The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
J Massage ToolsLies about Refunds!!

J Review updated:

I was working at the PNE and I noticed there was a kiosk for electronic massage tools. They seemed friendly and the lady, Sonia, told me SPECIFICALLY that they had a 30 day money-back guarantee. And that they were in business for 15 years so there were no reasons for me not to trust them. I, being the idiot that i am, TOOK HER WORD and bought a massage tool for $280.00. I shelled out big bux BECAUSE I was told there was a money back guarantee and I can bring it back if my parents didn't like it. (I was buying it for them) So I went home and gave it to my parents to try it for a week. My dad was recovering from a knee injury and we thought it might help to relax the muscles but after a week, we found that there were no benefits. So I called the number that was on the receipt and got no answer. This is when i saw that at the bottom of the receipt, in VERY SMALL WRITING, that the products were NON REFUNDABLE. I read that and thought, oh my god. Did these people just scam me?? So I decided to pay this "store" a visit and went all the way to Port Coquitlam and was surprised to find that this was a residential address. They didn't even have a STORE!! So I knocked on the door and no answer. But I heard noises coming from the inside so I kept knocking (ow) until I met the owner's son. He told me his father was on a business trip (??) and told me that if I wanted to exchange it, I could, but he couldn't do refunds. Even though i was angry as hell, I didn't want to vent on the teenager, so I went home, hearing that his father will call me back at a certain date.

Well, the date passed and no phone calls. So I called the house again, and no answer. So I used a different phone (and different phone no.) and voila, the son answers saying that the father will back at a later date. By this time, I was infuriated. What kind of business are these people DOING??

So I called back at a very very later date, and FINALLY reached the owner. This is where he told me they DID NOT GIVE refunds. Not to mention after all this trouble, but after the lady PROMISED ME A REFUND. He told me that he'll talk to the lady and told me to call back AGAIN after 4 days. Really?? It takes 4 days to talk to someone??

So this is me, waiting, and wanting to find some gosh-darn answers!!

Please, please, do not do any business with these people!! Are they not only unqualified but downright a bunch of scammers. I will post something again when I hear back from him but this has been SUCH a waste of my time and MY MONEY.

Responses

  • Na
    Nascence Jan 03, 2010

    I am sorry that your dad got no benefit. Both my mom and I purchased one from a vendor in Maple Ridge and I got to try it out b4 I bought it so I knew what to expect. I fell down my stairs about 4 wks ago and thought I had fractured my tailbone. I could not walk very well except like a penguin, and I could not lift my left leg to get in my car at all. My mom also bought a machine for her lower back as she has chronic low back problems.
    We bought the machines Dec 28th 2009 . After using the machine 2 times, the muscles in my back began to loosen up and I could lift my leg a bit. More use, more good results. I think it takes a bit of doing to get the electrodes in the right spots so maybe that was the problem for your dad b/c it certainly works for me and my mom is walking easier too.

    Place the electrodes on either side of the pain area, above and below on one side and same on the other. Make sure the electrode pads are firm against the skin and that one cord feeds one side not one cord above and the other below, it is a common mistake and this will not aid the muscles at all so one cord, one side, other cord, other side with the pads from one cord both on one side, one above the area and one below the area, do same for the other side.

    Make sure you read the documentation carefully b/c there are specified programs for each problem so if you use program one and it did not help, perhaps it is b/c program one is for something else. This is also a common mistake.

    I am a dental hygienist and have had tens machines used on me and have used them on clients to aid in local anaesthesia. There is no mystery to the machine. It does what it is supposed to do. It feeds electronic impulses into the muscles and nerves and allows the muscles to relax by over riding nerve /pain impulses. It works and has been used for years in physiotherapy offices. This home model is just that, the same thing but programmed for home use.

    Tell your dad to try again, using the correct program. If he still has problems then go to the BBB. Even though the document says no refunds, it does not mean that legally you have no recourse left. Try the ombudsman in Victoria too before you blow your top. This machine is not for everyone. Some don't like it, some try it once and say there is no benefit, but like everything, it takes time. I was lucky it only took 2 uses to see a difference, but I am not cured at all, I still use it every day and will until I am fully better which may take months so time also has a part to play.

    Best regards for a great new yr and I hope your dad feels better soon. Knee problems really suck


    Heidi O'Neil RDH

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LewChi Sep 03, 2012

    Do either of you know what the massager is called or how to get it? I went to the PNE the other day and I wanted to buy it but decided to sleep on it but then never had a change to pick one up but now I REALLY want to buy one! Any ideas on how to get one now?

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Boyo56 Jan 27, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This individual (Gemes Vardeh) is at the Chilliwack Heritage Centre this weekend. He was high pressure and tried to sell me a mas sager for $200.00. He claimed it retailed for $280.00. I almost bought his story. Today, I checked the company on the Internet and found this complaint. Now I will never buy from this crook!
    I suggest that you look at Sears. They sell many massagers and they will return them if you are not happy.
    It is too bad these crooks are allowed to advertise at these home shows. It lowers the home shows' credibility as well.
    The company is J.W. Sales & Marketing, Gemco Holding. Their email is [email protected] Their address is 3266 A Coast Meridian Road, Port Coquitlam, BC V3B 3BN4. Their phone number is [protected] and his cell number is [protected].
    Suffice it to say, I will never buy from him, and I will check others at the home shows before I purchase.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Boyo56 Feb 15, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just purchased a HoMedics SHIATSU MASSAGE CUSHION WITH HEAT (item number [protected]) at sears.ca online for only $127.99 plus tax on sale until February 28, 2013. It is identical to this crook's buy it now deal of $200.00!
    The unit I purchased from Sears has a shoulder, lower, upper, full body, individual heat for shoulder and upper/lower body and spot massage as well as a wired rote control. It also has a 2 year warranty and a 30 day satisfaction guarantee!
    These crooks try and high pressure potential customers at the home shows and prey on impulse buyers. Once the sale is done and customers are not happy, it is too late! No refund!!! They have your money and all you have is buyer's remorse knowing you paid too much and are not happy.
    Buy the one at Sears. I am very happy I found it. If you change your mind, you have 30 days. You can't lose!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ge
    GenieB Mar 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too purchased the massagers from this customer at a show recently & was told 30 day money-back guarantee. I sent the items back 3 days later. They are denying they received the items even though I have proof of delivery with a signature. Then told me they moved from that address. (apparently between Feb 14th when I purchased the items & Feb 19th when they were signed for at their end?) He wouldn't tell me where they moved to or when. And he said they don't do returns, I told him their website says they do & their rep said they do. He said it's different at the shows, no returns. Am in process of having my credit card company reverse the charge on my credit card.

    1 Votes
  • Gi
    Gizz Jan 19, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well I just had the same experience in Courtenay on Vancouver Island this Christmas. My elderly mother could not come to test it out but the sales lady talked me into getting it anyway saying I could bring it back for a full refund if it wasn't good for her. I was surprised as these kiosks are only there for so many days and this was a Christmas gift so by the time my mother tried it they would be gone. She said there would be no problem. After I decided to trust her and paid for it, she pointed out the "no refund" policy on the receipt and told me that although it said that, they would still take it back if I brought it back within 10 days. Paid $178; it's too strong for my mother; tried to return it and finally, after quite a few calls, I reached someone named James or perhaps it was Gemes and he was quite rude on the phone and told me it's written right on the receipt that there is no return on these. I told him the sales lady pointed that out to me AFTER I'd paid, that she'd confirmed to me at least 4 times that I would be able to return it before I purchased it, and that she pointed out the "no return" on the bill after telling me that it was just to protect them from people taking advantage of them, BUYER BEWARE! I'm writing to the mall management where the kiosk was set up to warn them about this scam and am also writing to our local papers in the "Beefs and Bouquets" area to beware of this company and will be faxing the company a copy of my letter and newspaper article. Having seen your comments about the same scam I will also be contacting the Better Business Bureau about them and will refer them to this website. Yours truly, G.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anita Barany Mar 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did not buy a massager but a baby size bamboo pillow which came in a pink carry case. The pillow was rolled to fit the case. I was told that one I open the pillow, it will "fluff" up.
    I bought this pillow on Feb 26th 2017 at the Victoria Home and Garden show for $25.00. Unfortunately, not only did the pillow not fluff up, the memory foam is broken up inside; I can feel the lumps.
    I've left several messaged on Mr. Gemes Vardeh and I have yet to get a call back.
    My next step will be to call the venue to report this issue so that at the next show, they will be aware of this fraudulent vendor and call my credit card company to have the charges reversed.

    I find it very sad that anyone can purchase something and the vendor has no remorse in selling defective products and/or not stand behind it.

    Is anyone going to see this post, rectify the problems for anyone of us... I doubt it.

    Consumer affairs might have to get involved!

    Good luck every one.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Berte Mar 15, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Also LIES ABOUT REFUNDS and PRODUCT
    I was just at a home show in Victoria on February 28, 2020. My friend and I bought the Thermax Massager set. Gemes Vardeh told us it was a Canadian Made product and criticized that the rest of the similar massagers were not as reliable and made in China. She got home to find there was a tag sewn to the unit that said Made In China. March 1, 2020 last day of the home show my friend decided to return the Thermax Massager for our money back. He refused and was yelling with a very rude behavior when it was explained that the item was not made in Canada as he said. He denied ever saying that and refused to refund the money and would not accept the return. I wish I could report this to authorities about this person scamming people. Home Shows should not allow these types of vendors in to market goods spewing lies about the product to make a sale.
    The company is J.W. Sales & Marketing, Gemco Holding. Their email is [email protected] Their address is 3266 A Coast Meridian Road, Port Coquitlam, BC V3B 3BN4. Their phone number is [protected] and his cell number is [protected]. BUYER PLEASE BE AWARE I hope no one else gets caught in this scam. Regrets!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.