Cypress farm kennelBad breeder

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

BEWARE BAD BREEDER!!! I purchased 2 colored Boston Terrier puppies from Linda Johansen and daughter Krystin Johansen of Cypress Farm Kennel in Mathis, Texas, that I received on 1/11/11. The blue female was already vomiting and had severe, constant diarrhea as soon as I picked them up at the airport, and tested positive for both parvovirus and coccidia parasites within 48 hrs. Due to her critical condition upon arrival, my vet confirmed that she had been suffering from active parvo infection for a minimum of 2 days before being shipped. After emailing all vet records to Krystin, she eventually refunded me the cost of the first dying puppy. When I asked for a refund for the lilac male puppy, who was also infected before being shipped, in order to have him hospitalized, the Johansens terminated all contact via phone, text, and email. I have not heard from them since, and they have not responded to the BBB complaint that I filed against them. In my experience I have found that Cypress Farm Kennel is NOT the “reputable” breeder that they make themselves appear to be on their website and online, as I have evidence proving that they knowingly shipped me parvo infected and parasitized puppies that were obviously not “healthy” – as CFK had guaranteed in their contract.

A third puppy from the same litter was shipped to another state in active parvovirus at the same time, and another CFK puppy owner has contacted me after receiving her puppy NEARLY dead with pneumonia, without a health certificate, and so severely parasitized by worms that they were “coming out of both ends” and had infested all of her major organs. (I have veterinary documentation for all of these claims, and am therefore not liable for any form of slander or libel.) Cypress Farm Kennel has also bred and sold Australian cattle dogs, miniature pinschers, French bulldogs, basset hounds, and puggles that I am of aware of. DO NOT TRUST THESE CON ARTISTS – THEY CARE NOTHING ABOUT THESE PUPPIES, ALL THEY ARE CONCERNED ABOUT IS THEIR OWN PROFIT. They have knowingly shipped sick puppies, with dangerous parasites that are easily contracted by humans, to families with small children across the country. They have gotten away with it because there is no legislation against these smaller scale puppy mills in the state of Texas – yet. DO NOT TRUST THE VALIDITY OF ONLINE PUPPY SALE WEBSITES!!! The “seller” can have any bad review deleted by flagging it as invalid. CFK’s last “good” review was posted on PuppyFind in 2008. I faxed all my documentation to support my bad review that had been hidden, and quality management reposted it, only to have CFK remove all their listings off the website. Krystin just had my “Cypress Farm Kennel Parvo Puppies” facebook page removed for “intellectual infringement.” I will not be intimidated by these people or deterred by them hiding behind the internet or lack of animal cruelty laws in their state. This is the truth, and if you are seeking info on this – or any other – breeder, I believe that the public has the right to know honest information about businesses false advertisement and fraud. They used the photo of my lilac puppy for three weeks after he died as their link to puppies for sale on their website.

More Cypress farm kennel Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • This is a website for complaints. Here is the link to 4 separate complaints from 4 different people about Linda and Krystin Johansen selling sick puppies and their unethical business practices, as well as links to report them to the ASPCA, Internet Crimes Complaint Center, and the Better Business Bureau.

    Linda Johansen &thefrenchbulldogmom& — Krystin Johansen &Cypress Farm Kennel&

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jacobsmommy May 03, 2012

    hi all, i just wanted to send a thank you to blake for posting about cypress farm. i hadn't heard of them until my friend was actually posting on this site in regards to a complaint about a local business near where we live. i had been looking for a boston terrier for a while but hadnt found the right puppy because i hadnt found a breeder i was comfortable with. i read your complaint and was shocked! how can a breeder do this to an innocent puppy buyer? i was shocked both because of the situation you were in and to find on cypress farms website that there were bts of color. i couldnt believe bostons came in blue so i started more research on the breed. if it wouldnt have been for your many posts on a multitude of online mediums i likely would have disregarded cypress as a reputable breeder to get a puppy from all together just by reading this page. maybe it was the sheer amount of times you went posting about cypress online that made me delve into them as breeders further? to myself viewing you posting this story anywhere possible gathering comments from all these random individuals in what seemed like an effort to mob and destroy them on some personal level peaked my interest even more. comments made by individuals were obviously made by those who have issue with cypress apart from this parvo thing for whatever reason or sometimes the contents even seemed like yourself agreeing with your original posts? it was because of these reasons i began an interest in cypress and decided to do further research on them. in my search for a reputable blue boston breeder i realized quickly just how far above other breeders of blue Bostons they go to to be sure their puppies are of the best quality and healthiest they can be before they go to their new homes. i was not able to find one other breeder that offered blue puppies for sale at cypress prices who's puppies were not only from health tested parents but also had the puppies juvenile hereditary cataract tested clear, baer hearing tested, and pre-patella tested along with being registered with akc. i decided to complete their puppy application and an hour later we were talking on the phone about my getting a pup. i was very pleased when before going into details about their available puppies for sale they asked if i had looked into adopting from a rescue first. i have never had a breeder try to help me rescue a dog before trying to sell me a dog. we talked for a couple hours that first day. i learned so much about the breed that i hadnt known before. i was very impressed with her diverse knowledge of the breed. i never did bring up the parvo, until she did. yep she did! she asked me if i had read their faqs page, which i had. she asked me if i had read about the events of jan 2011, which i had. she then went through the events over the next hour going over any questions i had about it. the phone conversation was incredibly educational and again, she went above what i expected. i was sold on them being the place i was going to buy my new boston puppy from when i was ready. i am happy to say that i asked to be added to their waiting list and after a wait that wasn't to long thank goodness my puppy was born. the next 8 weeks were horrible waiting to bring him home but they were made so much easier with the tons of updates that cypress farm kennel provided me with during that time. i received 14 video updates, including video of her home and where the dogs all live and play since i wasnt going to be able to go to their home to pick up my puppy. that was perhaps the most comforting. i received a ton of pictures in countless numbers there were always so many pics coming in. i felt like i got to watch my baby grow up from birth in person. it was great! i am very happy to say that i got my lovely blue baby the beginning of march and he is everything i could have ever asked for and now two of my friends are currently on cypress list awaiting their puppies but it sounds like its going to be awhile as the list is lengthy. i truly thank you blake for posting about your experience because if you wouldn't have, i would have never learned about cypress. i want to thank you additionally for posting about it through so many avenues because if it weren't for your persistence to tell everyone about your experience it would have never lit the fire under me to learn more about them and i wouldnt have my gorgeous jacob. thanks again blake!

    1 Votes
  • http://cypressfarmkennelparvopuppyowner.yolasite.com/

    Cypress Farm Kennel Colored Boston Terriers — Proof of LIES against puppy owners on CFK FAQ website

    Vet records documenting the proof of my puppy's positive parvo results within 48 hrs can be viewed on this site. Vet records from the owner of the severely parasitized puppy shipped in May 2010 are also visible to the public. CFK has yet to respond to the complaints posted by this DIFFERENT puppy owner that CFK terminated all contact with her as well (6 mo before doing the same with parvo puppy owners in Jan 2011).

    Thank you for taking the time to look at the real documentation of CFK pet owners. The complaints posted on line have all been made by pet owners (not breeders) who have no ulterior motives than exposing the truth and warning the public.

    Cypress farm kennel — Purchased a sick puppy

    May 2010 - Separate owner, separate litter, underweight, severe worms, corneal ulcer... CFK terminated all contact with owner after shipping sick puppy.

    Krystin has yet to address anything related to shipping this sick puppy as well - just 6 months before the parvo issue. Am really curious about why there has been no mention or attempt by CFK to explain this separate incident (of the same unprofessional behavior I am speaking out against)...

    -1 Votes
  • The administrators on the following webites are either Krystin Johansen herself and/or other colored boston terrier breeders who censor any comments or posts that speak out against Cypress Farm Kennel's unethical behavior. BEWARE!!! The sources that I mistook for positive reviews are nothing more than additional false advertising from breeders!

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/All-Color-Boston-Terrier-Club/126799717349227

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/bostonterriersofcolor

    http://members.boardhost.com/coloredbostons/

    -1 Votes
  • Congrats Sam! You got a bargain colored boston! Here's to CFK being the Walmart (or dollar store) of the colored boston terrier world... It's all marketing - the lower to the cost of the product, the higher the sales. If just a couple families every year or two walk away with several thousands in dollars vet expenses for sick or dying puppies, it doesn't bother CFK... they are still in the black. They'll slink away for a while, toy with the idea of retiring lol... then bust out some more cute puppies to sucker people into buying online. NO REPUTABLE BREEDER HAS TO MARKET THEIR PUPPIES ON EBAY. There are reasons for this.. and I have never seen a "FAQ" page on any breeder's website that tries to explain away the simple and blatant facts... CFK shipped 3 sick puppies. All had parvo. 1 died. CFK severed all contact with the sick/dead puppy owners. They can no longer advertise their dogs on PuppyFind because so much documentation was supplied that allows the website to disregard the breeder's request to HIDE negative reviews, if they had kept their ads on PuppyFind, there would be 5 negative reviews warning other prospective puppy buyers. A year later, they are breeding again, selling puppies for half of what other colored breeders are, and telling prospective puppy buyers exactly what they want to hear. All the health testing in the world is worth nothing when your puppies are dying and the breeder won't call you back. I would never risk buying a puppy online again EVER, and especially not from a breeder with all these separate complaints from people across the country. You are lucky, but foolish nonetheless for doing business with someone with such a horrendous reputation - it is their job to sell puppies, that is their game, and they've had many years to hone their craft. You also mention that you don't think they are bad breeders b/c they have been doing it so long that there would be more complaints. Once again - MARKETING and DAMAGE CONTROL is their JOB. Families have to move on with their lives with sick or live or dead puppies, CFK waits for the storm to pass, and then keep on breeding. Seriously has anyone seen a "FAQ" page that extensive, defensive, and pathetic? That alone should be testament enough to any intelligent prospective puppy buyer to STEER CLEAR. To all the less sharp tools in the shed, good luck with that.

    -1 Votes
  • Cypress farm kennel — Purchased a sick puppy

    "May 2010 I purchased a Boston Terrier puppy from Cypress Farm Kennel I was told the puppy would be shipped when she turned 8 weeks old . I picked the puppy up at Philadelphia International Airport I was shocked and sickened by the condition of this puppy . The puppy was dehydrated, sick and had Diarrhea all over her. She also had a eye infection with a corneal ulcer. A baggy with adult size food was taped to her little crate. When I rushed her to my Vet she only weighted a pound not normal for a 2 month old Boston, The puppy was so worm infested it took months and thousands of dollars to get it under control. Parasites pose a serious Health t to Humans especially children and Cypress Farm Kennel be investigated for shipping puppies across State lines that could make a child sick or blind."

    THIS was an entirely separate puppy/owner/incident 6 months before my CFK puppy arrived and died of parvo (along with 2 other parvo littermates who survived).

    -1 Votes
  • Cy
    cypresspuppyowner Jan 05, 2012

    My name is Sam and I am a Cypress puppy owner. Previous to my purchase I researched Cypress Farm Kennel. I found the online complaints posted on this site. I also found where Cypress Farm discusses them on their website. I understand why Cypruss posted what they did on their website. This person has attacked them left and right and seems to be the only one that has caused a stir. Id feel it appropriate to defend myself from the allegations of a person that has gone on a Internet slander campaign. This is why I wanted to post and it will be positive. I believe that if Cypress has been breeding for as long as they have if they were poor breeders as these complaints suggest them to be then the Internet would be loaded with complaints about them from many different people. Sorry your puppy became ill, but I am very happy with my puppy from Cypress Farm. I would never have been able to afford such a nice puppy in the color of cream like mine is with all of the extra perks I got with my puppy. She came BAER tested, parents already tested for cataracts, and she is so smart all for only $600!
    I thank Cypress Farm and am so glad that they didn't stop breeding because of this unfortunate incident. I recommend them fully and if you have any questions about my puppy you are more than welcome to email me.

    2 Votes
  • Cy
    CypressFarmKennel Nov 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Cypress Farm Kennel has never had Parvo.
    Please read the link for more detailed information:
    http://cypressfarmkennel.com/frequentlyaskedquestions.html

    3 Votes
  • Ju
    Justice for All Apr 25, 2011

    I can't figure out why this web site allows the same complaint to be posted repeatedly, and with no proof?

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.