The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Beacon Financial Group / Advanced fee loan scam

1 6000 FAIRVIEW RDCharlotte, NC, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: Phone: 866-859-8352

What a huge scam this turned out to!! beacon financial group, supposedly located in Charlotte, NC, is nothing but a bunch of lying crooks. They really do seem very legitimate when they contact you 'out of the blue' to tell you 'we got you approved for $5000.00' by a private investor. This investor only needs you to make (4)payments of $225.00, the first (4)loan payments as collateral for the loan. So, like a fool, I gather every dime i have one week before Christmas, and Money gram these criminals $914.16 for the loan. I sent this money to Canada to a 'Susan Deloris Dimmick' in Grandview, Which turns out to be Ontario. My loan representative 'James Carpenter' immediately called me needing the reference number for the money gram, So i gave it to him, and then he ask for my Banking Information, and I gave that to, He said it was to transfer my new loan into my checking account.(i'm so stupid') So here i am stoked, ready to finish Christmas, consolidate a few debts, Feeling good. The next day, I call James Carpenter to find out what time the funds would be in my acount. He says, by 5pm. Two hours later i receive a phone call
from Customer Service at Beacon Financial Group, telling me the investor has re-reviewed my credit, and an additional (4)collateral payments will be needed to recieve the loan. I was on the internet by now, researching this, and came across another Beacon story explaining the same thing. I immediately ask for a refund of the ($916.00) I had already sent. He got very loud and obnoxious, threatening to give the refund to charity, and ruin my credit even worse if I contacted the Authorities.

When i called my loan representative back, James Carpenter, he acted as though he knew nothing about it, and that My file was locked from his view. LIAR-LIAR, I called back customer service and explained i would be seeing this through to the end. I dont really expect my money back, but i promise not to give up, until someone makes these people pay for hurting my family, and other people. If anyone has any other information concerning this scam with Beacon Financial Group, Please contact me on here. Lets end these people!!!

Bryan g
North Augusta, South Carolina
U.S.A.

Br
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • De
      23rd of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    I was also contacted by a James Carpenter (Senior Loan Rep) from the Beacon Financial Group. He informed me that I was approved for $7000.00 loan at a 6% interest rate!! WOW! But there was a catch...I needed to "pre-pay" $945.63 to show I was worth providing the loan to. He faxed me a contract with some legal terminology in it, so it seemed to be legit. I decided to do some research. I looked up the company in Charlotte, NC and it does not exist!! When I called the local number for the address he has listed for the company it just rang. No automated system, voicemail...nothing. The company has a toll free number on the contract agreement, but it never did display on my caller ID. Mr. Carpenter would always call me private. This company is definitely a fraud.

  • Lo
      23rd of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    I was almost scammed today. I was almost to the point where i was going to send the money and then was for warned by the money gram representative. My senior account executive that was contacting me was Brad Dunham. I was supposed to send my money to Calgary Canada to Jacqueline Bailey. They were going to loan me 10, 000 at 6%. It was also just kinda funny that the ceo of the company and the person picking up the money had the same last name. They are a total scam at Beacon Financial Group. My financial advisor is taking it to the states attorneys office because of the very real contract and very real but phone conversations. Mr. Dunham would also always call me from an unknown number. I will update when i hear more from the states attorney but for everyone who did get jipped thanks for the warnings and these people need to be stopped. I'm sorry for you and i thank you so much for letting others know.

  • Cy
      23rd of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    I CAN TESTIFY TO THIS SCAM... I WAS SCAM A YEAR AGO THIS EXACT TIME. I WAS SO DESPARATE FOR MONEY AND THAT SOUNDED SO SWEET TO ME THAT I COULD RECEIVE $5, 000...ANYWAY I LOST $1, 800. TOTAL. THESE ARE THE SAME PEOPLE WHO OWN AND OPERATED CAVALIER CREDIT COUNSELING-OF SOMEWHERE OUT MIDWEST(CANT REMEMBER THE NAME OF CITY). AT THE TIME, THIS BRAD DURHAM WAS A.K.A. BRAD HUTCHINS. I RECEIVED A CALL TODAY OUT OF THE BLUE STATING I WAS APPROVED FOR THE LOAN. WHEN HE BEGAN TALKING EVERTHING STARTED TO SOUND FAMILIAR.

