Menu
CB Employers Life Alert Emergency Response TWO WARNINGS regarding Life Alert.
Life Alert Emergency Response

Life Alert Emergency Response review: TWO WARNINGS regarding Life Alert. 18

F
Author of the review
6:56 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

TWO WARNINGS regarding Life Alert.

Warning #1 is for anyone considering a Sales Position with this company Life Alert: Management will promise you (at the interview and again at sales training) that you will get leads from senior citizens that called-in in response to their commercials seeking information on a Life Alert system. You will, or have been lied to. You will receive a stack of one year old leads that have been called 100’s of times by dozens & dozens of sales people just like yourself. These leads are virtually worthless as they’ve hounded these old people over and over and over. But most important to you is this: It costs them basically nothing to have you sit in their offices as an “unpaid commission based private contractor” calling these exhausted, beat-to-death, old leads. You will NOT get new leads no matter what. Save yourself a lot of heartache, lost time and lost money. These people at Life Alert (in my opinion) have created a revolving door, stealing the precious time of all newly hired salespeople; salespeople who are simply looking for a job in this tough economy to pay their bills and feed their families. Their revolving door is about them and only them. They will lie to you saying you will get endless numbers of leads, but ALL these leads they give are a year or more old, and have been beat to death by repeated phone calling. This company has their sales-force in place (the chosen few getting the real live leads) and they really don’t need you. What they need is for you to call their old ancient leads. And maybe you will get “a” sale. You probably will if you make enough calls. Keep this in mind - It costs this company almost nothing to have you sit at one of their empty desks calling old, outdated, beat to death leads from their unlimited-calling telephone lines.

Warning #2 is for any senior, or child of a senior, looking for information on a medical alert system. Read my warning above, then look elsewhere. There are 100’s of competitors to them. Most every alarm company in America offers a similar service, many for less money, and some without long contract terms. Just Google: “Medical Alert.” Thanks for reading and have a healthy and prosperous future.

View 0 more photos
Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Jul 13, 2011 5:38 pm EDT

"Quinton Floyd" (rebuttal #2 above) obviously doesn't know that the BBB does not take complaints regarding employee related issues. The BBB is strictly and solely a consumer complaint and resolution organization. It's apparent Quinton's not to bright, but he sure can surmise as to what he guesses may have happened.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Jul 13, 2011 5:40 pm EDT

Quinton Floyd obviously does not know that the BBB does not take complaints regarding employee related issues. The BBB is strictly and solely a consumer complaint and resolution organization. It is apparent Quinton is not to bright, but he sure can surmise as to what he guesses may have happened.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Aug 01, 2011 5:37 pm EDT

Obvious only to you - Quinton Floyd. Any "reasonable" reader can ascertain the fairness of my complaint. You're obviously one who spends his time finding fault with everyone and everything he comes across. Too bad for you and everyone you deal with.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Aug 08, 2011 4:50 pm EDT

Quinton, I shall repeat - There is no (employer/employee) forum available (anywhere) such as the Better Business Bureau that only handles consumer complaints) which an individual may share their experiences with horrible employer organizations, such as Life Alert. The information I've provided is my experience with this company and serves well to warn folks about their unethical practices. Your statements regarding reliable sources and anonymous complaints says to any reader here that you find fault with ALL complaints on this site, as they are ALL anonymous, and all unreliable in your opinion.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Aug 08, 2011 4:52 pm EDT

For further employee/employer complaints regarding Life Alert, go to:
/link removed/

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Aug 19, 2011 3:06 pm EDT

Quinton, you're obviously not capable of re-evaluating your opinions even when provided reasonable contrary information. Too bad for you.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Aug 27, 2011 10:12 pm EDT

You see your horse is dead. Good for you Quinton!

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 01, 2011 3:22 pm EDT

Quinton thinks everyone here's a troll and all the complaints are false, so poor wittle Quinton has made is 'wast wittle visit' here. He'll be so missed.
/(tears for Quinton)

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 05, 2011 11:22 pm EDT

Just The Facts...
You just confirmed what I said:

"I didnt mind working my way up by calling 1 year old leads."
"Its not an easy job. It takes patience and determination."

