SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Florida Department of Children and Families - Food Stamp programInability to reach the Florida Department of Children and Families

1 Review updated:

The Florida Department of Children and Families' ACCESS website should be disabled as well as the ACCESS toll-free number. It is at an expense to tax payers to maintain the website and the toll-free number and both, especially the ACCESS toll-free number, are practically useless. There is not any contact or email address on the website to assist one if you have a problem other than the listed ones. You can not reach a live person at all on the 800 number. I have a simple problem. I need my case number. I can not access any information with out it and I can not get anyone to help me get it. I am homebound, as many, many others that receive assistance are. This long-standing issue needs to be brought to the attention of our law makers as it is a gross misuse and mismanagment of tax payers dollars. I actual feel the the FDCF is intentionally making it as difficult as possible to receive assistance so that perhaps people will be discouraged and not apply or give up.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • 23
      Jan 11, 2009

    funny, i feel exactly the same way about their service. none of their phones work, and there's no way they dont know that. if theres a phone number where you can actually speak with somebody do post it. coinsedently, i have the same problem. what the ### is a case number?

    -2 Votes
  • Ea
      Jan 23, 2009

    I'm having a serious problem with them also. Sent a fax 4 times and was told none of them were legible. I can work on that but the amount of attitude I get from these people is amazing. I have only spoken to one person at this agency that was nice, she worked with me to try to solve the problem. The rest were treating like I was some kind of welfare mom that had nothing better to do with my time then call and ask them to do their job. Then my case worker also called me and then hung up on me cause I asked him to do his job. Well problem solved it took all of 10mins. case worker called work got paystubs and am approved for my benifits. This could have been done a week ago.

    BTW here is how you get ahold of a live person at the 1-800 number...when you get to the part in the recorded message that gives you options press 0 3 times. it will tell you sorry thats an invalid option, just press 0 everytime it tells you that. which will be three times, you'll wait on hold for like 15mins and then you get a customer service rep thta will treat you like crap but hey it's a real person! Hope this Helps

    -1 Votes
  • Lt
      Jan 23, 2009

    Its been 61 days since I applied for benifits. I am not a welfare mom popping out kids. In fact in the 90's I was on the Wages (Work And Gain Economic Self Sef.) Board. That was what AFDC, or welfare was called in my area at the time. I had to apply using the internet, (OK what if someone doesnt have internet, Dont they know there is a time limit at the library and its unsafe to enter your info on a public computer) and the service centers? I'm currantly sufforing from a collapsed torn Kidney and strick bed detail.) Let alone there is only like 1 open in a 40 mile radius of my home. After applying I received the letter to call 800 # for phone interview on a certain date between a certain time... I called for days and it was either busy, No one aswered and it just disconnects you or you do the trick above and press 0 3 times and I would still get a message about unusual call volume and it would disconnect me again. I called Tallahassee they put a message through and a worker called me back days later. Then they wanted 6 months bank statements becasue I had been out of work, my husband had and we had to provide more than required bank statements because they didnt believe me that we had the nest egg they tell you to have incase of hard times and we had family that lent us money. I also explained to them that my husband had left because he felt like he was not able to provide for his family like a man should and I would be better off without him... SO I HAD NO INCOME. NOw I went immediatly in a complied w/child support and registered for Work Program even though I am on complete bed rest. NOw its been 61 days, Nothing is approved yet, it all says pending, I have used over 1000 phone minutes because of the hang ups, not available, having to listen to the messages before you can press the zeroes, and holding on average of 30 minutes when you do get through. I have been given many different reasons to why everything is not approved and one being that the worker made a mistake, I got a letter saying I was eligable but still no benifits, Call and when I finally get phone operator all they can do is send an email to the worker. THey keep sending emails and the problems still arnt fixed I still have no benifits. This is A CALL CENTER. THey have nothing I repeat nothing to do with your case. THey cant even call someone to fix a problem all they can do is send Emails. Here I sit, no food, no money for toilet paper, soap, the essentails, and no medical care even though I have wire mesh in my Kidney and a temporary stent that was only temporary for 4 days and was suppose to be replaced 65 days ago. I agree this is a waste of money. People need access to real people that can deal with the situation not a problomatic, over loaded phone system that only puts you in contact with someone that can not preform any ligitamite task other than to email a worker that doesnt call the client back. THe system has gone from bad to worse. It needs to be fixed. The currant system can actually be causing DEATH, Starvation and people to loose their home and family. Wake up Florida politics... this is more harm then good.

