The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Hearts of Maine Seaside Rental PropertiesPoor customer service and relations!

I was looking to rent a house on the ocean for my mother's surprise 50th birthday. My mother absolutely loves the ocean so I started to look at different rental companies in Maine.

Upon looking through the Hearts of Maine website, I found the perfect house! I inquired about the availability of this house for the weekend of my mother's birthday. The response was the cost was 250 a night. On the website the occupancy states 10. That was perfect, we had 10 people who were going to be staying at the house. When I asked about the extra guest fees (on the website it has the 9th and 10th people are an extra $100), it took 5 days for them to get back to me. The response was that the 250/night was only for 6 people and that it would be an extra 100 dollars for the other four. This rental property rents for 1500/week at this time of year and they wanted me to pay 77% of this cost for just the weekend. My email back to the company stated "Hello Sue,After discussing the rental with my family, we are all in agreement that the price is not what is listed on the website. The website does not specify that it only applies if it is rented for the week. We would be paying 77% of the cost for one week for only 3 nights. Where this rental would be extremely OFF SEASON, we would assume that the price would go down, not up. The information should be consistent between both the owner and Hearts of Maine. You may want to consider changing the information on your website, it is very misleading and in turn will lead to poor customer satisfaction.Thank you for your time." The response from the President of the company, Gregory Burr was "Shame on you for trying to get something for nothing. This caliber of house is extremely reasonable at $100.00 per person for 10 people for the weekend. It is more expansive to run this house in the winter time that it is in the summer because of heating and plowing costs.

We do not list nightly rates on our web-site so this has nothing to do with being consistent with the web-site. It is up to the owner's discretion on what nightly rate they set for their rental's. We find you completely RUDE and SHAMELESS for trying to have your group stay at this house for next to nothing and therefore we are blacklisting you for our rentals in the future and we will be sending your name out to the other rental companies as they do for us warning them about you. Please do not ever try to rent from us again as we find you have low moral character.

Gregory Burr
Owner/President - Hearts of Maine

I in no way was rude or shameless regarding this rental property. I was simply inquiring about the price and the reasoning behind the price that they gave me since on the website the information says the price is for 8 people. In the initial email from Sue Burr, she did not list a limit to the people when she gave me the price. The price suddenly jumped from 750 plus tax for the 3 nights to 1150 plus tax for the same time.

This company has poor customer service and relations as is demonstrated in their email to me. I would not recommend doing business with this company. Hearts of Maine...not an appropriate name for a company that acts like they do.


  • Ke
    Kevin K1 Jul 09, 2012

    Having just returned home after dealing with hearts of maine, this just diesn't sound right... They were EXTREMELY helpful, prompt, our hosue was better than expected, the rates were incredibly reasonable, (almost too low I would say) and they had nothing short of incredible customer service. We will absolutely be using hearts of maine for our next trip, I can't give anything but compliments to them.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Philly mom Jul 05, 2012

    I too find this complaint completely lacking in credibility . We have rented several times from The Burrs and they have only been professional, polite, and friendly . Somehow the letter writer's "quotes " of George Burr sound like her own voice?!?!?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jody Roethele Mar 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am planning my third vacation using Hearts of Maine. I have never received anything but exceptional service from them. They have been prompt in answering all of my questions and are always friendly and more than happy to help. We have been so happy with the houses we have stayed in so far and the service we received, we will continue to use Hearts of Maine for planning our future trips. I would recommend them to anybody planning a trip.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kara E. Roy (Joy) Dec 22, 2011

    My husband and I have rented from Hearts of Maine for several years, they have been nothing but professional and nice. In fact, I did inquire about renting a house for the weekend so that we could attend a family event in the area and they were very clear that they did not offer weekend or nightly rates.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William J. O'Brien Mar 20, 2010

    I was headed to the Hearts of Maine web site, in order to plan my vacation when I noticed this post.
    Granted it's an old post, but i felt compelled to respond to it. I rented from Hearts of Maine once in the past. I found Greg and Sue to be nice people to deal with. Their agency provided prompt service, making arrangements was a breeze. The property that I rented turned out to be better than described. This was truly the best rental experience of my life.
    Simply put, I opened the door, put away my groceries, unpacked and started my vacation.

    William J. O'Brien
    Albany, New York

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Saywhathunny Jul 28, 2008

    Having done business with Hearts of Maine (Greg and Sue) for many years, I find it hard to believe that what you claim is an e-mail from Greg is the real thing. Both individuals are up front, customer oriented, honest, and more than willing to always make things right for their customers. They have never misrepresented their properties nor have they not done anything reasonable to create a positive experience for their clients. Having known them both for almost ten years as a repeat renter, I can only imagine that you own the lion's share of this unfortunate misunderstanding.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions


    Unhappy consumers gather online at and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.