wow what a change”. They described their program the following way.

    They not only sell product on Amazon, in salons and though their website, they are also allowing anyone who was scammed by a teeth whitening company the opportunity to order refill kits from them as if they were originally customers of theirs. He said that they make a dollar or so for each refill kit sold and the owner wanted to give back to any one that was scammed. They are selling refill kits for $10 each. The link to their offer page is here.

    http://www.nicewhites.com/offers/iws/

    I order last month, the gel pack arrived 5 days later, and there was no surprises. They did not bill me for additional product, etc… I think this is a great thing they are doing to help everyone else…

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael bzowy Mar 25, 2010

    I filled out a survey to get a free gift and I was told only to pay the shipping and handelling . My credit card was billed over 150.00 canadian. I am very angry and want these charges reversed.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Hodnett Mar 20, 2010

    The add stated I would only be charged s/h charges for samples of teeth whitner. I was charged s/h and on one a charge of $78.93 and on the other $88.97. I would have never agreed to this. Beginning in May 09 tnis co.began charging me 9.99 per month . These are fraudulent charges.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kanyau Mar 09, 2010

    what can we do about max white. I think their terms and conditions are un acceptable. they debited my credit card with the membership fee that i dont want simply because i did not cancel it within 14 days.i dont think this should be the case at all and people should be able to order what they want when they want. the customer service guy was very rude as well when i tried to get in touch with him in Oxford, UK.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Think_ Feb 16, 2010

    Wow! It's a shame that so many of you have been conned. But really - did you not guess something was up? Companies like this only exist because people fall for their tricks. The sooner people stop to think for a couple of minutes before giving out payment details, the sooner companies like this will disappear.

    Please always read the small print before signing up, and always do a bit of research before buying. It only takes a few minutes on google to establish if a company is reputable or not. Companies like this who are out to con you will disappear if you don't buy their products.

    Incidentally, who is it that buys Viagra after receiving an unsolicited email? Someone must do or we wouldn't continue to receive the emails...!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shyro Feb 14, 2010

    yep sounds all 2 familiar!!! I too saw the ad as a pop up on a site that shows episodes of south park, again depicting a local woman bragging about ow she beat the dentist charges( I live in england ), Bellabrite & teeth max white.The sample took overly long to arrive & when I called upp to find out where it was, i was asked to my horror if I'd like to cancel my subcription! I of course said yes & the rep assured me that my account had been scrubbed & I would reiceve no more products or charging. I hit the roof when I saw my bank statement, the crafty buggers had charged my account a on a number of occasions & even twice on one day!! when I called up, they said according to their rec, I had cancelled within the specified time & the charges were nothing to do with them. The issue is currently being dealt with by my bank, who worringly told me that its unlikely I would get any money back due to terms & conditions... Well, I hope the fat cat at the head of this elaborate shceme of obtaining money by decpeption from honest people, chokes to death on a bit of lobster shell!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jade.B Feb 03, 2010

    Thats exactly whats happened to me!! How dare they, does anyone have an email address so i can email them??
    Or do you have to call??
    I'm really annoyed by this, im a student with no money as it is!!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arsene Lupin Feb 02, 2010

    Even here in Europe, many of us were stitched up by this Co and I'm afraid it's has taken a global dimension

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryconsumer2 Dec 11, 2009

    I am a victim of this scam too and I can't believe that I was so stupid to fall for this scam, I have been ripped off of about $190 + $70 account overdraft fee. it is annoying because my account these too companies overdrafted my account twice. DentaWhite and SmileWhitesPro/CleanWhite; they keep changing their name it is so ridiculous. I am thinking of closing my account and reopening it, the best thing is to not have gotten into it at all.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gabber Nov 16, 2009

    I just recieved my June CitBank Master Card statement. There is an unauthorized charge to my credit card. I want it removed Plus interest charges. IMMEDIATELY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    bkcallalily Nov 12, 2009

    Avoid Dermitage internet silicitation of 14 day free trial! You will regret it. Staffers could care less. Credit card will continue to be billed

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stardust Nov 12, 2009

    Max White Teeth, advertises free trial merchandice for shipping and handling charges only. What they say in small print is if you don't notify them within 14 days, you don't want any more of their worthless product, they will continue shipping their worthless product to you. I just cancelled my credit card because they refused to confirm. they would remove my credit card number from their files.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Noxx Nov 12, 2009

    I went to the bank today to find out about another company who had taken out money from my account-Ivory Brites. When doing so, I found out that Max White Teeth had taken money from my account as well. I have never event seen the product delivered. I accepted the free trial, which did not include free shipping. I used my debit card. Max White Teeth appears to be a scam. They used my debit card to charge my account.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RaptorSting Oct 25, 2009

