The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

UK DEED POLL OFFICE / dreadful service avoid like the plague

1 England, Essex, United Kingdom Review updated:
Contact information:

DREADFUL SERVICE - AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

I also found this: http://hygen.net/blog/web-design/the-deed-poll-service-scam.html

deedpollservice.com
deed-poll.org.uk
“The Deed Poll Service” operates by scamming individual freelancers and IT service providing companies into completing projects for free. If you are contacted by anyone to do work for “The Deed Poll Service” or similar - do not carry out the work as the scammers have no intention of paying for any work done.


“The Deed Poll Service” also may not offer any real services in regards to name changes but is most likely scamming people into paying for certificates that either they will never recieve or are not worth the money they are printed on.

Names (real or fake) associated with “The Deed Poll Service” scams are Matthew Rose (Matt Rose) and Devon Rose.

There are several reported cases of fraud commited by “The Deed Poll Service” including the following…

Non payment for Logos / artwork
Non payment for web design services
Non payment for web application development services
In each case Matthew Rose / Devon Rose (etc?) will dissapear after he has received completed files and close down or cease to use online accounts such as Skype / MSN etc. No payments will be made.

These two domains have the following “whois” information:

Domain name: deedpollservice.com

Registrant Contact:
The Deed Poll Service
The Deed Poll Service

15 Vicarage Road
Dagenham, Essex RM10 9SD
GB

Administrative Contact:
The Deed Poll Service
The Deed Poll Service (webmaster@deedpollservice.com)
+44.[protected]
Fax: +44.[protected]
15 Vicarage Road
Dagenham, Essex RM10 9SD
GB

Technical Contact:
The Deed Poll Service
The Deed Poll Service (webmaster@deedpollservice.com)
+44.[protected]
Fax: +44.[protected]
15 Vicarage Road
Dagenham, Essex RM10 9SD
GB

Status: Active

Name Servers:
ns1.nixcontrolpanel.com
ns2.nixcontrolpanel.com

Creation date: 31 Oct 2006 15:48:05
Expiration date: 31 Oct 2008 15:48:05

whois deed-poll.org.uk

Domain name:
deed-poll.org.uk

Registrant:
Devon Rose

Trading as:
The Deed Poll Service

Registrant type:
UK Sole Trader

Registrant’s address:
Domain Administrator
The Deed Poll Service
15 Vicarage Road
Dagenham
Essex
RM10 9SD
GB

Registrar:
Mr Devon Rose t/a The Deed Poll Service [Tag = DROSE]
URL: http://www.deed-poll.org.uk

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 22-Dec-2006
Renewal date: 22-Dec-2008
Last updated: 28-Nov-2007

Registration status:
Registered until renewal date.

Name servers:
ns1.nixcontrolpanel.com
ns2.nixcontrolpanel.com

WHOIS lookup made at 10:35:35 14-Jul-2008

Important Note:
Thank you to Conrad of UKDP.co.uk for pointing out an error that I posted earlier: deed-poll.org.uk is the offending scam website and not deedpoll.org.uk (without a hyphen). There was a typo made in the origional post. I also must point out that there are many sites using similar names for processing deed polls in the UK. So far only two of them appear to be run by the scammer “Matthew Rose”. These are http://www.deedpollservice.com and http://www.deed-poll.org.uk

Finally, If you have been cheated by “Matthew Rose” / “Devon Rose” then feel free to leave your comments here so others can avoid the same fate. He will make excuses for not paying deposits / downpayments and for not signing agreements. Don’t listen to him and don’t do business with him - period.

9 Responses to “The Deed Poll Service Scam”
[9]
On November 10th, 2010 at 6:53 pm Annonymous wrote:

Please can you phone [protected] and ask to speak with Robert Williams. Mr. Williams is a Trading Standards Officer at Barking and Dagenham trading standards department. He would be very interested to hear about your issues.

Its seems that Devon and John Rose have struck again!!

Check out their latest website: deed-poll.org.uk

[8]
On September 21st, 2010 at 3:40 pm admin wrote:

Well… he’s a dodgy t**t and a thief!

[7]
On September 11th, 2010 at 12:06 pm Soner Ertim wrote:

Last week I re-designed the logo of the deed-poll.org.uk, sent the file as watermarked and after that I wanted an upfront-payment, and never heard from him again.

The phone on that contact webpage doesnt work either.

He used the name Devon Rose and told me he is the manager.

P.S : 2 years ago I made a logo for that website and I was paid. Weird.

[6]
On March 18th, 2009 at 8:32 am admin wrote:

Hi a. Rahman,

Thanks for posting that info. It seems finally Devon / Matthew / Toby are all alias of the same scammer…

Seems the site has been shut down! Great stuff.

Dan

[5]
On March 18th, 2009 at 7:39 am A.Rahman wrote:

when the work done they just block you from messenger. we need to post this to yahoo answer and blogspot too.

[4]
On March 18th, 2009 at 7:36 am A.Rahman wrote:

I did work for the site too, i was made a template for $100 for Toby Rose. http://www.deed-poll.org.uk

Please do not use the site any more.

Thanks.

[3]
On February 26th, 2009 at 4:49 am admin wrote:

Hi Phil,

Just read the first lines of your site -

“It’s a little known fact that there is no need to pay to change your name legally in the UK. All you need is a ‘deed of change of name’ document that has the correct wording signed by two witnesses. ”

Enough said really about “Matthew Rose’s” so called “Deed Pol Service”!

Dan

[2]
On February 26th, 2009 at 4:42 am admin wrote:

Hi Phil,

Looks like you made a lucky escape from being duped out of your code. Good on you

Dan

[1]
On February 25th, 2009 at 10:42 pm Phil Porter wrote:

I was contacted by the above mentioned with regard to obtaining the automatic deed poll script I use on my free website.
I was asked if I could give them the script to try out and If they liked it, I would be paid.
Fortunately I asked for the money upfront (like most software) and I never heard from them again.

More UK DEED POLL OFFICE Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Mv
      25th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    OMG..Today i was Scammed by Deed Poll service.

    I am a coder and they will hire me for website coding.

    I had completed the work and they scammed us.

    Basically its a fake company and with Fake employees.David and Will are the person to whom i had contacted.

    Be-aware Freelancer those GUYS are big Scammer !!

  • Mv
      25th of Mar, 2011
    -1 Votes

    OMG..Today i was Scammed by Deed Poll service.
    I am a coder and they will hire me for website coding.
    I had completed the work and they scammed us.
    Basically its a fake company and with Fake employees.David and Will are the person to whom i had contacted.
    Be-aware Freelancer those GUYS are big Scammer !!

  • Mv
      25th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    Scammer website Link: http://www.deed-poll.org.uk/

  • Ju
      2nd of Feb, 2013
    0 Votes

    David Rose (presumably still the same person) has now started a new company "The Deed Poll Service"

    http://www.changeyourname.org.uk

    The Deed Poll Service (Deed Poll Services (UK) Ltd)
    67-68 Hatton Garden
    London
    EC1N 8JY
    United Kingdom

  • Sh
      6th of May, 2015
    0 Votes

    This person is now trading under the domain deedpolls.com

Post your comment