    +2 Votes
  • No
      Feb 03, 2009

    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH EVERYONE ON HOW DIFFICULT IT IS TO GET THROUGH WE ALL HAVE LIFE AND WE TRY TO GET THROUGH TO A LIVE PERSON IT'S REDICULOUS AND VERY UNFAIR PRACTICE. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Feb 12, 2009

    I have spent over $30 faxing information to the case worker for the past month trying to get food stamps and medicaid for me and my 3 children. All I get is another letter in the mail stating she needs more stuff. When I do finally get in touch with them, I can not talk to my caseworker. They tell me that they can email her to call me. Especially since they are able to see everything that she states they do not have, like past paystubs. I just found out yesterday that she had withdrawn my application for lack of information. I am now waiting for her to call me back. In the meantime, I am writing letters to all of the people in the state senate and legislature as well as Governor Crist. I recommend that you all do the same. If they are inundated with complaints, maybe something will happen.

    +1 Votes
  • Do
      Feb 18, 2009

    I got laid off.. signed up for food stamps after paying taxes for many years. I never asked for assistance. Now I get an appointment letter saying to call between 1 and 3pm.
    I called every minute for 3 hours and it was BUSY. The 1 time I got through.. it said welcome.. if you have a scheduled phone interview please press 4. I did.. then I got hung up on!

    Back to eating onion soup. Just pathetic.!!!

    Hey.. anyone know who we can call in office..Governer?

    -1 Votes
  • Br
      Mar 02, 2009

    yea i completely agree with all of you. ive been living in florida for about 3months now. My fiance and myself are trying to prepare for college but in the meantime we have no form of income. We havent eatin in about a Week and i filed for food stamps about the 3rd day we were down here. ive gotten a couple letters saying that there gonna terminate my contract or whtever its called if i dont rescedual an appointment. but everytime i call its busy!!! i check the internet, the phone book, ive called over 10 different numbers and none have worked. its eithr disconnected or busy or no one answers. I have no idea what i am supposed to do to feed myself and my fiance. I guess the only thing we can do until the ###s get there dicks out of each others ears is head to the churches and ask for free food. Thanx Alot Florida!!! :)

    -2 Votes
  • Gi
      Mar 02, 2009

    I agree. My daughter who is a single young mother went an applied multiple times and every time she receives the notice for a phone interview, she is unable to get through. These people have a system to take advantage to our tax money. Check this out. She got her last notice on 2/27, mind you this is a Friday..Sat Sunday does not count. The letter stated that needed to call on March 2 or prior to that. Forget Friday.. between 12pm through 1pm. What the hell is that.. ONLY 1 hour. Give me a break. That is smart of them. Sure 12 noon. That is a time that everyone goes to lunch. Very smart of them.. I wish someone higher than them sees this. Please give us some answers. This is ridiculous. Email me if there are suggestions at [protected]@aol.com . Meanwhile, again.. my daughter will try again to apply for the 6th time of this tax paying, fraudelent, sceme, that the Florida Department of Children and Families is getting away with it.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Mar 04, 2009

    This is the most absurd system I have ever seen, many people that are disabled struggle to apply and get benefits because of this jacked up system of automation and call centers. The letters they send do not even apply to you or your situation. I am on a mission to make local and state legislators aware and accountable for this hypocrisy and waste of tax payers money. I hope each and every one of you that has had problems with FDCF has filed a complaint. Good luck and best wishes.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
      Mar 09, 2009

    I totally agree with everyone. My husband lost is job in Sept we immediately applied for food stamps. Its is now March and we have STILL not recieved any help. This is the most insane system in the world, you cant set up any appt, the people on the phones have no clue whats going on, they tell you one thing and then the system is telling you another. I have faxed in information, taken it in the office, mailed paperwork in and they STILL say I haven't sent in the proper paperwork. I have spoke with 3-4 different people from the 800 number, they all say the paperwork is there. I was told the case worker did not look back far enough and they are giving him 48hhrs tp respond. I have had to apply 3 times and have gotten absolutly NOWHERE!

    -2 Votes
  • Ni
      Mar 30, 2009

    I was accepted for the past three month, then I received a letter stating I had to re-apply or they will cancel my food stamps, I re-applied and they canceled it anyway, they claimed I have a salary of $414 week and I'm not even working, I cant find a job. I was put on a emergency unemployment extension for the past three month only, I ask my case worker and she told me unemployment benefits are not taken in consideration to be accepted in the food stamp program, I guess they count it anyway as salary received or something, I haven't re-applied because my unemployment just ended today. I guess Ill try again. let's see what happens this time? p.s. my unemployment benefits was for $241 week not $414 like they claim. I had to move in with my parents with the condition that I'm only to shower and stay overnight and don't eat or anything else, I had to give the food stamp people a letter stating the situation signed by my parents, so they are aware of my situation. I also have no way of paying my bills and with the three month unemployment i received I was able to pay my car insurance and gas, I also had to fix my car that cost me $890.

    -2 Votes
  • An
      Apr 03, 2009

    I have been spoken to repeatedly as though I were a bother to them and a waste of thier time. I got an increase of $.84 cents and they are using that to base calcultions on. That is not right. I got it 1 time and it put me in a higher bracket. It is ridiculious. Can any of them survive on $21.00 a month for food!

    -1 Votes
  • Fi
      Apr 24, 2009

    To Karen - and everyone elese that need a "community partner" to advocate for them (navigate the DCF system)

    Copy/paste into your browser

    DCF Main page
    www.state.fl.us/cf_web/

    Community Partners listing page: www.dcf.state.fl.us/ess/docs/partner_listing.pdf

    Look for your nearest ACCESS Community partner - Call or visit their office - ask for help. They have access to information you do not have access to - many provide FREE services such as Fax/Copy/Print/ Internet web application and in some cases even telephones to use. They can also help you locate your case#.

    -2 Votes
  • Jw
      Jun 09, 2009

    we are having the exact same problem. they are telling us we need to reapply but they give us no fax number and no name of any case worker or any way to submit the requested information. it is ridiculous

    -2 Votes
  • Ba
      Jul 08, 2009

    My husband and I were approved for food stamps for $46 in April 2009. Then we received a letter dated April 14, 2009 that our food stamps benefits will decrease from $46 to $36 effective May 1, 2009. Reason: Recoupment of overpayment has started or stopped. Then we received a second letter dated May 19, 2009 that our food stamps will decrease from $36 to $35 effective June 1, 2009 same reason as previous letter. Then received a third letter dated June 15, 2009 that stated our food stamps will decrease from $35 to $25 effective July 1, 2009. Reason: Increase in unearned income. We don't have a increase in unearned income. My husband only receives $1100 a month unemployment and has $182 child support taken out every two weeks which leaves us with $736 plus my monthy gross income of $198. Our total income is only $934 a month to pay bills. Our monthly rent alone is $671. I would like to know how two people can buy enough food with only $25 a month food stamps especially with food prices as high as they are!!! We are desperate for help!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Un
      Jul 09, 2009

    This is just horrible! In the state of Pennsylvania where I am from they help you IMMEDIATELY! You go there and if you qualify you leave with your foodstamps! I am so confussed right now. I am just so angry I am not sure what to do! I took a job that pays me $125.00 plus commission. The first month or two I am not expected to make hardly any money because it takes awhile to build your client base. I have two chlidren to feed and our rent is $1000.00 a month plus utils. I get $530 in child support. Anyways, I called the 1-800 # today and after waiting on hold for 40 mins. (I'm sure my work appreciates that I am doing personal business from work) The guy on the phone was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO rude! He tells ME that "if you have ANY income at all...you do NOT qualify for expedited food stamps." So pretty much I need to take the money I do have and decide to pay the gas bill before it gets shut off or feed myself and children. HOW THE HECK CAN THE STATE OF FLORIDA DO THIS TO PEOPLE! i NEED TO CONTACT THE NEWS. ACTUALLY I AM GOING TO CONTACT THEM ONCE I AM DONE HERE. THIS IS INSANE!

    -2 Votes
  • Gr
      Jul 10, 2009

    I am filing a formal complaint with the Governor's office, not that anybody in that place would give two rat's ### about anybody. After that I will be taking the matter to the Miami Herald & News SunSentinel, and TV stations that have community help programs. Keep filing your claims every month as a new claim, since in this state, all of the intelligent and caring people left a long time ago, leaving the orangutans to run the shops !! Unemployment & Food Stamps are run by the same bunch of creatures that are NOT human, they are all hiding behind P.O.Boxes since they don't want people pitching tents in the parking lot, which is exactly what I will be doing as soon as I can locate an address for either of these imbecile agencies !!

    -1 Votes
  • De
      Jul 14, 2009

    we are having problems here in milton florida as well

    -2 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 19, 2009

    Why everything about the Florida Department of Children & famalies needs serious investigation from the GOVENOR CHARLIE CHRIST ON UP TO SENATE AND CONGRESS!!! THAT absolutely includes the foodstamp program... FAMILY INTEGRITY PROGRAM... GROUP HOMES... FOSTER HOMES!!! FRAUDULENT MENTAL HEALTH COUNCELORS AND SERVICE PROVIDERS!!! NOT ONLY THAT BUT ALSO THE RACKETEERS OPERATING IN THE JUVENILE DEPENDENCY COURTS AND THE GUARDIAN AD LITEM PROGRAMS!!! FRAUD!!! FRAUD!!! What exactly do they do with the foodstamp money anyway??? Throw parties for the RICH!!! What else!!! Even the kids in foster care in this state are fed GARBAGE or POORLY PLANNED MEALS AND TRUTH IS THEY GET THEIR FOOD FROM COUNTY FOOD BANKS NOT FROM USE OF FOODSTAMP MONEY!!! Everyone should read AMERICAN FAMILY RIGHTS ASSOCIATION WEBSITE!!! DCF DOES NOT CARE ABOUT YOU< YOUR KIDS OR ANYTHING EXCEPT FUNDING THE WALLETS OF WEALTHY FRAUDS!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ou
      Jul 20, 2009

    You all do know that the call center for the DCF is located in like India, right? The government out sourced it. Isn't that part of the problem? No one who works for DCF gives a crap about actually helping people .. they have jobs so why should they care? Want to get your assistance faster, befriend a case worker.

    This system is nuts.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Jul 26, 2009

    The news media apparently does not care about anyones complaints either... or it's censored!!! Look at all the people who have complaints about DCF... CPS... FAMILY INTEGRITY PROGRAM... Foster care ABUSE OF CHILDREN... SEE AMERICAN FAMILY RIGHTS ASSOCIATION WEBSITE... Thing is poor, uneducated and what they DEEM to be STUPID PEOPLE are actually used so CRONIES WORKING IN THE SYSTEM AMASS BIG BUCKS FRAUDING EVERYTHING FROM CAPTA to TITLE IV, IVE, Title this, title that... wonder how the social security program is dwindling... dwindling... dwindling? Fraud in the use & abuse of welfare programs to include FOODSTAMPS!! THE PEOPLE WHO NEED THEM AREN'T GETTING THE HELP THEY NEED... they had rather you apply for mental health treatment; there is more money to be had that way. You can complain to Charlie Christ... do...do... do... he'll forward your complaint back to the DCF INTERIM Secretary; he'll send you a nice letter to pacify you and pass your complaint on to his secretary, who will also send you a letter to pacify you. If you really want and need your foodstamps.. go to mental health and complain about the promblem you're having getting assistance. You'll get QUICKER RESULTS!! Your local senators will respond with a nice letter having nothing to do with your complaint... or completely irrelevant and assure you that if anything comes up in the legislature or next session of congress he'll remember you!! or tell you to write to someone else about the promblem!! Best wishes!!! Try the SENATE WAYS & MEANS COMMITTEE.

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 31, 2009

    I have had my case pending for over 60 days, NOW its on hold. No one has done anything, I cannot contact my caseworker, I dont know WHAT to do! There has to be SOMEONE to contact here?! HELP!

    0 Votes
  • Ad
      Aug 05, 2009

    Write to your elected officials, the more complaints they get the better chances of getting some action. I think this is the Florida's governor Charlie.[protected]@myflorida.com email.

    -1 Votes
  • Me
      Aug 09, 2009

    Use the money and time you are spending on the internet to buy groceries.

    -2 Votes
  • Me
      Aug 09, 2009

    The Wealthy are the ones providing the money for these programs, doubt they are having parties with the money they pay.

    -1 Votes
  • Hu
      Aug 13, 2009

    i have been on hold for over 1 hour. web site will not let me logon. i called the 866 tollfree number and it said due to high volume i should call back later.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Aug 21, 2009

    wow, im having the same problem with dcf. Ive been calling for 4 months, we had our co. close and our income dropped 80% w 3kids. they also told us THEY COULDNT READ OUR FAX, AND BEFORE THAT THEY SAID THEY NEVER GOT IT. It would take weeks before anyone picked up the phone. I couldnt sit there and punch numbers on the phone for more than 1/2hour a day. So today, I did. I made 41 phone calls in 2 1/2 hours, I finally got thru and the guy wouldnt talk to me, he put me thru to someones voicemail. Advice: mail everything so they can't say they can't read it. So I made a dcf online complaint everytime I got disconnected, thats right, 41. I recd a call on my excessive complaints made today and this afternoon I recd a call from the state - she said to call another number, and maybe they can direct me to the right area to voice a complaint,
    This is what worries me about having state health care, if we can get help, the only time in our life we've ever needed it, will we ever get thru to anyone on gvt healthcare. and kidcare is the same problem to. I got approved for my kids, and then it expired in 30 days. and I only knew that bc I got a letter 5 days before I even knew it was expired. and I had no idea what insurance they even had until a week after it expired

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
      Sep 08, 2009

    This is absurd.
    I applied for food benefits over a month ago - I was granted emergency assistance (or whatever they call it) and told I was eligible for $185 a month... all I had to do was fax in some verification of income and electricity assistance. I did. Twice. Then? September 7th comes along and I receive no benefits. When I look at the website it says that Septembers benefits are on hold pending receipt of verification... and then just a little lower on the same webpage it says "No further verification is needed." -- So which is it? Since I'm literally starving, I tried calling to speak with someone immediately.
    Upon calling the 866 number, and navigating the automated system, I press "0" to speak with a "customer service agent" (which I think is something of a misnomer, i'm not a customer - i'm hungry.) As soon as I press "0" an automated message plays that says "Due to high call volume all agents are currently busy. Please try your call again later." which is followed promptly by my call being disconnected.
    3 hours and 40+ calls later I finally get connected to hold music. I've been on hold for 34 minutes.
    Regardless of how this situation is resolved, I intend to bring this to the attention of the local office, the local news, and local and state government.

    Absolutely absurd.

    -1 Votes
  • Ya
      Oct 06, 2009

    here are two numbers that do work. (orange county) [protected] x 210 fax is [protected] hope this helps!

    -1 Votes
  • Re
      Nov 02, 2009

    This is horrible! My unemployment benefits have exhausted and the senate is taking their sweet time deciding on the extension. Meanwhile I try for days to reach someone on this toll free number [protected] and you cannot reach anyone. I am trying to at least get some help with food in case the extension doesn't go through. ALL I CAN SAY IS-JUST IMAGINE THIS USELESS TOLL FREE NUMBER WAS YOUR ONLY ACCESS TO "PUBLIC HEALTHCARE" FOR YOU OR YOUR FAMILY. I CAN'T IMAGINE COUNTING ON THIS STUPID GOVERNMENT FOR ANYTHING!

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Nov 16, 2009

    I have experienced the same thing as everyone on here has. Examples being, I get my letter for a interview on the day of the interview. My worker one time kept my case pending because she didn't know how to do the math. It stated on my letter, that I send 4 weeks of paystubs...as I was talking to her, I sent 5 weeks of past pay stubs (fax) she kept my case pending because she said I didn't send the right information...hello I sent exactly what they wanted. Of course I did not get accepted so I was denied for food stamps. Then when my hours started to go down, I went and reapplied through the system as a change of information and was denied. So I reapplied again a week ago and there is nothing in my access that says that I even applied! Everyone is always rude, they never get the information you fax over and send...I make copies to fax and send over everytime I talk to them. The other day I waited on hold for 2 hours...there was static on the phone, I asked her to give me a second to move to a better place, since I had been on hold for 2 hours and she hung up on me!
    This should be a class action law suite against the state.
    I see people on SS on medicaid and food stamps who come into my office and fail drug test after drug test. I see people at the grocery stores with carts full of groceries paying with their ebt card and cash for their 100.00 worth of beer and cigs..hell I wish I had their 100.00 for food. Try to explain to your children why those people have all the good food and why they have so much..Bet the higher ups do not have to explain to their children anything.
    I even complied with Child support even though I live in fear of retaliation from my x. Who by the way...files for ss gets denied and files again as soon as he is denied. Yeah..the x has learned to play the systems...he hides behind the fact that while there is an open case at the SS office..you can't touch them for Child Support...so he lives with his FAT girlfriend who I am sure has not missed a meal in months...abusing his prescription drugs while I have to sometimes feed my daughters off of 50.00 in two weeks..Thank State of Florida..for all your help. Funny, I didn't even ask for a hand out...just a little help!

    -1 Votes
  • Am
      Nov 24, 2009

    I too feel that fdcf is giving up the run around so we will eventually give up and starve. This is rediculous. Then if i do find a ride the TWO employees there are rude and so busy they couldnt help a small child with a happy meal!!

    -1 Votes
  • Al
      Dec 11, 2009

    After being told "all representatives are too busy to take your call, please try again later" I called and called and called for 2 hours to be told that my previous food stamp benefits were denied because my husband makes too much money. That is laughable considering we have had to stop paying our credit cards and maintenance payment at our condo because the new job that he got after being let go of his previous job pays about 3/4 of his old wage. This very rude woman from DCF informed me since his gross income was more than the poverty line limit, they did not take our household expenses into consideration. Therefore, the fact that we cannot pay our bills each month and have no money for food or gas didnt even get taken into consideration??? What is the consideration then??? When my daughter shows up to day care with dirty clothes and no lunch, will that allow them to take things into consideration??? you know, we only had food stamps for 3 months before they took them away and now, I have no idea how we are going to make it through the next 6 months. I am in my last semester of college and have to basically teach a class 5 days a week in order to get my teaching certificiate and be able to get a job and try to dig pur family out of this hole. Does that get taken into "consideration" the fact that I am not some immigrant, dead beat, drug addicted, welfare mom trying to get what ever free ride i can. NO! I am no different in their eyes, somenone trying to do all they can for their family and working their ### off to get no where except foreclosed on their condo and forced to quit school to get a minimum wage job so their 22 month old daughter doesn't starve is no different from the crack addicted prostitute on the corner. Oh wait, we are different- the prositute gets the EBT card cuz her cash is off the record...

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Dec 15, 2009

    Well, I can honestly say that even though this is the first time I've ever had to apply for public assistance I haven't really had any problems. It's best to call early in the morning like 8 am, the longest Ive been on hold is anywhere from 12-15 minutes. If you call late in the afternoon or around lunch time you will never get in touch with anyone. They have been really quick as far as my case has been. The only hold up for me is child support which has been almost 6 months for me is only due to my son's father. The other agencies do tend to act like they are smarter than you but as a college grad who just happened to get involved with the wrong guy and ended up taking care of him myself and needed a little help I let them know I'm not some hood, welfare mom and that I'm very intelligent. So far pleasant experience.

    -2 Votes
  • Ti
      Dec 18, 2009

    I agree that the system is failing. I lost my job early this year. I applied for food stamp and was denied on the ground that I did not comply with the appointment. I never received an appointment. I tried again a couple of months later since I knew that I could not live much longer of my credit cards because I was approaching my credit limit. This time I was denied saying I never submitted the documents they requested. I faxed in all documents on time and have the stamp from Office Depot proofing so. I continue to live of my credit cards and eat as little as possible. Now that my health is beginning to suffer from not eating well I tried it again. This time I went to the center and submitted the application and brought all documents with me. That was 7 days ago and once again I am getting the run a round. They asking for documents that I already gave them now twice since I applied this time. I checked the site and no change. They waiting on the documents. I went to the office but they say there is no one I can talk to about my case. I went home with an empty stomach AGAIN. At the end of this month I will be homeless since my credit cards are maxed out. I am 50 years old and never thought this could happen. Thank you Florida.

    0 Votes
  • Si
      Jan 12, 2010

    I find what DCF is doing to be outright criminal.I have been on public assistance for a year now and DCF has been great until last month.December may not be a good time to reapply, but you have to do what you have to do to survive.Anyway, I have heard nothing from DCF since I re-applied last month.I am unable to get anyone on the phone(from ANY DCF phone number)I have called and called and called.Messages are never returned or quite possibly deleted before they were actually listened to.I have no idea what is happening, DCF refuses to help me.Their phone system is a joke and don't even get me started on their useless websites.
    I do not know what we are going to do.Right now we are surviving on canned goods(mostly expired) and the occasional handout.I imagine I will be a hooker by next week so we can eat, and I am not above begging for food.
    Thanks to DCF, I am seriously concerned that myself and my family will will be very sick very soon from lack of food.I even wrote to Charlie Crist...although I doubt he has time or really cares about us either.
    Damn you DCF.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
      Jan 26, 2010

    I have read all the stories and I TOTALLY agree!! It is disgusting!!! I got a letter in the mail that they were terminating my childrens medicaid by the end of this month unless I could send OR FAX my paycheck stubs by the 12th of January. My employer just gave me my paycheck stubs YESTERDAY so of course I can't mail them in... BUT WHERE DO I FIND A FAX NUMBER!!! I keep calling the 800# and OF COURSE I get that stupid message "our call center is experiencing extremely high call volume" then they hang up on me!!! UUGGHH!! This is soooo aggravating!!! Can anyone help me and please give me the fax number for the Florida office?? Thanks in advance and

    -1 Votes
  • Se
      Feb 01, 2010

    If it wasnt for the grace of God my kids wouldnt have eaten this month. They dont care about us and whatever is going on inside DCF we will never know. If they had to go home and figure out how your going to feed your kids with one can of tuna and some stale crackers and one can of soup. They dont have to face us anymore and out of site means out of touch with the reality of our lives.

    -1 Votes
  • De
      Feb 09, 2010

    Fax number to send in your Case Documents: [protected] Just make sure you send all your documents with your case number in bold on top of EVERY page.

    Also, you can fax a .DOC file for free using faxzero.com.
    They let you put in sender and receiver information and then attach a document to fax.
    I use it just because we don't have a home phone or fax machine and our library will only fax job applications or resumes. Have you every heard of a government agency that wont help you get help from another agency? Sound familiar . . .

    -1 Votes
  • Th
      Feb 26, 2010

    I just moved to the state of Florida like 6 months ago. I applied December 30, for foodstamps and medicaid and til this day(like 2 months after) I still have not been approved! I am so angry. My coworker with 1 child and a husband is getting over $300 in foodstamps! That's insane! My kids father is mad at me for taking him to chils support(whcih they make u do in order to get benefits for ourself too) so he stopped giving me money altogether since decemberr. My income is $8 @ 35 a wk. I'm desperate for food. Its sad cuz my son loves to eat fruit and I can't even buy that for him. My priority is paying the rent, electric and the water. I think we all need to get together and reach a news station so this can be exposed. My email address is heidy.[protected]@gmail.com. let's come together and try to make a difference because the more voices that unite, the more pressure on them to act. I'm sure they are aware of all the complaints cuz they treat people like dirt and get away wih putting u on hold..and the magically ur disconneted when u ask to speak to a supervisor. And the when I ask for any of their names. Who knows if their lying to you!


    Angry Heidy

    -1 Votes

Post your comment