Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Dog Breeders Review of Kabeara Kennels
Kabeara Kennels

Kabeara Kennels review: Beware! 57

A
Author of the review
2:27 am EST
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I bought my first Samoyed puppy from this kennel, a little over three years ago, and I brought him to my vet back in the St. Paul, MN area the next day they were open. On the initial inspection my vet determined that he had some problems, I believe it was kennel cough, and that he had these issues before we ever picked him up. I informed the breeder of this, which she denied could be possible, but did agree to pay for 1/2 of the vet bill, which after 6 months she never did and I just paid it all because I didn't want to deal with her anymore. In addition after further research I firmly believe that she is running and upscale puppy mill. I believe this because she always has puppies for sale, I think she had 4 litters within the past 10 days when I got my puppy. Which does not happen with reputable breeders. Next she had no interview process and fairly little concern about where the puppies went compared to other Samoyed breeders I've spoken to since. I could go on and on, but the stuff I've mentioned thus far is what I really had concern with. I ended up getting another puppy, which I found out when I picked him up happend to be the former chair for the Samoyed Club of America. She asked where I got my other sammy from and when I told her she just said oh and that she was not surprised I had issues with that breeder. She was very respectable and didn't go into why she had problems with them, but I got a strong impression that I was not the first and have not been the last people with problems. She claims it is not a business for her and she looses money, but with as many litters and the price she charges I hardly believe this is true. I STRONGLY recommend you get one from a reputable breeder it will be worth the wait. My second puppy was cheaper than the one I purchased from her and is much more distinguished looking.

Update by Alcatrazdan
Jan 12, 2011 2:35 am EST

Oh, forgot to mention, my vet was so upset with her she wanted to report her to the authorities as my vet was serving on a Minnesota board, maybe animal cruelty, but cannot remember, at the time.

Update by Alcatrazdan
Mar 04, 2011 1:48 am EST

@Kris I'm glad you are considering another breeder. I got my second one from the Milwaukee area, from the former president of the Samoyed Club of America, and have been more than happy with his show quality and health. I'd suggest possibly contacting the current president of the Samoyed Club of America if possible to see who she would recommend, I'm fairly certain Teresa will not be one of the breeders they mention.

Update by Alcatrazdan
Jun 10, 2011 8:33 pm EDT

Just one more item for those considering getting a puppy from her, she has an F rating by the BBB. http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/pet-shops/kabeara-kennels-in-lockport-il-88033654#ratingdetails You may get lucky and not have an issue, but do you really want to take a chance when you can easily find a better breeder? Help out others by finding a reputable breeder that does it for themselves, not to make money, which I can only assume someone that has 2-3 litters a week does.

Update by Alcatrazdan
Jun 24, 2011 3:49 am EDT

@ Jean Orr, just to be clear I'm glad you got a good puppy from her and I do hope people would reconsider getting any puppies from her. Why play the lotto when you don't have to in order to get the prize. Finally, if you look up my comments you will see that I am more than willing to stick up for buisness, but she just had too many negative things going on for me not to say anything and after seeing the responses from others I wish I had made this comment years ago.

Update by Alcatrazdan
Dec 22, 2012 3:16 pm EST

@ Steve, I'm glad you got what you feel is a good Samoyed puppy, but just ask you to consider two things. Why would a reputable dealer ship a puppy? Could the vet give a glowing review based off of business decision, not saying it is the case, but if a she is having a litter every other week that is a lot of money a vet could be passing up. Just some thoughts for you to think about.

Update by Alcatrazdan
Aug 30, 2014 4:41 am EDT

@ BaileyBoy, I can assure you I'm not a breeder, my concerns with her come solely from my experience in purchasing a puppy from her and seeing what her facilities were like in the only transaction I will have with her almost five years ago. Her operation may be different now, but if you look around you tend to find that most breeders only have a handful of litters a year and typically have wait lists. What I encountered is someone that really didn't seem to care where the puppy went or have a wait list as she had three litters available to chose from during my visit with an average of about one litter, or more, a week. Not every puppy is going to have issues, best of luck to anyone that decides to buy a puppy from her. I just hope my Samoyed will not suffer health problems later in his life.

Update by Alcatrazdan
Aug 06, 2020 9:41 pm EDT

I decided to check back up on this "kennel" after my Samoyed passed away recently after developing hip dysplasia. Found this article about it being now recognized as one of the 100 worst puppy mills, too bad it couldn't have been recognized a decade plus ago. https://patch.com/illinois/plainfield/horrible-hundred-report-includes-2-puppy-mills-illinois

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

57 comments
Add a comment
M
M
Mila s6544
Richton Park, US
Oct 24, 2023 12:17 pm EDT

Its me mila iare dogs me and teresa are dogs are not cared for in smail cages this a false

M
M
Mila s6544
Richton Park, US
Oct 24, 2023 12:14 pm EDT

this is my dog i got a samoyed

View 0 more photos
R
R
rassed
Richton Park, US
Oct 18, 2023 12:42 pm EDT

My name is Mila shaaban hi teresa!