    I was billed 69.73 from Whiteteeth promo. TOTAL BS. I bank thru Bank of america and reported the unauthorized transaction. They ASSURE me that they will get my refund back. I sugest everyone talk with their banks. The more complaints will help.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    galadams Aug 13, 2009

    I have also had a problem with this company. Yes, they hide behind the terms and conditions and are totally rude when you call. Same Indian person offered to lower the charges, but I was charged 79.56 and 84.59 before my account was finally cancelled. And why do they keep sending products under different names every 2 weeks? I will write to the BBB as suggested.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sassy Cassie Aug 12, 2009

    Never sent the trail and charged my account $4.99 and $78.93 When I callled them about the charges Max Fernandez told me the charges are valid you never call to cancel. How can you cancel for something you didn't receive. I ask for a tracking # and was never given one. Total ripoff. Who do I call about this.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marian warnike Jul 02, 2009

    Trying to return product. Can't understand the people i speak to
    want address to return charged my credit card twice
    Marian Warnike
    130 tequesta st
    tavernier, fl 33070

    0 Votes
  • Max White did the same to me and Citibank could care less. Worst bank to handle frauds There card fraud department IS obtuse.

    Max White is now going under the name "BRIGHT TEETH NOW"

    Credit card companies usually figure it out and that's why there changing names.

    If your credit card company does noting go to the States Comptroller of the currency, in my case it was South Dakota. Next would be the Attorney Generals Office

    0 Votes
  • St
    StreetsboroSarah Jun 25, 2009

    CALL YOUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY AND EXPLAIN YOUR PROBLEM WITH THEM! I just got off the phone with mine and I'm glad I did. They were real helpful and understanding.

    I had the same problem dealing with "Max White Teeth". whoever they are. I called on June 1st to cancel and they assured me that they would take care of it. Here it is June 25th and there's an even greater charge than last month. ($83.92) I called them back and the guy (from who knows where) said he'd have to talk to his manager and call me back in 24 hours. I am not waiting for him to call back. Be persistant!

    1 Votes
  • Dc
    dconrad Jun 24, 2009

    This Company is the most outrageously underhanded, deceiptful, etc... you get the point. I called twice and was so mad each time I was shaking. I can't believe in America a company can operate like this. I'm so glad to see (sorry) that I'm not the only one to fall for this. My bank has been absolutely no help. The company has been a joke. My last resort is to file as many complaints as I can and hope they make the company close or at least stop the pop-ups!Good luck to you all getting your money back, I didn't!

    0 Votes
  • Bp
    BPizzio Jun 23, 2009

    Beware of this company as well as Ivory White and Brite Teeth. they all have the same scam. Has anyone been able to recover and if so how? [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Se
    sephoratrading Jun 20, 2009

    Good news! Despite the fact that "ihatescumbags01" seems to think their simple advice warrants being posted 6 times, that is only one step of what you have to do. I finally made progress with my complaint to the Better Business Bureau. I had recorded all of my calls to the useless customer service department and noted that in my complaint to the BBB. About 2 weeks later the company submitted a response to the complaint saying that my money had been refunded and all accounts had been cancelled. 5 days later a refund did indeed show up in my bank account (since I stupidly did not use a real credit card). I think the part of my BBB complaint which said "I have audio recordings of the phone calls in which I was denied a proper 30 day return and refund which was in direct violation of their own terms and conditions." Probably shook them up a bit.

    So just keep plugging away at them any way you can. I see that Jessica above found the same section of the terms and conditions and had the same problem I had. The only difference is that I called them only 21 days after I placed my free trail order on the website and was still denied the refund. Make sure you click back a few pages over the other comments. On page 2 there is a very helpful one from Chuck Thurner. Just to recap, I recorded all my calls to the company. Emailed both Advanced Wellness Research and Netalab directly. I filed complaints with the Better Business Bureau, Federal Trade Commission and the Florida Division of Consumer Protection. When they read my BBB complaint saying that I had recorded proof of them denying their own terms and conditions that was enough to force them to issue my refund.