    I EVEN TOLD THE GUY IF I FIND OUT THAT YOU ARE THE SAME PEOPLE THAT SCAMED ME A YEAR AGO THAT I WILL MAKE SURE THAT YOU CRUMBLE. WHAT A CRIME? THESE LIARS AND THIEVES SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES MESSING PEOPLES CHRISTMAS UP!!! THEY WILL PAY AND BRYAN G. I AM WITH U ALL THE WAY TOO!!! I WANT TO GET THEM BEHIND BARS AND EVERYONE OF THEM IN CONNECTION. I WILL WARN NO I BEG YOU TO WHOMEVER READS THIS DO NOT FALL FOR THESE CONS. BRYAN, I KNOW HOW U FEEL AND I PRAY THAT GOD MAKES A WAY THAT YOU HAVE A BLESSED AND PLEASANT CHRISTMAS!!!...GOD BLESS U...THE DEVIL IS A LIAR AND SO IS HIS ASSOCIATES WHOM HE USES TO DESTORY PEOPLES HOLIDAYS!! THEY WILL GET WHAT THEY DESERVE!! THEIR SHIP WILL SOON SINK!!!

  • Me
      30th of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    We were also contacted by Beacon Financial Group, stating that we had been approved for a $10, 000 loan at 6%. The name of our Account Executive was Jim Peterson. He told us all lthe information about the first 4 monthly payments. So, off we go to fax the contract and all the information that they required. Then we wire $1210.00 to "Rose Bradford" in AB Canada. We were then to call back with the transaction ID. In which we did. Jim assured us that our money would be wired to our bank account by 5 PM tomorrow. So, Thanksgiving Day comes around and we get another phone call from a Randy Carleton stating that the lender re-reviewed our file and needed and additional $1, 200 in order for the lender to release the funds. So, we went and got 2 pay day advances, in order to cover the amount needed, at this time we called Randy Carleton back and said that there was no way we could come up with anymore than $600, do to having just buried our grand-daughter and now being a house payment behind due to funeral expensses. Mr Carleton being the "nice " gentleman that he was said that the company (Beacon Financial Group) would cover the other $600. So, ok we think that everything is going to work out, and then low and behold, we check the bank and to our surprise NO MONEY. So, I get on the phone and make yet another call to Beacon Financial Group. This time I get Michael Hawkins. He tells me that the since I could not come up with the other $600 on my own the lender refused to go through with the deal. He stated that we would get a refund back by 12/24/08. A few interesting facts: Jim Peterson lost control of our file to Randy Carleton, when it didn't work out Randy Carleton says they will put up the money, when it doesn't work he says" your refund will be $2, 000 for the time and trouble". Then our file is passed off to Michael Hawkins who gives us a new date as to when the money will be refunded, minus $200, back down to $1, 800, on 12/26/08. When we called agian to make sure he states tha he is dislexic and that it will be 12/29/08. So, in short: we had to bury our grand-daughter and are now 2 house payments behind, and we had no Christmas for our 4 children and one grand child. If it wouldn't have been for family we wouldn't have had a Christmas dinner. All thanks to Beacon Financial Group!!!
    Jim & Roena
    Scottsbluff, Nebraska

  • Me
      30th of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    We would like to be contacted if any information becomes available about the happenings with Beacon Financial Group!!! Please contact at:
    dozer21965@yahoo.com or red101367@yahoo.com, or 308-641-8465.
    Jim & Roena
    Scottsbluff, NE

  • Ka
      4th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    hello my name is katelynn minton and i got scammed out of 914.00 dollars by the same company i got a dui a year ago and i needed the money to pay my fine i was approved for a 5000 dollar loan and now i have nothing and i am father behind then ever this is the last time i will ever try something like that online. this hurt me financially alot. i contacted the better business buruea and the ftc and im trying to do something about it dont just let this slide because im doing everything in my power to try to stop these people for being albe to do it to anyone esle i dont care about the money anymore i care about all the other people that it will happen to because they are desprate and in need of money fast. i talked to a guy named fred bailey and also a women named martha and the guy was very rude he got mad at me for calling the company a scam and asked me if i was on drugs and talked to me like i was 3 years old. it was very unprofessional and after that i knew i was not going to get my money back after that. if we get enough complaints on these people we will beable to do something about this so dont give up. sorry this happened to any of you.
    katelynn

  • St
      9th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes
    becon financial group - scammed out of 850.00
    Peter Paul Topa Jr.
    176 N main St
    Old Forge
    Pennsylvania
    United States
    Phone: 570-457-3478

    I sent $ 850.00 to Becon Financial Group. I want my money back.

  • Ca
      9th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    I wish I had this information about a month ago!! We get called from this Mary Stevens from Beacon Financial Group saying we qualified for a 5000.00 dollar loan. Due to our "credit" we needed to come up with 8 months worth of payments of 117.00 which came out to 820.00 dollars. We asked if we can use our car as collateral, they stated they couldnt do that. So what we did, a WEEK before Christmas, was drain our bank account, which was for our Christmas presents, bills, etc. They faxed us the loan agreement, which looked professional, legitimate, etc. We signed it and faxed it back. We then went to Wal-Mart, money gramed this to an Ellen Sairrow-Hughes the 820.00 PLUS the 14.16 fee for the money gram. We then called Mary Stevens back, gave her our bank information, and the money gram confirmation number. Mary then explained to us the 5000.00 would be directly deposited into our bank account within 24 hrs. Well, 24hrs later, her "Supervisor" called us and said the "lender" reviewed our credit again, and would need ANOTHER 7 months worth of payments, another 820.00 to secure the loan. We said ABSOULUTLEY NOT, then called Mary Stevens back, told her what happened. She sounded so surprised and said that NEVER happens, and that she was very sorry. We said we wanted a refund ASAP!!! We spoke to the "supervisor" and said we wanted our money back. He said we would not get it until 1-10-09. Well here it is 1-09-09, we tried calling their number 1-866-859-8352 to check on our refund, well what do you know, the number is disconnected! I feel like such a FOOL. Im smarter than this!!! I NEVER thought I would fall for such BULLS#*T...If anyone knows what to do...PLEASE pass it on...
    Candyapel420@aol.com
    Candice Topa
    Old Forge PA

  • Ca
      9th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    If anyone gets contacted by Beacon Financial Group, Mary Stevens, or their "CEO" (laugh) Fred J. Bailey, hang up!
    One of the reason I fell for this crap was because I was on the internet looking for a loan, then get called by Mary Stevens. Then I was faxed a loan document, it looked real...Such a FOOL. Please, if anyone knows how to pursue this, please let me know...I want ACTION! I want the Attorney General, FBI, BBB, SOMEONE who can help...This is WRONG!
    Candice Topa

  • Ch
      11th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    I was a vicitim of these criminals too, just before christmas. I feel like a fool as well because they seemed so legit! I should have done some research before i sent them $ 914.16 twice!! After the first time they said, they can guarantee with another 6 months collaterall the loan would go through. After that when it didn't happen and spoke to the Account executive Mike Hopkins he had the nerve to ask me fir more money! when i refused and said i know this is a scam he got rude and started telling me i should get an attorney to get my money back because i was calling his company a fraud! I told him i had no problem doing hiring an attorney which he then stated he would settle the matter with me and provide me a refund of 1, 828.32 on Jan. 6th which i knew i would never see that money again. When i told him i gave them my rent and car payment money, he told me i shouldn't make him feel guilty for my poor credit history! He said no company would provide me with a loan with my rating, which is a lie since i got a loan the next week from a reputatble company i've dealt with before. I think they open up their phones lines only to the numbers they allow access too. WHy is it we were able to call them while we did business with them but not now? I tried calling this past week and I got lessage the number is not in service? I contacted the bettert business bureu and the Federal trade comission. I also contacted the Police/detectives from lockport canada which is where i wired the money. The dectective told me, the Post office conducts that sort of investigation becasue the crime is considered mail fraud. He also told me often times these crimes are connected to Nigera so its hard to find these people and punish them. Im thinking why wouldnt money gram have their information? I had to show an ID to send money, im sure they need to show an ID to pick it up. The detective also recommended I contact the three credit bureu agencies to report a fraud alert on my name and social security number in case they try to steal my identity. I also am paying almost 40.00 a month for credit protection with exquifax because i am terrified at what they can do with my personal info. Since this all happened I've been having a hard time receiving mail at my house. I receievd phone calls from people telling me my mail they sent to me was returned from the post office saying they could not deliver it. I am trying to straightne that mess out too. SO these criminals put all this starin on innocent people and get away with it! If anyone else has info on what we can do to stop them, please share. I think we should do something together as a group to stop them. There has to be a way for them to sit prison like they deserve! Thank, LP

  • Mo
      16th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    I sent beacon financial group 1475.00 dollars right before the holidays. I expected to get my loan the following day and to my surprise I never recieved my loan, and never recieved my 1475.00 dollars back. I contacted the better bussiness bureau and the federal trade commisson with my complaint. My contact was jim peterson who i found out was a alter ego. Its just pathetic how people can take advantge of someone looking for a loan, either bad credit or good. I am a bussiness owner and what these people have done is not "ethical". Yeah 1475.00 dollars gone hurts but the damage it will do to the economy by individuals not trusting online bussiness's is more devastating. I hope my loss is your gain investigate the bussiness before dealing with them. There are still great bussiness's online that can be trusted just check the bbb before you purchase from them and look around online and see if they are legit before transactions.

    Thanks for listening
    senior manager of sales
    Josh motley
    United home management and consulting.

  • Ra
      25th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    yes me to have been scamed by tem i lost 3000 on a 40, 000 loan the next day by 5p.m so 5 p.m came and went and no money so i called they need more money so i tell them to send my money back randy tells me i can get a loan for 80, 000 so i said no don't have the money he says go and pawn your car i said no just send me my money and he hung the phone up on me i call back guess what all you get is hello goodby

  • La
      2nd of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    Okay, I too got scammed... same story as all of you have.
    I have heard if we call the FTC= 1-877-382-4357 we can get a CLASS ACTION SUIT.

    I sent them a letter and haven't heard back. I am going to call tonight.

    EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOU NEEDS TO CALL AND REPORT THIS, specifically asking about the class action suit.

    I think this is the ONLY way we will be able to find Beacon Financial/get our money/get them in trouble!

    It was also interesting for me to read (on rip-off) that there are more than a dozen companies that were all operating at the same time as Beacon Financial-- and they are suspecting that to be the same people.

    I am thinking they may be out again for tax season to rape people from their tax benefits... we can find them?

    The one thing that keeps going on in my mind is -- Mary Stevens was sooo nice, and I called her when my money didn't go through she "assured" me that Randy was customer service specialist for a reason and that I was in "GOOD HANDS". Randy was an ###... and, really, what company would forward you to customer service after dealing with a senior loan executive? ...I even cried on the phone to Randy saying he was going to ruin my Christmas, I was going to lose my job (my boss lended me the first collateral payment, I was expecting to pay her back immediately once I got the $10, 000), and he didn't care. How do those people sleep at night!?

    I lost $3, 000 to them... this is THOUSANDS, if not more, that we, collectively, lost... we need to work harder than ever and get it back!

    Please call the Federal Trade Commission today... 1-877-382-4357 and e-mail laura.m.strong@gmail.com.

    Thank you!
    Laura Strong

  • Cm
      19th of Jan, 2010
    0 Votes

    Hello,

    This sound like the organization I was dealing with names Bettina Lending Solutions and if you call their number which is 1-877-215-1015 is states "Goodbye" and his name he stated was Michael Heiserman and Tina Hunter. They are giving the same spill with having money into your account by 500pm eastern standard time and this was done around Christmas. I called the FTC and filed complaint with them with Bettina Lending Solutions I believe theya re the same people

  • Ma
      21st of Dec, 2010
    0 Votes
    BEACON FINANCIAL GROUP - Payday Loan
    Beacon Financial Group
    Charlotte
    North Carolina
    United States
    Phone: 866-859-8352

    Cannot contact this company to pay my loan in full. I am going to stop payments on every debit submittal they send by alerting my financial institution. As far as I am concerned they are paid because I cannot contact them to make the final payment. No more money will they get from me...Have a nice day.

  • Ju
      7th of Apr, 2014
    0 Votes

    I got loan from info.beaconloansfirm@gmail.com, they are the best and the real lenders...

Post your comment