The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Funding UniverseScam at www.fundinguniverse.com

Funding Universe is a waste of my time. As General Counsel for this new venture, I should have known better. Especially when they responded to an online (www.fundinguniverse.com) request for funding, and stated they would help, but based on the 'credit profile' and their vast experience, they would need to run a full credit history etc., etc.

After a very good sales pitch, I gave in to 'Joe Hughes' at Funding Universe. I was stupid enough to fall for the hype and provide them $99, so they could "spend time analyzing the loan request, as a lender would", and provide me with details on how we could best position this loan request for a successful outcome. They went on and on about how they knew the best way to be helping new businesses (and people and existing businesses) with loan requests, and could help assure the lenders were shown the right documentation, etc., etc.,

Then after they had the $99, they had an appointment set up with an 'analyst' call who said there were a lot of issues that could be fixed, related to credit and underwriting requirements that lenders score loans on, etc., etc...BUT he would need more money, in this case about $1, 200.00 more.

I said no thank you, that we had a business plan and good financials, etc. The guy would not take not for an answer. I finally said, NO! We would not be using their services. He began to question the decision and started explaining why I needed them, etc. Being a busy person, I told him no again, and that I was hanging up. I finally had to hang up on him.

He called back. I more forcefully told him no and hung up.

Agents from Funding Universe have left made no less than 10 seperate phone calls, often leaving messages to call, sounding urgent.

I should have known that a reputable broker (they are not lenders) would work off of a success fee or on a contingent basis, not taking on a client or loan request that has little chance of closing.

Today, two weeks later, I accidently picked up a call after 5pm and it was "Kurt" from Funding Universe. I politely told him we would not be spending any more money with his firm. He would not take no for an answer, finally I said we were done and would not be using his firm's services. He responded with 'have you gotten your money yet?" I told him, in less than positive language, to stop bothering us.

I hope that is the last call we get from funding universe...what a scam!

Responses

  • Io
    Iowan Bret Apr 02, 2013

    Please add me to your list for a lawsuit, I was scammed as well.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    s dagostino Feb 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have to agree with the word SCAM. we were looking for funding to relocate our business and started the process to the tune of $2500.00 like everyone else. during the process we realized this wasn't a loan through a bank, it was a number of different credit cards at high interest rates. clearly this was not going to be an option. not to mention the fact that the property we were looking to relocate to had been sold so we didn't even need the loan anymore. when we explained this to chuck who couldn't be bothered to call back we were basically told too bad call us when you find another location. needless to say we were out that money. circumstances do change and i do understand that my husband and were the ones that initiated the process. However, if you are an upstanding business you do whatever you can to rectify the situation, help your client, and maintain a good relationship, not screw people and move on to the next victim.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Bull May 30, 2011

    Hummm... Interesting stuff. I promise I do not work for funding universe. I did pay for their services. I also listened online to a investor forum where those in need of funding got to pitch their products. It seemed genuine enough to me. I didn't use that service, but did pay $200 three times to pitch to three potential investors. I gave a presentation in all three instances. I spoke to what appeared to be real investors with real contact information that I was able to verify. I intended to use them again. I can't fathom why our experiences have been so different. I pushed them more than they pushed me. Are there two funding universe companies or something?

    -2 Votes
  • Js
    JSTAFOOL Apr 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too got cought in their trap. After responding to an online add, It was no more than a day before I was getting phone calls. After speaking with a salesman, I was assured that getting funding would be no problem, " just sign these papers electronically, " I was told while still on the phone and they can get the process started. This was at the end of November of last year. Five months later and several times Their so called "Law Group" kept insisting on getting new credit reports so they can "enahnce" them. This process cost me nearly $3000.00 without any results. Just more inquieries into my credt report. When I told them NO more credit reportrs and get started with the loan packages, the told me " We'll need to put your account on hold and we won't contact you untill we have all the reports we requested." I have started the refund process, but I am preparing myself for a battle.
    Stay clear!!! Go to a bank or credit union that deals with the SBA.(Small Buisness Adninistration). Or Ccall your local Chamber of Commerce and they will be more than happy to direct you lenders.

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    Ya Ha Apr 15, 2011

    Does anyone on here get that they are talking your money in direct violation of the Credit Repair Organization Act which ever so clearly states that a company can not make you pay up front for credit services ?

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    Yaro Feb 16, 2011

    Yes, I would join you for the class action, but the lawyer should be very knowledgeable and people friendly, not some fee hungry individuals. If the lawyer knows what he or she is doing, there is absolutely nothing can stop us from punishing this scoundrels and put them in jail or atleast get our money back and close this company. I can guarantee you that this company has rubbed so many people's lives in the wrong way.

    You got to collect all the people on this forum as well on other forums and gather them together to meet with the lawyer you say is ready to file this case. The home work starts here in collecting how many people would like to join for now, I am sure after you initiate the case, everyone will be running towards the court to put their name on the list of refunds or payment from the class action.

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    Mwenye Jan 19, 2011

    I paid $2800, and will be filling a law suit

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    Mwenye Jan 19, 2011

    Am READY for a lawsuit they took $2, 800 by talking my husband into financing so we can get money. In the end I had a letter from their affiliate that am credit was too low. my credit was in the 750's and now after their constant scams it has dropped to 680 from them using it without my knowledge and permisson. Not to mention with the economy so bad we are trying to survive and find means to give jobs to our fellow Americans. The last thing we get is this fraud case and bad credit from selfish liars. They need to be punished.

    I have a lawyer ready to file a class action, anybody up for this!

    1 Votes
  • Ya
    YaroO Jan 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a personal experience with Funding Universe that is totally in agreement with most of the comments here, but to my shock when I did google search "funding universe-scam", there were numerous, 99% or almost 100% of the comments are about complaining funding universe is a scam.

    Many people have lost their hard earned money in fees and upfront payment of thousands of dollars. My question here is how come there is not a single person filing a law suit, or bringing this [censor] to the regulatory authorities or to the local state attorney general or any other fraud protection agencies, why?.
    I am thinking of a law suit, but a class action lawsuit by several victims will be the right way to go about, where many victims can join together and pursue a law suit to punish this scam co. and the people behind this scam?.

    2 Votes
  • Ad
    Adebo F Nov 13, 2010

    My advise to all small start-ups is to ask lots and lots of questions. Fact: Funding Universe is not a direct lender. Fact: Funding Universe is out to make money on your naivette. Fact: Funding Universe will not disclose want you don't ask. Fact: Funding univerese is built on collecting upfront fees to try and match you with lenders. Fact: Funding universe is not a bank, all they claim to be is a matching company that matches people together. Fact: Funding Universe has a lot of sales people(don't believe their tiltle--the so call "senior lending advisors & crap like that). Now the questions: How much would you be willing to pay someone to match you with a possible lender? Question: How much are you willing to pay soemone to help you write your business plan? Question: How much are you willing to pay someone to advise you on how to discuss your bill payments with your creditor? Question: How much are you willing to pay someone to help you write your own resume? Question: Are you that desperate for funding that you don't even want to see their online documents that they are so pushy to have you sign? Hello Business people, get smart...please get smart, and do your home work. If a Broker is so sure to be able to get you funding, he/she can wait to get his monies from the loan he/she will secure for you. Funding Universe is no different than thsoe overseas scam artist that wants to wire funds into your account if you send them certain documents of yours...Run as fast as you can away from these folks. Check out all of their companies BBB reports and make sure tehy send you all their docuements, and read them before siging anything with them. Good luck business people.
    T

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tanya Jones Nov 11, 2010

    This company called Funding Universe is absolutely a scam. I went through the program to obtain funding for a business acquisition. The salesperson was very convincing that I would get funded, so I paid their $99 fee. When they screen my credit they said I needed to remove a few inquires before they could proceed. I only had a total of 2 inquiries and my credit score is 690. From there they tried to sell me on hiring one of their attorneys to remove the inquiries. Within a couple of days they start to claim that they have improved my credit and stated that more fees are needed to improve my credit. They continued to pile on lists and lists of unnecessary services to the tune of $3000. The folks at this company are the "Bernard Madoffs" of funding schemes. They are not worth dealing with. They will grab your money and start you on a merry-go-round of unending paperwork. They will then claim that you need to buy more services withour securing any loans for you. Buyers out there should beware of this fraudulent company. Most legitimate loan Brokers do not charge until funding is secured.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Larry E. Nov 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They exceeded my expectations. I was given the opportunity to pitch at one of their events in Seattle. It was fun and the presenters seemed to be relaxed in this environment- the audience was knowledgeable too. The panel kept the focus and was supportive while being constructively critical. The whole format - food, tight presentations, engaging MC, panel - kept it all interesting and the time flew. Finally an event worth going to and that left me excited to go back to work.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    FundingUniverse Nov 08, 2010

    I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with our services. As America's 34th fastest growing private company(http://www.inc.com/inc5000/list) our customer service has lagged a bit. If you could please call us at 888.779.8390 ext. 167 we'll work to make things right.

    1 Votes
  • Fu
    FundingUniverse Oct 29, 2010

    Quevin,

    I'm sorry our representatives have been so pushy,

    We're growing very quickly (#34 on Inc.'s 500 list - http://www.inc.com/inc5000/list) so we try hard to make sure no one falls through the cracks. If you'll call Lindsey Hayes at 888.779.8390 ext. 167 she'll ensure no one contacts you again.

    -2 Votes
  • Pa
    pacesttr Oct 26, 2010

    Fundinguniverse.com is a scam - they run another scam as unsecuredline.com. You will do better without them!! i was taken for about $3000.00 - do your homework on this "company".

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    AATO2000 Sep 27, 2010

    I wish I would have read these complaints prior to contacting Funding Universe. I feel that I am a savvy businessman but I got scammed. I even contacted my credit card company to let them know I was scammed and did not receive the services Funding Universe claimed they rendered. I was scammed out of more than $2K. They are a scam to the fullest extent and unfortunately, I bit hook line and sinker. They win overall because they play the numbers game and I lost the game with them and now I am out that money. Shame on me, I should have seen it coming and never talked to them.

    -2 Votes
  • Ti
    ticyn Sep 26, 2010

    Try www.ticyn.com where investors & entrepreneurs meet...
    Post ads..Post events..
    Post images..Post videos..
    ALL FREE!!
    What's your idea?
    www.ticyn.com
    T he
    I nvestment
    C onnection
    Y ou
    N eed

    -1 Votes
  • To
    Todd1238888 Aug 22, 2010

    Funding Universe is absolutely a scam. I went through the program to obtain funding for a business acquisition. The salesperson was very convincing that I would get funded, so I paid their $199 fee. When they screen my credit they said I needed to remove a few inquires before they could proceed. I had a total of 5 inquiries and my credit score is 750. From there they tried to sell me on hiring one of their attorneys to remove the inquiries. BUYER BEWARE!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Af
    A Forney Apr 29, 2010

    Thanks so much for sharing your story so others out there do not get scamed. I had been waiting on an application via fax and the only thing that came through was the agreement. I told the person I do not give my SS# on line. Glad I checked into it

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.