Laurice Skincare and CosmeticsBeware of this scam!

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Laurice Skin Care of Pepper Pike, OH outside of the Cleveland, OH area has overcharged myself as well as several other individuals for product and services. We found the same products on line for anywhere from around 400-1000% cheaper. It is the exact same product because I worked there and know it is. She also does not pay her help as she told me $10.00 an hour or barter for product. Before she raised her prices to the roof, I traded product and when I asked for money, she said I was not entitled to it because I did not have a beauty license which is a lie. Other employees received a paycheck who did not have a license.

She lies and says she tells the chemist what ingredients she wants in her products and said she has a Bachelors Degree in Chemistry. I took a chemistry course in college and when I asked her about ingredients in her product, she had no clue what it was and what the ph level was and what ph is?

She also has pending complaints at the Cleveland Better Business Bureau. Beware!

Responses

  • Fl
    Flashlight Mar 13, 2020

    Laurice Skin Care is a sham business started by a convicted felon. Laurice Koury was convicted of multiple felonies for stealing large sums of money and jewelry from law clients. She was disbarred twice and needed a quick way to make cash so she came up with this skin care scam. The products Jan is using are worse than the garbage they sell at walmart. Laurice was a fat liar who lied about everything from having a degree in chemistry to being a Buddhist. The other poster is right-that tiny salon is filthy with dog hair and Jan doesn't wash his hands. Not a single product was created by Laurice with her nonexistent degree, they buy from Organic Botanical and Rain shadow labs. The rest of their product is literally Dollar Store crap with a homemade label stuck on it. DON'T GO HERE. YOU'LL BE SORRY.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Liz Valiente May 28, 2019

    Omg I didn't know this website was here. I can tell you everything the people said on this page is true. My niece gave me a gift certificate for this place, either in 2013 or 2014. The woman (Laurice) came in late. She had a bad attitude and didn't seem knowledgeable about what went into her products.

    I know they got closed by the health board multiple times. Look up this business on the Ohio licensing website and you'll see that they operated for years without a license. Their products were too high and she got huffy when I left without buying anything. But I wasn't going to pay $700 for a few bottles of stuff with labels held on with Scotch tape. I'd stay away from this place. Go to a real salon.

    1 Votes
  • This disgruntled person obviously did not like working for Laurice and seems to think that she could run the business better. As stated previously, when clients come in we will point out issues that they have with their complexion and the products they are using. We are just being educational. Clients who get our facials notice a difference right away. While this disgruntled person may not like our price point, other people do and find value in a product that is effective, lasts a long time, and that they can get a complimentary facial anytime they want. Our offices have always passed inspection from the State.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurice Skin Care Apr 01, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This disgruntled person obviously did not like working for Laurice and seems to think that she could run the business better. As stated previously, when clients come in we will point out issues that they have with their complexion and the products they are using. We are just being educational. Clients who get our facials notice a difference right away. While this disgruntled person may not like our price point, other people do not and find value in a product that is effective, lasts a long time, and that they can get a complimentary facial anytime they want. Our offices have always passed inspection from the State.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Flashlight May 13, 2019

    @Laurice Skin Care It's 2019 and the scam continues. The shop is being run by her husband JAN who is employing the same shabby practices as LYING LAURICE. You can find theircads in OHIO MEANS JOBS and once again this liar is hiring UNLICENSED random people off the streets to work on people's skin. I noticed the loser has plenty of time to troll the PLETHORA of review websites that clearly establish this business as a fur covered craphole where customers get gouged and lied to. Since you have so much time on your hands why don't you tell us where Laurice got her CHEMISTRY DEGREE? Also which products did Laurice invent, liar?
    Tell the illegal employee you hired to tell the health board that she's "just giving a demonstration" when they come in. See how far that gets you.

    1 Votes
  • Di
    Diane T. Jun 21, 2017

    Here's how the scam works. Laurice combs the charity ads and donates her coupons as raffle prizes. When you get to the shop for your "180.00 facial" that you paid for at the raffle you will have vinegar and other crap smeared on your face by some random person off the street. These people don't even fill out applications to work there! The poster was right- she tells employees to lie to the health board if they come in. After you wait for an hour she shows up. The first thing she'll do is say your skin looks bad but look at hers!! Frankly if you let someone that looks and smells like Laurice touch your face you deserve what's coming. She buys product from rainshadow labs and botanical science and yes she jacks the price 700 percent. she is rude, unprofessional, dishonest and probably has mental problems. If you want to pay $400 for $50 worth of crap and leave covered in dog hair this is the place for you.

