Fashion Bug Charge Cards / Spirit of AmericaHorrible service!

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

About a month ago I received a phone call from Spirit of America (the company that services Fashion Bug Charge Cards) the rep stated to me that I had a past due bal of $149.00, I advised her that I had not used my charge card in over 3 years and asked why I had not received anything in the mail if this should be the case; I was told that letters were being sent to me constantly for the last 4 months or so. The rep was very rude to me about the situation I asked her to verify the address that was on file for me and they told me but it was never an address that I lived at and the lady said that I could be using someone else's address to get my mail at which is not the case. I then asked the lady to send me copy of the sales receipt and she refused to do so telling me that I could fax over a copy of my drivers license and they would determine if it was my signature or not, I refused to do this and explained to the rep that I was not going to be faxing my personal info anywhere to protect my self. She was able to tell me what name was on the receipt which happened to be my maiden name, so I explained to her that I did not have the card for quite some time at this point and it was possible that someone took the card and was using it as their own and not knowing my married name to which the acct had been changed to some time ago. The lady that called called me a liar in so many words so I spoke to her supervisor who was even worse. They were able to take away 3 fees so I only had to pay $79.54 of the $149.00 that was do. The original charge was for 26.38; I would have paid cash for this amount. These people would not even assist me with finding out who the transaction was actually done by and did nothing but threatening me.

Pissed off in NY

Responses

  • Re
    Rebecca Dodge Mar 29, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Fashion Bug/Spirit of America treated me the same way. I applied in Couer D'Alene Idaho about five years ago for a card and never received one. Three years ago in the mail came a Fashion Bug card, with charges included. Apparently in those years I did not physically hold the card they updated the card and charged me $29.00, and another $29.00 late fee since the card showed up after the date of the payment was due. When I called they suggested that it had nothing to do with them and the charges are legal and binding. I explained that I had never received the card, so I did not have an account to charge any delinquent charges to. The customer rep explained that I had had a card and that even though I never charged any purchases in those two years, the card had been sent and an account had been created under my name. The rep continued to demand payment otherwise my account that I never knew I had would be delinquent and would be turned over to a collection agency. After several calls later the matter got resolved but it was not worth the hassle because the next couple sentences will describe more problems. Another issue is constantly being charged late payments for $29.00, I send the payment the instant I get my statement, and somehow it never gets posted until two or three days after the due date. Seems to me that it is a great way to make some additional profit for the company, and it is all so legal. I now only pay in the store, with a receipt for proof so no additional charges can apply to my account. Third negative, no on-line payment---come on!!! Are we not in the twentieth century here.

    Pissed off in Washington

    0 Votes
  • El
    Ellen Molloy Mar 31, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A salesperson at a Catherines kept begging me to open a Catherine's account (owned by Spirit of America). Finally, I opened one just to get her to shut up and sell me the clothes. Two months later, I'm one day late on sending in my payment and I get a $29 late fee charge. AND those a-holes at Spirit of America keep using their automated dialer to call me and leave long messages on my machine about how I "have a business matter" with them and that I need to call them back. A $29 late fee on a $130 balance! Plus they charge about a million percent interest a second. (I exaggerate just a bit). Today I talked to them and got them to take off the late fee. I paid off the account and they said they closed it, but now I'm wondering if they're going to try some crap. I want something in writing to show that my account is closed, so I think I'll call them back.

    I hope everybody knows that you can get a late fee charge taken off if you call and complain. The name "Spirit of America" Bank certainly does reflect our current, evil, corporate-greed infested country these days supported by those jackals in the administration. Piss off, Spirit of America!

    --Pissed off in California

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John E Sherman Apr 10, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Everybody,

    We also have a current accounting complaint with Catherines Credit Card. I won’t bore you with the details of our complaint, but just let you know who and how to complain to and oversight government agency that determined ‘Spirit of America National Bank’ Charter No. 22183 a ‘Limited Purpose Bank’ was evaluated during year 2002 and it was determined that it “Needs to Improve.” This rating was done by United States Government Agency: The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) charters, regulates, and supervises all national banks. It also supervises the federal branches and agencies of foreign banks. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., the OCC has four district offices plus an office in London to supervise the international activities of national banks.