R
R
rassed
Richton Park, US
Oct 18, 2023 12:36 pm EDT

email me at s8005@students.dist159.com

R
R
rassed
Richton Park, US
Oct 18, 2023 12:35 pm EDT

I work with Teresa i think you guys need to SHUT UP RIGHT? YOU guys are not welcomed to are beautiyful place me and teresa made a deal to get a big dog and i got 2 1 golden doolde and samoyed here are people that are not welcomed

Reinheimer THANK you so much for your kind words we are so glad that you ot a samoyed form us your welcomed anytime THANK YOU here are people that are not welcomed

canine6

Turner8

U have not been there that i can tell for sure.

R
R
rassed
Richton Park, US
Oct 18, 2023 12:20 pm EDT

CAN YOU GUYS SHUT UP? me and teresa are friends we made i deal to get a female big dog

she did not scamed me the cages are big as H*** you. i work with her you guys are not welcomed

to are beautiful place BYE!

M
M
Max 2013
Crystal Lake, US
Dec 17, 2022 9:38 am EST

We purchased a Sammy back in 2013 . His name was Kayak 0 which we renamed Max. Max was diagnosed within the first year with a heart murmur and IBD. Max struggled for 9 1/2 years with IBD before developing stomach cancer.Teresa doesn’t care about the dogs she breeds since it’s a business for her. Max was everything to our family and his lose has left a massive void in our hearts. Please do your family a favor and research the breeder. You are bringing a new family member into your home. If people stop buying from puppy mills like Teresa runs, maybe we can put an end to the suffering dogs endure due to puppy mills.

S
S
Susan G S
, US
Oct 02, 2020 1:02 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Parvovirus in my puppy from Kabeara almost killed my puppy after showing signs the day after we brought her home. 4 vet visits in 5 days as she deteriorated to the point of the ICU vet suggesting euthanasia. The only thing that kept her alive is even though she wasn’t tested for a Parvo and diagnosed until the ICU clinic, I’m a vet tech and gave the dog the supportive treatment as if she had Parvo. Once she was diagnosed, she spent three days in ICU, needed blood transfusions and her blood vessels were leaking due to lack of protein. All hallmarks of Parvovirus with a positive test. Teresa denies it was Parvo even though 3 veterinarians confirmed it and even called the ICU clinic to tell them that they didn’t know what they were talking about. Funny, though when I initiated an inspection of her facilities she admitted to her puppies having Parvo. Very very sketchy vaccination practices. Was forced to have her dogs Rabies vaccinated as required by law but didn’t do it at all for some and was overdue 3 years for others.

M
M
mydogistheone
St. Charles, US
May 11, 2020 10:32 pm EDT

I am a reputable Samoyed breeder of 43 years and am a member of the Samoyed Club of America. I show my dogs in Conformation, Obedience Agility, and also started a Samoyed rescue in 1983.
At one point, Teresa Heaver contacted me about breeding to my Champion dog. I told her he was not available, and she persisted. Finally, she told me that she had sold a female to a local girl here, and the girl wanted to get the female spayed, as she only wanted a pet. Teresa had sold this female, (and apparently all of the ones she sold at that time, with the requirement that she get a "litter back" from every female she sold. This was in addition to charging top dollar for the females at the time of sale, as a puppy)
The girl(owner) was desperate, and Teresa kept pursuing me. Finally, she admitted that the female was only a year and a half, and did not have its hip x-ray clearance, (done at 2 years). That gave me a good opportunity to let her know once again, that I wouldn't breed to her female, and she showed up ON MY DOORSTEP, with the girl and the female, totally uninvited, and wanting to breed the female! I told her no, again, and I guess she found someone else to breed to that female.

C
C
Claire R.
Northbrook, Illinois, US
Jan 08, 2021 3:21 pm EST

Do you mind sharing your website? I am looking for a reputable breeder, such as yourself.

R
R
rassed
Richton Park, US
Oct 18, 2023 12:40 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Claire R.