Life Alert provides newly hired salespeople nothing but one year old leads that are called over and over and over. And they don't tell them this at the interview, at training; and only when they hit the sales floor is this discovered. If that's okay with you, fine. It isn't okay for anyone worth their salt. End of subject!

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 05, 2011 11:47 pm EDT

Here's a review from another site: (linking is not permitted)

All I wanted was information, yet they call me at all hours and days including weekends. 6 calls in total. I told them TWICE to stop calling me but they still insist on calling. Every time they call I get an anxiety attack because of their harrassing nature.
John S.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 05, 2011 11:51 pm EDT

Here's another review from another site:

I would NEVER recommend this company to ANYONE. I called seeking information and asked that they mail it to my home. They waited three weeks to send me the paperwork and by then I had gone with a different company. When they called me, I let them know that I went with ADT. They continue to call me on a daily basis- on my cell phone AND AT WORK and it is now borderline harassment. They are clearly desperate for business and will drive you crazy with the sales calls. This is not the way to get customers. I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and nothing has happened yet. The woman (Emily) from Life Alert just called me again on my office phone even after I left her two messages this morning REMINDING her not to call me again because she also called me twice yesterday. This is unbelievable and I am considering filing a police report. You would be crazy to even consider calling them.
Lynn B.

This site prohibits linking to other sites. Just google Life Alert - there are dozens harassment complaints.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 06, 2011 11:54 pm EDT

Regardless of my agenda, these folks at Life Alert are in my opinion unethical ###; sucking off the hard work efforts of others. It took me only 1 day to figure them out, and once I understood it I walked out without once picking up a phone. 100's of others folks (actually thousands over the years) enter their revolving door (many not so bright), don't see it right away and pound away for weeks on their phones. They think it's them who can't sell. It isn't them who can't do it. It's the "beat to death year old harassed to the hilt" lead that isn't performing. I hope my posting helps some of them, to warn them. I care nothing for life Alert, as they're going to continue their unethical practices regardless of what I say here or elsewhere. Nothing I say can or will effect them, as their business model (as horrible as it is, stealing peoples time and effort) is in place. I can't hurt them, but maybe I can help a few who are fortunate to have stopped here and read my posting - They don't have to believe it, but when they walk in to their offices and see it for themselves they'll know what to look for, and like me, they'll walk immediately.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 07, 2011 3:04 pm EDT

Just The Facts Please, you asked:
"So you were there 1 day and never even picked up a phone?
How can you claim the leads are "beat to death" if you never called one?"

Someone who's NOT in sales just wouldn't understand the value of a qualified lead. I've been in sales my entire life, it's what I do, and I'm damn good at it. A year old lead is a year old lead - a lead that's been re-circulated repeatedly from salesperson to salesperson. If there was any true sale potential there it would have been sold the 1st time it was called, or the second time it was called, maybe the third time, or the 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th 10th, etc.
Just The Facts" (I doubt you work there as a salesperson). You're likely a shill.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 07, 2011 3:20 pm EDT

Management promised (at the interview and again at training) that one will receive leads from senior citizens that called-in in response to their commercials seeking information on a Life Alert system. No salesperson of any quality would accept a stack of "one year old leads" that have been repeatedly harassed by phone dozens of times by dozens of salespeople. If you do, you're certainly not a salesperson worth his salt, and sadly, you obviously don't know what a lead is.

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 07, 2011 7:41 pm EDT

Even if things change for a slight few, those few are not going to do it because of all the freakin' harassment they've received from these repeated sales calls, trying to force the thing down their throat. If they didn't do it when they originally called, they ain't doing it now. If the need was ever greater in their mind it's when they first called.

If you (the reader) were selling Life Alert, would you want a fresh new potential buyer calling you, or one you're calling (a year or more later) that's already been called 40 to 50 times?