    Good luck to the rest of you. Don't give up. If enough of us complain (which it seems like is happening as the guy on the phone was not surprised when I mentioned my BBB complaint) then the BBB, FTC and FDCP will come down hard on them and hopefully shut them down and take away their ability to own a company in the future.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous in Tacoma, WA Jun 19, 2009

    Another one to watch out for is ArcticWhites.com - I ordered the free trial with shipping of $4.95 and selected email me confirmation of order. Never got the confirmation and never got the trial sample. I did review part of their 10 pages of terms and conditions. Got my visa bill with the charges and it took me 2 days to get through on the phone. Upon which I discovered they had "sent" and billed $145.00 for a 2 month supply. Their terms and conditions indicate the consumer can select a 1 month, 2 month or 4 month supply. This was not even an option to select. I told them I did not authorize this, I never even got the trial shipment and in light of not having the opportunity to try the product, they did not meet their obligations of their own terms and conditions which in my opinion negates their terms. I even called with a member from my bank. I requested a return authorization and credit to my account - ALL SALES ARE FINAL is the response and they further indicate I cannot refuse delivery. Well, the product arrived yesterday 6/18 - my bank representative said to refuse delivery and file a deceptive sale practice dispute to VISA card services. You can also file a complaint with the State of Florida and your own State Attorney General's office. This company further indicates they are going to post your personal information including charge card numbers on the web and label you as a "fraudulent internet purchaser". I will be drafting a letter and submitting to them via certified mail that under the Privacy Act - they are forbidden to use/post my personal info anywhere. I wish I had known about this sooner...
    In for the Fight
    Tacoma, Washington

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    ihatescumbags01 Jun 19, 2009

    Simple solution for these ### file a chargeback with your credit card company and cancel your card so they can't take anymore out. Regardless if you are going to win the chargeback dispute. either way it puts a strike against their merchant account. To many chargbacks = high chargeback ratio. To high a ratio and they get black listed by VISA/Mastercard.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arrt Lee Jun 18, 2009

    When I Called the company I talked with some who could barely speak English. I had refused delivery of a package for which my credit card was charged $85.92. I was told that I would not be Credited for the returned product because I merely marked "refused" on the unopened package. I was told I should have put the order number on the package. Since I did not order the product there was no order number. So, they now have the returned product as well as my $85.92. This operation has fraud written all over the face of it, as the number of complaints clearly attest.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Middle roader Jun 17, 2009

    I too got these bogus charges on my card and complained to Netalabs, my guess is I am out some amount of $. A painful lesson learned, what got me is that they promoted a local woman who got the white teeth for jsut a fraction of the costs - should ahve tried to call her!

    I was promised a $40 refund to my card. Has anyone else been promised a refund and received it within 6 business days as stated?

    Urge all to file complaints, someone with the time could file a legal action?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Turner Jun 15, 2009

    Address for Max White Teeth coming up as:

    189A Front Street,
    Chester-Le-Street,
    England
    DH3 3AX
    United Kingdom

    WTF??

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JOYCE Jun 13, 2009

    THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM!!
    THEY STOLE $86.44 FROM MY CHECKING ACCOUNT.
    I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS COMPANY BEFORE.
    I NEVER ORDERED OR RECEIVED ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY.
    I ORDERED A SAMPLE PRODUCT FROM EASY WHITE AND SOMEHOW THIS MAX WHITE COMPANY GOT MY ACCOUNT NUMBER.
    I HAD TO CLOSE OUT THE ACCOUNT.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debra Jun 11, 2009

    Do not believe them... you must report them to your credit card company and get a new card...
    Debra

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Janet S. Chance Jun 10, 2009

    Max White Teeth is charging my credit card without the
    authorization for purchase - If not corrected immediately
    this will be reported to the Attorney General's office.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica Jun 10, 2009

    The same thing happened to me. I saw an add for it and thought it was worth a try. I did not however know that if i did not call to cancel they would automatically sign me up for a membership. They billed me for 2 months worth of product ($165) yet i never received anything from them. I had to call my creditcard company and the woman i talked to called the number with me. The man i talked to (who also didnt speak english very well...or course) told me that i could get a discounted price of $38 if i continued my membership for 2 more months and he could refund me $40. I told him I was not interested and that i had not received any products that they had billed me for and would like to cancel my membership and be refunded the amount they charged me. He said i could cancel my membership but they would not refund me my money and only send me the 2 months worth of products i had been billed for but not received. After he tried to convince me to keep using the poduct because "it is wonderful", i asked him that if when i got the products i could send them back unopened and THEN have them refund my money. He told me no because they do not accept returned products. After becoming very frustrated, i agreed to just cancel my memebership and receive the 2 months worth of products.
    After thinking about it, i got onto their website (whiteningnow.com) and looked up their terms and conditions (which the man was so eager to throw in my face when i told him i did not know about being signed up for the membership) and looked up the "RETURNS" section. It states:

    REFUNDS
    If You are not satisfied with the Product for any reason, simply contact Us within 14 days of your original order date to cancel and You will only be billed for shipping and handling. Failure to use the product(s) does not constitute a basis for refusing to pay any associated charges (i.e. trial charge). To return the Product purchased after your 14-day Free Trial Period, please call Us at [protected] within 30 days of the ship date of Your Product.
    Refunds will be given on unopened Products only. Returned merchandise requires a delivery confirmation from the shipping provider. Refunds will not be given on packages marked “Return To Sender”