Here is are wesite Kabreara Samoyeds

G
G
Gemmagirl
, US
Mar 11, 2020 5:14 am EDT

Took over 2 years and many letters and the site kabeara kennel nightmares on messenger chat. You have to be added but i know dept. Of ag was out there couple times. She had three adult dogsvto kennel. Akc offered to help get her paperwork in line. I know they did straighten some out by swab but she has folks she takes puppies from and breeds them with hers she doesnt know whos who. I can show you 50 plus folks with these same issues. We were wring reviews and she would put up new pages as fast as they went up. Everything you see about her kennels was written by her. Her husband was a lawyer but died couple years back. Her pups started dying at age 2 and 3. Brucelosis and yes cough were rampant. I have photos of how her dogs live. In a cage 3 adults per in the back in the dark. She is evil she sell overseas all the time. They eat them. Check out ynotsavea sam and see what her nonprofit is all about.oh and donate please. Yvette needs all the help she can get to save all those Samoyeds.

L
L
Lucille Roberta
, US
Apr 27, 2016 10:40 am EDT

I have to agree about the puppy mill thing. I have had 4 Sam's over the past 37 rs.the first from a lady who loved the nature of get female&had her bred in hopes of sharing that with others.the puppies slept with her son&she was the best&most beautiful sam we ever had. No issues at all. The next was from a very highly recommended person who had gotten her female from a very highly recommended show breader.she had her bred with a male with top notch papers. She wasn't really a breader so she agreed to sell us a top notch show dog for a pet because she just wanted the pups in a loving home. Again no problems! When she was 11i got my first one (12y r s ago)from teresa.sge advertised as home raised.when I got there I saw this big mansion sized house but was told to follow the lane way back to the kennel. That's not home raised to me. I took one of the puppies but wasn't asked one question about my knowledge of the bread. Only was told I head l had to agree to spay (which I was going to do anyway)or pay even more than the 1200i paid. Since my other one was getting older but was still agile enough for a pup I bought one from her. I didn't ever want to come home to an empty house again&the feeling of loss like when my first one passed. She seemed very smart but was very hyper. A year later my older one got a heart attack&was gone just the fast. The puppy cried&cried&didon't want to move from the spot the pet one died at. So we went back because I couldn't find any other sam breaders.I wasn't on the Internet then. I was even less impressed when I got there then. 11yrs ago.when i asked if they were going to give her a bath because she had pee stains on her teresa said they were very busy. I stood my ground&she reluctantly hit her husband to do it. She helped him a little but they were very rough with her. Then I was sorry o didn't just take her home&do it myself. She was over 1300.we still have them but the older one has had diabetes for many yrs .she starts fights with other dogs. I had to do private lessons with a trainer because even the trainer didn't trust her. She bites me when I try to brush her or cut her nails.my first 2 weren't fond of those things but wouldn't even think of biting fit any reason. The last one has siezures&has had several other health&skin issues costing a fortune. When I looked back at their papers I found what I consider in breading. I called teresa about it&she said that it ear line breading not inbreeding. But, im 2 for 2 with problem dogs from her&2 for 2 with healthy dogs before that kennel. I'm seriously considering adopting a mutt next. I never thought I'd have anything but Sam's but if I can't find a better breeder when these are gone I might. I go without medicAL care fir myself to make sure I take good car of them but I'm going broke. I love Sam's but will never get one again that is from her or any of her dogs .I just don't trust

C
C
Chuck Shultz
Anchorage, US
Apr 02, 2014 12:44 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I appreciate all your comments...I have received several photos of adult dogs for consideration to relocating the Alaska. I think I will decline as I want a breeder who works before and after to make sure their dogs are delivered safe and healthy.

B
B
BaileyBoy
Bettendorf, US
Feb 13, 2014 8:14 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have tried to post on this site three times with no success. I am questioning the legitimacy of this site currently. I purchased a puppy from Kabeara Kennel roughly 5 years ago. My first visit to the kennel I arrived unexpected and unannounced as I was simply trying to locate the kennel at the time. I found the adult dogs outside in covered, clean runs with roughly 2 to 3 dogs per run. The dogs were all clean and well groomed. Although the dogs did bark at me they did not show any aggression at the time. I knocked on the door of the kennel to see if anyone was inside with no response. I looked in the windows but did not see anyone inside. The inside of the kennel was clean and well organized. There were no dogs inside and no cages or kennels stacked on top of one another. My second visit to Kabeara I arrived to talk with Theresa about purchasing a puppy. I had to wait about 15 minuets for Theresa to arrive. All of the dogs were inside the air-conditioned building since the day was much warmer then on my last visit. Once inside the kennel, Theresa immediately let the dogs outside. The dogs came back inside in an orderly fashion and went directly to their sleeping areas which were clean and well organized. The dogs once again were also clean and well groomed. One my final visit to pick up our Bailey I found the kennel in the same clean and orderly condition. The puppies were divided by sex into two large open pen areas. I was allowed to select the puppy I wanted. Our Bailey has been a very healthy, sweet and kind tempers and amazing obedient. Even though we purchased Bailey solely as a family pet with no intention to breed or show, we did receive all of his paperwork at the time of purchase. I suppose things can change over time but considering the post from 2013 telling the same tale as my own, I assume it has not. It is interesting to see that those of us who have been to the kennel have a dramatically different opinion of it than those who have not been to the kennel. It begs the question... is this thread simply another breeder wishing to discredit Theresa and destroy her reputation. We would purchase another puppy from Theresa based on our amazing boy Bailey and our past experience.