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 07, 2011 8:55 pm EDT

What everyone is saying about Life Alerts sales/customer service is true! They have been calling my phone 3 to 4 times a day trying to reach me. I just wanted further information, not to be harassed. They tracked me down at work. He flat out lied and said that was the number I gave them. Are you kidding me? They searched for me on the internet. The only way they could have gotten my work phone number. -- Tula of Joliet, IL

All I wanted was information, yet they call me at all hours and days including weekends. 6 calls in total. I told them TWICE to stop calling me but they still insist on calling. Every time they call I get an anxiety attack because of their harrassing nature. -- John of Yonkers, NY

Looked into this when my mother in law was getting frail. I told them we were just inquiring, but they continued to hound me by phone, and I couldn't get rid of the high-pressure salesmen until I had to lie and say she'd passed away! Only then did the calls stop. Needless to say, now that my mother is in a similar physical state, I will not consider life alert for her. I have no idea how a frail, elderly person could deal with their tactics. -- Mary of Hudson, NY

despite repeated calls to her supervisor requesting i receive NO MORE CALLS, i am still receiving calls from this aggressive sales rep. i do not like being stalked, and i do not appreciate the obnoxious, harrassing, annoying calls. please please please make them stop. thank you. -- sasha of palm desert, CA

I originally requested a brochure on the service (with my elderly mother in mind). It required a phone # so I put my work #. I only wanted to know the price at this time. This Mary Duback called and used hard sales tactics to try to get me to sign up for the system for my mother "right now." I told her I was not going to buy it now and maybe not at all, I just wanted to know how much. She finally gave me a price and I hung up. She called me back 3 days later at work and asked if I was ready to buy. I said no and asked her not to call me back.
She called me back a week later and I got really angry and told her in no uncertain terms to do not ever call me again. period. That if she ever called me again I would never ever buy the product just because she was harrassing me. I thought that was the end of it. This was 6 months ago. About 3 months ago the same sales person left a message on my voice mail at work. Then today, after I switched jobs at work and moved to an entirely different extension, she called again and bothered someone to find me and left another voice mail asking if I was ready to purchase the Life Alert system. She asked me to call her back. I am ready to turn her in to the proper authorities, whoever they are, if someone can direct me to them. This is harrassment pure and simple. I have repeatedly directed her in very clear terms to stop calling me.
She is harrassing me pure and simple. We are only supposed to be taking calls at work from family members that are important and necessary. And when she calls and says she is calling regarding "Life Alert" I am sure she is alarming whoever she talks to because they assume someone in my family is having an emergency situation so they put her straight through to my phone. One time when she called, I had an associate walk up to me and ask me later if my mother was okay. I asked them what they were talking about and they said, because the lady from the Life Alert place had called about the emergency. -- Caroline of Burlington, NC

I called Life Alert after seeing their ad on TV, and spoke with Mr. Bill Blackwell, who sent me info. re: the company. After a follow-up phone call, he called me again before an agreed-upon time of contact. This happened twice. After the second time, I explicitly told him I would call HIM, and asked him not to call me. Needless to say, Bill perservered. At one point, I became annoyed by the pushiness, explained that he was being way too pushy for me and asked him not to call my number again. He has persisted in calling me, although I've hung up when he calls. When I hang up on him, he immediately calls back, at which point I don't answer the phone and he leaves a message.
It's easy for me not to speak with him, but here's what bothers me: I am a very strong person, not easily intimidated, merely seeking information for my elderly father. What is this man, and other salespeople in his company, doing to the elderly and more easily intimidated population they're speaking with? I consider his repeated calling, after my request to not do so, harrassment, and I have notified his company to this effect. His actions are badgering, unprofessional, and totally unethical, to the point of which I, as a baby boomer, would be interested in participating in a movement to protect the elderly from having to deal with the bullying of any such group. -- Heather of Plymouth, NH

