Dr Ian Housegocosmetic surgery

O Apr 03, 2018
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I made the mistake of choosing Dr Housego to perform neck liposuction, cheek + chin and chin implant surgery on me. Firstly, he and his staff never responded to my emails and never gave me the opportunity to customise my procedure. From the moment he put the cheek implants in they I knew they were much too big, and since then I have had many revision surgeries to ‘get it right', however each time he went in to fix his previous mistakes he only made it worse. Six months after having them put in, and 3 surgeries later, the implants are now removed and it's the best decision I've ever made. Unfortunately as a result of Dr Housego cutting my face open so many times, there is now unwanted bulk (especially the left side) in the form of scar tissue. While the chin implant has brought more symmetry and balance to my face, it still lacks forward projection and I believe I could have achieved a much better result had I chosen a different surgeon who would have listened to my needs. Much of Dr Housego's decision making has consisted of ‘trial and error' and I believe he does not understand the basic principals of male and female facial aesthetics. I must also mention, there has been a fairly consistent level of unprofessionalism with Dr Housego (at least in my experience anyway). There were just too many things that went wrong. For example, during one revision surgery he decided to operate on me despite not having the correct equipment and lighting. Another time he failed to use enough anaesthetic during the operation and continued to cut into me until I screamed out in pain. During another revision surgery he was constantly swearing at the staff member assisting him with the procedure and made us both feel very uncomfortable. My experience with his man has been nothing short of physically and emotionally traumatising. I spent many months last year hiding away from the world and worrying about my appearance as a result of the surgeries performed by Dr Housego. I strongly believe he DOES NOT have the experience he claims to have. My advice to anyone considering having cosmetic surgery is to research your surgeon thoroughly. Don't make the mistake I made by choosing the most convenient/cheapest surgeon in the area. Travel interstate/overseas if you need to and find someone who knows what they're doing.

Responses

  • Al
    Alex7575 Jul 10, 2018

    Wow so interesting and disturbing to read other stories about dr Ian Housego. I underwent liposuction, laser and fat transfer to my face 12 months ago and have been left traumatised and scarred. The day of my surgery I was sedated with twilight anesetic and during the procedure I remember clear as day coming in and out of anesetic. I remember so well the burning on my face from the laser and that was nothing compared to what I was to endure next . I had completely come out of the anesetic and was wide awake when dr Ian Housego said he had finished and I said have you done my legs and he said no but can continue and use a injection of a local anesetic. I was told it would completely numb me . As Dr Housego start liposuction on my legs I started to scream and said I can feel that and he didn’t stop . I will never forgot the pain that day . My body started to shake uncontrollably because I had gone into shock and was absolutely freezing cold and screaming I’m trying to be strong but this is really [censored]ed up . My story has way more to it and I will share rest later. I am left with permanent scarring on my stomach and scarring on tops of legs, he needs to be put in jail for what he has done to my life and other people.

    4 Votes
  • Ov
    OverthisBS Jul 16, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Alex7575 Sorry to hear about your experience. I couldn't agree more, the guy should be in jail there's no question about it. At times i swear i have PTSD from the terrible experiences he put me through. Thanks for sharing

    5 Votes
  • An
    Anon546! Jul 11, 2018

    I too had a very similar experience to the above. It was all so traumatic and now I’ve been left Feeling worse about my body and it’s been 12 months since the surgery. I wish I’d never had it done.

    2 Votes
  • Ov
    OverthisBS Jul 16, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Anon546! For some reason I couldn't reply through message, so I will here instead. Sorry to hear about you experience. Words cannot describe how much I hate the guy.

    My procedure cost $10k all up. Fortunately, I only paid $5k upfront, and he kept asking me for direct debit payments for the rest but I never agreed after how things went. Next thing i know his business has shut down and he's nowhere to be seen or heard of.

    I also feel completely ripped off, betrayed and lied to. I'm guessing if you threaten him with legal action it may get his attention. I have his mobile number if that is of interest to you (although you probably would already have it).

    3 Votes
  • Sk
    skipman Aug 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @OverthisBS Hi GUYS,
    We are a business who is also looking for Dr Housego. If you have any information about his location or where he is now practicing, please feel free in contacting us at [email protected]
    Thank you

    1 Votes
  • Se
    severely assaulted Sep 05, 2018

    @skipman Dr Housego assaulted me during a procedure as well as inappropriate behaviour he failed to give me any follow up treatment and has made my life a living hell. He has gone on the run and is staying at his mothers house in Lismore.

    4 Votes
  • Lo
    looking for Dr Housego Oct 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @severely assaulted Hello. I am very sorry to read about what Dr Housego did with you. It would be great if you were able to shed some more light on his whereabouts. I'm not familiar with this complaints Board so do you know how we can get in contact with each other. I am currently trying to help another victim of this undesirable.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Sue21 Jan 09, 2019

    @looking for Dr Housego Aspire Dental and Specialist Clinic is now listed at Emerald Qld., however the number listed goes thru to answering machine.

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlotte29 Apr 16, 2019

    @skipman Gracemere family medical practice

    3 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlotte29 Apr 16, 2019

    @severely assaulted Gracemere family medical practice he is working at

    5 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlotte29 Apr 16, 2019

    @skipman He is working at Gracemere family medical practice

    5 Votes
  • Le
    Leigh70 May 08, 2019

    @skipman Gracemere Family Practice

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Christian name Jun 23, 2019

    @skipman Gracemere medical centre

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned-Kerrie Oct 05, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @severely assaulted Hi could you please contact me ASAP to confirm this is the same doctor. Kerrie

    1 Votes
  • Hi
    High Kite Oct 12, 2020

    @Concerned-Kerrie He is currently suspended from working at Gracemere Family Practice. There is a facebook page called Support Dr Ian Housego for people who are trying to get him reinstated. He says he was suspended because he failed a drug test. Don't know if its true or not.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Sue21 Jan 09, 2019

    Ian Housego is also a dentist. Had dental work by him which turned into an absolute nightmare. Had to go to another dentist to correct the work he had done. His mistakes could not be fixed. Never returned calls. He operated from surgery in Noosaville which is now closed.

    4 Votes
  • Gr
    Grace_Mere Apr 16, 2019

    Dr Ian Housego is working at Gracemere Family Practice.
    Gracemere Family Practice
    12 April at 19:05 ·
    INTRODUCING

    Dr Ian Housego

    We are pleased to welcome Dr Ian Housego to our team at Gracemere Family Practice.

    Dr Housego graduated from the University of Queensland in 2000 where he completed his MBBS, and he gained his RACGP Fellowship in 2009. He has worked all over Queensland, having done placements, locum work and general practice from the South-East to Northern Queensland. Dr Housego was also a Regimental Medical Officer with the Australian Army for a period of time.

    Dr Housego has a very keen interest in skin surgery, having several years of experience as well as advanced training in skin surgery.

    Dr Housego will be starting with us from Monday 15 April 2019. He will be available for appointments Monday to Friday 8 AM to 6 PM and Saturdays from 8:30 AM to 12 PM.*

    Online appointments on HealthEngine will be available next week.

    *Availability may be subject to change.

    -5 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlotte29 Apr 16, 2019

    @Grace_Mere Does NOT have advanced experience in skin surgery BE CAREFUL

    5 Votes
  • Gr
    Grace_Mere Apr 18, 2019

    @Charlotte29 Go to APHRA website and search his name, he does have Conditions and Undertaking in relation to his registration which was imposed Nov 28th 2018.

    4 Votes
  • Pe
    Pendulum024 Apr 30, 2019

    @Grace_Mere It’s beyond me why anyone would choose to hire Ian Housego. He is a liability, demonstrates reckless behaviour and does not have the experience he claims to have. Only a matter of time before he becomes a story on A Current Affair.

    7 Votes
  • Su
    Sue21 Apr 24, 2019

    Yes, the AHPRA website makes for some interesting reading on housego. Many pages. They got him.

    2 Votes
  • Un
    unknown987654321 Mar 10, 2020

    @Sue21 If they got him, he would no longer be practicing. It's ridiculous that he is still aloud to practice considering the number of complaints there are against him.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Sue21 Apr 24, 2019

    ''...Dr housego has a very keen interest in skin surgery...''

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrt-025 Feb 03, 2020

    In December 2019, Ian Housego faced criminal charges in court for illegally growing cannabis in his Gracemere home... google the story.

    2 Votes
  • De
    Delly Davis Sep 25, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    He’s been suspended and now there’s a huge movement to get him back . He has half the community hooked on s8 drugs

    3 Votes
  • Mr
    MrsMag Oct 03, 2020

    @Delly Davis What a load of crap!! Exactly where do you get off accusing someone of getting people hooked drugs... grow up if this guy was such a danger to the communities he’s worked in I’m sure he would’ve been suspended a long time ago...maybe look into exactly why and what he was doing within his community before you judge on something you obviously have no idea about!!!

    -6 Votes
  • Hi
    High Kite Oct 10, 2020

    @Delly Davis You sure are right there. There are people desperate to find another doctor to prescribe the massive amount of drugs he was.

    2 Votes
  • Hi
    High Kite Oct 10, 2020

    @MrsMag He has been in trouble for years, why do you think he keeps moving around?

    4 Votes
  • Un
    unknown987654321 Oct 26, 2020

    @MrsMag He was suspended a long time ago - three years in fact, maybe you should do your research and look into the complaints above maybe then you will understand why he is such a danger to the community.
    [redacted]. All these reviews above have not come from thin air, these are people who trusted him and who he let down because he thought he was qualified to do treatments that he wasn't.
    Maybe you're the one who should be doing there research.

    -1 Votes
  • Hi
    High Kite Oct 10, 2020

    There was a big bbq for him at one of the local parks in Gracemere where he now lives. He turned up looking like he had gone 10 rounds with Mike Tyson. Someone isn't happy with him.

    3 Votes
  • Un
    unknown987654321 Oct 26, 2020

    @High Kite Also a facebook "Support Dr Ian Housego" facebook group.

    Very interested to know what happened to his face...

    2 Votes
  • Pe
    Pendulum024 Oct 12, 2020

    I hope karma catches up with this disgrace of a human being... Ian housego has ruined many lives. Wake up people.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.