J
J
Jennalux
, US
Oct 14, 2023 4:21 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replying to comment of BaileyBoy

Haha i worked there for 6 months! Baby i can assure u that the review that u posted is 100% false

Theresa never leaves the dogs outside cause of the constant barking issues.

Plus they are never washed or groomed.

We never washed the males or the adults only the puppies that are to be sold.

The place stinks like dog piss and [censored] all day every day even after cleaning due to horrible cleaning products and no ventilation at all.

That place is all rusted and falling apart.

U have not been there that i can tell for sure.

S
S
shastalover
, US
Jan 08, 2014 11:29 am EST

We got our samoyed two years ago, and still have never gotten any papers to get her registered, i have emailed her (she responded to the first few) but no response to them any more- I am again today 2 years later, gonna try to email her and call. We love our dog, she came in great health, is so fantastic, it is to bad i cant get papers. We paid to much not to have papers. We live in Utah .

H
H
herbstcj
Lake Villa, US
Oct 02, 2013 6:55 pm EDT

We brought our puppy home Christmas Eve 2010. We went to this kennel because my family has gotten our puppies there since the late 80's and used her stud service. I have no interest in papers though a whole packet was given to us at purchase. I never filed anything. We could care less about that. However, I will say our puppy was in perfect health and is the SMARTEST and most wonderful dog we could have ever imagined! We will likely be going back for another in the near future and only hope we can get so lucky again relative to temperament. I recommend Theresa and Kabeara and am happy to discuss my experience with anyone. Feel free to inbox me on facebook at Christal Herbst Parkman!

T
T
Turner8
Aledo, US
May 05, 2017 10:36 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replying to comment of herbstcj

Well your the ONLY ONE becasue you did not care about papers, but when you show YOU NEED PAPERS! She is a FRAUD NO MATTER WHAT! Just because ONE person was happy out of thousands who never got their papers. Big Deal

B
B
Baileybones
Lake in the Hills, US
Sep 02, 2013 12:28 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We had a great experience with Kabeara Kennel! We purchased our puppy June 2013 and I am glad I did not read all of these complaints before we purchased our puppy from Teresa, otherwise we would have never even had considered her kennel. The facility was clean and professional. She was patient with us while picking the perfect puppy. We liked the fact there were many puppies to choose from and were able to see what the parents looked like, most were on site. We never got the feeling it was a puppy mill! I like the fact she did not drill us with questions when we were interested in purchasing from her. She was very informative and helpful. As far as the health of our puppy he's been great. You just never know. Our last dog was from a small breeder who only has a litter here and there and he had pneumonia. I feel it is easier for people to complain that compliment so I hope more people decide to share their positive feedback.

K
K
katiaandrej
, US
Aug 29, 2013 4:08 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Heads up: teresa's husband is an attorney

K
K
karl77
Fontana, US
Mar 23, 2013 3:50 pm EDT

we just bought a puppy from kabeara, and it does not have akc registration number, so it looks like we are on the band wagon for the puppy papper complaint dept, the dog is in good health and no other apparent problems, sincerely karl knudson

D
D
Doglover4life
Chicago, US
Mar 04, 2013 4:44 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

F RATING with Illinois Better Business Bureau http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/pet-shops/kabeara-kennels-in-lockport-il-88033654 If that doesn't scare you then I don't know what will. I almost bought a dog from her until I mentioned it on my FB page and breeders including another person that bought a dog from her all warned me to stay away. She is in fact a puppy mill and is pumping puppies out like a factory. I ended up on her e-mail list and got an e-mail with 7 litters that were due all in a time span of 60 days. You do the math. I'm lucky I had people to warn me and now I'm just passing along the favor.

S
S
Steve Grannis
Bend, US
Nov 28, 2012 10:18 pm EST

I recently purchased a male Samoyed puppy from Teresa Heaver of Kabeara Samoyeds in Lockport, IL and couldn’t be happier with our new friend. Having owned 11 Sammys over the past consecutive 52 years, I can emphatically say that Teresa provided us a wonderful, healthy, happy dog.