I called for the free brochure to explain their service. The only way I was able to get the brochure was to give my phone number. They assured me that no one would call. They just needed the ph # to confirm the address. I told her the number I was giving her did not go with the address. I received the brochure and it had no more information then was on their website. There was no information regarding rates or actual services.
Well, surprisingly they did call. They gave me some rate information and wanted me to sign up immediately. I told them I had not even consulted my mother yet or my siblings to see if they were in agreement or would help pay. He wanted to call my Mom and get her in a 3 way call right then. By then I was getting a bad feeling and told them I would have to get back with them. It was way too high pressure. Well, we ended up getting another service. And they are STILL calling! And calling. -- Ruth of Riverview, FL

I answered an ad to be an independent contractor for Life Alert and have witnessed first-hand how they operate. First off there is no computer system to track who has been called and from what office...this is why you see so many complaints of people being called every day. The office is just a bunch of cubicles (50 or so per office) with regular telephones on each desk. No computer tracking of calls what so ever.
There is no written do not call policy given to any contractors. Leads are distributed to several call centers and the people that call consumers are not employed by the company...though they go into company owned call centers each day to receive company generated leads. Consumer's personal information is distributed to several employee office managers who then distribute the leads to the non-employee contractors. Over time multiple contractors will call the same consumers over and over. Again, there is no way to know how often a consumer is called and by which contractor. If someone asks to be taken off the call list, Life Alert relies on an independent contractor to complete a card and put it in a bin. Some contractors do but most just tear up the card and toss in the garbage.
They charge a desk fee each week that the contractor pays but they do not allow contractors to work from home or in their own offices and not pay this fee. Read between the lines...you don't have to come into the office to work, but if you don't you aren't allowed to be a contractor for Life Alert, at least in the Tampa office. So you have LA the company taking personal information from consumers, then passing this info to non-employees who are paid up to $450 a sale.
Some contractors make thousands of dollars a day selling the most expensive systems at $79.95 per month and never mention there is a basic plan that starts at $39.95 (it only pays $220 commission). To be fair to LA all consumers who subscribe to the service are welcomed by an employee who verifies that what the contractor said was understood by the consumer...and though I read about them burying the 3 year commitment...I never witnessed it. Other than that the complaints posted here are very accurate and accepted as fair practice by LA.
--Jack of Tampa, FL

Update by Fred in Los Angeles
Sep 08, 2011 3:34 am EDT

Yep. And Mussolini kept the trains running.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

18 comments
M
M
Monica Chapman
, US
May 05, 2016 5:43 am EDT

I called to request a free brochure. After the rep got all of my information to transferred me to the sales rep Mary who hurriedly got me off the phone and hung up on me before I could ask all of my questions. When I called back to speak with a manager, the receptionist transferred me back to Mary. I hung up. The first impression is a lasting one.

I
I
Irith Hayblum
, US
Oct 06, 2015 12:15 pm EDT

I totally agree. I'm also an ex of Life Alert and have been with them for about 8 years. Would like to be in touch with you.

Email: irith2002@aol.com

Phone:[protected]

Irene

T
T
tisksissy
Columbus, US
Aug 24, 2013 7:36 pm EDT

I agree, I also phoned Life Alert, and ask them to send me literture, but instead the harassment started, several times a day, I would never go with a company that used these high pressure tactics, infact he was very rude.

T
T
Thomas G. Lover
Westwood [Lassen County], US
Jul 11, 2013 10:15 am EDT

I got life-alert for my mother because she is on oxygen and had a fire due to her removing something from her gas oven. I made it clear that fire protection was an issue because of that incedent. On April 28, 2013 my mother died in a house fire. My relatives live right down the road from my mother, and by the time Life Alert called them to report a fire alarm, my mother's home was already fully engulfed and passed away. DO NOT trust them with your loved ones life! They were slow to respond and now they want me to pay for their lost equipment.

U
U
UpsetinNY
New York, US
Jun 12, 2013 8:49 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I considered the job until I read your complaint... Thank you so much for your review Fred. You saved me a lot of hassle and time!

A
A
A Loyal Buyer
Boston, US
Dec 20, 2012 3:45 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I called the 800# given on the website because for more info, it said to call it. My question was whether or not i can purchase a full year upfront instead of paying month to month. All the rep on the phone wanted to do was get my info to send me a brochure. I said i wasnt calling about a brochure, i just had a question. She said, "please hold" and then hung up on me. I know she hung up on me because i called back, spoke to a different woman and she did the exact same thing. If you dont take the brochure, they hang up. For this reason alone, this ridiculous lack of customer service. I will never use this company and will do my best to recommend their competitors.

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Sep 07, 2011 8:30 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

So you were there one whole day and then spend several days complaining about how they stole your time!

You said "Regardless of my agenda"!
You have admitted that you have an agenda!
You have admitted that you were only there one day!
You have admitted that you did not even make one single call!
That’s all we need to know.

J
J
Just The Facts Please
Encino, US
Sep 07, 2011 2:13 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

So you were there 1 day and never even picked up a phone?

How can you claim the leads are "beat to death" if you never called one?

I can tell you that it is nothing like what you claim. I like the people and I like what we do for the customers. Its hard work, but very rewarding.

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Sep 06, 2011 4:29 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

So JUST THE FACTS was able to make it happen for him/herself.

heath2011 reports that they were 100% happy.

Fred in Los Angeles, you have made in clear that this is a personal issue. (Just as I thought.)
Now you are reposting the complaints of others. You really have it out for them.

J
J
Just The Facts Please
Encino, US
Sep 03, 2011 2:54 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I work there and I love it. Its not an easy job. It takes patience and determination. I didnt mind working my way up by calling 1 year old leads. They are not "beaten up" like you say. Most of them still need the service and appreciate us staying in touch. If they dont want to hear from us, we are required to remove them from the list.
I realize that it is not for everyone, but it is nothing like what you are saying. Not even close.

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Aug 31, 2011 11:26 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Between the trolls posting false complaints here and the malware from this site, I have made my last visit here. The rest of you enjoy your stay.

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The fact that you are trying soooo hard to sell your BS says it all. Angry, disgruntled ex-employees are easy to spot. I guess blaming them makes your failure easier to handle.

Thanks for the entertainment. (That’s all your post is worth!)

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Aug 25, 2011 7:44 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Enjoy beating your dead horse.

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Aug 09, 2011 4:58 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I don’t find fault with ALL complaints here. Some people stick to the facts and simply post their experience, while others are clearly trying to attack. (Like you are)

Like most salesmen you are heavy on words and light on credibility. I am not buying!

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Aug 03, 2011 11:06 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I stand with my original recommendation. Get information from reliable sources. Anonymous complaints usually come from someone with an axe to grind.

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Jul 18, 2011 9:12 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

In your complaint, you advised people to look elsewhere. That’s why I suggested a source that verifies complaints (Like the BBB) instead of believing the words of an anonymous complainer.

It is obvious that you are just a disgruntled ex-employee trying to discredit them. One doesn’t need to be too bright to see that.

Q
Q
Quinton Floyd
Monterey, US
Jun 30, 2011 9:35 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Its funny that only anonymous people complain about them. The BBB takes complaints, but the complainer has to identify themselves to make sure it is not just a disgruntled employee trying to make trouble. Many competitors use this tactic to discredit a company by posting fictitious complaints. Some consumers are fooled by this, but an educated consumer will turn to a legitimate source where the complaints are not anonymous.
See what The BBB has to say about them.
The first post is the best. The guy with no talent is mad that they would not invest “good leads” in him. My guess would be that they fired him due to his inability to STFU! Lol

KMIRAN
KMIRAN
, IT
Jun 30, 2011 7:00 pm EDT

OUCH... THANKS FOR THE INFORMATION (YOU ARE NOT THE ONLY ONE COMPLAINING ABOUT THEM)

Learn how the rating is calculated

Write a review File a complaint

Life Alert Emergency Response contacts

Phone number
Website
Category