SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Paz4Play Cattery {Owner Laura Peters} / Inhumane living conditions

1 Salem, OR, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: Paz4Play Cattery

Paz4Play Cattery {Owner Laura Peters} needs to be shut down.

I went to Laura Peters house to pick up my kitten I had purchased, when I approached the front door I was greeted with a highly pungent smell of ammonia.

It was so vile my eyes began to water, I started to gag.

When Laura Peters opened the door and welcomed me in I, was horrified at what I
saw.

Vomit and diarrhea was everywhere. There had to be well over 100 cats in that
house.

Fleas were biting my ankles and jumping on legs.

A white cat walked up to me, it looked like he had coffee grounds in his ears. I would say
those were ear mites, but who knows.

Many of the cats had hair missing around their faces, several were matted so badly they could not turn their heads.

The smell was suffocating. It was like some sort of scary horror house.

Shame on your Laura Peters of paz4play cattery. You should be ashamed of yourself for allowing those poor cats and kittens to have to live in those horrific conditions.

Do not condone her Laura Peters kitty mill by buying one of her sickly cats.

I feel as though she is a very mentally ill woman, you would have to be in order to live like
that.

Truly concerned,
Sharon H

Here is the link to Laura's kitty mill www.paz4playcattery.com

Paz 4 Play Cattery
[protected]

Paz4Play Cattery {Owner Laura Peters}

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Pa
      Mar 30, 2011

    HI SHARON H.,
    THIS IS LAURA PETERS WITH PAZ4PLAY CATTERY IN SALEM OR. HOW HAVE YOU BEEN TO MY HOME WHEN YOU LIVE IN ALEXANDRIA VIRGINIA?

    FUNNY THING HAPPENED TODAY THE OREGON HUMAN SOCIETY CAME FOR A SUPRISE VISIT TO MY HOME TODAY. DO YOU KNOW WHAT THEY FOUND?

    A HOME THAT WAS CLEAN, EVERY CAT WAS HEALTH, WELL GROOMED, NOT A HINT OF ANY SMELL, THE OFFICERS SAID THAT IF THEY WERE A CAT 0

    +3 Votes
  • Pa
      Mar 30, 2011
    Best Best Advice

    THE OFFICERS SAID THEY WOULD WANT TO LIVE HERE.

    SO REALLY WHO ARE YOU? I KNOW YOU LIVE ACROSS THE COUNTRY FROM ME.

    +4 Votes
  • Pa
      Mar 30, 2011

    SO COME SEE ME ANY TIME MY DOORS ARE ALWAYS OPEN AND I ENCOURAGE EVERY PROSPECTIVE NEW KITTY OWNER TO ALWAYS TRY TO VISIT THE BREEDER THEY ARE CONSIDERING PURCHASING FROM.

    I HAVE SEARCH MY RECORDS YOU HAVE NEVER PURCHASES A KITTEN FROM ME.

    YOU HAVE MADE SOME SERIOUS ACCUSATIONS I THINK YOU HAVE THE WRONG CATTERY OR SOMEONE IS USING MY NAME...CALL IF YOU HAVE A VALID CONCERN...BUT I THINK YOU ARE TRYING TO LEAD OTHERS ASTRAY.