    4 Votes
  • Do
    DontUseLauriceSkinCare Jan 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everything that the former employee said is absolutely true! These comments on here that are allegedly good are complete lies! I know from personal experience because I use to work there and she was a horrible boss. She would scream and yell at me for no reason. She would get mad at me because I couldn't work all the time because I had to go to school. I told her from the beginning I could only work part time though. She would always tell me I needed to get my life together because I changed my major once!! I don't even understand why that was even a concern to her!!! I felt so bad for clients that would come in thinking they were about to have a relaxing experience because that was far from what was about to happen. Laurice sits in a chair and rolls (because she's too big to actually physically get up) around bossing people around especially her husband. Jan is such a sweet man and is constantly screamed at and belittled in front of clients all the time. She definitely speaks about her workers to her clients saying how much of a bad worker they are or that she doesn't like them. When new clients come in she will tell them how bad their skin is, tell them they need certain products and the total will come up to like $800.00 and when the client says that's way to high I can't afford that Laurice will get pissed. She will tell them that they need to care about their skin more and that it shouldn't matter how much it costs, like the average person has $800.00 just sitting around for facial products. No one should ever go to this "business" and I use that term loosely!! Your better off washing your face in your own bathroom then going to this train wreck of a business!!

    2 Votes
  • La
    Laurice Skin Care Apr 01, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @DontUseLauriceSkinCare When clients come in we will point out issues that they have with there complexion and the products they are using. We are just being educational. Clients who get our facials notice a difference right away. While this disgruntled worker may not like our price point, other people do not and find value in a product that is effective, lasts a long time, and that they can get a complimentary facial anytime they want.

    1 Votes
  • Sn
    SnowDaze Oct 25, 2016

    This is a scam plain and simple. The products she uses come from rainshadow labs and she charges $200 for 8 ounces of product that you can buy at $100 a gallon. Laurice is rude and disrespectful and her skin looks like rotten meat. She hires people and has them performing work that only licensed beauticians should be doing and teaches her staff to lie to the health board if they come in for an inspection. The chemistry degree is a made up selling point. The shop is so tiny that women literally crawl over each other to get out of the room. She also made up the positive reviews on this site. BEWARE! YOU'LL BE SORRY.

    3 Votes
  • La
    Laurice Skin Care Apr 01, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @SnowDaze Our products come from many different labs. If you don't like our prices you are more than welcome to find other skin care products that you can afford. However they won't be of the same quality and effectiveness. Our clients find value in our products in that they are effective, last a longtime, and they can come in any time and get a complimentary facial worth almost $200.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fran1432 Sep 15, 2016

    This women who made this complaint about working there is telling the absolute truth! She is very unprofessional and always screams at her husband in front of people. She also belittles you and if you don't have hundreds of dollars to spend she goes in on you and try's to make you look guilty. Her skin looks disgusting as well, it's never a relaxing environment, it's always her talking about the girls that work for her and other clients! Stay clear of this psychotic women.

    5 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary30559 May 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been using Laurice’s skin care products since 1987 I've tried many over-the-counter products and felt they dried out my skin. In addition, there was no improvement in my skin. I'm impressed with Laurice's knowledge and her willingness to help me find a skin care program that works for me. I would recommend her products to my friends.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PioneerTraining Mar 19, 2014

    Looks cool, I never knew you could post about it, good to know thanks! You show very latest and important things. This is very nice post! I will bookmark this blog.Let us know about myself

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    screwed1234 Sep 04, 2013

    I went to Laurice on 08/31/2013, and waited 1 hour 15 minutes for her to show up. I had a gift certificate, and if she doesn't think you have a lot of money - she does not even SHOW UP for your appt. The staff in her center told me she does that all the time, and they never know what to say to the clients. The office was filthy, with furniture covered in stains and pet hair. DONT GO!!!

    3 Votes
  • La
    Laurice Skin Care Apr 01, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @screwed1234 I do not know what day you were there, but we keep our office clean. it has never failed an inspection from the State Board of Cosmetology. Laurice at the time was a practicing attorney, and got held up on a call from a Client. We apologize if this was inconvenient to you, but you were still able to receive the facial that your gift certificate entitled you too and enjoyed much nicer skin as the result of it!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kris Murray Jun 08, 2012

    I have been using Laurice’s skin care products for over 15 years and I swear by them. The reason? They work! People always tell me they think I look younger than my true age. When I first met Laurice, I had scarring and large pores from teen acne. Now that I’m older, I’m fighting build-up around my mouth, fine lines and dark eye circles. Every time I leave Laurice’s office I can see the proof in the mirror that her products are working to make me look younger.
    Plus, Laurice really cares about each of her clients and works hard to make sure they see results. I trust her with my skin, which is a comfort in this day and age of false product claims. Laurice and her products are worth the investment, hands down.

    -1 Votes
  • Sk
    Skingoddess Oct 24, 2011

    I have been with Laurice for over ten years and have found her to be the most knowledgeable person regarding the treatment of my skin. You will not find her expertise anywhere else. Her products work and I have enjoyed the results. If there are other people selling the same thing they are knockoffs and of poor quality. I would not trust them.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurice Skin Care Jun 12, 2009

    This person is a disgruntled ex-employee. She left the employment of Laurice Skin Care when it was discovered she was stealing products. This person has severe mental issues and is known to have abused prescribed medications and has spent time in rehab. This persons credibility is questionable. Laurice Skin Care products are manufactured for Laurice Skin Care. Products with similar sames but without the Laurice Skin Care name on are not the same product.

    Employees of Laurice Skin Care are state licensed. The company specializes in paramedical esthetics.

    The above complainant was not a licensed individual at the time of her complaint.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.