    So, complaints about this Limited Purpose Spirit of America National Bank that primarily engages in credit card operations for Charming Shoppes, Inc that operate under the trade names of Fashion Bug, Lane Bryant, and Catherine’s Plus Sizes should be directed to the OCC and follow the process:

    The OCC's Complaint Process Top

    When we receive your call about a complaint, a Customer Assistance Specialist will request certain information from you about the issues. The specialist will evaluate your information and attempt to resolve your questions while on the phone. Should the specialist not be able to resolve your complaint immediately, they may request that you submit a formal written complaint or inquiry. The specialist will explain the formal complaint process to you, assign you a case number and explain exactly what information or documents we need you to provide.

    When we receive your written complaint or additional documentation that was requested by one of our Customer Assistance Specialists, we will send to you an acknowledgment letter and assign a case number if one was not previously provided. The specialist will research your complaint and contact the bank for a response. The OCC will notify you after the bank or subsidiary responds. The bank or its subsidiary often resolves voluntarily those complaints caused by bank errors or misunderstandings.

    See http://www.occ.treas.gov/customer.htm

    Also, located within this same OCC webpage is access to the formal written complaint forms.

    If enough people complain maybe the parent company Charming Shoppes, Inc. will clean up this Limited Purpose bank’s accounting practices and install “audit tracking” of transaction processing to benefit both the business and the remaining customer(s) it is still attempting to retain.

    Have a good day,
    Tacoma Washington.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John E Sherman Apr 10, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Telephone contact information for the OCC's Customer Assistance

    The OCC's Customer Assistance Group is ready to help customers of national banks with questions or complaints they have about their financial institution. CAG's toll-free lines are open Monday through Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., Central Time. You can reach one of OCC's Customer Assistance Specialists by calling: 1-800-613-6743.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathi Ann Hunter Nov 16, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You charged me a late fee on my bill, Why? I made my payment in the 10 days grace period. The check cleared my bank on the 13th of this month. I would like to hear from someone on this matter please. I have been with fashion bug for years.

    Thank u Mrs K. Hunter

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rebecca Glass Jan 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I tried to pay my bill to this " Spirit of America" but its customer service is SOOOOOOOOO "F___ing" Rude EXPECIALLY MR. CARDENAS or how ever he spells it. He is about the biggest Jerk I have ever had the displeasure to deal with. I had a deal with the stupid Co. to pay them a certain amnt. each mo. and then I went to renew that and give them more check by phone check numbers and the JACKASS!!!! would not let me PAY MY [email protected]!!!!!!! If you ask me HE is HIGHLY INCOMPETANT in DEALING WITH CUSTOMERS PERIOD!!! I have Never dealt with such a rude, hostile and insensitive ### as I did with Him, IF He does not want to accept my money as payments, mayby HIS bosses need to KNOW so THEY can FIRE THE NINKOMPOOP for not recieving money for thier COMPANY!!!! DUMB ### JERK OH and BY the way MR> CARDENAS.. I am reprting your COMPANY to the BBB and to the OCC And maybe if I really get my panties ruffled, I'll even go to the News with how you refused my payment because your a self serving JERK!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marie Cayard Jan 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How come customers can't make on-line payments?. I have been sick unable to drive. I tried to make an on-line payment, it just doesn't give people that option. Am I doing something wrong? Please let me know. I don't care to use a phone payment, because you charge people $5.00 to process it .

    Sincerely,

    Marie Cayard

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Feb 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Fashion Bug card needs to have online payments as an option for their customers. Even the smallest companies take online payments. Of course, if you make it easier for your customers this would cut into late fee profits...