    +3 Votes
  • Pa
      Mar 30, 2011

    Dear Sirs,
    A complaint was registered with your company on March 26th 2011 by user "Another Furrbycat Victim". This complaint is fraudulent.
    1) I live in Salem Oregon. Sharon H is in Alexandria, Virginia
    2) She has never bought from me.
    3) She has never contacted me.
    4) FurrbyCattery has nothing to do with me. Never hear of them before yesterday.
    5) I am a cattery with 13 cats, not over 100
    6) I am a CATTERY OF EXCELLENCE registered with the CFA. VET CERTIFIED
    7) THE OREGON HUMANE SOCIETY’S
    Officer Wendy Reimer
    P.O. BOX 11364
    1067 NE Columbia Blvd.
    Portland, OR 97211
    503-802-6700
    FAX 503-802-6718
    [protected]@oregonhumane.og
    Inspected my home yesterday with an Oregon State Police Officer and they concluded:
    • THE HOUSE IS IMACULATELY CLEAN
    • THERE IS NO SMELL
    • OUR VET COMES TO THE CATTERY MULTIPLE TIMES EACH YEAR FOR INSPECTIONS
    • THE CATS ARE CLEAN AND HEALTHY
    • THERE ARE NO SICK CATS
    • THERE IS NO RINGWORM
    • WENDY’ COMMENT WAS “IF THEY WERE CATS THEY WOULD LIKE TO LIVE HERE”
    • THEY TOOK MANY PICTURES TO DOCUMENT THEIR FINDINGS
    • THEY DID NOT OPEN A CASE FILE.
    • THEY CONCLUDED IT WAS A BOGUS COMPLAINT
    PLEASE DO THE RIGHT THING AND REMOVE THIS COMPLAINT AS NOT VALID.
    I am a small cattery with an impeccable reputation. In 10 years this is the first time anyone has ever done something like this. Please check my web site where there are YouTube videos of all my kittens, my home, and my cattery on my “ABOUT US” page. Check the “TESTIMONIALS”. Look at my “BLOG” you will see that I truly care about owners finding healthy, happy, playful companions. You will also see that we encourage people to visit any cattery before they buy a new pet and we are especially proud of ours.
    This is an attempt by someone unknown to me to cause damage to my business and reputation and the allegations are completely inaccurate and unfounded. Please do some checking and then do the right thing by removing this disparaging post.
    Thank you,
    Laura Peters
    Owner
    2567 ½ Simpson ST SE
    Salem, OR 97301
    503-999-4416
    www.paz4playcattery.com
    [protected]@comcast.net

    +3 Votes
  • Ol
      Mar 30, 2011

    I can't believe that someone would stoop so low as to slander a person or their business. When I read this I was appalled. I have one question. Is this slanderous person involved in her own cattery? All I know is that for a person to slander with the purpose of ruining someone's livelihood has a low moral character. Is putting false reports like this a crime?? If not it should be!!!

    +2 Votes
  • Pe
      Mar 30, 2011

    I have never read such a bogus piece of fiction! I have been to Laura's Paz4Play Cattery in OREGON on no less than fifteen occasions and have always been impressed by how immaculate the place is, especially for having a cattery! As far as the cats themselves, they are always in perfect condition - fluffy, clean and groomed, and definitely free of mites or flees! The litter boxes have even been spotless! I finally decided on and purchased my beautiful kitty from Paz4play with all of his shots and current vaccines, and when I took him in for his first vet visit my Dr was amazed at what a beautiful and healthy kitten he was. He stated that the kitty, and his parents and siblings, were obviously well taken care of... he actually guessed that Paz4play was the cattery from which he came! This tells you that there is a wonderful reputation here for this awesome cattery, and I will most surely be a repeat customer when I am ready for another, and I refer this cattery to everyone. Sharron H, what kind of immature game are you playing????

    +2 Votes
  • Re
      Mar 30, 2011

    To whom it may concern,

    I am the owner of a local heating company in Salem Oregon,

    I have known Laura Peters for many years. I am frequently in her home and provide service and repair to her HVAC equipment.
    If there was EVER an issue in this cattery I WOULD KNOW ABOUT IT. You can’t hide this kind of thing from a heating guy. I also know her veterinarian. Laura is the most concerned and caring person I have met and her animals are very well cared for and in excellent health.

    When Laura emailed the complaint post to me I hit the roof. There is not a single shred of truth to this complaint. What a vile and evil person you are Sharon H.
    Why don’t you post your real name COWARD. Why do you have to hide behind the internet? Why don’t you call the Oregon Humane Society directly on a non blocked phone and use your real name. Here is the number. 503-802-6709

    Sharon H. you are an EVIL, EVIL, LIAR. There is literally not a single truth in your claim

    I counseled Laura to trace back your IP address and sue the crap out of you and the web site that posted your lies.

