The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Dry Basement Solutions/Basement RxHorrible Service

K Review updated:

Beware! Dry Basement Solutions was apparently Basement Rx, which was previously something else all within a short period of time, as they have so many bad reviews, BBB complaints, etc. I made the mistake of hiring this company last spring for mold remediation and waterproofing, so that my family could remodel the basement. The sales guy came out, tols us the job would cost $13, 000, but they would give us a 25% discount for booking the job that day, as they had workers they were paying for doing nothing as there was limited work at the time. WE negotiated a bit more and got the price roughly down to $8000. The salesguy also told us if our doc writes us a note to have the mold removed, its completely tax deductible. We had the work done (or so we thought) and 5 weeks later there was water in our basement. We called several times, Basement Rx at the time, and calls were never returned. WE repeatedly asked to speak with the owner, Stephen Schulz, but he never called us and was never reachable, although he was very easy to get in contact with when we wanted an estimate to have our basement finishIed, but then he never showed up when he was supposed to for that. Finally, we received a call back after I threatened to contact the BBB, Comsumer Reports, Attorney General, media. We received a voicemail indicating that a team would be out on a certain date for service. They did not give us a choice or ask if we were available. The crew did come back out and did some additional work, but the most disturbing thing was that the foreman told us that he was instructed by the owner, Stephen Schulz, not to call us back. We still do not know if our basement is waterproofed, as we have not had substantial rain this summer, and our child's dream of having a basement playroom has been destroyed. When basement Rx did not call us back initially, we had other companies out to give us an estimate on remediating the problem. We were told we paid way too much and that it not appear any of the mold had been removed. Now it appears that the company has changed names once again, and it additionally appears that Stephen Schulz has been brought up on criminal charges for hundreds of thousands of dollars of tax evasion. I don't know how this man goes to sleep at night with the way he lives his life. When negotiating ANY services, the bst advice I can give is to check BBB records, Consumer Reports, and cross reference President's name with a google search. You can also call any accreditations they claim to have on their websites.

Responses

  • Al
    Almost caught Sep 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Also got the late night estimate and "quick, take offer now to receive 25% discount". Then we checked google and yahoo. Guranteed Dry Basement Solutions has the NAWSRC logo on their agreemnt, but they are not listed as members, neither is Marc Pressman, the salesman - who requested the check be made payable to him and not the company. We're just very grateful we found these complaints in time to stop us making a serious error.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathryn Dec 22, 2008

    These are the same crooks operating under yet a new name, from my research I've been able to determine that they've been Basement Doctor, possibly Aqua TEchnologies operating in MD and maybe DE, then Basement Rx, The Original Basement Rx, and now Guaranteed Dry Basement Solutions. There is a new president listed, but it is the same website as Basement Rx had...now under drymybasement.net. They say they are BBB and NAWSRC accredited, but this is a lie! I will be forwarding the information to the BBB and AWSRC. I hope I can continue to save people from these crooks, and I will continue to do what I can to expose this. I'm sure Stephen Schultz is the mastermind behind this scheme as well, and hopefully one day soon he will be in prison.

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Jun 03, 2009

    Indeed your hope has come to fruition. Mr. Shultz and his entire group of crooked cronies are headed to Federal prison for a long time. The long arm of the law has finally caught up with these crooks:

    http://www.law.com/jsp/article.jsp?id=1196244272306

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    princeton Aug 05, 2009

    Marc Pressman of this group is now working with a company called Healthy Home. Beware of this company too! Same scam: quick estimates with super high fees ($10K) to save your basement from all the heavy flooding this summer. They subcontract out to inexperienced day laborer crews who do horrible, subpar work. Do not work with any of these basement/ mold remediation companies who make big claims and promise immediate results. They are scam artists.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Healthy Way Aug 14, 2009

    Healthy Home has NO affiliation with Basement Doctor, Basement Rx, etc. Just because Marc Pressman works for us does not give you the right to put this in writing without any proof. We do not use day-laborers. We use a combination of in-house crews & independent contractors that work only for us & have a minimum of 10 years of experience. I have personally been in this industry for more than 16 years & have an excellent reputation. Please feel free to check my background. You will see that your statement is unfounded.
    If you would like you could contact me directly at [protected] to discuss this further. I will be forwarding these statements to my attorney. I refuse to allow anyone to try to ruin my reputation with nothing but assumptions!!

    Very truly yours,
    Robert Lanfrank
    Owner of Healthy Home, LLC

    0 Votes
  • He
    Healthy Way Aug 15, 2009

    P.S. Marc Pressman no longer works for Healthy Home!

