The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Galen Collegel of Nursingfalse tuition

I attended this school for a 1 year program in nursing, the school cost 18, ooo dollars. I applied for finacial aid and was granted full aid.I had an interview with the schools finacial aid and they advised me that I was 569.00 dollars short toward my finacial aid. I asked why she told me that my books and everything were included in my tuition and that I would get this back. I said ok and payment arrangements with them in the amount of 275.00 dollars. As my classes started we were told that there were no pre-requisites later i found out through a government agency that it was. I then recieved a check in the amount of 569 dollars- along with a letter it stated that i could use this toward books or return this money back to the school either way i would have to pay it back to the school. then I was advised that we were responsible for obtaning our own books every 3 months which totaled out about 1000.00 dollars. this is something that they failed to tell me so I withdrew. in the proper time they then stated that i ow'd them nothing but they over billed the student loan people of 5, 000 dollars.I then found out that Galen had changed their names several times which were---- The health careers institute, watterson college. because of fraud in financial aid system.since way back in the 1990's.

Responses

  • Rn
    RNboss Nov 20, 2017

    I attending Galen San Antonio currently, I have been an LVN for seven years and I am in my 3rd quarter. I would not recommend attending this school. Please save yourself from a nightmare. The staff turnover is almost humiliating, the clinical sites are not beneficial to a learning individual at all whatsoever, students are forbidden to review their own tests (which impairs the learning process tremendously), the staff claim to "always be there" when needed, this is only true with a minute extent of faculty (that I can count on one hand). It's rare to get a response to an email from the majority of the instructors. Now let's talk about money, because that's all this school is interested in. 30k to answer call lights in clinical sites. 30k to be ignored by your instructors when you need help most, 30k to be left in the dark on what you missed on a test, just so the lazy faculty doesn't have to re-create tests each quarter. I attended Career Point College for my LVN (that was recently shut down) and I consider my experience at this school a delight compared to the hell I'm in now.

    2 Votes
  • Jr
    Jrabs Oct 02, 2016

    I currently attend galen, you're correct about the high failure rate, but that's for good reason. If you can't be responsible enough to take charge of your education and do what it takes to pass your classes, why would they allow you to move forward in an industry where you are responsible for other people's lives? Any financial aid issue I've had with my GI Bill, are the same issues I've had at Northeast Lakeview and SAC; these are issues that you will run into at any college. It's clear that the disgruntled commenters are those who didn't make the cut, you're going to find the same level of difficulty at any accredited nursing school...because it's hard! I think Galen does an excellent job at weeding out the weak links, so those of us who are serious about our career in nursing, can excel in the program and in our career as nurses. Most hospitals in San Antonio are going into a magnet status, however, the Baptist Health System, University Hospital, and Santa Rosa always have and will employee LVN's. The opportunity is there, however if you're not driven or capable of sacrificing for your career in nursing, you'll never make it. That just goes for life in general.

    1 Votes
  • No
    Non of ur buisness Jun 17, 2016

    Hi yes I attended Galen San Antonio Tx and in the first quarter I noticed this school is not willing to work with the students. I have my GI bill and they want to Bill me $30, 000. Now my GI Bill is like cash and I don't feel this school is worthy of it. I'm going to NW Vista and that school is accredited and has good student feedback. One of my classes the instructor says she will put a mock test out but doesn't. While I could be getting lectured in class she's grading exams from last week. There no quizzes, and exams are 30 minutes then ur released. Now even though the N-Clex pass rate is high they fail to mention that during the 18 month program 50% of students fail out the program. That's a high gamble with $30, 000 to stake if the student fails last quarter. Kaplan Casino is there new name. There not worth my time as I see they want the student to fail to suck as much money out of the student.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chabbychic Jun 05, 2015