Not willing to take the opinion of others who can post anything online these days, I did my own research including contacting their Veterinarian and got not just good reviews but glowing reviews about how well she takes care of her dogs and how healthy they are and on and on. Satisfied, I sent the money, a few day later he arrived safe and sound complete with pedigree papers, vaccination report, health certificate and a good deal of helpful information.

We are going to get another one soon and will definitely get it from Kabeara and would recommend them to anyone looking for a great dog.

L
L
LoveThat SamoyedOfMine
Tampa, US
Oct 25, 2012 6:43 pm EDT

If you stop and think about this whole process, and apply IL law to the situation, failure to state in her contract that the sale is "paperless" places her in a position to provide papers while the puppy is under six months. By Statute, a puppy is a canine species, under six months of age. A "pet" is a domestic animal who lives inside your domicile, or around your domicile, so don't fall for this made up legal fiction of "pet puppy" . It is a nonsensical term made up by mill breeders disguised as ethical and responsible. Pet and Puppy are two entirely different terms recognized by the Superior Court of Illinois. "pet puppy" is a misnomer, but it also in no way means a dog sold as a pet is a paperless sale. Push this breeder to her limit, push her to the wall on this issue. You can't crawl back in time and make your dog a puppy again. Her failure to provide you with papers while your dog is a puppy and eligible to earn puppy points is fraudulent misrepresentation, and she can be made to pay liquidated damages for this.. It is also a material misrepresemtation of the contract, a breach, and an unjust enrichment. For a small amount of money, you can sue her on circuit court level for specific performance, have the judge order her to provide the paperwork within 5 business days, if she fails, place a $10k liquidated damages clause on the Order. That will place her in a position not only to get your papers, but give you enough money to buy a resl Samoyed from a real breeder which you can train to compete against her little tired dogs. If enough people do this within the statute of limitations, you will make quite a statement. She will have so many judgments against her, her credit goes to hell, and three people who have judgments can force her to involuntary bankruptcy. She would have to go through the pricess for at least a year, and she can't broker dogs during that time either. Then call the EPA, AKC, Local, State and County Animal Comntrol to do drop in insections on her. It will drive her up the wall.. If she gets pushed by 10 people, that's 100k she is out of pocket, and each case filed in the court is public record. If your going to shut her down, do it right with the Court, not the internet.

It is legal to sue her for Material misrepresentation of the contract. Under the uniform commercial code, you can nail her to the cross her for breach of warranty. I have actually myself contacted the depatment of Indian Affairs in Raleigh NC and NY where AKC is registered to conduct business, as their participation and refusal to enforce their own rules against unethical breeders who use AKC paperwork as a way to control your ability to compete is engaging in "fixing a competition" where the is a cash purse. Boy, they were salavating over this and ready to take immediate action. I anticipate they will before this months end. Have you noticed that her dogs always place? Even ehrn your dog you bought from her can't even try because she witholds its papers until it is no longer a competitive threat?...maybe because she witholds the paperwork that would allow the progeny of her ### can't enter the competition without being registered.

Hold her fraudulent feet to the fire. Once the Indian Counsel figures out she is engaging in illegal gambling and possibly fixing competitons, they will shut her down faster than she can clean up doggie poo. Trust me on this one...don't screw with gambling commission and the Secratary of Indian Affairs. They have more money than Davey Crockett, and they don't like encroachment on their ability to own gambling rights.

M
M
mydogistheone
St. Charles, US
Aug 10, 2012 1:49 am EDT

If Kabeara has so few litters of their own, then why do they need a 6, 000' facility?
If they breed so few puppies, why is there always an ad in every monthly issue of Dog World, when you have to put the ad in 3 months in advance?
After charging $1, 200. for a female, why does Kabeara require a litter to be bred, before the owner will get the papers, and require to get a puppy back from that litter? (Doesn't that make the total cost $2400.?) and what about the horrible problems that females can have during birth?) Are these people told that letting your female go through one heat season increases breast cancer by 50%?
Why are these females bred before they can get their official hip clearances at 2 years old, just so the owners can have their female pet spayed like they want?
What happens to the rest of the litter, or are those pups sold with brokers fees, irregardless of any complications from the birth?
Why are the costs for the puppies so much higher than most other breeders that have shown for years?
Why are young, unsaleable dogs twice as much as any rescue would charge?
If these teenager dogs are a couple of years old, and in a kennel all the time, how well are they socialized?
With 50 dogs, kennel kids can't pet them all. Do they ever get to be in play-yards, and be 'regular dogs' and go on trips and walks with the family and mingle with the public?
It can be lucrative to sell a commodity in volume, and charge a lot for it. What happens to the chinchillas that don't sell? Will you see them in your neighbors coat? Are they sold to a pet store? Chinchilla's are not for everyone, and neither are Samoyeds.
If people find a Samoyed wasn't for them regarding size, exercise, care, grooming, etc, after a year or so, does Kabeara take the dog back, and find a new good home for the dog?
Just a few questions to ponder.

