SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Corporate Research InternationalMystery shopping gone bad

1 Review updated:

I have done mysteryshopping for almost four years, and had many complaints about this company such as removing shops without you knowing AFTER you complete them and then not gettign paid for them. What I find so amazing is that the schedulers that assist you with the shops act as if they are getting cheated their pay if you get a premium commission. Often the schedulers can be rude. What I find amazing is that as a mysteryshopper you are your own boss yet the schedulers (especially for Exxon) act as if they are your boss. Ridiculous. Ready for something else ridiculous. The training and procedures tell you to mark off for various things, but when you follow the instructions, the customer complains then the account manager gets mad and tells you that you are too picky. Go figure. Unfortunately I cannot find any jobs right now, but when I do...GOOD BY!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • El
      Mar 18, 2010

    Jeffreysmile, i too am having problems with the first test. After reading the tutorial on the company I still can't find the correct answer for #1. The answers provided all seem to be on what the company specializes in. I've read the text several times and have even taken detailed notes. I still don't get it. You are not allowed to check off more than one answer, although several seem correct. I am an educated person, yet I still flunked that test. Is it just me? Did you have problems with that test too? How many times can you keep retaking the test? I want to still give it a shot. I'm not a quiter!

    0 Votes
  • Aj
      Dec 14, 2010

    The best thing to do is to print out a copy of the test. Mark off the answers on your print out as you go over the online training materials. Then go back and input your answers onto the online version of the test. I know, these tests are a pain in the neck especially for these small jobs that pay only three or four dollars. Has anyone noticed that Corporate Research International hides what the jobs pay until after you have spent hours taking and passing the tests?

    0 Votes
  • Ex
      Dec 27, 2012

    This company takes full advantage of a tough economy. LOL when it improves. Few job offerings so they count on auditor competition over their little job pool. Likely they have so few due to inept account managers and schedulers unable to maintain current accounts. They merged with Stericycle (want to handle blood products at Wal-mart just let em know). Good paying accounts vanish into thin air minimizing available jobs. Example: CiCi's Pizza, Murphy Oil. They devise any excuse to not pay contractors. Their server is "being worked on" or they are "off for holiday". If you need assistance, too bad. If your job can't be entered, too bad, no pay for your work. And black marks on your auditor rating prevents accepting further work. Frustrating, rude and inept. Loads of fun

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Jan 29, 2014

    My biggest complaint is that they take there time to notify you if there is a problem and then they give you to the next day at 12:00 PM to correct the problem. If your are a minute late they still take the job away from you.

    0 Votes
  • Yd
      May 05, 2014

    Does anyone know whether Stericycle has lost clients or are they, perhaps, just trying to cut off some of their shoppers? I have a high rating, have been shopping for them for about three years, and I admit they can be "funny" about things, but they are not the worst of any I have shopped for. Generally I haven't had a problem with them, but have noticed that from having numerous businesses available in my area, I have only seen one or two, literally, since the first of the year. So if anyone knows anything about this, a comment would be nice. Asking them directly will not really provide any answers.
    Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
      Sep 29, 2014

    They are under new management. Ive worked for them for a few years now. I haven't ran into one issue. Follow the rules and you cant go wrong. It is the TOP one I have worked for... Does anybody know of any that pay the same or better??? I would love to try. The jobs did drop but I saw they are picking back up ;) just keep checking maybe...im in La though

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Dec 15, 2014

    Try Trend Source.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Dec 15, 2014

    Try Trend Source, good outfit.

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Feb 27, 2017

    Has anyone EVER received a check to deposit before they have completed the assignment? Oh, the assignment was at 2 Moneygram stores. So, you are supposed to deposit check into your checking account wait for it to clear then w/d the monies and send money to a person in Maryland, then send a report to the account manager. Sounds legit, right?? ha ha
    I would like to notify the "real" company if someone could forward me the contact information I would appreciate it.

    +1 Votes
  • In
      Mar 09, 2017

    @dishearted I just got the same thing, have you found out anything about that?

    +1 Votes
  • Je
      May 28, 2017

    @dishearted I just received my first assignment...same thing...I got a USPS money order...was suppose to cash it at my bank and then send money through Moneygram from Walmart. Then I was suppose to send a report to the account manager. I noticed that they kept using the phrase "time sensitive". I brought it the USPS, and of course it wasn't a real money order. They want you to use your bank because they probaly wont be able to tell it is fake. You will be held responsible for the funds. Its a scam. Look up all the complaints on this company since 2009. They keep moving their headquarters and closing down. There is NO real company..its all a Scam!

    +1 Votes
  • Pa
      Jun 05, 2017

    @Jeanette Dube I just received the same thing wasn't to keen on it so I'm trying to find out more about it.thanks for the info I thought it was a scam myself

    +1 Votes
  • Sh
      Jul 29, 2017

    You are wrong. They are a real company. I have done several assignments for them with no problems.
    You just got scammed by a fake company pretending to be Corporate research International. As a Matter of fact for nearly every true Mystery shopping company, there is a fake one out there desising to be the the real thing. All the fake ones send you fake money orders and promise hudge payments. " the old says goes,
    If it sound to good to be true, it usually is." I am sorry that happened to you, it happened to my mother too! She got a large money order from a mystery shopping company too, but I held it up to the light and saw that it did not have the watermark that is on those type of money orders, Then I looked up the company online and found on their site about a scam going on about there being a fake money order being mailed to people. I believe this one warns about this too!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ne
      Oct 14, 2017

    @Shirl Jones Fake as HELL!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Oct 14, 2017

    BOGUS company! They sent a PHONY cashier's check that I was supposed to deposit in my bank account and then send two amounts via MONEYGRAM at Walmart to people in Texas. This is the SECOND time they've attempted this, but now under a different name. I fell for it the first time and it cost me $2332 to reimburse a fraudulent check! I will NOT fall for it again!

    0 Votes

Post your comment