    I attended Galen in San Antonio back in 2011. I will never recommend this College to anyone. What many of you have posted above is ABSOLUTELY CORRECT on the Financial Aid Department ready to take your money. I came all the way from California to attend this College assuming that it was going to be a great experience...WRONG!!! They also had me waiting a whole quarter to repeat a class because supposedly I had to come up with more money. I qualified for full aid and still, they wanted more $$$$. I finished the program until the last day to say that I didn't pass my Med Surg II class, shy of a "C" and still oweing them $4000 dollars. I said What""" your all crazy!!! Their so unorganized in the Administration Department, D.O.N., and front desk employees. The turn around in staff is unbelievable!! Not a School to recommend to anyone who's interested in attending. If I were you, please...I encourage you to make the right decision. I don't have to post it here, any other student who's attend (Many), will also tell you that you will be regretting it. Also, you will owe Student loans up the WaaZoo, with no Nursing job...especially if your an LVN. Most of the hospital's there are transitioning into Magnet status and require RN's instead of LVN's. Take my word for it, Watch out!!

    1 Votes
  • Un
    unhappygalenstudent Feb 18, 2015

    The cincinnati campus is no different. Many unhappy students. I am passing the course but the program is a set up for failure and many student retake course due to lack of instruction, or unfair practices. Instructors curse at students and administration sweeps it under the rug. Policies constantly change and yes it is not in your benefit. Constantly disrespected and disregarded.

    2 Votes
  • Re
    realchallenges Nov 02, 2014

    I attended Galen in 2008/2009 and never had any of the above mentioned problems! It says in the student handbook and in the registration information that books are separate from tuition. If there was ever any money beyond my tuition from financial aid it was given to me within the first week of the quarter. Buying used books was the way to go much less than $1000 mentioned above! I am currently in the RN program. Most negativity comes from the people that aren't passing. Nursing school is hard! You must study a lot to get through it. Good people and good nurses have a hard time with the textbook part of things. Do your homework before applying to any program! From what I know they all have issues! Find what works for you . . .if its what you really want!!

    3 Votes
  • Nu
    NurSing2010 Oct 28, 2014

    I graduated in 2010 with my LVN at the time I was told by the student advisor that their credits we're transferable to any college, needless to say this is not the truth. No college will take my credits and not only that they took most of my financial aid. I wonder if anyone has this issue.

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Victoria Martinez Sep 27, 2012

    Don't go here! Galen San Antonio is a scam! Nobody ever tells you that if you fail a class you have to pay out of pocket (3500$) they keep your financial aid checks till Q4! 2nd Q is a living nightmare!!!They treat students like kids and no respect. Quarter 2 medsurg instructor is the guard dog.If you somehow pass her stupid class you are a nurse. I won't recommended Galen San Antonio to my worst enemy. STAY AWAY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    GrassCutter May 31, 2011

    I'm glad some people are telling the truth about Galen. One thing that seemed suspious to me about Galen is the fact that the scools have only one entrance to their buildings, it's guarded with security personnel, and everyone needs a barcode on their badge to get in. I never seen a college do this. What are they trying to keep out, or in? I have also seen students pulled out of class, (right before a test): because someone said they didn't pay their tution. These are good, caring students who do not deserve to be embarrassed or inconveninced that way.

    1 Votes
  • Nu
    Nurse by me not Galen, Aug 25, 2010

    Sounds exactly right to me. So done definitely needs to take charge to the school, cause I know the school in san Antonio. You figure 18, 000/ student and they don't have anything of what is considered to be a "college of nursing".. 18k/ pupil you have no cafeteria, no rest lobby, no study hall. Study have and the room they call library and computer room is all in one. Instructors not paid enough, and getting overwhelmed with students. Students that are failed cause they fail the HESI exam yet the hesi is not even remotely close to the NCLEX exam. That school is interviewing people like hot tamales. The Galen rep, it's like they got a bus outside filling and unloading people in Galen. Refunds are to be given after the qtr, which doesn't make sense. Students need money before the qtr to pay for books, uniforms, nurse kits, everything cause those students have to pay for their own supplies.. Which if tuition includes all supplies why not actually buy it. .. I'm so irriate with that school.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    McAuliffe Jun 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When I attended Galen, I witnessed students being called out of class or a list of names on the classroom door stating who still owed money. I had many issues with their financial aid office. They were quick to collect my student loan money but never returned a refund I was to get. The refund I was suppose to get they sent back to Sallie Mae. The numbers with Galen never added up.
    They are also known for not passing students because they do not have enough teachers or clinical instructors. Galen focuses on the money not the students!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.