J
J
johnnywalker1
Chicago, US
Apr 21, 2012 8:18 am EDT

i purchased a pup from Teresa in 2011. sweetest animal I've ever been blessed to be around. she was very helpful over the months after we received him and always has been available by phone and email .

K
K
keiferle
DeWitt, US
Feb 20, 2012 3:06 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We received our beautiful Samoyed, Nikolai, in 2008. I traveled 300 miles for her and was very pleased with Kabeara. She let me meet the father and did disclose that the mother was off-site. Nikolai was the only puppy from that specific litter. There were two older litters available. She explained that the eye on my puppy was slightly lower and wouldn't make a good show dog. She was very honest and reduced the price considerably. I appreciated this immensely because upon looking at the puppy, I never would have been able to tell. I received his AKC papers and number at the point of purchase. He has been a healthy and beautiful addition to our family and I would buy from Theresa at Kabeara again.

F
F
FranJoe
Reno, US
Feb 15, 2012 10:41 pm EST

We bought two Sammys from Theresa in 2009, brother and sister. They are wonderful pups and a blessing to our family. They're healthy and very intelligent. Theresa was extremely helpful and we had absolutely no problems. We live in Nevada and drove cross country to visit the kennel and pick up the pups. The kennel was clean, well run and all the pups were clean and well taken care of. I don't know anything about breeding dogs, but I can say our experience was excellent with Kabeara and would highly recommend them to anyone.

L
L
lccent
Kankakee, US
Jan 31, 2012 11:07 pm EST

I too purchased a samoyed from teresa 11 years ago and when I brought him home he had parvo ended up at the emergency vet because we brought hime home on a Saturday and nothing was opened on Sunday when we realized he needed help. Teresa denied any knowledge of the dogs condition and acted shocked. The vet had his legged shaved and pumped him full of antibiotics within 15 minutes of walking in the door with him. That is how seriously ill he was. in addtion to the cost of the dog add another 600 dollar vet bill and teresa complaining that we should have called her first. Well we did several times and no answer or return call. If I wasnt so civil teresa would be pushing up daisies. Stay away stay far far away. And file complaints against her with the Will county humane society. It is the only thing that will shut her down save the dogs and prevent her from ripping people off.

K
K
kabearas klassy
Demotte, US
Jan 05, 2012 6:31 am EST

Also, I have boarded my dog with her for six years, while on vacation...so YES she does have dogs boarded there. Some are also there to be bred. So unless you have accurate info maybe people should just shut up...

K
K
kabearas klassy
Demotte, US
Jan 05, 2012 6:20 am EST

I purchased my second Sammy from her 8 years ago. She did not have a puppy mill, AT ALL. I went to several other breaders and some were horrible. I was determined not to buy from a pet store or puppy mill. I purchased my dog on a breeding contract and she was very strict on limiting the amount of times the dog could be breed. I have never had a problem with her and am very thankful she has given our family one of the best animals we have ever had.. I also have had several vets want to breed my dog, saying she is and ideal show dog. Teresa must be doing something right. And I have never seen her kennel over crowded or any animal there mistreated. She does not make money on every dog either. I know specific examples of her losing money by making decision that were best for the animal and not about the business. She also did extensive testing on my dog with her vet before she would even allow the dog to be breed. Sammys are known for certain health problems and she tests for them before breeding. My dog from Teresa is the healthiest Sammy I have owned, before I purchased her I had her checked out by my own vet. I will be contacting her soon as we are looking to purchase another Sammy.

J
J
JerTer
, US
Aug 24, 2019 5:37 am EDT

I have purchased to some lights from Theresa she’s the most considerate person I know in regards to breeders I have dealt with many trees as dogs are very healthy and extremely friendly and nice my two some more eggs one female and one mail are the most intelligent animals I have had a blessed Teresa thank you for your dogs

J
J
JerTer
, US
Aug 24, 2019 5:45 am EDT
Replying to comment of JerTer

Kabeara kennels are run very professionally- they are clean and kept up- Teresa offers puppies that are healthy and well kept - The dogs are extremely smart and eager to learn- I have purchased two puppies one make and one female- Teresa was Very helpful and consistent with her terms and considerate when making her offers and promises- I have recommended Teresa to all my friends and boss- she received their families new puppy and all are ecstatic- the puppy is as friendly as ours and they are very Happy- I will continue to recommend Teresa to everyone- Thank you Teresa God Bless you Jerry

T
T
The Mikado
Huntsville, US
Dec 01, 2011 2:56 am EST

I registered a separate complaint regarding her inattentiveness, after several years, of getting me the paperwork for the two chinchillas I purchased from her. E-mails, phone calls, letter, all ignored. And setting up chinnies and Samoyeds in the same room is just ignorant.

