The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Coast to Coast Dealer ServiceScam - Extended Warranty from Coast to Coast

Coast to Coast Dealer Service
[protected]
[protected]@coasttocoast.ca

I purchased a vehicle Extended Warranty from Coast to Coast, thinking it'd work the same as a manufacturer's warranty.

A part broke, and they refused to cover it, claiming that it is a "wear and tear" item.

I checked the agreement, and the part is CLEARLY covered. I confronted them with it, then they changed their story, saying "okay fine, it is not a wear and tear item, but we are still not covering it because you didn't check your timing belt every 4 months".

Apparently, somewhere in their 1-page long fine print, I am required to have the car's timing belt checked once every 4 months. The part that broke had absolutely NOTHING to do with timing belt. In addition, a timing belt check costs $100 each time, and a sane person only gets it checked once every 5 years, not 4 months!

I read their fine-print carefully and found more and more ridiculous requirements that were never mentioned to me when the warranty was sold. In essence, they can always find some obscure clause that gets them out of paying ANYTHING. Buying warranty from them will be money well wasted.

Responses

  • Sc
    Scam Cacher Aug 20, 2017

    Coast to Coast is totally a scam. I purchased a 5-yr tire & rim coverage that covers leaks and damages. I just had a flat tire in year one and got it fixed it a dealership and they refused to pay for it and did not provide a reason. E-mails were ignored. Calls not returned. FYI, the flat tire repair only cost me $40. STAY AWAY FROM THESES SCAMMERS. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY BECAUSE YOU WILL NEVER GET COVERED. THEY SCAM YOU FOR AS LITTLE AS $40!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy.123 Jul 12, 2017

    Over 4000$ spent on this coast to coast warranty on a dodge truck where everything is $500...$8000 if you include my car and my moms and have to fight with them over everything...broke down over 100km from home had to fight with them to cover the one night stay and the towtruck! Nothing was received from coast to coast about the "coverage". Coast to coast is just another company that is stealing from people who purchase the warranty in good faith that it is going to be covered...im sure there are lots of people out there that don't end up using the warranty like myself not a dime out of the 2000$ my car is over 100, 000km. I understand its a business but ridiculous how they treat people. Wheels and Deals had to fight with them to get the matter dealt with. $500 for a manifold bolt that broke coast to coast doesn't warranty...we were told bumper to bumper with realistic things not covered: tires, rotors, brakes, exhaust pipe, lightbulbs. But now coast to coast just makes excuses and looks for ways to screw you over. Save your money $8000 would have bought another decent second hand car or a downpayment on a new one...

    1 Votes
  • De
    Denise Soderberg Mar 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a coast to coast warranty. The dealership told me they would cover and replace my engine, transmission, etc. My transmission did die and they covered as stated in the policy. The issue wasn't with them BUT with the dealership not knowing what the terms are. The coverage was up to $2500 PER INCIDENT up to $15, 000 over the life of the warranty. That is NOT the same as fully covered! Plus it says in the terms you MUST perform regular maintenance on your vehicle and provide proof as requested. It's common sense! Plus they cover until 10 years to the IN SERVICE date of your car. My dealership put a wrong expiry date. If that transmission had failed a week later, I would NOT have coverage. Dealership insisted Coast To Coast was to blame until I made them read the terms about coverage length. I think the complaints are based on lack of knowledge. Mike and the claims staff bent over backwards to help me including suggesting I go elsewhere for the replacement based on the mark up the dealership was placing on the transmission! They saved me well over a grand.

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    jcscot Feb 07, 2017

    I do understand some peoples frustration with after market warranties. 1. They are not the same as the Manufacturers warranty, they are limited warranties, limited to the components covered, and the Dollars of coverage allowed per claim. Unfortunately people hear the word Warranty, and think it covers Everything, it does not. 2. The price a customer pays for a warranty at a dealer is usually two to three times the actual cost of the warranty, as it is a profit product for dealers. 3. When a customer gets the warranty they get a signed copy on delivery, and if not they need to ask the Dealer for a copy, it is the Dealers LEGAL obligation to provide that. The consumer receives a welcome letter from the Warranty Provider, and if they have any concerns they should call the provider when they receive that letter, not wait till they have an issue. 4. While the terms and conditions are in writing on the contract, a warranty provider can educate a dealer on it, but cannot control if a dealer embellishes to their customer what the coverage includes.
    I have more than 20 Years in the auto industry, and have found people rarely actually read an agreement before signing and buying it. Those people get upset when their misconceptions are not met, and want to blame others for their neglect. Most providers are honorable, and will cover a component if it is listed, after all why does a warranty provider want their big dealer customer upset with them over consumers complaints. If that happened all the time the dealer would drop the warranty provider, and the provider would loose all that business, t just does not make sense.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sethisis Jun 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please, DO NOT BUY THIS WARRANTY. The company is complete Bull. They wanted records of every 3, 000 mile oil change. I had my car for only 1 year before the head gasket started to leak. The car had been changed to Mobil 1 15k Synthetic from day 1 of ownership and had LESS THAN 7K miles since the purchase of the warranty and had the oil changed twice, once by a shop, once by myself. They DID NOT care that I had receipts and ran the mechanic around in circles for a week before denying the claim. The mechanic cringed when I told him I had a coast to coast warranty, as he's never had them cover ANY repair. They are a thieving company, and do not cover their claims. I am now in the process of cancelling this warranty, its been a few weeks (dealer was COMPLETELY clueless on how to cancel and get me some sort of a refund), and I still haven't received a check. They even asked for PROOF that I sold the car, why the hell does that matter? I do not want your crappy warranty! I want my money back!

    2 Votes
  • Da
    darkenedge Dec 22, 2014

    I'd join in on a class action suit if someone wants to start the ball rolling.

    Jeff todd
    [email protected]

    2 Votes
  • Ta
    TallViking Oct 09, 2014

    I have had excellent dealings with Coast-To-Coast. I live in Ontario and purchased my older S320 Mercedes-Benz from a reputable, independent, used car dealer, in Vancouver BC, with the most comprehensive Coast-To-Coast warranty package available (including all options). Whenever a potential warranty claim arises, my local Mercedes-Benz dealer sends their estimate to Coast-To-Coast for pre-authorization. Once approved, the dealer does the work, I pay the dealer directly (as the Mercedes dealer prefers not to rely on payment from ANY aftermarket warranty company), and then Coast-To-Coast reimburses me for the pre-authorized amount. It has always been that simple. There is not a lot of fine print to read in the warranty information. Coast-To-Coast is very specific about what they cover. Coast-To-Coast always been polite, respectful and straight-up. They provide a good service at a good price.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Horatiojames Aug 26, 2014

    Coast to coast is one of the most reliable and true to their word companies, if you read the fine print it explains to you what you need to do when you need to do it and if you follow these instructions your parts would be covered all you people just try to cheat the system by not going for your oil change or other mandatory maintenance and thats why you get screwed over

    1 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Keeping Aug 21, 2014

    Warranty not worth the paper it's printed on

    1 Votes
  • Hu
    humanbeing vs the scumbag Aug 07, 2014

    Total pieces of ### scammers that need us to collectively file a class action against their slimey, shameful, parasitic and predatory attitude towards hard working honest law-abiding consumers.

    2 Votes
  • Ri
    Ripped off by coast 2 coast Jul 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This warranty is worthless I purchased a 2003 Subaru Legacy less than 30 days ago. Temperature gauge was reading near the red line, when the car was driven on the Highway at 60 MPH or more and outside temperature was 85 degrees or higher. When the outside temperature was under 80 degrees temp. gauge reads in the normal range. Replaced the thermostat and radiator cap. Bought the car back in and pressure tested the radiator. Discover coolant leak around the block and head. Contact Coast to Coast, they first decline the warranty claim because they claim the heads were bad. But if my mechanic torn down the engine they would send out their Rep. too look at the engine. Engine is now torn down. Inspector indicated that the head gasket needs to be replace. It is very clear by looking at the engine that the head gasket has failed. They decline to cover any repair base on engine failure. The car never over heated while I owned it. The warranty CLEARLY states that Coast To Coast covers gaskets yet when I called them about the issue the representative (his name was Andre) was extremely rude and untruthful to me. They tried too talk around in circles regarding the issue, claiming that the car has overheated and caused the gasket too fail. Andre is has no clue, how a car works or operates.What ever happened BEFORE I bought my car, because the car NEVER overheated. I am currently still fighting with them regarding this issue. I paid for this warranty for "peace of mind" and all I've gotten are headaches, lies, and excuses. CLEARLY STATED. DO NOT PURCHASE this
    warranty. You'd be better of saving your money and fixing whatever is broken yourself or just find another warranty. They deserve to be out of business for the way they treat people. Currently I own a pile rumble, because Coast to Coast required for the engine to be torn down and inspected. I have no financial way to repair this car and can not resale because its in pieces. Thanks Coast To Coast your company SUCKS!

    0 Votes
  • La
    LarryO May 02, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Another thing people ! Complain to the Better Business Bureau they have will remove these scammers from being a member in good standing.

    1 Votes
  • La
    LarryO May 02, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with the majority that coast to coast is a scam, I spent almost two thousand dollars to find out that most of the parts that are covered are parts that never wear and would be an easy fix if they did . The kick backs that the used car dealers get must be huge because they really push the warranties . The used car dealer we had showed us the coast to coast brochure and not the insurance agreement until we signed all the paperwork . What a scam! Your dealers are just as guilty as coast to coast .

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Madison-EM2-Civic Feb 03, 2014

    As others have said, this warranty is a scam scam scam. I purchased a 2004 Honda Civic and while on the highway after owning the car for only 27 days it blew a head gasket. The warranty CLEARLY states that Coast To Coast covers gaskets yet when I called them about the issue the representative (his name was Nick) was extremely rude to me. They sent me around in circles regarding the issue bouncing me around from dealer to garage and so on. Finally the representative, Nick, ordered that I get the mechanic to inspect my water pump claiming that my water pump may have been the issue and if it was the issue that caused my car to overheat and blow the gasket they wouldn't cover it. I had my entire cooling system checked two days after buying the car which included a pressure test, a thermostat change, sensor change, and cooling system flush so I KNEW it wasn't the pump. Whatever caused my gasket to blow happened BEFORE I bought my car because it sure as heck wasn't me as the car NEVER overheated before the incident. So I asked that the mechanic inspect the pump and take pictures and everything. After the mec inspected the water pump he contacted Coast To Coast as well explaining to them that nothing was faulty. I was told they would call me back and they NEVER called back. I called them for about 3 days before they finally answered claiming that they approved the job for an amount of $416... um, what? $416 isn't even enough for the LABOR to fix this kind of job, let alone the parts. I am currently still fighting with them regarding this issue. I paid for this warranty for "peace of mind" and all I've gotten are headaches, lies, and scam scam scams. You don't do that to people. It's one thing when something's in the fine print. It's another thing when something is CLEARLY STATED. DO NOT PURCHASE this warranty. You'd be better of saving your money and fixing whatever is broken yourself or just find another warranty. These guys are crooks. They deserve to be out of business for the way they treat people. Luckly it's just me, a 23 year old guy going through this. But what if it was an elderly woman struggling with bills, or a single mom, or a older gentleman who needs reliable transportation and a reliable warranty to back him when something unfortunate happens. Then what? Coast To Coast is unacceptable.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    Leo Patrick Apr 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Coast to Coast Warranty IS a scam!!!

    On two occasions my car broke down:
    1) Head gaskets went and they refused to cover it under their " 6 months on major defects"
    They said it wasn't covered because under fine print "seals and gaskets" option wasn't checked off! Well isn't the head gasket not part of the engine!?
    2) Fuel pump went after a trip almost a 1000 kms from home. They said that was NOT covered because the fuel pump is inside the gas tank!

    Coast to Coast Warranty is a bunch of scammers!!!

    2 Votes
  • Sn
    snoopyau Nov 01, 2012

    Coast to coast extended warranty is a total SCAM. I paid over $3800 for the Optima New Plan which was advertised as the best extended warranty coverage similar to the manufacture warranty. I bought the warranty for the peace of mind hoping that I never have to use it. For three claims that I had to submit for mechanical problems, they always came up an excuse so they didn't have to cover it. I feel like I am being cheated. The plan sounds like it would cover everything when you purchase it, but when it comes to claim it is rubbish. DON'T BUY EXTENDED WARRANTY FROM COAST TO COAST, THEY WILL SCREW YOU OVER.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    JustGotScrewedAgain Oct 17, 2012

    I am so irritated by them right now I really don't care how my english reads out on here.

    Coast to Coast is made up of a bunch of ###... Plain and simple. I had to deal with the most arrogant people there, I had to argue over 40 dollars. they promised me 300 dollars to cover towing and the part but only sent a 220 dollar check. They didn't cover any of the labor, they didn't cover anything that was damaged by their warrantied part, even though it is stated that they would cover the repairs of any parts damaged by a warrantied part. I spent 2000 dollars on their stupid extended warranty. You would think they would give me a break. And now reading all this other BS on here, I think I really screwed up. They didn't even send me a policy, saying the dealership should have given me one and want to charge me to send me an another one. WTF?

    DO NOT GET A COAST TO COAST WARRANTY FOR ANYONE CONSIDERING THEM. They Are Scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Just4Kixx Sep 06, 2012

    I have a 2003 Dodge Dakota 4X4 that I purchased in November 2011. The truck came with a 12 month/20, 000km powertrain warranty. I paid extra to have "Seals & Gaskets" coverage added to this warranty. The transmission has developed a leak at the gasket between the transmission case and oil pan. The company is denying the claim because they claim the oil pan is not a covered part. This is a made-up loophole. The pan is not leaking, the gasket between the pan and case is. The base "powertrain" coverage states that the following parts are covered: "Transmission case/housing, all lubricated parts if damaged from within, torque converter, modulator valve". The "Seals and gaskets" coverage add-on states: Seals and gaskets used to contain fluids within the covered parts of the plan and option(s) covered. The transmission pan gasket is a gasket that goes between the pan and the case. It is used to contain the transmission fluid within the case and pan. This gasket has failed and should be covered under warranty but the adjuster is refusing coverage because the pan is not covered (even though the pan is not the problem). On top of this, the adjuster was extremely rude and even called me "lame" for trying to make a claim for what I am certain should be a covered part (I have been a licensed mechanic for 20 years and know what I'm talking about). He kept talking in circles, refusing to accept that it's the GASKET that's leaking, not the pan, and therefore should be covered. He then refused to let me speak to a supervisor after calling me lame and then refused to give me his name.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    jordanan28 Jun 11, 2012

    I purchased a warranty from Coast to Coast upon buying a 2004 Acura EL premium, with 190K. I thought to purchase the warranty because you never know what could happen with a car of this many km. Sure enough, just over a year later at 208K my transmission went. Full Overhaul. Coast to Coast was AWESOME! No questions asked, they covered the entire thing except my $90 deductible. Thank you very much, Coast to Coast! I will definitely be purchasing another warranty with them if I buy another used car.

    -2 Votes
  • Co
    Coast to Coast is a SHAM Aug 29, 2011

    This is an email I sent to Coast to Coast which they haven't replied to:

    I purchased a used vehicle from a dealership about 4 months ago with 65.000 km. I purchased the 30 month optimum warranty so I could have peace of mind, just how the warranty is marketed.

    From your website: Optima Pre-Owned: An excellent, comprehensive program for those conscientious customers. The majority of all vehicles qualify purely based on their years and kilometres. A vehicle does not need any Manufacturer’s Warranty, there are no vehicle class qualifications; you simply get excellent, comprehensive coverage, starting from the date of sale, for the full term of the selected plan.

    The warranty should cover the coolant system as you’d think it would be a standard inclusion of the comprehensive coverage, but somehow it doesn’t cover the coolant reservoir, or at least that’s what the dealership was told by Coast to Coast. I certainly hope there was a mistake but if not, I feel I’ve been had and will definitely deter anybody thinking of purchasing this warranty. I know I can use some of the money that I paid for the warranty to cover the part replacement cost. Please call me if there is a change in decision.

    0 Votes
  • On
    OnTheSameBoat May 04, 2011

    My wife is looking for a new used car. The coasttocoast.ca plan came up in 2 different dealerships already. It sounds like an attractive plan to buy but I want to read the fine prints. We have not been able to find any details yet.

    Checking the time belt every 4 months is definitely worse than what I could imagine. Would you be able to post a copy so that we can learn all the tricks, and even show the dealerships what's wrong with the plan they sell?

    Thanks.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    James Weed Sep 27, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The company this complaint is about is for a Coast to Coast Transmissions. They also go under the name of Nations Transmissions, or Transmissions-1.com. I had a problem which seemed to be a transmission problem. I talked to them specifically with about what would happen if it was not a transmission problem. They charged a S17 fee to find that out. When the transmission was not the problem, they said they did not get involved in it and to call the repair facility directly. I did so, paid the repair facility, and paid the tow charge. I then received a charge on my account for $378.00 that had not been disclosed, the said was a broker fee. I am currently disputing, but this company is a scam company.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.