Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Products & Services Discover My Mobility The rep was incompetent

Discover My Mobility  -  The rep was incompetent

R
Author of the complaint
7:30 am EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

My friend said that it was his worst deal with the company Discover My Mobility. He decided to order scooter and before he did it, he called to the customer services. There was a guy, who basically knew nothing about scooters and told some nonsense to my friend. My friend was lucky, because he was a fan of the scooter and knew a lot. He understood that it was risky to purchase from this company, which knew absolutely nothing about their production.

ADVERTISIMENT
7 comments
Add a comment
K
May 28, 2022 10:35 am EDT

I was going to purchase a scooter but after reading several comments I've decided to take my business elsewhere. Don't need to deal with arrogant people

S
May 11, 2022 2:57 pm EDT

Please, do NOT purchase anything from this company. You will likely be taken advantage of. You will lose money, you may receive a broken purchase, and your order will definitely be missing something. You will spend time calling, and e-mailing them trying to get things fixed, sent, etc.. You will get Mary, who apologizes for all their mistakes, but who continues to work for a man that she knows is taking advantage of people, and worse. They will put you through to the "tech guy" Mike, who is actually the owner named Michael Woods. He is arrogant, and condescending, and doesn't know what he is talking about.

Honestly, save yourself a massive headache, and time, and buy locally, or at least from someone online who is more reputable. If you are buying a motorized wheelchair, make sure before you buy it, that there is somebody in your local area who can fix it, should it need any repairs.

A
Jan 17, 2022 7:11 pm EST

My mother and I purchased a chair lift for my father who had a major stroke 1 yr and three months ago, It arrived damaged and instead of taking it back Discover my mobility sent a part to fix it. @ weeks ago while turning on the lift to take my father to a doctor appt the inside electrical panel blew. I called the company and was told the technician was not in. The next day I got the same answer. I then called that evening and got the technician on the line. "Mike" I was trying to explain what happened and all he kept telling me was that the warranty was up in september. I wish I had known this very expensive equipment only had a year warranty, which wasnt the point. All I 2wanted was someone to help me fix the problem. I sent him a picture and was told he would call me right back after showing his guys. The call never came, I called every day for 1 wk and 1/2. I called on friday upsent stating I needed someone to at least give me the courtesy of a phone call. Today is monday and I called, The girl who answered the phone was very rude and put Mike on the phone, who at this point told me he was the owner of the company. Not the technician. He said since there was no warranty he no longer had "to deal with me". He said he sent a part in the mail. I have never had such horrible service. This man should be out of business. yes the warranty was up. I did not ask for him to fix it for free, just to help. He is not in the business of helping. Please dont buy from this company. Ive now waited 2 weeks to get help to get my dad out of the house and have to start with a fresh company to see what the problem is. I dont know about any of your equipment, but I am pretty sure a lift that is suppose take hold a person and wheelchair should not explode after 1 yr and 3 months

L
Jul 19, 2019 6:07 am EDT

I ordered a Viking 4x4 wheel chair. I paid $789 for their 'White Glove Set Up' and $454 for All Terrain Tires and Rims for a total of $9949.00 for the chair. I asked if the chair would be delivered to my door and the All Terrain Tires installed for the 'White Glove Set Up'. I was assured it would be, as I am confined to a wheelchair. I paid 1/2 and it was built and shipped from China. Four months after ordering, I was told it was in Los Angeles and paid the 2nd 1/2. I was told it would be here in 5 to 7 days, assured again that it was going to be delivered to my door, the tires switched out and the chair checked over. I assumed some kind of technician would be delivering it. Eighteen days later, I received a phone call from a trucking company that they would deliver the 'crate' in 3 days and could I help the semi truck driver unload the crate. I explained it was a wheel chair, I am in a wheel chair and that I had paid almost $800 to have it delivered to my house and set up. The dispatcher knew nothing of that. A call to Discover Your Mobility resulted in being put on hold and told I needed to talk to so and so every time some one came back on and put me on hold again. I asked to talk to a supervisor, (Michael), and was put on hold again. After 1 hour, I called my credit card company to cancel the charges . They did after I explained this story. Now, in my e-mail, is invoices from Discover Your Mobility that they refunded just over 20% less than the total. These people belong in jail.

G
Oct 29, 2018 6:39 am EDT

I love my airhawk scooter but not Discover My Mobility. They were super nice before I ordered but rude and unhelpful after delivery. not explaining how parts are shipped separately. The book said I needed to the get the seller to sign a form so I called and customer service was again rude and said I didn't need to send in anything. I dread needing any warranty work. On top of that they have owed me a car charger and a flag for months. I called, again rude, told me they were on back order and I will get it when they do, I'm holding my breath. Only interested in the sale!

F
Sep 29, 2018 12:34 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Note: this retailer is owned by Michael Woods, who was charged with defrauding disabled people in 2012. He has simply changed his store name to Discover My Mobility but continues to rip off customers.

The site advertising 30-day returns. But beware -- that is after a 20% restocking fee and S &H. So, you buy a $1k mobility device -- and pay $300 for the return.

We placed an order. Called to cancel before it was delivered. Michael said it was already shipped. We said we'd not accept delivery from UPS and have it returned without every handling, opening box, etc. We did offer to pay return shipping fees.

He angrily lied about an FDA return policy. Now, the FDA does prohibit used devices being sold as new. But, it's BS that an unopened, unassembled, never-touched device is considered used.

His lies and policies are a great way to take in 30% of a device's cost while getting to resell it at full price.

Once a crook, always a crook. Please buy elsewhere.

Here is an exerpt from the Macomb newspaper about his past convictions:

More charges possible against Macomb Township man accused of defrauding disabled VIDEO

More charges could be coming against a 43-year-old Macomb Township man accused of defrauding disabled customers who purchased equipment from him and his company to make their lives easier.

Pete Ackerly, agent for state Attorney General Bill Schuette, acknowledged in court Wednesday that Michael Woods and his defunct company, Planet Mobility, could face more charges on top of one count each of fraud between $1, 000 and $20, 000, punishable by up to five years in prison.

Ackerly told Magistrate Michael Osaer of 41A District Court in Shelby Township that Woods and his attorney, Frank Palazzolo, have been told about more allegations.

ADVERTISING

'

Woods, who is disabled, and Planet Mobility, which was based in Shelby Township, in late 2008 and 2009 accepted orders over the Internet but failed to deliver, according to Schuette. When customers complained, Woods allegedly promised to send a refund, but Woods' accusers say the refunds never came. One customer was defrauded of $6, 401 for a lift table, and another was defrauded of $5, 830 for a wheelchair lift, authorities said.

Woods is a wheelchair user and appeared in court with a woman who appeared to be his mother. He was released on a $10, 000 personal recognizance bond.

In arguing for a low bond, Palazzolo noted his client's disabilities and knowledge of the allegations.

Woods waived the right for a preliminary examination within 14 days due to the ' amount of documentation in the case.

The examination was set for 1:30 p.m. Feb. 23. Osaer suggested to Ackley that any additional charges should be filed before that date.

C
Jul 06, 2018 4:15 pm EDT

I just saw your comments on discover mobility I plan on having on having him invested will also report him to the federal government if you want you can contact me at
[email protected]

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

6 complaints
0 resolved 6 unresolved

Discover My Mobility contacts

(added by reviewer)
66 East Ten Mile Rd, Michigan United States
ADVERTISIMENT