T
T
Turner8
Aledo, US
Sep 27, 2011 10:16 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have nothing good to say about this breeder as for the fact she has screwed many people out of papers for their pups when they pay over $1400.00 and NO papers, Fact! she does not board dogs for other people she is overcrowded with her own dogs, do not let her tell you they are others she boards, Fact! she has a ton returned with no papers Fact! She is a puppy mill and has plenty of older pups that she has not sold Fact! I have been there to see all this and she has a little kennel with 20-24 adult dogs in an area the size of 50x50 maybe! Fact! She is going to court next month and being sued!

C
C
Cynthia Gillespie
Bell Canyon, US
Sep 27, 2011 8:53 pm EDT

we liked the picture of this pup so we used it as we do not have any pic's of our own. but our pups looked like this little fella. Very cute and loveable but sick when we received him from Theresa. My vet said the pneumonia had to incubate in his lungs at least two weeks before he was shipped to us. He initially thought he had Kennel Cough but later changed the diagnosis as pneumonia! In any case he was sick when we received him from Theresa. Our female got bronchitis a week later. Again there was an incubation period involved. Theresa thinks denial is a River in Egypt apparently!

View 0 more photos
C
C
Cynthia Gillespie
Bell Canyon, US
Sep 27, 2011 8:40 pm EDT

bring it on!

T
T
Tomdd
Kingsford, US
Sep 14, 2011 11:33 am EDT

Wow! Sorry you guys had problems. I guess the fact that Teresa does not actually do much breeding herself because she has so many people that breed for her in their own homes, yeah I guess that's a def puppy mill! I guess she does have many sammys at a time but believe me her place is set up for it. Her place is always clean and she also boards sammys for people in the area. We have done over 10 litters for her. And that's why she always has pups. I can assure you by defaming her business causing her loss of business on the open internet for KENNEL COUGH...Are you crazy! You are obviously trying to hurt her business and I will be apart of the law suit coming at you! Have you ever even been to her place?

S
S
sammy-mom
Ottawa, US
Jun 24, 2011 6:13 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I will be having a liter of puppies from one of Teresa.'s puppies, this weekend. I have been on an endless journey trying to get the paper work on my female for almost 2 years. The father to the litter is papered, I drove 475 miles to use him as a stud. My female is beautiful and I was anxious to let her have a litter and then get her spayed. Unfortunately the papers for her are still lost in the wind...endless promises from the wonderful Breeder named Teresa Heaver. I will be selling these pups for 4-500 dollars if anyone is interested. I live in Utah, the north end near the Idaho border. I would be will to travel up to 300 miles to assure these puppies are provided a wonderful and loving home. They will be health checked with a vet certification, shots, worming and dew claws removed. Please contact me for any further information and pictures. Yvette Nielsen [protected]

View 0 more photos
C
C
Cynthia Gillespie
Bell Canyon, US
Jun 13, 2011 9:17 pm EDT

Correction on the above complaint: I wanted a SHOW DOG, NOT A SHOT DOG OR A HOT DOG. I did not get a SHOW DOG from Teresa Heaver of Kabeara Samoyeds, due to his testicle being hung up in the leg and having to be removed surgically. A single testicle dog would be eliminated from being Shown I am told by breeders who show their dogs.

S
S
sammy-mom
Ottawa, US
Jun 13, 2011 9:08 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I too am having several issues with Teresa & Kebeara Kennels . My female was born 10/13/09 and I am still getting the run around. The dog is beautiful and we love having her in our family. She is lots smaller than my other Samoyed's. But very athletic and will chase a ball all day long. I was told story after story why, when and whatsoever Teresa could think of for not being able to send my papers. She was robbed, her mother was ill, she had been traveling with her Show-dogs. etc On one of my calls to the AKC, I was told she was not even owner to the mother to of my puppy and he, the other owner would actually have to request the litter papers. When I called confronted Teresa about this info, she must have thought I was getting serious because she did email me a copy of the mother certificate and said she would get it transferred immed. and apply for the litter papers. I had told her of my plans to travel and have my female bred. she sounded excited and made me promise to call her when I found out if we were expecting. she also told be that she would return my money for the puppy I bought from her and the stud fee if she happened to not be able to get the dog registered. Again, I believed her, took my female on a 475 mile drive to have her bred. paid a $1000 dollar stud fee and as soon as I had the ultra sound on my dog, found out she was having 6 puppies I called Teresa again. She will not even answer my calls. I have to call from a neighbors house or a local business. I once again called the AKC, they are supposed to be sending me a complain form of some type. And they also gave me the phone number for the registered owners name/ the mother of the litter. I called him this morning and he said he will do his best to help me. I did call the Illinois BBB this morning and I have hired an attorney, my son in law. BECAUSE, I recorded the last call I had with Teresa and she "promised" I would have my papers before my litter was born. I could go on forever, this have consumed so much of my time for several months. I should have just gotten into my car and driven to Illinois. ( I live in Utah.) Good Luck to you all. PLEASE! stay away from her and her kennel. There are some people who do not care about their animals, only the money that they can get from them .

C
C
Cynthia Gillespie
Bell Canyon, US
Jun 13, 2011 9:03 pm EDT

Teresa and Kabeara Kennels: After I posted this report I got a letter from Teresa informing me and I quote: "You have unjustly accused me of sending you two samoyed puppies wiht kennel cough. This cough did not appear until the 12th day after you received the puppies. The immune system on puppies is not anywhere near developed as an adult. Viruses and baceria will bring down a puppy in a very short incubation time as compared to an adult dog, whose immune system is seasoned. Puppies actually can be affected in hours". unquote According to the Vet at the Emergency Hospital, pneumonia normally takes 10 to 14 days to incubate in a puppy and I have to believe him, as he graduated from a very well know university. Teresa is not a licensed Vetenarian nor has she graduated from any of the Vet Colleges I am familiar with. Incidentially the vet bill at the emergency clinic was nearly $600. Teresa told me I was foolish taking the dog to the Vet that I should have waited two days and I would only have been charged $60. Apparently Chicago area Vets are a lot cheaper than ones in So. California. Using her suggestion I might have ended up with a dead puppy rather than one that was treated and eventually got well. Additionally when I got my pups at LAX having flown from Chicago to Los Angeles he had diaharrea and that took a few days to clear up as well. Given the amount of money I paid for the two dogs, over $3, 000 plus shipping, $175, plus the Emergency Vet bill of nearly $600 plus the fee for the removal of the rear dew claws that were on the pup when we got him and Teresa said they were removed, I am flabergasted that the dew claws would have grown to that extent during the airline trip from Chicago to LAX in one day.

She goes on by stating "Your blasting of my reputation on the internet complain board was uncalled for. You need to retract it and apologize on the internet" ...So, ifyou expect me to be accountable to you for the monetary refund for the undescended testicle, You need to step up to the plate and clear this up. I need proof that you have clearly retracted it.". "Defacing people on the internet is serious. A lawsuit concerning defamation of character and loss of revenue will be filed. My attorney wants to see full retraction of all false accusations on the internet". Well, my attorney will be reviewing the complaints on this site, he will be reviewing the paperwork and speaking to my vet, to whom Teresa told that she owed me money, because at 7 months none of my dogs testicles have decended into the sac, one is high in the leg. My vet informs me that left unattended it could cause cancer or the dog would eventually secrete female hormones like estrogin and his breasts would enlarge. Not wanting to have either option the male has his testicles and rear leg due claws removed, as did the ovaries in the female.Teresa knew up front that I wanted a SHOT DOG. I did not get one. The breeder who referred me to her in Las Vegas is involved in a lawsuit with Teresa over other issues relating to her dogs and her involvement with Teresa.
Personally I think Teresa is unethical and certainly not anyone I would recommend purchasing a puppy from. There are too many complaints against her on this site to make me change my mind. Want to sue me, come on down, as they say on the Price is Right.

T
T
Turner8
Aledo, US
Jun 11, 2011 2:31 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Well I guess you got your papers then HUH? Mine is a freaking year old now and stilll no damn papers, she is a puppy mill for sure has a ton of older dogs that she cannot sell, explain that?

J
J
Jean Orr
Zionsville, US
Jun 11, 2011 2:08 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Alcatrazdan is apparently on a mission against this poor breeder. Our pup is now 6 months old, already house-broken, and knows many commands. We could not ask for a more responsive, loving, healthy pet. Again, we are most pleased to have found such a wonderful pup and are sorry to see such scurrilous attacks against a woman who knows and loves what she is doing. This is our fourth Samoyed, and we recognize a great dog when we see one. I would buy from her again. And recommend her kennel.

P
P
Paula B
Brooksville, US
May 12, 2011 2:05 pm EDT

The SCA (Samoyed Club of America) has a breeder referral link on their website
http://www.samoyedclubofamerica.org/sca/about/breeder_ref.html
all of those listed are members of SCA . I'm sure you can find a breeder in your area if not most of us will refer to those that we know that may have puppies or are expecting puppies.