    After reading this, i called back. I had asked the man the 1st time that if, after receiving the packages, i sent them back without being opened, they could refund me my money and he said no b/c they do not accept returns. This IS NOT TRUE. It says in their terms that they do as long and they are unopened and not marked. I also asked him to not even ship them to me and to refund my money. He said he could not. If they havnt been shipped to me, there is no way for me to open them so it is the exact same thing. When i called the second time i talked to another man and told him what i had been told the first time. I also told him what their terms and conditions said on the website and he told me that all i had to do was wait to get the products in the mail, return them and they will send me in the mail a return confirmation number. He told me once i receive the confirmation number, to call them back and they will refund my money. Hopefully they are going to do what they say they will but who knows. The lady from my creditcard company also said that if i do not receive the products within 2 weeks to call her back and they will help me make sure that i get my money fully refunded.

    So all in all, i guess actually complaining that their terms and conditions say that they will give me a refund if i do not open or mark the package made them realize that they could not not refund my money.

    Hope this helps anyone else stuck in this situation

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miami Jack Jun 10, 2009

    I ordered the Max White Teeth product and called to cancel within 3 days of receiving the product. Three weeks later I received another kit and when I called to find out why, they said I had never cancelled so they had billed me for the "free trial" $78.93 and another $83.92 for the 2nd kit. I have contacted my credit card company to dispute the charges as well as give them all the website names of the complaints being logged against Max White Teeth. This company is a major scam and needs to be stopped. I'm not 100% positive, but I think they have changed their name to Dazzle-White Teeth now so be VERY careful.

    Miami Jack

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Valdese Jun 09, 2009

    Stay away from Easy White, Max White and My Whitening. They all are the same company and pass names, credit card numbers, addresses from company to company. They refuse to remove credit card charges for unordered and undelivered merchandise. One rep of the company requested that I file a fraud notice with local authorities because someone had used my credit card number. I told the guy that I would file fraud charges against him. At first he claimed he could not give me a cancellation number but eventually he did. These outfits are one gigantic ring of thieves. The previous posts are identical to the process that happened to me; so this is their standard operating policy. Do whatever you can to stir up authorities against them.

    0 Votes
  • Wy
    wynham Jun 09, 2009

    I paid for shipping on a free sample - they starting debiting my account for a full order three weeks later.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kerrie Jun 06, 2009

    I ordered the 14 day free trial period and I cancelled one day after I received the whitening kit. I cancelled the day I received the whitening kit, but because it was over 14 days from when I ordered it, they charged me 78.93. Read the fine print!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    biotch Jun 05, 2009

    Okay Guys that got scammed, I did too but I refused to let them hang up on me by threatening a lawsuit and going to file a police report and I think the biggest thing that helped me was that I got on this websight and started reading to them all of these complaints and told them that I was going to go international by making sure that this was broadcasted on the news about this scam. They tried to give me the same bull about only giving me $20, then they offered $60 and I refused and was a total ### and told them that I was going to my attorney next and this was going to get real ugly, I told them that I didn't care if I had to spend thousands of dollars to get them prosecuted, it was going to be what I did next. I demanded to speak to a supervisor and told them that if they put me on hold and ended up hanging up on me, then I would see them in court! After about 24 minutes I finally got him to agree to refund my full amount :-). He was not happy and I never had to speak to any supervisor, infact I warned him that he should get out of that business, they are located in South East Asia. Just stand your ground!!! Don't let them get you! Not a single penny!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dianne Jun 05, 2009

    I was also taken advantage of with this scam, and there should be a way as a honest consumer, that we are protected by these scams.
    They should be forced to return our money that we did not knowingly authorize them to charge.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeffery tippett Jun 04, 2009

    they took money out of my account after i cancelled #638104

    0 Votes
  • Ff
    fff Jun 04, 2009

    These peoples are careless about their hard earned money... they just don't even the terms and conditions which is given in the website and they say that the company is a Fraud...

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Turner Jun 04, 2009

    Don't surrender to the scammers - it's your money and you are entitled to get it back.

    Here is a short video which show you how to get your money back from the scammers:

    Getting your money back from Scammers:
    http://www.chrismalta.com/scamtip1.asp

    After watching the video from Chris Malta, I called my bank. Forget about these customer service numbers. They aren't there to help you, your bank is. I called mine and requested a chargeback. My bank is now disputing all the fraudulent charges. Good luck everyone!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.