    0 Votes
  • He
    Healthy Way Sep 04, 2009

    Marc Pressman now works for a company called Aqua Dri Waterproofing. This is definitely the next Basement Doctor, Basement Rx, etc. Just do some research on this company & you'll see what I mean. They've only been in business for 6 months & they are already causing havoc in the industry. The owner's name is Al Demola. BEWARE!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peter reese Sep 11, 2009

    I HAPPENED UPON THIS SITE WHEN I NOTICED THE POSTING BY HEALTHY HOME...I HAD THE CHOICE TO USE THEM OR AQUA DRI. I CHOSE AQUA DRI...THEY WERE MORE PROFESSIONAL AND DID NOT USE SCARE TACTICS. WHEN HEALTHY HOME WAS IN MY HOME, THE SALESPERSON WAS HORRIBLE. THIS MUST BE A DIRECT REFLECTION OF THE OWNER. INSTEAD OF BASHING OTHER COMPANIES I THINK MR. LANFRANK SHOULD TAKE A LOOK AT WHAT HE IS DOING WRONG. THE AQUA DRI PEOPLE WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND EFFICIENT. THE OWNER SHOWED UP WHILE THE WORK WAS BEING PERFORMED AND WAS A COMPLETE GENTLEMAN. IF THEY WERE THAT BAD (AS MR. LANFRANK SAYS) WHY DO I SEE THEM IN EVERY MAILER, AND EVEN ON TELEVISION. YOU DON'T GET TO BE THAT BIG BY RIPPING PEOPLE OFF. THEY PROVIDED REFERENCES FOR ME AND I HAD OVER ONE HUNDRED TO CHOOSE FROM, WE CALLED TEN NAMES AND ALL RAVED ABOUT AQUA DRI AS I AM NOW. I HAVE REFERRED THEM IN THE PAST SEVERAL WEEKS TO A FEW OF MY FRIENDS. THREE USED THEM AND HAD THE SAME WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE WE HAD. AS YOU SAID ABOUT RUINING YOUR REPUTATION I AM GOING TO NOTIFY AQUA DRI TOMORROW SO THEY CAN NOTIFY THIER ATTORNEY. THIS SOUNDS LIKE SOMEONE WHO WHINES AND IS A SORE LOOSER. PEOPLE LIKE YOU SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO OWN A BUSINESS IN NJ.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Sylvia Kriebel Oct 01, 2009

    I am now reading some of the complaints re: BASEMENT RX and I too have a comment. I had them do work for me in NOV of 2006. The work was shotty, discusting and everyother word that's out there. After the work was done I put a stop payment on my $11, 000+ check. He came down personally and followed me all around the house to collect another check. Now I still have more problems than I did before and the so called NEW sump pump they put in my basement stopped working over a year ago. They never got a permit and were sued by the CITY OF TRENTON for not getting one for me. Someone from the city also came to my house to check everything and the job totally FAILED INSPECTION! I have ALL of my documents and I am now going to take some action in court against Steven Schultz personally because his company doesn't exist anymore.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Research Guy Jan 09, 2010

    Healthy home is now under the Healthy Way Waterproofing name, same address. Probably just a way out of warranty work and lawsuits.

    0 Votes
  • Cz
    C.Zanna Mar 05, 2010

    I was the owner of Healthy Home. I will confirm that Healthy Way is in no way affiliated with Healthy Home. Also, their address is not the same as ours. We were located in South Plainfield. They are located in Red Bank.

    We did not close to get out of warranty work & lawsuits. We had a big problem with some of our salesmen stealing our leads & giving them to other companies. The economy didn't help either. We were a very reputable company & NEVER had a lawsuit. Mr. Research Guy, please stop making statements about companies or people unless you have the facts. You're probably an employee for another waterproofing company that is jusy trying to hurt Healthy Way. As far as I know they are a very reputable firm!

    0 Votes
  • Cz
    C.Zanna Mar 05, 2010

    By the way, because of our concern about our customers still having a warranty after we closed, we gave our customer list to another waterproofing company. This company is offering warranties & maintenance plans to all of our customers.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    ALYNEW Mar 31, 2010

    AQUI-DRI IS THE WORST WATERPROOFING COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH. THEY NEVER COMPLETED THE WORK AND NEVER TOLD US THE BACKUP BATTERY FOR OUR THREE SUMP PUMPS WAS NOT HOOKED UP. THEY LEFT WITH THE FINAL PAYMENT AND NEVER TOLD US ABOUT IT. WE WERE LATER TOLD AFTER SEVERAL PHONE CALLS BY US THAT THEY WERE WAITING FOR A PART. AN APPOINTMENT WAS SCHEDULED FOR MONDAY. NOBODY EVER CALLED OR CAME, SO WE CALLED YET AGAIN AND WERE TOLD THEY WOULD BE OUT TUESDAY BETWEEN 12 AND 4 IN THE AFTERNOON. AGAIN, NOBODY EVER CALLED OR CAME. HOWEVER, THE WORKMEN DID COME AT 9 THAT EVENING AND WERE LATER YELLED AT BY THE OWNER AL FOR TELLING US THE TRUTH!! WE PAID OVER $20, 000 FOR THIS BEYOND AWFUL JOB. THE OFFICE AND AL THE OWNER HAVE BEEN HORRIBLE TO DEAL WITH AND THE SALESMEN GARY STOUT HAVE DONE NOTHING BUT LIE TO US. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY, UNLESS YOU JUST WANT TO THROW YOUR MONEY AWAY!!! WE ALSO HAVE SENT A COMPLAINT TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU.

