SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Vita Novusneglect

Review updated:

Anyone who thinks John is responding to these complaints think again, he doesn't have the balls and surely does not have the intelligence! He likely has given the task to his wife and co-worker's to do his dirty work for him...he is an expert at passing the buck! John does not give a rats ass about anyone that comes in this so called treatment facility, once he gets the CHEQUE, that's when your on your own. Believe me I know! You will be paying for services promised from vita novus you will never receive and Doctor's you will never see! Might want to keep your meds at home for you will never see them again, guess more money in John's pocket after he sells them for yet another profit! John, money is the root of all evil, so I guess this makes you the root...Money will not give you the happiness you so desire, but the THRUTH will.
Let's move along to your trusty sidekick Matt who lies, cheats and kisses your ass daily so he has a place to live and other certain benefits... can all guess what these are... Just a suggestion don't leave your daughter, sister or any female around this man, he has a tendency to invite them to his apartment, which happens to be at vita novus!
Long story short don't waste your time and energy sending someone you truly love to VITA NOVUS you will be sadly disappointed...there are better facilities out there...do your research

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ru
      Mar 26, 2011

    I could go on and on with issues about this facility.
    As for a recommendation of this place, STAY AWAY or run like hell if you're sent there. That will save your life.
    You can go to as many AA as you see fit while still living at home with your family. The meetings are free, only small donation. Save YOUR $20K
    I'm just stating a fact

    +3 Votes
  • Yo
      May 12, 2011

    First off, I would like to say that everyone is entitled to their own opinion.
    I was told to have a look at this website and view all the complaints against Vita Novus. I have had the opportunity to have an inside look at this facility as I was hired there recently as their nurse. I DO NOT have a criminal record of any sort and AM NOT a recovering addict from anything, but I would like to express my very own opinion on John and how his facility is run. In my own professional view and opinion, I must say that this facility is run with utmost care for people who are in desperate need of it. I know for a fact the staff DO NOT have criminal records as I myself had to produce a "vulnerable sector" check and produce it upon employment at Vita Novus...I was also required to have my first aid and CPR with defibrillator training up to date...mine had expired and I was promptly sent out to renew it at Vita Novus's cost. The staff at Vita Novus care deeply for their clients and extended family of clients. I do hope this puts some worrisome hearts at rest...

    -3 Votes
  • Dt
      Oct 13, 2011

    I dont know what personal issues some of you people complaining have but i personally know for a fact that you are pretty mistaken about John Haines. First off i have had treatment at Homewood in guelph and its one of the most expensive, and did look into Bellwood (thank god i didnt go there to waste my money). All theses places care about is your money before all else. They would even try and convince someone who doesnt need there inhouse treatment that they do just to get their money. Now... aside from that I happen to know John Haines before he started his facilty. From when i first met him all he did was pick up addicts in need and carpool all kinds of people to go meets EVERY NIGHT. He started his own meeting all non profit. He personally saved my ass for nothing other then being a stand up solid guy for years. No joke he has gone out of his way big time to help me and countless others. I have seen his facilty he runs now and people should realize how lucky they are being at such a smaller rehab compared to one that just has tons of addicts flooding in and out and with no personal one on one help, just a revolving door for their profit. I am bad at typing and tried to get as much out as possible once i seen people bad mouthing John when he is most like as busy as hell trying to keep the facilty going. You see the frigging property you get at your disposal and that aint cheap and it better than any around, and if you want better you have to go to the one in Florida for a starting fee of 50 thousand, . So get the [censored] real.

    -1 Votes
  • An
      Oct 17, 2011

    My vita novus experiance is not very good. First of all make sure you never put your son or daughter in a car with Matt (ex addict) and his girlfriend ( who has been a recent patient at vita no us for her own addiction) how can you trust your loved one to an intervention specialist such as Matt who seduces fresh out of rehab addicts. Who has a habit of harassing patients and their family members. To this date he is begging my family member to go on a date with him ... what happened to the the girlfriend? The one he got fired from vita novus from? Yes ... he used to be a counsellor but they could no longer keep him on staff for violating their policy of [censored]ing patients... nice place for your mother, daughter, sister or wife to get treatment ... wonder why you can't have any contact with your family member for over 14 days ...

    +1 Votes
  • Qu
      Oct 19, 2011

    Google Vita Novus and read 10 pages worth of complaints that took place over 18 months. This place is CRAP!

    +2 Votes
  • Wa
      Oct 19, 2011

    Yes another ex-employee Quebecer who was fired for drinking and driving one of the company cars and smashing it up and getting charged with impaired...Now isnt that calling the kettle black!...But yes read all 10 pages cause the real people who were successful and grateful have also posted positive comments and thats the real facts!!...not a bunch of angry deceitful liars that have nothing better to do than defame and lie about a business helping save lives!!...get a life people!!!

    -1 Votes
  • He
      Mar 29, 2012

    This man is a Fraud Artist. He is being investigated by the Opp for Fraud. The nice thing about a press release like
    the one John Haines put out, is you can say nice things about yourself that are not True. Please tell people to stay
    away from this guy and his many failed rehab clinics. Yes, pickerel lake rehab center is no different. He gets kicked
    out of EVERY rehab center he tries to start. Not a very good business man. Do you really want your loved ones around
    someone who doesn't want to comply with zoning laws, who's rehab centers keep getting closed because he fails to pay
    his bills. You see it's simple, this guy is a Fraud Artist and you need to keep your loved ones away from him and his rehab
    centers.

    +3 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 17, 2012

    What happened to the girlfriend? I am her. What would you like to know?

    +2 Votes
  • Ri
      May 15, 2012

    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/john-haines-pickerel-lake-rehab-and-how-it-works-recovery-burks-fall-and-newmart-ontari-ontario-c589480.html?page=2


    This Post is from the Above Website
    by Vitaisajoke12345

    John really you wanna call me a coward? You know who i am and are praying i stop. You realize the manage of Vita at the time Matt after I was there for 4 weeks offered me my DOC oxys. Why would he do that? Oh wait a few days later he offered me more for sex. Then for a steady supply and prove my loyalty to him i had to get his name tattooed on my arm. I left all my things behind and ran out of the tattoo shop crying! This didn't tell you anything??? This continued as we became a couple as a drug addict will do what ever it takes to get there DOC. I had nothing! No one! No money! Then you said as a management decision Matt could no longer be manager. Ppl were talking. What do you do but get Matt and myself to do interventions. We were a mess. I went to you for help and I left vita in a worse state then I arrived! I'm still with Matt we been threw a lot together and he is getting help with me now and i am getting my son back. I'm gonna do it this time, no thanks to you and your center. I came there a mess and lost. Your fix was suboxone. You send ppl away with a substitute drug, that is not readily available in small rural places. Thats just great! I was lead down a worse road and used and had to pay 20k for it. Do I blame you totally no I don't. I will say at your center you will get what you put into it and at the time i guess i wasn't strong enough. I learned a lot there, however no one there at Vita was qualified to do anything many where clean less than 2 years some only one. As you say the first two years you are in treatment still and it's the toughest. The big prob with vita was there is zero professionalism and zero education there! I was using and you hired me! You say I won't say who I am, John you know me and Matt well...and I could careless I can tell my story to anyone. Anyone wanna talk to me call me i can talk to anyone about drugs, first you lose your friends, then you lose your job, then you lose your stuff, then you lose your family, then its rehab or death! It's my life it happened to me. I'm here I survived it all and am getting my son back. Before you reply John I want you to think very carefully about what you write as I SPEAK WHOLE TRUTHS. Don't call matt! If you wanna step to me you better step correct. In rehab it's time for real people and I'm sorry John but your 5 mins are up!!!

    +3 Votes
  • Ri
      Jul 19, 2012

    Reposted from this site
    http://blog.canadiandrugrehabcentres.com/2011/12/16/welcome-to-pickerel-lake-recovery-center/
    Pickerel Lake Rehab says:
    July 18, 2012 at 4:52 am

    This man OWES A LOT OF PEOPLE MONEY. DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. HE’S NOTHING MORE THAN A CONMAN. HOW MAY REHAB CENTER’S DO YOU NEED TO OPERATE BEFORE YOU GET IT RIGHT. OH, WAIT A SECOND, THE INTENTION WAS NEVER TO OPERATE A REHAB CENTER PROPERLY, BUT SIMPLY TO TAKE YOUR MONEY! THIS IS JOHN’S BUSINESS PLAN WHEN IT COMES TO HIS OPERATIONS.

    THIS MESSAGE NEEDS TO GET OUT TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC, THE MEDIA, HEALTH CANADA, YOUR LOCAL MP’S, ANYBODY AND EVERYBODY NEEDS TO KNOW ABOUT THE SCAM ARTIST, JOHN HAINES.

    THE ADMIN ON THIS SITE HAS GIVEN PICKEREL LAKE AMPLE OPPORTUNITIES TO ‘BRING US ALL UP TO SPEED’ WITH ALL THAT’S GOING ON WITH YOUR ILLEGAL OPERATION. YOU HAVEN’T SAID MUCH JOHN? PLEASE TELL US ALL HOW YOU ARE A GREAT GUY HELPING THOSE WITH ADDICTIONS.

    +2 Votes
  • Th
      Jul 27, 2012

    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/vita-novus-new-life-recovery-center-stouffville-ontario-c353871.html?page=13#c1240434

    Reposted from the above site. This is funny. I had to repost it for Everybody to See. Our friend john thinks he is still fooling people by posting under different names. People can Smell You from Miles Away there john! They reason Why? Well, you know why johnny...,


    24th of Jul, 2012 by Workitout

    I can't believe this is still going on since my comments in March 2011. Obviously, cowards are hiding in their words here. If these complaints are true, do something about it. This seems pointless. Grow up people! Prove what is said here, otherwise, shut up and let this facility do what it has to. If any of you have been paying any attention to the addiction issues in Ontario, there are clinics opening up everywhere. Why not let these people continue helping people? If you have a personal vandetta against Haines, take it up directly with him, what you are doing here is idiotic!

    by The Jig is Up

    Something is being done about it, you are being taken to Court john! And you are correct, lots of Rip Off, I mean Rehab Clinics like yours popping up everywhere. This is why the industry needs to be Regulated, so [censored] like you don't get a chance to Rip People Off. You know what I'm taking about there big guy!!! Helping people with addictions..., you're a Joke man...

    +1 Votes
  • Th
      Aug 24, 2012

    Okay, on to Rehab Number 7, or is it 8? So this is what happens, Too much Negative Publicity about Pickerel Lake Recovery and the many other rehabs centers operated by John Haines, so Time for a Name Change to bring in more customers! Now we have www.muskokarecovery.com

    http://beforeitsnews.com/health/2012/08/muskoka-recovery-center-your-gateway-to-sober-living-2444712.html

    Pass the Word Along Please about MuskokaRecovery.com and John Haines!

    +1 Votes
  • Ri
      Sep 02, 2012

    Please visit the blog below. John Haines caught in one of his Many, Many Lies. Opps, you should have kept your Mouth Shut John. Have you ever heard of the saying, You are your worst enemy? I think it applies here. As you find out when you read the blog below, John Haines goes online tells everybody he took Armourtownship in Burk's Falls (where he operates his ILLEGAL REHAB CENTERS) to Court and Won.

    He actually said that the Town was not being Truthful. Well, as we all found out, that was another one of his many, many lies and surprise, surprise, John Haines was the one telling Lies Again. Well, how did that lie work out for you john? I would love nothing better than to be able to go before a Judge and tell him about you, your Congames, all about the people you have Ripped Off, and on and on it goes! Come and arrest me!

    http://blog.canadiandrugrehabcentres.com/2011/12/16/welcome-to-pickerel-lake-recovery-center/#comment-100

    +1 Votes
  • Th
      Sep 19, 2012

    SEXUAL ASSAULT AT PICKEREL LAKE RECOVERY/MUSKOKA RECOVERY CENTER
    http://blog.canadiandrugrehabcentres.com/2011/12/16/welcome-to-pickerel-lake-recovery-center/#comment-152

    Reposted from the above website. This man is a Criminal. Now we find out he Covered Up a Sexual Assault on one of his so called Clients. See Below.

    sexualassaultatpickerellake says:
    September 15, 2012 at 5:35 aM

    Lets start this off by stating some facts: A Male Nurse was caught at Pickerel Lake Recovery/Muskoka Recovery Center ” Inappropriately Touching” a ‘Client’ who was PASSED OUT in Detox. How did John and his Wife Linda respond to this – Well, They quietly let the ‘Sexual Predator’ go on his way, probably to Assault someone else, his next Rehab Victim.

    Did they call the Police as they are Duty Bound to do? Did they call the Police to protect their Client who they care so much about? NO, THEY DID NOT!!! They Covered Up a SEXUAL ASSAULT. The Police will find out when they Investigate if there was more than just ‘Touching’ an Unconscious Victim, or as John calls them, his Clients.

    John and Linda, You are both [censored]n Pigs. You Covered Up a Sexual Assault. Wow!!! You let this happen to another Female Linda, just turned a Blind Eye? Are you proud of yourself? What was your Refund Policy with this Client John who was Sexually Assaulted when She was Passed Out?

    As for the Employees of Pickerel Lake Recovery/Muskoka Recovery Center who knew about this and Did Not Report it to the Police, You are just as Guilty! You too Covered Up a Sexual Assault.

    I will let John respond. Lots more information coming after John Haines responds to this. To the Employees of this Illegal Rehab Center, probably a really good idea to get on the Phone and speak with the Police like maybe NOW.

    What, you think John is going to lie for all of you. It is a Criminal Offense Not to Report a Crime that you knew about. In this case the Crime was a Sexual Assault on an Unconscious Female Victim at Your Illegal Rehab Center, and You All Knew About it. I’m waiting John….,

    +1 Votes
  • Ge
      Dec 22, 2012

    Please Google, John Haines, Vita Nouvs, Muskoka Recovery, Pickerel Lake Recovery, Sexual Assault, Court Date, Drug Dealer, Addiction Canada Treatment Network,

    http://www.complaintboard.com/vita-novus-l1978.html

    Tasteofyourownmedicine

    Feb 23, 2012- neglect

    Anyone who thinks John is responding to these complaints think again, he doesn't have the balls and surely does not have the intelligence! He likely has given the task to his wife and co-worker's to do his dirty work for him...he is an expert at passing the buck! John does not give a rats ass about anyone that comes in this so called treatment facility, once he gets the CHEQUE, that's when your on your own.

    Believe me I know! You will be paying for services promised from vita novus you will never receive and Doctor's you will never see! Might want to keep your meds at home for you will never see them again, guess more money in John's pocket after he sells them for yet another profit! John, money is the root of all evil, so I guess this makes you the root...Money will not give you the happiness you so desire, but the THRUTH will.

    Let's move along to your trusty sidekick Matt who lies, cheats and kisses your ass daily so he has a place to live and other certain benefits... can all guess what these are... Just a suggestion don't leave your daughter, sister or any female around this man, he has a tendency to invite them to his apartment, which happens to be at vita novus!

    Long story short don't waste your time and energy sending someone you truly love to VITA NOVUS you will be sadly disappointed...there are better facilities out there...do your research

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Jan 05, 2013

    Yeah John, no complaints about your ILLEGAL CENTERS! I think you might be a LIAR!!!

    John Haines is a Low Life who's only interest is YOUR MONEY. STAY AWAY FROM HIS ILLEGAL REHAB CENTERS!

    Google: Muskoka Recovery Complaints, Pickerel lake Complaints, Louts Complaints, Vita Novus Complaints, Addiction Canada Treatment Network, How it Works Recovery Complaints. Go Johnny Go!!!


    http://www.google.ca/#hl=en&tbo=d&sclient=psy-ab&q=vita+novus+complaints&oq=vita+novus+complaints&gs_l=serp.3..0l2j0i8i30.5957.9118.0.9252.18.18.0.0.0.2.253.2148.4j12j1.17.0.les%3B..0.0...1c.1.4McXMYuj27M&pbx=1&bav=on.2, or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&fp=b440ac92e81425e9&bpcl=[protected]&biw=1280&bih=685

    COPY AND PASTE THE ABOVE LINK INTO YOUR BROWSER

    UNREPORTED SEXUAL ASSAULT - JOHN HAINES - MUSKOKA RECOVERY CENTER - PICKEREL LAKE RECOVERY

    John Haines is being taken to Court for the Illegal Operation Of Muskoka Recovery Center and Pickerel Lake Recovery Rehab Center located in Armourtownship in Burk's Falls, Ontario.

    Recent unreported Sexual Assault at Pickerel Lake Recovery and Muskoka Recovery Center. Male Nurse CAUGHT putting his hand down the front of a PASSED OUT Female Patient who was in John Haines ILLEGAL Detox Center. John and his wife Linda and Key staff who knew about this Never Reported it to the Police.

    Former Employees came forward with this information about the Sexual Assault. If they hadn't, this would have been swept under the rug as John and his Wife Linda had intended.

    If you know anything about this Sexual Assault, call the Police! See the link below.

    Also Google: John Haines, Criminal Rehab Owner, Convicted Drug Dealer, Impersonating a Lawyer, Sexual Assault, Cease and Desist Orders, Muskoka Recovery Center, Pickerel Lake Recovery, Lotus,
    Vita Novus, Addiction Canada Network, How it Work's recovery..


    http://blog.canadiandrugrehabcentres.com/2012/08/25/muskoka-recovery-center/

    http://www.reviewstalk.com/complaints-reviews/pickerel-lake-lodge-recovery-l114/page/14

    http://blog.canadiandrugrehabcentres.com/2011/12/16/welcome-to-pickerel-lake-recovery-center/#comment-100

    COPY AND PASTE THE ABOVE LINKS INTO YOUR BROWSER

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Jan 25, 2013

    Nothing has changed! John Haines is still being taken to Court for the Illegal Operation of Pickerel Lake Recover Center which changed to Muskoka Recovery Center which John Haines now is advertising as Vita Novus. He is stalling going to Court according to the Town of Armour. But don't worry John, the Town and Local Residents are going to Give You Your Day in Court!

    Be advised, HE STILL HAS A CEASE AND DESIST ORDER TO SHUT THIS PLACE DOWN. WHICH HE IS IGNORING!

    https://www.naatp.org/facility/vita-novus-inc/

    http://muskoka.kijiji.ca/c-services-other-Vita-Novus-W0QQAdIdZ438220434

    Phone: [protected]
    Toll-free: [protected] voice 
    Fax: [protected]

    I spoke with CARF this week. Vita Novus/Addiction Canada Treatment Network or any of John Haines Illegal Rehab Operations are Not Registered or Accredited by them as John Haines Claims. Call the above number and speak with Judy or June. Also notice the “great review” John Haines gave himself at: http://www.weblocal.ca/user/2vntzkc – Does anyone notice that “Flexman” is the Author of both http://www.weblocal.ca/user/2vntzkc and https://www.naatp.org/facility/vita-novus-inc/ - I know, must be a coincidence, right John??? Wow, saying you are LICENSED BY CARF WHEN YOU ARE NOT? I'm surprised that you would tell a lie John, Shocking!

    Also, please go to: https://www.prbuzz.com/health-a-fitness/89023-vita-novus-treatment-center.html

    Notice the Vita Novus Review link on this and many other adds by john haines. When you click the “Reviews” it just goes back to their website. Funny thing is when you Google Vita Novus Complaints, well, there is a lot out there.

    (Just a Sample)
    https://www.google.ca/#hl=en&tbo=d&sclient=psy-ab&q=vita+novus+recovery+center+complaints&oq=vita+novus+recovery+center+complaints&gs_l=serp.12...0.0.2.22152.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0..0.0.les%3B..0.0...1c.ing6eNNL1qo&pbx=1&bav=on.2, or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.r_qf.&fp=ad58aa7848033ec4&biw=1270&bih=641


    Again, this man is still running his Scams. He is Operating Illegally in Aurora and Newmarket also. They have been contacted. Did you get a Cease and Desist from them yet John???

    Hey how is the CARF stuff going??? The answer, IT'S NOT GOING. THIS IS CALLED FALSE ADVERTISING JOHN!

    SO AGAIN, NOTHING HAS CHANGED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mu
      Apr 09, 2013

    NOTICE OF OPEN HOUSE PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS PICKEREL LAKE RECOVERY - CEASE AND DESIST ORDERS STILL IN PLACE - CURRENTLY OPERATING ILLEGALLY!

    http://www.armourtownship.ca/pdf/plrc_openhse_april13_2013.pdf

    NOTICE OF OPEN HOUSE PUBLIC MEETING:
    TO CONSIDER AN APPLICATION TO AMEND THE ARMOUR TOWNSHIP OFFICIAL PLAN TO RECOGNIZE THE PICKEREL LAKE ADDICTION RECOVERY CENTRE

    OPEN HOUSE
    Date: Saturday April 13, 2013
    Location: Karl Crozier Community Hall
    220 Centre Street, Burk’s Falls
    Time: 10:00 am Presentations followed by open house until 12 noon

    THE PROCESS

    Armour Council has not yet made a decision on the proposed Official Plan Amendment.People attending the Open House will be invited to comment on the proposal.

    After considering the comments received from the public at this open house and the Statutory public meeting, Council will make a decision whether or not to adopt the proposed Official Plan Amendment.

    This should be interesting….,

    0 Votes
  • Mu
      Apr 20, 2013

    http://www.cottagecountrynow.ca/news/article/1606819–pickerel-lake-zoning-could-see-compromise

    Mary Beth Hartill |Apr 18, 2013

    BURK’S FALLS – Yes, no or compromise are the three options Township of Armour council will look at when it comes to a wellness centre operating on Pickerel Lake.

    An open house public meeting was held on April 13 at the Karl Crozier Community Centre in Burk’s Falls to discuss the zoning decision under consideration by the council for the Pickerel Lake Recovery Centre.

    “It appears to me right now there are three choices, ” said Reeve Bob MacPhail. “The first two choices are cut and dried. The council could just say no. The other sort of black and white is yes.”

    In the province of Ontario, there are no regulations for recovery facilities such as the one currently operating at the site of the former Pickerel Lake Lodge.

    “If we just said a flat yes it means the council really has no control over it so it may not be an option, ” said MacPhail. “The other option is what I call the compromise option between the yes and the no.”

    Under the Municipal Act a municipality can set up its own licensing system so they could agree to grant the zoning, however still impose rules and restrictions.

    “We could have a license that says the maximum number of clients that could be there, ” said MacPhail. “We could license the minimum number of staff that we have there.”

    Township planner Robert Miller says the effect on the local ratepayers is the prime impact the municipality has to consider.

    “The Pickerel Lake Recovery Centre, under a numbered corporation, purchased Pickerel Lake Lodge and established itself under the misapprehension that all it needed for approvals was a building permit, ” he said. “That assumption turned out to be false.”

    It was about year later when the Recovery Centre owners applied, after opening, for changes to the zoning and Official Plan.

    The applications were filed in November of 2012 and Wayne Simpson of Wayne Simpson and Associates, planner for the applicant, says amendments being sought to the Official Plan and zoning bylaw would accommodate the addiction recovery centre at the location.

    There was a concern raised about the legality of the operation after the facility had been ordered to cease operations by the Township for believing that the operations are in contravention of the zoning bylaw. The issue was taken to the Superior Court, however, that case has been put on hold with council deciding to deal with the planning issues as quickly as possible.

    Simpson says that although the facility provides non-medical and non-drug services.

    “We want to differentiate this facility from other facilities where there is medical care, where there may be care provided by doctors, clinicians and people administering drugs. What might come to mind is a detoxification centre, for example, ” he said. “This facility started off with those types of activities occurring at the facility but during the first six to eight months the facility was reshaped and redefined.”

    Those functions were moved off site and those employed to deliver those medical services are no longer at the site. There is a facility in Newmarket associated with the Pickerel Lake Recovery Centre providing medical treatment.

    “A recovery centre is not a defined use and is not a permitted use in the zoning, ” said Miller. “This is not an application to develop something, it is an application to define and validate something that is already established.”

    There are 156 acres of land but the changes would be applicable to only the front 10 acres, which includes the existing buildings.

    A proposed amendment to the Official Plan to allow a portion of the applicant’s property to be defined as “an addiction recovery centre which means a commercial use where, for those struggling with addiction to drugs or alcohol, wellness is promoted through the intensive delivery of a comprehensive range of non-medical and non-drug services, including spiritual, social, recreational, nutritional and educational programs that are customized to meet the particular needs of individual guests.”

    “This will be a place where individuals will go to escape their daily life routines … it’s important for some of these people who are at this facility to get away from their daily routines, to get into an environment that doesn’t trigger their addiction, ” said Simpson.

    Miller says with the compromise option, the license would keep a lot of the control in the hands of the Township.

    A decision must also be reached without what was referred to as ‘people planning’ that could contravene the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, including prohibiting individuals with afflictions.

    “If this is the nature of your complaint you should put your mind to this because that type of complaint is not available to you … it’s a recovery centre, ” said Miller.

    Miller also asked members to public to consider the common good.

    “There are over 35, 000 people in Ontario being treated for addictions to prescription narcotics. Alcohol is another problem, ” he said. “… there is a need for many, many people to be treated for these addictions.”

    Miller says the questions remains whether the residents on Pickerel Lake recognize the common good and the need for a treatment centre in the area.

    Simpson noted that as part of the Armour’s Official Plan there is a goal for a wider commercial and assessment base and more employment opportunities.

    “These are permanent year round positions, not seasonal, ” he said. “These employees will also involve a higher degree of education and higher salary and will be spending here and everything that goes along with that.”

    He notes the facility promotes the health of Ontarians and the environment and the lodge will be as environmentally sound as previous uses.

    “People can be assured that what takes place at the centre will exist within the regulations, ” said Simpson. “The centre will be fully under control of the municipality under the municipal Official Plan and the bylaw.”

    “The other question is, is the old Pickerel Lake Lodge a suitable location for a licensed and inspected drug recovery centre if one considers the common good if it is properly regulated and properly controlled, ” said Miller. “We need to think of both sides.”

    There will be a statutory public meeting slated at a future date, likely during the summer, and council will deliberate after that time.

    MacPhail says that regardless of council’s decision the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing will make the final decision.

    “There is a final step, which nobody hopes we ever get to, if someone is not happy with the final decision made by Municipal Affairs then they can appeal it and it goes to the Ontario Municipal Board, ” he said.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jun 21, 2013

    W5 & MARKET PLACE ( CTV AND CBC's INVESTIGATIVE NEWS SHOW WHERE THEY EXPOSE FRAUD) IS

    INTERESTED IN SPEAKING WITH ANYONE, CLIENT'S, FORMER EMPLOYEES & COUNSELORS WHO

    CLAIMED THEY WERE HIGH ON DRUGS AND JOHN HAINES KNEW ABOUT IT WHEN THEY WERE DOING

    INTERVENTIONS, ANYONE WHO HAS HAD DEALING WITH JOHN HAINES AND HIS ILLEGAL REHAB

    CENER'S. CALL THEM!

    +1 Votes
  • Ha
      Jun 22, 2013

    W5 & MARKET PLACE ( CTV AND CBC's INVESTIGATIVE NEWS SHOW WHERE THEY EXPOSE FRAUD) IS INTERESTED IN SPEAKING WITH ANYONE, CLIENT'S, FORMER EMPLOYEES & COUNSELORS WHO CLAIMED THEY WERE HIGH ON DRUGS AND JOHN HAINES KNEW ABOUT IT WHEN THEY WERE DOING INTERVENTIONS, ANYONE WHO HAS HAD DEALING WITH JOHN HAINES AND HIS ILLEGAL REHAB CENER'S. CALL THEM!

    0 Votes

Post your comment