    I also gave her the name and phone number of my attorney.

    +2 Votes
  • Pe
      Mar 30, 2011

    I have purchased several cats from this cattery and never had any issues what so ever! I even stop by frequently to see the happy playful kittens just because they are so wonderful. Her home is open any time you want to stop by you are more than welcome there. I have never entered her home and smelled anything offensive. I love the 2 cats that I have bought from this cattery they are the most loving animals I have ever had. They are like my children. She even has the curtest litter boxes they look like pieces of furniture. I have never ever smelt any bad smell coming from her home ever and I am there quite often. I think the lady that is making these accusations needs have her head checked for mental problems. My recommendation to anyone that this theses allegations could even possibly be true just cal or stop by the cattery you will truly be amazed at the health and cleanliness on the home in question. I have sent many people her way and they have never had any problem and they have bought happy healthy kittens.

    +2 Votes
  • Pe
      Mar 30, 2011

    @reallyangryheatingguy
    I agree! Suing Sharron H for slander is a great idea. She clearly set out aiming to damage the impeccable credibility of Paz4play cattery, and personally attacked Laura Peters - who, by the way, is one of the nicest, sweetest, and kind-hearted people you would ever meet. You would have to be an EVIL LIAR to make up those things about someone.

    +2 Votes
  • Fl
      Mar 31, 2011

    I can not believe Sharon that a person can tell lies about a person, like you did. Laura Peters takes the best care of her cats. If I was her I would get her lawyer and have you make a formal withdrawal of what you said. Maybe the human society should make a visit to your place. I have been to her home and have never witnessed any thing you said was there. Be a good person and tell he you are sorry for what you said and tell her why you said it. She is a very caring person and this hurt her.

    +2 Votes
  • Pa
      Mar 31, 2011

    Hi Sharon H.,
    I am Laura Peters with Paz4Play Cattery in Salem OR.
    I would like to resolve the issues that you listed in your complaint, and ask you to send a removal request to https://www.complaintsboard.com.
    I live in Salem OR and the first time I found out about this complaint was when the Humane Society came to my house to investigate your complaint. If you would like more information on their findings please look at the comments that have been posted to the complaint.
    I have not had any kittens for sale in many months, so I have to think that you are confusing me with someone else. If you have purchased a kitten from my cattery, will you send me a copy of the sales receipt and registration for the kitten you purchased?
    I am sure this is a mistake.
    Please contact me to resolve this issue. And please send a request to https://www.complaintsboard.com to remove the posting about my Cattery.
    Thank you,
    Laura Peters

    +3 Votes
  • Fu
      Apr 01, 2011

    Hello, this is Barbara Lafferty with Furrbcats.
    These defamatory coments by this furrbcats victim aka Sharon H have no merrit. This is again another vicious fabricated lie by a very disturbed individual whom this time is posing as another furrbcats victim on this particular post and who's only motive is to try to destroy a breeder's reputation by posting these vicious lies. This is a very disturbed individual whom is recklessly targeting certain breeders to try to destroy their reputation and the magnitute of these shocking complaints without an author's real name and contact labels this individual with no credibility. My perspective is that this is a very jealous competitor whom will stop at nothing to defame and try to destroy a reputable breeder by posting these horrific lies and now he/she is going as far as making bougus calls to the local authorities with slander and libel accusations of animal abuse.
    We are seeking legal counsel to remedy this matter. IP addresses stay on record on these complaint posts and IP addresses have names and physical address of the annonymous author.

    This is what this individual possing as "furrbcats victim" posted on this Complaints Board about me and furrbcats on another complaint that she's also the author of.
    I copy and pasted her libel complaint against me and my cattery below.
    5 days ago by Another Furrbcat victim 0 Votes


    You can not photoshop health into your cats Barbara.
    We are yet another family who fell victim to your "airbrushing". I only have one thing to say, you can't photoshop Brachycephalic airway syndrome or Epiphora. Our Furrbcat suffered from both of these issues and struggled to take in air her whole life, all two and a half years of it.
    I agree with brokenhearted, throw your photoshop away and stop misleading the public.
    Chilly Willy was the father to our Furrbcat, I can only imagine what he looks like in real life.
    Beware of Barbara Lafferty and her photoshop program. You can see from the reply she posted, she clearly she defends her deception and betrayal.
    Another Furrbcat victim


    Now Mr or Ms furrbcats victim, this is my question to you.
    If you claim to be from Alexandria Virginia on this post and you are claiming to have one of my cats, which I am located in North Carolina and Florida, then how did manage to visit Laura Peter's home in Oregon? Oh, and did you forget to change your screen name from furrbcats victim before you wrote all of these defamatory statements about Laura? Because you posted Laura's complaint and mine on the same day with the same screen name and you speak of deception?
    BIS GC INTHEWIND CHILLY WILLY OF FURR-B was one of my studs and the CFA titles speak for themselves. Also, he has not been in my cattery for several years now, so if you claim that you have one of his offspring, then why don't you provide the proof with a registration paper that states he's the father?. My kittens come with a contract signed and dated by me and you should be able to provide me with a copy of it. Or just give your name and location if these allegations are facts so people can contact you.
    Just Remember, truth and facts with evidence are not slander, libel or defamatory, but vicious lies with the only intent is to defame and destroy someone's character are and there are laws that you break by doing so.
    For the record, I had never spoken or heard of Laura Peters or of Paz4Play Cattery until I saw this post and we are not connected in anyway except that we have located this individual's screen name of furrbcats victim on two complaints in different states against different breeders.
    This individual has no credibility and his or her actions are unethical, immoral and unthinkable.
    I can be reached at: [protected]@aol.com for further comments.

    +1 Votes
  • Fr
      Apr 06, 2011

    I am pretty sure I know who this "anonymous" person is, as I came to Laura Peters, asking her expert advice in how to deal with a Breeder who had just sold me a very sick kitten ( who was infected with a very contagious skin disease.) This particular breeder was and is still selling kittens most likely infected with this disease to people all over the country. She has a prior complaint record with Dept. of Health for the same skin disease, in conjunction with the same vet. The reason I believe she is attacking Laura Peters, is Laura tried to warn other breeders that cats purchased from this particular breeder could arrive with a very contagious skin disease that is very bad for catteries. It had come to my attention through process of my purchasing this sick kitten(unknowingly), that she was also selling one of the other kittens from the litter to another breeder. We are trying to stop the spread of disease.

    Laura Peters is a great and reputable breeder, who now once again has a wonderful health review courtesy of animal control. The reason I contacted her is amazing reputation and knowledge. She also has the moral courage to stand up to bullies like this breeder.

    This is a pretty standard case of defamation, and truth is an absolute defense. These attacks are being made to silence a whistle blower. Bullying is a growing problem, and new ledgislation has been enacted, and is being enacted to specifically target this type of behavior. Unfortunately, the very forum often used to stop actual criminals is now being used by criminals to stop their victims from voicing their experiences. Anyone that knows Laura would know this is an untrue allegation, and the overwhelming response from her fans will in the end lend more credibility not only to her achievement as a breeder, but also her achievement as a human being standing up against both the spread of contagious disease, these false attacks and feeble attempts to injure her reputation, and thus silence her. These allegations are made with malicious intent, and a sizable settlement can be achieved. All postings on the internet are trackable via IP addresses to a source of origin, acquired easily, and these are considered valid in court. It would most likely be wise for the person posting these things to take them down, unless you can prove truth, with documentation that your case is truth. Damages won in a lawsuit cannot be alleviated through bankruptcy filing.

    If anyone would like to contact me for further information about this issue of slander, you can email me at... [protected]@gmail.com. I will be happy to discuss specifics and courses of action.

    0 Votes
  • The name of your cattery is very unappropriate and should be changed right away. The name of your cattery is used in sexual terms called :4 play before someone has sexual acts, and I am sure you know this. How can you be so unaware of not knowing this? Please change the name of your cattery right away.

    0 Votes
  • It is a total disgrace for you to have the gall to name your cattery PAZ 4 Play Cattery, shame on you, and may God have mercy upon your soul

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Apr 09, 2011

    Hey Complaints Against Cat Breeders,

    Are you just spending the day trolling the internet looking to spread hate? Is that your way of sharing God? Your mind is the one that made that association. You dirty, dirty, mean little creature... Trying so hard to say something bad, and that was a weak insult at best. Maybe you should focus your energy on fixing your own problems...

    ps. Your words just make you look dumb, especially in the eyes of real Christians..

    Now go hose yourself off in the yard, then go back to your troll cave and say 45 hail marys!!! And don't forget to put some cream on those lesions...

    Your nastiness will find no sanctuary here.

    Cheers.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Apr 24, 2011

    I would just like to say that I bought a beautiful healthy male persian kitten from Laura Peters about a year and a half ago and he has grown into a stunning adult cat. I did not know Laura and had no refrences but we had been looking for a male persian for some time and were having a hard time finding a reputable breeder. We met with a few well known BAD breeders ( i did not know as I had never bought a persian kitten only adopted an older one) who wanted to meet a hair salons and parking lots but not in their own homes. I met with a lady who wanted to sell me a male with breeding rights who's poor little teeth were so crooked that they hung out of his closed mouth. The hair salon ladys cat had mange and she told me its okay the kittens hair will grow back in no time. I left without ever touching that kitten.
    When I stumbled accross Laura's web site I noticed that it said she welcomed visitors so we called her up and were at her front door within an hour. Her house was spotless, fresh and clean. I think it was very close to christmas so the fact that she was able to keep such a clean place was amazing. She also had a 3 day old litter of himmis at the time and you would never have known it as they were happily snuggled up in a neat little hide-away under a stairwell. She gave me a tour of the male cats area and a great play room with lots of toys and cat walks. Her cats were friendly, clean and healthy. Laura herself was a very nice person and gave me lots of great advise. I purchased a male for breeding purposes and she was very helpful with all my questions. She did not have to be as I had never met her before and have not seen her since. Thankyou Laura for a wonderful male kitty. He has produced his first litter who is now 6 weeks old. He is a happy family pet as well who lo0ves to snuggle in our bed. -Marianne

    0 Votes
  • Us
      Jul 04, 2012

    Complains against Cat Breeders is none other than the infamous RoseMaarie Zizzo, a whack job of the highest degree. She's probably the one who filed the original complaint against Laura because she is offended by Laura's cattery name. Google her name.

    0 Votes
  • Us
      Jul 04, 2012

    Read other complaints and comments posted here by Complaints against Cat Breeders. They read a great deal like the complaint against Laura. Coincidence? I think not.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Jul 07, 2012

    The initial post about this cattery are completely false. I visited Laura and the kitties in June 2012. The house was clean and spotless and the cats and kittens were well groomed, playful, social, and well adjusted. Laura has an open door policy and encourages potential owners to visit the cattery prior to selecting a cat or kitten. I have not purchased a kitten from her yet, but plan to in the future. All of the information posted on her website is congruent with my visit and I am glad to see all of the positive comments posted here. It is a cattery of excellence.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 14, 2013

    all i can say about this breeder, is from viewing her website, she has no idea bout colors, lynx points, tabbies, or himalayans lol

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 14, 2013

    ive seen lots of wrong colors posted in her website

    -1 Votes
  • M0
      Mar 27, 2013

    I was invited to Laura's home immediately just to take a look around and see her cats and kittens. The house smelled delightful, the cats were friendly and well groomed and GORGEOUS. The prices are reasonable (I actually see websites charging up to $10, 000 just for a white fluffy kitten - absurd) and the health of the kittens are guaranteed. I was sorry to see the negative post by someone who perhaps needs some assistance with issues that are psychiatric in nature, because sadly, the complaint seems to be fabricated by a tormented imagination. I was THERE, in person. I come from a family that shows award-winning CFA purebred Maine Coon Cats and this is a wonderful and homey small cattery with dearly loved animals that rivals any you will ever see.

    +1 Votes
  • M0
      Mar 27, 2013

    I also disagree with this complaint because Laura is VERY knowledgeable about colors, lynx points, tabbies and Himalayans. In fact, her information on her website contains the historical truth about the merging of the "Himalayan" breed into the "Persian" breed, being accurate information many sites miss. This cattery is 100% safe, kind to their kitties that frolic about the well-appointed home with delight, and I wish people would refrain from making petty complaints based on NO on-site experience or knowledge of CFA standards. I was at Laura's home - I saw ALL the cats - this is not a "puppy mill" or "kitty mill" - it is a hobby born out of a desire to keep the endangered doll-face Persian genetic line available for future generations to enjoy, as well as producing quality Persians without the ridiculously smushed in noses that cause them so much trouble and weaken their capacity to breathe.

    +1 Votes
  • Ho
      May 30, 2015

    I purchased a seal point Himalayan Persian kitten from Laura Peters in December 2014. Unfortunately the kitten arrived very sick and we just received news after only having him for five months that he will likely not survive. At this point they believe he has feline herpes, tumors, as well as a disease that they are trying to assess at this time (blood work pending). Laura Peters has refused to return any of my phone calls or emails despite the fact that I paid $1500 this animal only a few short months ago. It is my opinion that this breeder is not to be trusted and it is interesting that all the rebuttal emails are very similar in nature. To be clear, I am an attorney not another breeder and have no interest in the defaming or slandering someone if is not warranted. I only want other families to be aware and protected as well as the animals. I reported her to the Better Business Bureau and she did not even choose to respond.

    +1 Votes
  • La
      May 14, 2019

    Houstonmesa,

    This is Laura Peters, I am just becoming aware of this posting, I went back in my records to 2010, I have sold kittens to 23 people in Texas, one is an attorney but Mr Cutler bought a pure white kitten, not a Himalayan. You do not say who you are...if this was real why are you not letting me know who you are? I sold 17 kittens in 2014 around Christmas. In that time frame no Himalayan's went to Texas. The average price for my Himalayan kittens in 2014 was $750 to $950. Not $1500. I have only had one person contact the better business bureau since I started breeding in 1999, and they have a system where everything is on line with each rebuttal and posting going thru their service. I have responded to the BBB. I return all my calls, when messages are left. Since 2010 I have sold to 292 clients many with multiple sales. If I have only 2 complaints on line in all that time, I think that is a great track record. I am proud of my cattery and my record as a breeder. I do everything I can to maintain a healthy and clean living environment for my family, which includes my cats, and everyone who comes to my home is welcomed with an open door and every area is open to the public, as the kitties are everywhere in my home. If you do not tell me who you are how can I possibly respond to you?

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
      May 14, 2019

    It was me who filed the complaint and you only returned my money after I threatened to sue you. I still have all the messages if you want me to post them. Which I KNOW YOU DON’T. I was concerned you may have mental health issues after the way you responded stating you were “afraid” considering we were only having a dialogue about returning my money because the kitten died.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      May 14, 2019

    Again the kitten DIED. My kids were devastated. I would’ve never gotten my money back if I was not a trial lawyer threatened to siue and that’s the only reason you basically responded to me at all

    0 Votes

Post your comment