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wet basements made wetter Apr 14, 2010

    Robert Robert Robert...Do you really think people are stupid? Healthy Home Waterproofing and Healthy Way are the same. Maybe you should look into a different industry and stop giving us good waterproofers a bad name.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Healthy Way Apr 23, 2010

    No, I do not think people are stupid. Though my thoughts about you may differ. I'll be glad to sit down with you or anyone else face-to-face & prove that your idiotic accusations are just a ploy to hurt me. The fact that 8 days ago, when you placed this message, that you found the time to sit on your computer & worry about me proves alot about the company you work for & you. Every one in this industry is busier than ever & you're sitting on your computer worrying about me?? What a compliment! I am truly flattered!!!

    1 Votes
  • Th
    thisis Dec 30, 2010

    I agree. Robert is stupid. Healthy Home Waterproofing and Healthy Way is the same company. He cheated hundreds of customers not honoring their warranty. This company should never be trusted. RUN, HIDE, if they knock on your door. This company came to my house, pressured my husband and I for over four hour until we signed the contract. Once they started the job, everything they told us was a lie. They didn't do what they promised. They changed our price by more than $4, 000. DO NOT TRUST ANYTHING THEY SAY. They even told me that after the job was completed they were going to come back and check the system. HAHAHA, NOT TRUE, AGAIN. My basement leaks worse now before they came, and I am out over $16, 000. What a learning experience. Don't be fooled. Deal with someone honest! It's the best advice that I could give you.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Sylvia Kriebel Mar 24, 2012

    Still looking for Stephen (Steven) Schultz with Basement RX or whatever they might be now. He has yet to answer to me for the horrible job his company did for me. I'm a lot stronger mentally now after his BIG RIPOFF & I am going to figure out where he is. I still have all my documents and complaints I made to the City of Trenton!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Pennington, NJ Aug 28, 2012

    We used Basement RX with Marc Pressman in 2007. They were horrible and I regretted using them. Now 5 years later we have mud and water pouring in from our foundation. They also never applied for permits. Not sure what to do now or who to call. I was happy when I googled Stephen Schultz and found out that he was indicted. What a crook. I do have a signed document from the foreman, John Hunter, stating a guarantee of all workmanship & guaranteeing against water penetrating the sub soil wall and floor, but I can't locate him either. So glad we have a lifetime guarantee with a company that no longer exists.

    1 Votes
  • La
    Lansdale Nov 02, 2012

    Let me know if you ever find that crook. I had the same story in 2006 with an extra twist that I disputed the credit card card when they would not return or show up as scheduled. Stephen Schutlz recharged my credit card without my authorization (so I guess they kept it on file. Capital One is the most inept credit card company and reversed the charge back AND would not let me dispute the second charge. I had to get the local police to threaten Schultz that he either give us a certified check for the extra $10K or else be arrested for theft. All of this took a year to get our money back. Besides that, our wonderful battery backup sump pump did not work when we lost our power with Hurricane Sandy last week. Basement Rx contract specifically says that there is a lifetime guarantee on the backup, yet the owner manuals say a one year guarantee. How can blatantly lie like that?!? They are cockroaches!

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Sylvia Kriebel Mar 24, 2019

    @Lansdale Did you ever find Stephen Shultz? I now have a big problem in my basement since he did work for me in 2006. I have to have a mason come in and fix the problems he has caused.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevinm0978 Dec 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    look at affordable waterproofing llc based in Delran NJ same guy Gary Stout is there

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryaboutdemola Feb 19, 2014

    they live in cranbury and their older sons go to princeton high school and daughter attends cranbury elementary. they are always around cranbury

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Sylvia Kriebel May 01, 2017

    I even found the address where Basement RX was. Of course it no longer exists. I went there about 3-4 years ago just in case the name was still on the building...not... I am going to do some more research on Stephen Schulz.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Soakedagain Jun 03, 2019

    I am now unfortunately wrapped up with this Guy as well and have problems. Did any of you actually sue them? Can I speak with any of you directly. I'm looking for info to use against them...

    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Sylvia Kriebel Aug 31, 2020

    @Soakedagain I’d like to sue him and his company. I had gotten in touch with a person because he saw that I had that I had complaints about Stephen Schulz and basement RX. He never got back in touch with me. I’m going to try and contact him again.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem