Dr. Jan V. KarlinDisfigured after breast surgery

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

In October of '07 I had a breast augmentation and lift. Within 2 weeks, my breasts turned necrotic and I lost both nipples and areolae. During that 2 weeks I told him that I felt a great deal of pressure in my chest. His nurse even pointed out what looked like a big bubble under my skin. This man suggested that I get some Valium and just relax.

After my breasts had rotted, I had a second surgery to repair the damage. I was told that there was at least 300 ccs of fluid in each pocket but the implants were intact...thus the pressure and the reason I lost my nipples and areolae.

Two weeks after the second surgery in Nov, while he was on vacation, the sutures tore open on both sides. His office just let them open up. When i asked him why any of this was happening all he would say is "I don't know. I've never seen this before". He has been a PS for 15 years and he'd never seen it.

Thanks to his staff of wonderful ladies, his office paid for a V.A.C. machine and I was hooked up to it for 6 weeks while the tennis ball sized holes in my chest very slowly healed closed. My darling husband had to change my dressings every 72 hours.

I have since gone to another surgeon who says I am deformed.

Do NOT go to this man! Do NOT give him another opportunity to botch again.

Responses

  • Al
    AliBa Aug 20, 2019

    BEWARE of this doctor! He performed surgery on a friend of mine in 2013 and she is still suffering the consequences to this day! He replaced implants from many years before, something she later learned should never be done due to high risk of infection. She began showing signs of infection almost immediately, but when she went back to the office they ignored the fever and abnormal swelling that she complained about. Eventually she saw another surgeon who admitted her to the hospital immediately where she almost died from sepsis. The new surgeon did his best to remove the infection but it had been in her too long at that point. She ended up having a third surgery to remove a breast, along with a substantial amount of her surrounding muscle tissue. There is permanent nerve damage and daily pain still, 5 years later. I have permission to give her email address if anyone would like to contact her for any more details. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maryann1232 Aug 22, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dr. Karlin seemed like a wonderful man at my consultation with him the other week. From the moment I entered the office, I was greeted by the friendly faces of the staff, and when I went in to see the doctor I was pleasantly surprised by his humor and demeanor.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lilly555 Aug 22, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Had my lips done there. Nice place. Staff was also helpful and they also had a finance program

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Samantha Capecrom Aug 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dr. Karlin performed a flawless surgery on me a few months ago and I love my results. He and his staff were both very nice and very competent people.

    3 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruhi23 Aug 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a hard time believing this post. I have had several surgeries done and they all came out perfect. I have never seen this posting before. It look like it is 10 years old!

    2 Votes
  • Ke
    Keiron Ramoutar Oct 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dr. Karlin is nothing short of awful. He and his office staff are very, very rude. Additionally, he is NOT good at his job. He rushes everything, including the surgery, which results in bad work. I had liposuction (which I truly regret) with him years ago. He did not take the full amount of fat allowable by law and left my body very uneven which years later I still have issue with. As soon as I was done he wanted to talk about more surgery instead of my dissatisfaction. Botched! Stay away!

    -1 Votes
  • La
    LAAJAA Jul 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    While I am SOOOO sorry to hear of your horrible experience with this physician, are you (were you) aware that Dr. Karlin is NOT a board-certified plastic surgeon? As a matter of fact, he is NOT boarded in ANY specialty whatsoever! He DID graduate from medical school...it is unclear exactly what kind of residency he did...he IS NOT and NEVER WAS board certified by the American Board of Plastic Surgery (or ANY medical specialty, for that matter)! He operates out of his office...he does not operate out of a hospital, meaning he has no hospital privileges! Any doctor can perform any procedure they want...it's up to the patient to do their homework! Don't let the fancy website, or fancy way he/she talks, or the way they try to twist words around to fool you. It is every patient's responsibility to ask their "plastic surgeon" if they are board certified by THE AMERICAN BOARD OF PLASTIC SURGERY. Period. If they try to double-talk you, or talk you in circles, or tell you about all of their other "certifications", WALK AWAY!!! Sorry you had to learn that the hard way!!! Hope you are doing well all these years later!!! :)

    -1 Votes
  • Or
    OrlandoChristina Mar 05, 2012

    Maria Myrback you need a better lawyer, you violated your own alleged agreement by blogging on every website possible about this event. And no, i'm not one of the doctor's agents, i know you...and your purple haired ridiculous self. YOU caused your own issues.

    2 Votes
  • Maria_Myrback Sep 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Something else I forgot to mention: The morning after surgery, I was already deeply bruised from my midsection to my collarbone. A nurse from another practice that I spoken with suspects that, according to her, 'something went horribly wrong during surgery' to cause that level of bruising. Another nurse thought it was probable that I had been dropped during surgery. So there were already issues right out of the gate.

    -1 Votes
  • Maria_Myrback Sep 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To Orlando Christina: you seem to know intimate details about this case. You would also know that Dr. Karlin approved the use of my "ridiculous herbal remedy" and I have a witness to that effect. I also stopped using it when the bruising got worse. And if you want to talk about "ridiculous herbal remedies", lets talk about the homeopathic arnica that Dr. Karlin gave me for use before the surgery. If you know anything about homeopathy you know that it's a bunch of disproven, harmful bunk. These little sugar pills have nothing in them! Homeopathic "remedies" are diluted to the point that not even a single molecule of the original substance exists in them. I still have that bottle sitting right here on my desk.

    Second: the necrosis was more likely caused by too much pressure from the serous fluid buildup in the pocket. When I complained about the pressure, instead of actually addressing the issue, the man had the gall to tell me to "take a Valium and relax". After the implants were removed, over 300 ccs of serous fluid buildup was found in EACH POCKET. At a subsequent checkup one of his nurses at the time even pointed out a big bubble in my skin. I call that negligence.

    Third, since you have knowledge of my case then you have knowledge of the legal agreement as well. Since you are one of Dr. Karlin's "agents", I will consider this a breech of said contract. Dr. Karlin's name is, therefor fair game and will be disclosed accordingly. Have a nice day.


    AND when I asked why this was happening, he actually said "I don't know. I've never seen anything like this". Am I supposed to believe that a surgeon of (at the time) 15 years of experience had never seen necrosis? Not even in medical school?? Give me a frickin break.

    -2 Votes
  • Or
    OrlandoChristina Feb 02, 2011

    The lady complaining about your breasts...you're leaving out the fact that you rubbed your ridiculous herbal remedy and aromatherapy stuff into your breasts and stitches, and that probably CAUSED your problems.

    2 Votes
  • No
    Nosferatu Jul 25, 2010

    Dr. Karlin was quickly annoyed by my questions. He was very defensive and his responses were loaded with sarcasm. Following the advice of my family physician, I logged on The American Board of Plastic Surgery at www.abplsurg.org. and realized that he is NOT a board certified plastic surgeon! A fact I cannot disregard as the plastic surgery field is populated with crooks.

    -1 Votes
  • De
    dealpitcher Aug 05, 2009

    Hard to believe this as I have been a patient of Dr Karlin for several years. The staff and Dr Karlin have been very professional with me and my care. I had one issue and it was taken care of immediately. I guess there is always two sides to every story. I have recommended several of my friends to Nova Cosmetic Center and they have been extremely satisfied. Sorry about your bad experience. I wish you well in the future.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    AliBa Aug 20, 2019

    @dealpitcher I have absolutely no problem believing her story as it is very similar to what happened to a very good friend of mine. Dr Karlin ( I'm using the term "dr" very loosely) performed surgery to replace implants she had done years before. She started showing signs of infection by the same evening, and continued to have fevers and abnormal swelling. This person did nothing for her except allow the infection to grow worse to the point that she became septic and almost died. After another surgery to try to remove a ridiculous amount of pus from her chest, she eventually had to have one of her breasts removed, along with a lot of surrounding muscle tissue, which left her disfigured and in pain indefinitely. The second surgeon informed her that the first surgery should never have been performed, due to the high risk of infection when replacing implants. A good surgeon would have known that and saved this poor woman all of the pain and problems she has had for the last 5 years.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.