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BeckyVitous Feb 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How much do I pay for my Fashion Bug bill? It would be great if you could get back to me soon.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    Furious Non-accountholder Feb 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I do not have an account with Fashion Bug and yet they managed to get the idea that I do AND my phone number. Now their automatic dialer calls me every day "to discuss a business matter." I called their so-called customer service line, which turns out to be a phone tree that you can't get through if you don't have an account number - which I don't. I finally got a person on the line and she was the nastiest bi-atch that I've spoken to in a long time, including myself, which is saying something. I explaned the situation and her attitude was pretty much "oh, well." Needless to say, I got another automatic dialer message the next day, which motivated me to seek some internet help and that's how I stumbled onto this site. I took the advice above and called OCC for advice. I'm in the process of working it out now. In the meantime, I set my computer up to try to fax my do-not-call request to the Fashion Bug customer service line. The computer automatically dials the number every minute and tries to communcate with a fax on the customer service line. Hopefully it will successfully send the fax soon, but it is a toll-free line so the persistence isn't a problem for me in trying to get the fax through.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tina Hughes Mar 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To Lisa Bard. You should never have had to pay anything and you do have every right to request copies of receipts and signatures! I had a similar experience with Fashion Bug. I had closed my account in 1998. In June 2005, I was talked into reopening my old account and getting a big discount on my purchase. This process was a nightmare. The salesgirl was very young and had to rescan all of my many items 3 times. So, I had moved twice since I closed my account and she took my license to enter my information. I told her to make sure she gets my new address in which was on the back of the license. Oh, it's already in here. No worries. Yeah, okay! I NEVER received my new credit card and NEVER received a billing statement. I called several times within the 6 months after my purchase of approx. $98.00. The company told me that there was no record of my account being re-opened and no record of a new account being opened under my name. I tried to call the store where the purchases were made and they basically told me that I had to deal with headquarters. The last person I spoke to said "I wouldn't worry about it. If it turns up in the system, they WILL find you." That was a little scary. So, here it is THREE YEARS later, not one call, not one statement, letter, anything from Fashion Bug or Spirit of America. I get a letter from a debt recovery company stating that I owe $278.87 and they will make an offer of 70% for me to pay $195.21. Are you flipping serious?????!!! I am an honest person and tried on several occasions to pay the $98 that was owed to only be told that there is no record of my account. UNBELIEVABLE! I will be sending something like this in the form of a letter to Spirit of America, Fashion Bug, Retail Recovery Service AND the Better Business Bureau. I will pay the $98 that I owe and I would like to know where the $278.87 figure came from and if someone else has my card and is using it, I want to see copies of the receipts and signatures, etc. It is truly crazy that this has happened to so many people!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Apr 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just wish Catherines would allow you to pay online. Get up into the 21st century girls!

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    April Apr 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In order to open an account, you have to show ID. If the ID has the incorrect address, the salesperson has to call Spirit of America and set it straight immediately. A credit card is a credit card. When I choose to open an account, I make sure I walk away with a copy of the agreement. When dealing with credit, I would never walk away from a store "wondering" if my address was "in the system". I certainly would never apply for credit just because of pressure from the sales associate.

    When you apply and get approved for a Spirit of America account, the purchase automatically goes onto the card. You have 2 options. Immediately pay that bill with your original intended payment method, so that when the card comes in the mail there is a zero balance, or just wait for the bill. Whether the card or the bill comes on time or not, everything we pay for in life is on a monthly cycle. Should 30 days be creeping up, and there is no sign of either, refer to your agreement and/or eyeball your store receipt for the number you need to be calling to straighten it out.

    Don't leave with questions. Keep your receipts. Demand your credit card agreement/contract. Never hesitate to ask the store manager to investigate the matter, because transactions can be pulled up on the terminal, and verified, in approximately 5 minutes, as long as the manager has access to the account number in question.

    Be responsible when applying for credit; don't forget that it is your choice to make. Take responsibility for ensuring that the salesperson collects and enters your proper information. Keep your receipts. Always pay for what you owe, because every single company that exists in the world will either cut you off and/or charge you more.

    The OCC and BBB are probably throwing all of the Visa, Mastercard, Discover, Capital One, Spirit of America, etc. complaints in the same bin and laughing, while they turn their attention to real cases where the consumer has done everything possible to be a responsible adult.

    It is the 21st century, yes, and the mailman still does his job.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann Jun 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm just happy they finally take payments online.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marie in Virginia Jun 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow! I managed to make my online payment to Fashion Bug but didn't recognize the Spirit of America NB when it showed up on my bank account. I had to do a search to find out who had tapped me and was thankful it was someone I actually owed and not someone pilfering. I'm a bit distressed to read all the negative stuff that's been going on though. Even though I've had no problems I plan to pay my card off immediately and close the account. I only opened it in the first place because the store manager was giving my sales girl a hard time. The manager had put the hard sell on me and I had refused, then when I saw how she was treating the sales girl I offered to open it for her but only if she would get the commission. Pissed the manager off but the sales girl was very sweet and appreciative.

    I think I'll either be paying cash or using a not Fashion Bug card in the future. Thanks for the heads up ladies!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    jubiechop Jul 13, 2008

    i got a phone call from a robert adams saying that i owed 4890.. to fashion buh. i have not had that card for 4yrs. he then tried telling me that the acoount has been open since 2005 and they have ben sending letters to resolve this matter. he was sending the letter to an adress thati have not lived at for 6yrs. but he seemed to have my new number and my new house...hmmmmm so then he told me the only way i could pay was auto-matic debit and i told him no i do not give my ACC# to people over the phone. he then told me that i ahve to the 15th to decoed what action to take either pay my outstanding bill that way or go to court. he refused to give me the adress of siprit of america bank to send the payments there by money order. he said that is not an opttion of payment. by MA law and company, or collector have to take any for of payment, and any amount you wish to pay by month..it could even be 25 cents a month. he also told me that if i went to the store and paid it off my debt still would not be clear.

    if anyone else has been thru this please let meknow how you took care of it

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MaryAnn Mcgrath Sep 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    to Whom It May concern:
    I received a notice of payment with attached late charges. I had mailed the last notice with specific instructions that I did not need a premier card and pay 25.00. I pay my payments as soon as they come in and don"t need late charges like 20.00 attached to a small amt. Pleas remove my charges and let me know the balance if their is one.
    Thanks
    mary Ann McGrath

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Proud Employee Nov 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Spirit of America is no different than any other credit processing center with a few big exceptions. First they do care about their customers. How many companies out there will just remove fees because you didn't receive your statement. Not many. Most of the time the reason a customer doesn't receive one is that they move and DO NOT UPDATE THEIR ADDRESS. It states on the back of every credit statement from every company to call or write to customer service to update the address. Would you move and not inform the electric, telephone or water company. I don't think so. Do not go to the store and update your address and think that it is done. Like every company in America the stores that they provide credit for system's are strictly for advertisement, coupons. etc. This will not change your address for you account. Even if you do not plan on using your card update your address. It will keep things like this from happening in the future. As far as SOANB having an address that you have never lived at, all creditors use a program called skip trace. This program locates the best address for someone when mail is returned and no forwarding address is provided. Sometimes it gives a good address. Sometimes it does not.

    Let me explain the fraud process a little better for some. The federal government has enacted several credit laws that require banks to ask for certain pieces of information when investigating a fraud claim. The main piece required is a copy of a state issued ID (Your drivers license). This is how a bank knows that you are who you say you are. If a bank was to approve a fraud claim and not have that of a state issue ID, both the bank and cardholder would be effected. The OCC (Office of the Comptroller of Currency) sends auditors every year to review these files. If they find one without a copy of the state issued ID (drivers license) the bank would be fined and the amount would be required to go back onto the account with interest from the date of the transaction. The customer would then be held responsible for the amount. Not just by the bank, but by the OCC (government agency) as well.

    The "needs improvement" assessment by the OCC was not for the credit side of the business. It was for the CRA (Community Reinvestment Act). And this the company does a great job at for the size of the organization. The OCC compares companies in the same area. They do not take in account the size or financial income of the organization. SOANB is in the Cincinnati area. Therefore they are compared to companies like Proctor and Gamble (Tide, Johnson & Johnson, Dove, etc.). Obviously Proctor and Gamble is a huge company and can invest millions into the community. It is because of this that SOANB and most of the other companies in the areas are given a "needs improvement." It has nothing to do with the business side.

    Next the "rude" associates everyone are talking about are from collection agencies. An account goes to an agency because the creditor has not received a payment in 6 months. Again, this is like every other company in America. SOANB does everything in its power to advise agencies not to be "pushy". They understand that things come up in life and sometimes bills can't get paid. Ultimately it is up to the agency how they handle it. During that 6 month period before the account goes to an agency the banks collections departments call to get pay on the account. They do this so the account doesn't go to a collection agency. The collection department is a lot more reasonable and willing to work that an agency. However, like all companies collection departments, they receive one of the following:

    1. No answer
    2. Someone picks up the phone and then immediately hangs up.
    3. The person hangs up after they are advised where the caller is calling from.
    4. Someone answers and says that either the person is not home or doesn't live there.
    5. The person picks up the phone, yells and curses in the collectors ear and then hangs up.

    The last is usually the person that calls and complains that their account has been forwarded to an agency. Please remember this: If an account goes to an agency they are the only ones that can help you with the account. If a company has sent an account to an agency and then receives your payment they then have to forward that to the agency. This means it will take even longer for your payment to post.

    So when a collector calls just pick up the phone and talk with them. You would be surprised what you can accomplish.

    Credit companies have many programs to help out a customer such as hardship programs. These programs can allow you to have a lower minimum payment and reduced or zero fees for a set period of time (usually 6 months). I know SOANB has such a program. Also the collections departments can waive a lot of late fees for you if you make a payment. A collection agency won't do this. They want all their money as soon as possible. A bank's collection department will do everything in their power to help you out. They, unlike a collection agency, wants your account up to date so they can keep you as a customer. They appreciate you a lot more.

    In conclusion, when you call a creditor about an issue, talk to the person on the other end like a human being. They are there to do their job. That is to help the customer. Call center associates are constantly trained to be pleasant and helpful to you. What happens to you when someone is screaming and being unreasonable? You become less interested in helping them. That is how everyone is. Even someone that works a call center. The nicer you are the more willing and interested the phone associate will be in getting your issue resolved (If possible. There are laws and policies they have to follow, just like you do in your job). So when you call a creditor be prepared to verify name, address, home phone and last four digits of your social security number (they are required by law to verify this information). Calmly state your problem and let the associate handle it from there. You will be glad you did.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Woman of Spirit Mar 07, 2009

    I am happy to be the next one to comment after "Proud Employee." Spirit of America National Bank's harassing phone calls came less than one week after my payment of $33.15 was due to Catherines. I made my purchases of $33.15 in January of 2009. My bill was due February 13th. Yes, I did miss the payment, oversight on my part, but, in no way, did I expect to get 3 phone calls a day from "Milford, Ohio - NEVER identifying themselves as calls from Catherines. I assume when I heard that mechanical voice saying, "Hold on for an important message" that it was a telemarketer calling. If a "human" voice had said, "Hi, I'm calling from Catherines just to remind you that your payment of $33.15 was due on February 13. I would have apologized for forgetting and put the payment in the mail that day. Oh, yes, and the late fee of $20 - 60% fee on $33.15 - nice profit for Catherines! Finally, my husband could not stand the 3 calls a day, including the weekend - I thought the calls would have to stop sooner or later - wrong!!!

    So proud employee, you are wrong about a 6 month delay before being harassed. Spirit of America was on the job in less than a month!

    I did send in my payment - before it was late again - which would have been March 13th and, after reading the above horror stories, I can see where it would have been another $20 late fee tacked onto my $33.15 bill. However, I did, also, send in with my payment and late fee, my cut-up Catherines charge card and a letter closing my account with them. Now, I am worrying if that was enough. I think I better make sure I get a letter back from them acknowledging that they closed my account. Hmmm, should I call them 3 times a day till I get it?!

    Now, I was pleased to read above, I think it was Marie from Virginia, that even though she had not had a problem with her Fashion Bug card, after reading about what others had gone through, she was closing her account with Fashion Bug. I hope others will read these letters and do the same. I will tell everyone I know who has accounts with any of the Charming Shoppes to get rid of their charge cards with them. It is their harassment policy that we are protesting. This is no way to do business and call yourself "Spirit of America." Let's convey the "spirit of women" and send in those cut-up credit cards - please! Woman of Spirit

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RaeRaeRosesroses Mar 10, 2009

    Proud employee you are SADLY mistaken. Do they brainwash you there or something? As of right now, my fashion bug payment is not due until the 20th of this month. It is not late, but last month I did not pay enough to satisfy spirit of America, so they have decided to harass me endlessly. Yesterday I finally had enough, so I called the number back after the automated number called me for the 4th day in a row. After typing in my SS# twice and my zip code, pushing 1 then 2 then 1 then 2 then 1 then 2 AGAIN, and then pushing 0, I finally got a hold of someone that was actually human although not near as human as she should have been. I informed her that my payment was not due until the 20th, and as of right now I had no money to pay her, but would have money by then, and that I would appreciate that the phone calls stopped since I had called to let them know that my payment would be there soon. She informed me that they would be calling me again in 3 days. I informed her that I knew for a fact that as long as I talked to them, they could only call me once a week. I then asked her if she could put in a future date for my payment so they would know that it was on the way. She said no, and that they would be calling me again in 3 days. Today, the very next day TODAY ONE DAY after I called and talked to this VERY rude lady, from SPIRIT OF AMERICA NOT a collection agency my phone rang, and guess who it was? Thats right ladies and gentlemen, spirit of America. Not 3 days later, the very next day. I have not used my fashion bug card in a year and a half, since our fashion bug closed, yet they say I am over my limit. Hmmmmm thats interesting isnt it? How does one get over the limit when you cant use your card?

    1 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Mar 10, 2009

    I just wanted to take a moment and explain something to everyone about this company (Please do not think I am defending them, since I am not). They have a website where you can input an online payment. I followed the instructions and after all was said and done, I was informed that it would take 2-3 days for the money to be taken out of my account. Additionally, it would take an additional 1-4 days to post the payment to my account. Let me give you all a bit of information about this. If you do not pay off your balance in full, your interest is charged daily based on your "average daily balance". This being said, since it can take at least 4 business days to post to your account (in most instances it was 6) you are being charged interest for 4 days even though you paid off the account. So think of it from this perspective, they have your money out of your bank account, and then they are charging you interest. This goes against the Fair Credit Act of how interest is charged. When I spoke to 3 individuals on the phone, I just got the run around.

    I have dealt with large and small companies. Traditionally, when an online payment is made, the company posts it to your account the next (maybe sometimes the same) business day so that you don't have additional interest.

    All I can say is that buyer beware and this is not a company to do business with if you can help it.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    monkeypox Apr 23, 2009

    My wife and I just received a copy of our credit report. One of the accounts listed was CATH/SOANB. My wife doesn't remember opening the account, never received a statement, $0 balance. I suspect she filled out the application to get a discount one a purchase.

    We would like to close this account. Does anyone have the contact info, both phone and mailing address?
    After reading all the previous posts, I am scared to contact them, but I'd like to be proactive.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Another proud Spirit of America employee May 26, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am also a Spirit of America Employee. Here is some information from the above postings that may be helpful.

    If you have an account showing on a credit bureau and you don't remember opening the account, please call 513-576-8852 to speak with a representative in the customer care department. They will ask for required identifying information to attempt to locate an account. If they are unable to locate an account with your social security number, name or account number (best way), then you should contact the credit reporting agency from which you obtained the report and fill out a Consumer Dispute Verification form or CDV for short. This goes for any information that is not accurate. All companies are required to investigate the claim within a couple of weeks and resolve the manner by reporting the accurate information (which may be the same as before) or removing the information or correcting the information. All creditors then have to report back to all credit reporting agencies (not just the one who the dispute was filed with) within 30 days. It can take credit reporting agencies an additional 60-90 days to update their records after they have received the updated information. You can request from the creditor a letter confirming the information (if any) that was updated.

    You can easily enroll online to receive electronic copies of statements instead of having them mailed to you. This way you can ensure you will receive your statement the day it is available and have approximately 22 days to pay it. If you pay your bill online it does take 1-3 business days to get applied to your account. If you do not pay your balance in full and post by the due date, then finance charges are applied. If you pay less than your balance full and posts by the due date, then you will be applied a late fee ($20.00 for balances $100.00 and under $29.00 for balances over $100.00). This information is on the credit agreement and on the back of every statement. This is no different then any other creditor.

    The Premier membership fee is a $25.00 annual fee and is a card that you have to sign up for. We electronically store the signature for the request when you sign up in the store. If you do it through the mail then there is a paper copy stored of your signature. If you do not pay the $25.00 Premier membership fee or the minimum payment required posted by the due date, then there will be a late fee and finance charge applied.

    Collection calls occur the day after the billing cycle in which the payment was not received. We call everyday, several times a day until we contact the cardholder who missed a payment. We are not permitted by law to discuss the matter with anyone other than the person who obtained the credit or their spouse (there are states in which we are not permitted at all to discuss with a spouse without permission from the account holder).
    Reasons for call:
    Payment posted by due date
    Less than minimum payment required posted by due date
    If you answer and there is an automated line, if you hold for a very short period of time a representative will answer and be more than willing to assist you with questions regarding your account and would work with you on an arrangement to bring the account current. If you hang up before the arrangement is made we can call back daily (based on the delinquency of the account).
    If you are having a financial difficulty or forgot to pay, we understand. I know that it is embarrassing and frustrating to receive a collection call, however, the best way to deal with it and possibly avoid future calls is to pick up the phone the first time.
    If you do not recognize the number, you can use www.411.com click on the tab to reverse a number and it usually provides you with a company name. If you do not recognize the company name, there are search engines available to give you information about the company.

    Please remember, that if you sign up for a credit card (no matter with what company) there is responsibility on the consumer's part to pay, update information, read credit agreements, statements and continue to provide ongoing information about yourself (name updates, address changes, phone # changes, employer info). If you do not want us to call an employer, please say so and the call will not be made, however we still need the information. You gave the information to get the credit, you have to continue to give the info once the credit is obtained.

    Also, if somebody owed you $500.00 and hasn't paid you by the date they were supposed to. What would you do? Would you call them daily? Would you call them several times a day? Would you send them a letter? The customers I speak with say they would. If you are in a financial situation where you will not be able to pay, then do yourself a favor and don't charge. If you do and cannot or will not pay, then there are consequences.

    If you choose to speak with us, remember that we are sons and daughters, mothers and fathers and would you want someone to speak to someone in a disrespectful manner? We work because we have to and it is a good company, with benefits and I am proud to have been with Spirit of America for the many years of service I have given them. They are more respectful and willing to work with customers than other companies that I have worked with. You may be surprised if you picked up the phone.

    0 Votes
  • On
    On time with my payments! Jun 29, 2009

    How about this people. Pay your bills. I get sick of reading these things about a "horrible $20.00 late fee." The industry standard is $35.00 so consider yourselves lucky when you "forget" to pay your bill. As for the person that commented on Proud Employee, they can call seven days a week and as many times a day inorder to get a hold of a cardholder that isn't paying. If you take clothes out of a store without paying for them it is shoplifting and should be viewed the same by the law if you don't pay your bill. It is the same thing. After all that agreement you signed when you applied is a contract. For those of you that did get fees removed, feel fortunate. They didnt have to do that. And finally think about this. Maybe that person on the phone when you call isnt having such a great day. They have to listen to stories like these posts all day and get talked to like it is their fault. It's not. PAY YOUR BILLS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    macmamma53 Jul 13, 2009

    I paid both fashion bug and catherines off on july2, 2009 online. I even press the button to post the payment on that day. Now i understand that Spirit of america bank had a statement that i accepted that said that payments will be posted in 3 business days. Understading that this was a holiday week end, I started counting days from july 6. Now it is july 13th. it has been 6 bussiness days and the payments have not been taken out of my account. So what is the problem? I called, get the runaround. I am about to call the occ.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whawhawha Aug 13, 2009

    I am also an employee of SOANB and work in the collections department. I understand that it is upsetting and embarrassing to get a call from a 'collector'.
    In many cases these are reminder calls. They are neither a personal attack nor harrassment. they are a legal attempt to collect on a debt. A debt that was incurred by the cardholder...that would be the person who agreed to the terms and conditions of the card.
    Those jeans were not a donation! The easiest way to ensure no calls is to keep your account current.
    You can pay online at FashionBugcard.com/Catherinescard.com or LBCard.com.
    Always specify the date you want the payment posted and allow at least 7 days before your due date. By doing this you will never hear from us!
    If you do get a call, saying I will send a payment and hanging up will not stop the calls. We need a method(in store/by mail etc) amount and date and the calls will stop. But be warned, companies keep track of broken promises. So don't just say you are going to do it-DO IT!!
    And do not bother calling us names. We have heard them all before and they are not impressing us. You are probably not even the first to call us that today.
    Times are very tough right now...everywhere.I have seen accounts that are 30 years old and have never before been late and now are.That is why the company has made changes to their hardship program. To help customers to bring their account current without further fees and finance charges.
    I can tell you that SOANB is very strict about staying well within the law.Very strict! All calls are recorded and monitored regularly. Anyone caught going outside the law is out of a job.So quit acting like the bill collectors are out to get you and just pay on time.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tryingtodotherightthing Sep 24, 2009

    I had a Lane Bryant account that I defaulted on when my hours were cut drastically at work. When I got a phone call from Spirit of America Bank I told them I wanted to pay the debt. They told me I qualified for the Hardship Program. They were taking $50 each month for three months and then I had to "re-up" in three months time. I got a phone message to call them back because they needed to speak to me right away about my account. I CALLED THEM back to find out what was going on and the lady on the phone told me my payments were going up and I had to re-authorize because the hardship program was over. Ok, there was and is a reason I was a part of the hardship program and was paying what I could. Then she said she could set up 3 more months of the current payments. She put me on hold and then told me she could set up 5 months worth of payments. She put me on hold again and came back and told me she could set up 9 months worth of payments. We went through the calendar and told her what dates I could have the payment taken out. She had me give her my bank account information again, she told me because they shred the info. So I did. Then, all of a sudden some guy comes on the phone and tells me she can't authorize those payments and I had to come up with 70% of the bill for a settlement or pay an extra $149 on top of the $50 payment (which was coming out in two days). I told him I couldn't do it, I couldn't come up with the money in that amount of time. Then he told me that all the money they had taken from me already was for wasted because I wasn't part of the program anymore. I told him to erase the next payment that was do and he said he won't because I already agreed to pay it. That is when he told me I didn't want to come up with the money and I could if I wanted to. I told him my car payment was due the next week and I could not do it. Then he told me I should defer my car payment to pay them. I hung up. The tone of this guy's voice was so snide, I can't help but wonder if they wanted me to stop paying. I think the debt was sold or something and they wanted to extract as much as they could from me. I called the bank to put a stop payment on the impending transfer. My credit is already trashed. At least now I have another $50 to pay other bills now.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Virginia Beitzel Nov 09, 2009

    I am fed up trying to find out where I can cancel my Fashion Bug credit card. There is no phone number or address anywhere on the card.
    How can I do this?

    0 Votes
  • An
    Another proud Spirit of America employee Nov 09, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The number is 706-644-2194. Don't enter any account numbers, just press 0#0#. You will get right to a representative. They will ask for all of your information. If you have a Premier card, there is a $25.00 annual fee. Request that the full fee be waived and/or pay the remaining amount (typically under $5.00 since it is pro- rated). If you have a Premier card and the entire fee is not waived / paid for, the account will fall past due if this is the only remaining balance. You can request confirmation in writing.
    If you would rather send your request in writing:
    PO Box 84073
    Columbus GA 31908

    Make sure to include your entire name, current address and full account number for accuracy and to make sure your account can be located.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tamz Nov 11, 2009

    They are calling me 5 times a day every day weekends included. I recently lost a chunk of my income and I let them know ahead of time. I told them I would pay the debt in full in January but they tell me that is not good enough. I seriously am at a breaking point. I am failing school, I am unable to sleep. All this for a stupid swimsuit I ordered. My bill is 100.00 Now up to 160.00 because of their ungodly charges. I can't handle it any more. I am a victim of the Fargo Flood of 2009 we had here, and I am still trying so hard to put things on track again, and this bank is not helping me. If they do not stop I will lose it seriously. I can't handle the harassment any more. I would rather shut off my phone than hear from them again. I can't take it...every day. They threaten me saying they will call a hundred times a day until I pay...and they disregard my arrangements. I can't take it. I am near the breaking point with them and I am about to snap.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charrington Dec 02, 2009

    Ok i was told that as long as i payed my bill on time lane bryant wouldnt charge interest sooo now i have interest and i pay my bill at least 2 weeks in advance maybe i shouldnt have believed that but it was my first credit card and ive only had it 9 months

    0 Votes
  • An
    Another proud Spirit of America employee Dec 02, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You pay interest every month that you account carries a balance. Unless you pay the balance in full every month and it posts on or before the due date then you will not have any interest. Usually the interest is nominal, couple of dollars. It is the late fees that add up. As long as you pay as least you minimum and it posts no later than your due date you will not be charged a late charge.

    Keep in mind you methods of payment. Mailed payments take 7 days, give additional day for holidays. Online payments through you bank take 7 days. Online payments through our website take 2-3 business days. In store payments take 2-3 days to post, they are not same day. Phone payments post the same business day as long as the payment is made before 5pm EST. Phone payments to have a fee, however you can avoid a late fee if it is getting close to your due date.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tamz Mar 17, 2010

    Yeah they said that, and I fulfilled my end until they went back on theirs. So screw them. I am not paying for that bill anymore. They submitted 15 reports to my credit report after I paid in full...all bad...ONE MONTH I was late...### them. They are going down when I bring the FTC comptroller of banks and the attorney general and bbb on their butts. I have all recorded, every thing is there. I'm taking them to court.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    plafayette Oct 31, 2010

    I found it to be impossible to pay my bill on line, the web site sucks why can't they make it easier to pay, my time is limited and can't waste 20 minutes, it's soooo much easier to put a stamp on the bill and let them spend 20 minutes processing the bill !!!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed off n missouri Feb 04, 2011

    This is such BS! I had a credit card through Fashion Bug/Spirit of America and got charged ridiculous late fees, charges etc... I finally agreed to just settle the account in two payments of $63.03 and did so in 2009.
    Now in 2011 I get a call from a new collection agency saying I owe the FULL balance. I thought this was done and over with, I did what I was supposed to do...I don't have records of the settlement offer (its been 2 years!) but I do have the online checks where it does say PIF on the last one...of course that doesn't do me any good.
    How am I not hearing about this for 2 years after I paid it [email protected]!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem