SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Walter MortgageFraud and cheating

1 Review updated:

I am a first time buyer. I thought Jim Walter was a good idea, but boy am I wrong!. My mother always said what sounds good usually isn't. I wished I would have taken her advice.

I purchased a repossessed home in 2006 thinking I can avoid the hassle of contractors and the like.Everything looked fine when I looked at the home. My agent Chris Little was very anxious to get us to sign the paper work stating that someone else was inquiring about the house as well. I was anxious as well because we were displaced by Hurricane Katrina, and myfamily and I was tired of living in a F.E.M.A trailer.

Several weeks after we moved in they said that our AC unit has not ours but another homeowners. Chris said that it wa mistakenly placed on our house. We argued about we signed a contract with an AC, His comment was that he could not do anything about it. So, we had to purchase a new AC with the assumption that the would reimburse us (still waiting).

In July 2008 we received a letter stating that WM has purchased some insurance for us. We are with Best Insurors and our policy payment wasn't due until October (we are up-to-date on policy, we pay yearly). The next day we receive bill that states we know 900 because they purchase insurance. They said that they gives us an to purchase other insurance before our policy is up with Best Insurors.

So I went an purchased other insurance with another company. I did it in October. Well, they canceled Best but with that insurance they purchase through WM they still left a balance of 178, and they expect me to pay it. I told them no. Well, every month from October they have been tacking on fees and it have been messing with my payment. It seems no matter how much I send in I am still behind.

I have been receiving calls from Chris and he has had a very nasty attitude. No he has threatened foreclosure. This has been an experience I don't want to repeat. This company are scammers who need to be put out of business.

Ju

More Walter Mortgage Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • El
      Jan 18, 2009

    I too have had a similar issue. We have a manager name Pisano that if you are a few days late he is knocking on the door, threatning to foreclose and throw you in the street. My husband lost his job due to the gas prices last year and we got one month behind but I was paying extra on the next month to get it caught up. The district manager came to the house and literally cussed my husband out, called him everything in the book, including the 4 letter "F" word and told him he had so many days to pay the rest of the mortgage. My husband is a very strong man, but he said he had never been cussed out and talked to like that before in his life, especially from a so-called business man. I am a disabled person, can't walk and has a breathing machine, we take care of our three grandchildren, who also have seizures and one is disabled with other ailments. They threatened to throw us in the street and told us he didn't care if we were disabled or not. We have lived here three years and this was the first time we had had any problems. They didn't even like the idea that we were paying our $4000 taxes in payments. Jim Walters is nice when you sign the papers but then they turn into the worst mortgage company in the US. Our other home was mortgaged by Household Finance and they were great. I can't wait to get our home re-financed with another mortgage company.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Feb 11, 2009

    I too purchased a repossesed home from Walter Mortage Company and I, as well, am a first time home buyer. I really did not know that there would be so many problems with this company.My nanager name is Darrell. He has a very nasty and hateful attitude.Like many others, he was very nice person until after you sign that contract.Things happen to everbody, but they dont seem to care.If you are late on your mortage he is always stateing that they are going to foreclose on your home. They are quick to purchase insurance on your home when your insurance expires on your home. It is very hard to purchase insurance from other companiesand to refinance.Alot of companies state that these homes are not valued at the market price that they value them at. My home was involved in a housefire.I went through to get my money so that I could rebuild my home.They sent my money in allotments. They also had to have Darrell come out to inspect before they could would release portions of the money. Ijust want to share some of my experiences with everyone.So, I say be careful when dealing with Walter Mortage Company.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Feb 23, 2009

    I recently had to file bankruptcy with the lay offs that was going on. My husband was laid off of his job and we got a little behind. Well I had a knock on my door one morning before the bankruptcy started, and it was Jim Walter Representatives telling me that they were about to foreclose, or that I could take 500 dollars and sign my house over to them, and be out of it in two weeks. Well I called my lawyer, and he called the main office. They would not return his calls, but they sent him a letter telling what we owed. They also added 1700 dollars in insurance to our account. I sent them a check to catch it up for 2700 dollars, and when I got my new statement, they applied only 216 dollars of it to my account. They applied the rest to finance charges, and said that we were still behind 2700 dollars. Looks like when they want a house they are relentless to get it. I don't know what is gonna happen, but I am sure they will find a way to screw me out of my home. We were also told that we were sorry people that were not worth the paper that the mortgage was wrote on. They even went as far as to say that we useless excuses for people, and that they didn't care what happened to us. Guess they don't care. I just am glad that I am a christian women and I know that one day these people will get what is coming to them. I think that the higher up that you are, the longer the fall will be when you come down.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Mar 05, 2009

    We too have had the same experience. We were first time home buying, trying to get out of government housing. We thought this would be a step in the right direction, but boy were we wrong. This has been the worst experience we've ever had. We have been in this home for NINE years, and been threatened with foreclosure many times for being a month behind. Our represenitive is James Pecor, he also is nasty and hateful and threatens to kick us out. They also pressured us into signing the papers by telling us that someone else was on the verge of buying my home. They did no termite inspections on the home when we bought it. Our interest rate is 11%. Pecor tells us we have no option of refinancing. He also says to refinance we have to be caught up for one full year. He come knocked on the door and tried to actually come in the house saying he was going to do a preforeclosure inspection which I've never heard of in my life. The representative we had before Mr. Pecor was also very rude, he cussed my wife. They have also done us the same way with the insurance..(purchasing without letting us know and then hounding us about the money.)

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 05, 2009

    I fully agree. We are having athe same type trouble in Texas. The people are rude and hateful. We may be a few days behind on our payments, but they always get their payments. There are so many that can't even make a payment, but they like to harrass the one who do, even though they are a little slow. Seems like every time we feel one step ahead, they knock us 2 steps back. Always wanting more money, how is that so possible.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      May 05, 2009

    WE ARE GOING TO HAVE TO ALL BAN TOGETHER IN ORDER TO GET THINGS DONE THAT WE DESERVE AND HAVE ATTORNEYS WE HAVE FOUND ONE HERE IN TEXAS THAT WILL TAKE YOUR CASES IF YOU JUST CALL HIM HIS NAME IS HECTOR GONZALEZ AT [protected] WE CAN ALSO TALK TO YOU AND LET YOU KNOW WHAT WE HAVE DONE IN ORDER TO SECURE OUR HOMES AND OUR FUTURES
    TERESA AND RAY HOLTON [protected] OR [protected]
    BETTY AND ROBERT TOVAR [protected] OR [protected]
    LETS ALL TALK AND SEE HOW WE CAN HELP EACH OTHER OUT
    DONT LET THESE PEOPLE FINISH CLOSING DOWN TO WHERE WE HAVE NO WAY TO PROTECT OURSELVES

    -1 Votes
  • Be
      May 28, 2009

    Hi everyone. I am a young single mother of two little girls. I found what I thought to be the perfect home in my area at a deal I could manage. I called the 800 number listed on the sign posted to the front porch and was told the agreements of purchasing the home from Walter Mortgage Group. The man we've been dealing with is Danny. After learning of the high interest rates, my mother made the decision to simply pay cash for the home and I would pay her back. It seemed easy enough. Why wouldn't a company take the cash money for the home and have it sold and the deal be finalized? Danny has done nothing but give my mom the run around for a week now. On Monday, he told her that they had an agreement and that he would get the paperwork faxed to her and they would close on the home by the end of the week. Two days went by and he wouldn't even return her calls. She's a persistent business lady and she knows what she's doing. She called and asked to speak to his boss. He called back with a new story. He then claimed to have another offer on the home. However, an hour later when she spoke with Danny again, nothing was mentioned about the supposed other offer and he blamed the holdup on having to get the agreement approved. Finally he told my mom they could close tomorrow on Friday if she would give him $1500 more than they originally agreed to! She agreed to that ONLY if he turned on the power so she could ensure the central unit and everything electrical worked as it should. He refused. He said that could not and would not be done. He stated that she would be given 3 days to back out if she bought the home and things did not work properly but she was simply trying to avoid the hassle of that. This is becoming so stressful! I'm calling the BBB of our area tomorrow and having this guy reported. No one should have to deal with someone so crooked when trying to buy a home for their family!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      May 28, 2009

    Bella
    I am gettng lawsuits together in my area please read up on this company and see how many people they have scammed and ripped off and taking to the cleaners they dont want the cash they make their money off people and interest please make sure that you talk to an attorney first if you are in Texas call my attorney Hector P Gonzalez and see what advice he can give you if not call an attorney they are already trying to scam you and your mother
    You have rights and they quoted you a price hold to your guns and make them prove that everything works in the house first thats your right and tnhey can not back out just because you want to pay cash attorney number [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Be
      May 28, 2009

    Thanks. I will have my mom call the attorney tomorrow. She's in real estate and has been for 20 years. She knows how buying/selling homes work so she's completely taken aback by how crooked this company seems to work. It seems like you are right. They dont want to sell the home. They want to find a sucker to pay the ridiculous interest which means they are paying more than the home is worth! Well they aren't gonna sucker us!!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      May 28, 2009

    Way to go protect your rights and dont let them make you pay more than the house is worth get an engineer and find out for sure what kind of shape the house is in mine is nine months old and falling apart at the seams it is not repairable it needs to be replaced
    i have been in better 100 year old houses and my last barn was in better shape than this house

    0 Votes
  • Eq
      Jun 02, 2009

    Well it's nice to see like minds sticking together, it's becuase of "OH POOR ME" people like you that the mortgage industry is such a mess. Listen folks do you have any idea of the amount money floating out there that these mortgage companies loan you and thousands of others, can you imagine if they all used excuses like each of you are doing for not making your payments. You signed a contract guaranteeing that you would pay x amount of dollars each month, for x amount of months, no if ands or buts or excuses. For those of you who bought a foreclosed or repo home TOO BAD you bought it AS IS, WHERE IS!! Get all the attorneys you want and have a pitty party instead of getting off your dead beat butts and going to work to pay for you homes, shame on each of you all of you are the perfect example of dead beats and what is wrong with society today..

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
      Jun 02, 2009

    oh boy another one of jim walter homes do go give me a brownie My home is nine months old it was built on a property I have had for years and get your facts straight pal I am not complaining about my mortgage I am sueing for a home that is beyond repair and has been levelled three times in nine months and can not be leveled in the middle because it will separate and come apart
    My Mortgage has never been the issue it is the defective house sitting here that I can not get finished nor repaired due to noone willing to risk thier lives to go under this house
    So before you shoot your words that have no meaning know the facts

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Jul 22, 2009

    I purchases a JWM repo approximately four years ago. Due to the economic situation we are currently without a lot of work. We are self employed and work is very slim right now. I filed a chapter 13 to keep from losing the home. Then I transferred to a Chapter 13. I did get a little behind. But, if I sent two payments, when I got my statement I was further behind then before my payments were posted. Every month the excess charges just seem to grow and insurance, extra fees just seemed to grow every month. So to reaffirm I have to get caught up. I received a an email from JWM's attorney for the amount of approximately $2100 in February. I called JWM in March and requested a written payoff. I received it and is showed about $38, 500. In May I then called Mike Huffman's office in Tampa and received a verbal payoff for around $38, 500. My statements went from showing about $4, 000 past due to $7, 000 and now I am showing over $9, 000. I requested a written payoff, never received one. I received a letter from an Attorney for Foreclosure. So I called the Attorney and asked for a written payoff and to find out what the amount was that I was behind. Because there was no way with the different figures from the previous attorney, JWM statements and payoff history that I could come up with an accurate number. Instead I came up with multiple numbers. I tried refinancing the house, hard to due with termites. I met with their attorney, showed him my paperwork with the many, many different amounts. I asked for a past due amount. He started going over my payment history (this one I had never seen before). He showed me one month where I had paid two payments in December (it was suppose to make me current) then in January it showed me to be even further behind. It was like my payments just disappeared. So the Attorney said it showed that I was 13 payments behind over $5000. I still do not understand how two different attorney offices can have a $3, 000 difference in three months. Two weeks went by after my meeting with their attorney. He stated the day we met, that he would contact them so we could resolve this issue. I spoke with their attorney two weeks later. He stated that he has not received a response from JWM yet, that he was going to contact them again. I emailed the attorneys office for someone to contact me. Over a week later, still no information received. I am just trying to pay the amount that is suppose to be behind, to reaffirm this debt. But no one can give me an exact amount. I feel like they are just simply stalling. I have invested about $10, 000 to update this house and fix it from the termite damage. I have two children, I can not afford to lose my home. I have no family where I live. This is my last resort. I do not know what else to do. If anyone has any suggestions, I would be so grateful. Please email me @ [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 22, 2009

    Hello I will be emailing you in a few minutes but please feel free to call my attorney I am sure he would be happy to talk to you

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 26, 2009

    Angela
    As of today I am waiting for them to come and mediate my house on tueday along with one of my neighbors home then on weds they will do two more houses then in august we will go to mediation and from there we will see where they will go i have never talked to a happy jim walterhomeowner i only wish that i had known about them sooner then i would not be in the boat i am in

    0 Votes
  • Cj
      Dec 03, 2009

    They are the most rude, arrogant, prejudice, SOB's on this earth. They act more like unlicensed loan sharks, trying to stong arm you. They threaten you with foreclosure, try to be as rude as they possibly can, and talk to you as though you are nothing. They harrass you to no end by phone, and also send their hinchmen to your home if you are behind by 1 payment.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 03, 2010

    My home was built in 2007 . The company that I was working for was bought out by another company and my income was almost cut in half. My father in law who signed with me on the loan for the house passed in 2008. Now my income is the only source of revenue in the house. I got behind and filed a chapter 13 to keep my home. I was told that they would work with me to keep me and my four children in the home. They increased my payments by forcing me to take their insurance and paying my property taxes through an escrow account they set up. My insurance was only $900.00 which I paid the first of the year along with my taxes which was only$265.00. I was paying $2400.00 a year for them to pay out $1165.00. In the two years I have been in my home my payments went from $626.00 to $827.00. No longer being able to afford the payments I allowed th house to be discharged so that I could get a loan modification to lower my payments. After I got approved for the modification they sent me a letter of intent to sale. I received my letter on December 5th which was a Saturday, they sold my home on December 7th, which was that Monday . I was not even giving time to contact my modification representative to stop the sell. Now I been told that I have get out of the house without being giving enough time to find a place. I was told that I could buy the house in someone else's name if I wanted to keep it . All I need is $100.00 to pay down but I would still have to move out and then I can move back in after I get someone to sign the papers in their name.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      May 26, 2010

    Well, I agree that this company hire some of the most rude account managers ever. My biggest complaint with them is that we were required to pay flood insurance and we were never in a flood zone. After contacting our county zoning dept and FEMA, we were not required to pay for flood insurance. Flood insuranace was force placed on our account every year. We provided them with proof from our county zoning dept and they still will not respond or provide us with a refund. I also can not wait to get refinanced with another company. I will not reccommend this company to anyone. If desparate for a home, consider a mobile home!!!

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Aug 25, 2010

    We originally bought our home through Swartz & Brough Inc and we liked them. If we got behind they worked with us to fix the problem. Then they sold our home to Walter Mortgage and let me tell I am a Christian woman but if I could just get my hands on the owner of that company I would be sending him to meet his maker! We just became 30 days late as of August 21 and even before I was 30 days late they had our manager Nick Tubre at my door wanting to do a preforclosure appraisal. The only way you are getting into my house is with a search warrent from the sherriff's dept. period. I am about to contact Mr. Gonzalez in the morning about this because this has to be harrassment. I am tired of being treated this way and something needs to be done. If enough of us contact the attorney he might have the grounds to start an offensive against this company. I agree with the guy above let's ban together and let this company know that we are a force to be reckoned with.

    0 Votes
  • I used to work for this company, in the local sales office before it closed, and built a home with them myself.. I have no complaints on the house itself, but I have heard of others who have had issues. First let me say, I do not have loyalties to this company any longer, I am simply righting to be informative. That being said, I know for a fact, that because JWH is not a government subsidised company, and is completely in-house finanched they CAN repo your home if 30 days late.. They are not required to give notice, or reason. You signed a Lien with all contracts that allows them full ownership of the land, and house until the date of your last payment.
    They are also within their "rights" to knock on your door, and demand entry at anytime, as is a landlord.

    We have had our share of run-ins with our account manager, named Mitch, who sometimes transfers us to a VERY rude "lawyer" who automatically attacks verbally and emotionally, but Mitch's boss is VERY nice and helpful. They have worked with us on getting back on track. You just have to be willing to work with THEM.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Oct 20, 2010
    Walter Mortgage - foreclosure
    walter mortgage
    Tampa
    Florida
    United States

    walter mortgage is a ripe off they tell you all this good stuff about there houses and they make it easy for you to get it them and once you get in a if you get in a bind you mite as well pack up because there attorney has foreclosure papers at your door. people dont deal with wm you rather rent.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Dec 21, 2010

    Threatened and Harrassed
    I am also a first time homebuyer. I purchased my first home from Walter Mortgage in 2006. At first, I was very excited about getting my own place, but recently my smile turned into a frown. For the past few months Chris Little has been a pain in the [censor]. He has been calling me saying that I haven't been making payments. Every few months he call with the same mess. I called the main office and asked them did they receive my payments and they told me that all of my payments have been made and posted except for this month. I let them know that Chris was calling and harassing me about payments. The agent replied saying that if he take time a look on the computer he would see that all of my payment have been made. After talking with her she gave me Chris supervisors name and number. Chris is constantly putting notes on my door talking about locking the doors to my home if I don't contact him in 24hrs. He has even posts letters on my door pertaining other customers information. When he calls his attitude is so nasty and disrespectful. I don't know what to do but something has to be done about CHRIS LITTLE. It doesn't do any good talking to the supervisors because they already know about him because this isn't the first complaint and it won't be the last. I received a letter today from Marix Servicing stating that they were attempting to collect a debt for Walter Mortgage due to insurance expenses paid by Walter Mortgage on my behalf. I don't know what type of bull they are trying to pull but I pay my own insurance through State Farms and don't even have insurance with their company Best Insurers. Can someone please tell me what I can do about this problem.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 25, 2011

    I WILL NEVER AGAIN PURCHASE A HOME THROUGH JIM WALTER.THESE PEOPLE ARE VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. THE DISTRICT MANGER HERE IN THE GREENWOOD, MS AREA IS TERRIBLE. HE USES THREATING MESSAGES ONVOICE MAILS HE LEAVES NASTY MESSAGES WITH YOUR NEIBORS.
    GOOD LUCK TO ANYONE WHO HAVE A GOOD EXPERIENCE WITH THI COMPANY

    0 Votes
  • Go
      Jan 26, 2011

    I agree with the complaints I have a Jim Walter home that was foreclosed I bought in SC. I to felt pressured into buying the home. They made the same statements to me about someone else was looking at the home then I ended up with almost a 11 percent interest rate. Mr Ronnie Ham is calling if I am one day late or at my house. I tried to get a lone modification and they don't accept other companies one they do them themselves so I applied only to get denied they are scampers and rip people off. I ried to get the house refinance and found out that it was not appraised for what I bought it for. Now I am in the hole.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
      Feb 24, 2011

    Very shady information will not put things in writing when you ask to see contract so we can review prior to closing. Price kept changing and going up more than what we originally were looking for. We feel uneasy about purchasing but we can see these guys are investors and just out to make a buck. If they were really in it to help people they would be more considerate and communicate better. I was about to close on my home this Friday, but I have decided to cancel and look for another avenue. I feel very uneasy and your comments have helped me decide before I get our family into a big predicament. Thank you for your comments and I hope that all of you are able to resolve things in the near future. God Bless.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Jun 21, 2011

    i to purchased my first home through swartz n brough in 2008 but a yr later walter morgage bought my contract.i have been fighting with walter morgage since febuary due to the fact that they added ins to my home in amount of 1047.00 when i already have my own insurance on my home that i pay due to us not supposed to have an escrow for the insurance now they keep raising my payments..telling me that im paying for the insurance that they put on my house even though they have a copy of all my insurance papers and my policy number...its getting to the point that were thinking of just selling our home and paying off walter morgage co..only 86.00 is going towards the purchase price and the remainder of 400 is going towards interst...i know we are not very happy...so tired of getting the run around with them..

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Aug 17, 2011

    I purchased a foreclosure home from Walter Mortgage Company in May of 2008. My experiences with the company have been very pleasant and easy. I have never been harassed about a payment nor have I ever even been called about a late payment also given, I have never pd my note outside of the grace period. By reading the previous negative comments it sounds like people simply got in over their heads and can not make their payments. Yes, I will agree that the interest rates are extremely high but their is a reason we chose this path (bc we could not obtain financing elsewhere or pay the huge down payments and closing costs). My home was built in 2008 so we have not had any complaints about the home structure wise. In fact our house is over 2, 000 square feet and we have not had an electric bill over $150...that's saying a lot bc we live in Texas were the temp has been over 100 for a month.

    Happy Buying to you all!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 29, 2011

    i have had awful experienes with WMC as well. Not soon after my husband and i purchased our home, we divorced. I got a month behind, but soon started to make regular payments. it seems no mater how you think youre caught up, they still come up with a way to say you owe more money. They have come to my home on numerous occasions stating that they were gonna foreclose, and i even have to meet them at various places such as a gas station, or interstate exit to give them monies they say i owe. James Mandel is one of the rudest people i have ever met. He came to my house and told me that im a liar and did not keep my word about payments. he said that I did not keep my house up to standards anyway. (My grass needed to be cut). He even told a credit counselor that i was 3 months late and i never pay. my escrow account at one time was almost as much as my house payment. I have also had problems with my insurance as well. I want to refinance, but was told that I had to stay caught up for a year. If you are in alabama, and have the same issues, please let somene know. these people need to be dealt with.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
      Oct 21, 2011

    my husband and i purchased a jwh and i regret it these people are a bunch of weasels they don't care about your situation, people hit hard times they don't always get in over their head, things happen like this economy and jobs. I am tired of being hounded over being one payment late. If someone comes to my house you can bet they will not get in for any preforclosure bull****. I think this company needs to change the way they do business. We live in Oklahoma I don't even have a full copy of my contract whats up with that. If that lawyer in Texas can help would you let me know thank you. very angry in Oklahoma

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 12, 2012

    I have been paying on our Jim Walter home for 20 yrs, i now understand that lending tree owns our mortgage, got a letter from them saying my payoff was $48, 000.00. I only paid 56, 000.00 to have my home built 20 yrs ago.with a 30 yr mortgage, so I don't understand how I could still owe $48, 000.00,
    I now understand why jim walter homes is out of business, wish i knew what to do?


    i

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Aug 28, 2013

    I am a victim of Walter mortgage home also now the are going through Green Tree. When I first brought the home I was making 15.00 a hour and that was in 2005 now the company has shut down in 2007 my pay has gone down. They have me under a 9.99% interest rate I can't hardly make my payments. I asked over and over for a modification and they turn me down telling me it was something I signed in the contract. I asked them to send me a copy of that document so I can read it. I'm still waiting on that document. Jim Walter Mortgage is a total rip off. I will not advise anyone to but from this company without a lawyer, It seem that we should be able to come together and file a law suet against this company.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Apr 07, 2014

    I purchased a home from Jim Walters Homes in 2006 and I advised them of the earth in Texas is different from other states.The contractor new better. Ya right. I wanted them to run piers to bed rock and they stated that it was over kill. My house is shifting and cracking. In the state of Texas there is a eleven year foundation contract. I am know medically disabled. I was injured in the military and I asked for help from Walters mortgage (Greentree) and they said there is nothing they can do. I put my life on the line for this country and I ask and get dirt. I would not get a loan from green tree they are getting over 200, 000.00 profit on a thirty year loan .i thing that's pretty croaked and down right dishonest someone comes to my home. I am in Texas I will defend my ground.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 21, 2014

    We need to get a class action lawsuit started. My situation with WMC was so similar to many of these noted here. Its as though they WANTED to take my home, and would not work with us at all. No loan remodification, no partial payments, nothing. They told me they would take nothing less than Deed in Lieu if I couldn't pay anymore. No my husband has died, I lost the house and so many of my belongings from 30 years of marriage. We need to get something started. This happened in 2007 and ended in 2010. It is now 2014. But I check internet periodically to see if anything has gotten started to sue these people and recoup some of our losses. Contact me if you want to group together to do this.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      Sep 23, 2014

    I'm the mother of a young woman that were murdered at her Jim Walter home in front of her four sons in 2011. W hen i i tried to get information about my daughter's home insurance etc, no one at Walters Mortgage was willing to speak to me about her insurance or anything, not until after they were getting ready to foreclose on her home. Being I am the guardian of her four sons I trying to take care of her property etc for her four children. i explained to them my daughter was murdered and couldn't speak on her or her children behalf. I found her insurance papers after crime scene investigation released her home to the family. I just received a claim form from AMIG Claim Administration, again something Walters Mortgage did wrong or something. I have decided to let an attorney take a look at the insurance documents and the AMIG Claim form. I'm also sending copies to the State Insurance board for review. Walters mortgage etc are a bunch of crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Jul 20, 2015

    Walter mortgage, Jim Walter whatever the name is a total RIP of we purchase a home in 2002 under false things they said we were over charge 8.75 interested rate house made out of rotten material floors fallen in give some people money to buy stove an other items put down we made a down payment an add that to our Bill RIP people of then went out of business. Let it in another RIP of hands. Every one that got a Jim Walter or Walter mortgage home should not have to pay for it or reimburse there money sign Larry an Garalyn Anderson Kosciusko ms

    0 Votes
  • Cy
      Jan 17, 2018

    I was gifted land by my parents that we have owned for over 40 years. I grew up here amd my children. I went to walter mortgage excitied about them helping me build a home on my land. The process was very quick. The sales lady was extremely eager. I had a friend cosign with me, they begin building before i even knew it. They made clear i had no input in my house. After building the county records showed all was in order. Yet walter mortgage had changed the papers i signed, forged my initials. The house was not in my name at all, they took my land. The county was in order because they could not take my name off the land. They kept adding fees and forced placed insurance plus escrow. I was paying for my own insurance and taxes as well. This was back in 2007 and i am still fighting these people. Please warn everyone not to do business with walter mortgage, greentree, or Ditech. I say all three because this is how many times they sold the mortgage.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment