The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
CMG Group LLCFraud and scam

This company is as sneaky and dishonest as they come. I had applied for a payday loan with a site online. That site used 3rd party lending and CMG Group LLC deposited money into my account. I received a voice mail at work from them stating that they would only be withdrawing the interest payment every two weeks until I contacted them to tell them to withdrawal the whole payment. Only thing is, they left NO contact information. No address, no email, no phone number. I went online and did a search of CMG Group LLC and all I found is entry after entry of complaints on this company with the majority having the same complaint as I... no way to contact them.


I talked to my bank and they stated one of the best things to do is to wait till they make the withdrawal and then dispute it and close this account and reopen a new account. I am also filing a report with the BBB. If there are any other recourses I'm open to advise.

Responses

  • Ma
    Maryetta Heimann Oct 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Interesting writing - Coincidentally, if anyone is searching for a AO440, my wife filled out and esigned a sample document here https://goo.gl/xN9Gdq

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Manuel Garcia-peralta Nov 08, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has this back fired any one. They recently got a hold of me thru a 3rd party making a 250 dollars to a 4440 dollars pay back. How can I dispute this inpaid interest of 60 every 2 weeks for like 5 months please help

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    mshappiest4eva May 13, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recieved a call today at work about a loan that I did not have saying that they were gonna garnish my wages. The number is [protected]. Hope this helps. I forwarded the information to my lawyer so he can deal with them, cause I am quite tired of the foolishness.

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zakia Rowland Feb 06, 2015

    So I just received a call from a unauthorized #, I answered it and the guy on the other end verified the last 4 digits of my social and an old address and one of my family members. He stated he needed to serve me some papers. I said for what? He stated my family members name was on a check written and my name was on it as well. I said what is this company he said a payday loan type of company. I said sir I don't do payday loans and where was this supposably done at? He said ZIon IL, I said Sir I lived in a totally different part of IL and I haven't lived there or been there in 15 years. I told him I was not giving him any information to serve me and he gave me [protected] ext 109 and told me to give them a call. I called the # and it does not exist I called my family member they said they just missed a call from a unauthorized # as well. WTH is really going on!! I cant wait for him to call me back!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LittleBit83 Sep 05, 2014

    I agree with everyone...I made the mistake of taken this payday loan with CMG but I paid it off. Now I get calls from people stating they are going to take me to court if I do not pay them. I told them I have already paid on person and fax them the letter but the calls still keep coming in. Someone please help me on how to stop these calls and these threats. [email protected] Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    willie dominguez Jul 10, 2014

    i need a number to call these people please help me, you can reach me at [email protected] I need a phone number or some contact information.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amazement May 23, 2014

    This is a very unprofessional company. They called my job and lied and said I was being investigated and on top of that they stated that I had broken the law against the company I am working for. They would call my place of employment daily and make threats. I say to anyone DO NOT USE this company. Find any alternative!

    0 Votes
  • Lp
    lphillips Apr 11, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had cmg group collect money from two different collection agencies on the same account. Now I am trying to get refunded from one of the companies that charged me. Watch out for this company they are fraudulent and will do anything to get money from people.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    REALLY SAD Mar 10, 2014

    ITS AMAZING HOW ALL OF U ARE COMPLAINING THAT A UNKNOWN COMPANY U WENT ON LINE TO GET A LOAN FROM IS OVER-CHARGING U BUT U ARE THE ONES WHO SOLICITED THE MONEY IN THE FIRST PLACE...WHAT U ALL NEED TO DO IS CHECK THE FINE PRINT ON THE CONTRACT THAT U AGREED TO AND THEN DETERMINE RATHER OR NOT U CAN MAKE THE PAYMENTS AS REQUIRED IF NOT STOP SURFING THE NET FOR LOANS OR PAY THE ONE THAT IS DUE

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Mustang87 Oct 09, 2013

    i am currently being called by a Mr. Jeff Thomas with threats regarding legal actions. I have already been ripped off once and can not go through it again. The BBB rate them with an "F" with no association with them. Also, the attorney firm they are using do not even come up in rhe BBB search. Is this another scam or what? I will find out. I have several legal professionals asking them for more creditionals.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angie Q Nov 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They say they are a company called Simon Echler and Associates and they are calling about a bad check. They do not call themselves a collection agency they repeatedly call my job and make threats. I called New York states attorney office and they said to inform them that I have filed a complaint against them and if they are a company who has a true complaint then they can send all correspondence through the mail. The girl said her name is Jessica Drea.

    0 Votes
  • No
    no victim again Jul 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OK now I do not feel like a fool. They contacted me last week saying that I owed them 2763.22 and if i did not make settlement agreement with them they will have me arrested for writing a bad check! They told me that I took out a Payday loan in 1997 and the statue of limitation was still in effect. They talked with my co-worker and told them I would be getting arrested if I did not make good on this loan. After talking with them I told them I do not remember receiving any money and why after all this time were they contacting me. They told me that they would settle for 763.22 if I paid off in 3 months. I gave them $35 and made arrangements for them to take out the money the next few months but I wanted to see proof of this loan. Next payment was due to be taken off my debit card this Friday and received nothing from them so I emailed them and told them I was recinding the agreement until I could get proof of the loan. Received a call from them yesterday and all they sent me was an old bank account number and email address. I contacted the Attonery General Office and they told me what to write in the email back to them. Try this should stop all the calls and threats:

    After reviewing what has been sent to me, I dispute I am the legimate debtors and I demand strict written proof. Please provide me a copy of all the debt documents.

    Please provide me with a name of the person to address a dispute letter and physical address (no PO Box) in which it can be sent.

    I was coerced into believing this was a legimate debit and did not pay the $35 voluntarily. I was told if I did not give the $35 I would be arrested and I believed this to be true.

    Try it and if they call you again the AG rep said I could hang up on them until they send me the documents I requested...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maddox0717 Jul 18, 2012

    I too have been scammed!! Three or four years ago I applied for a general pay day loan, and CMG put money into my account without my approval, as well as started debiting money out. I tried contacting them, but every number I had was disconnected. I was advised to close my account, so I did. A year ago I filed Chapter 7 & CMG was not put into my bankruptcy because guess what? It was not on my credit report. Now, today, they are calling my husband, who they think is me, and saying that they are going to send an officer to arrest me for not paying what I owe. My husband asked what I owe and who do I owe it to, they would not answer, the foreign lady simply said that I would find out after I was in jail! What kind of crap is this?!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kissyfurr50 Feb 06, 2012

    I Need to talk to someone about this company several times I have call them and tell me to send me there address so that I can send my payments to them by money orders and they told me that they don't use money orders or checks, they only use your bank draft from your checking account, and i had to close my account because they were overdrafting my account big time. So please call me at [protected]. thank [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    samantha and timothy Dec 30, 2011

    Like everyone else, my husband and I had also received money from CMG group, in which was never applied for. I have researched this company and its not a real company. This CMG group is just the name of an old company that is no longer in business and shut down in 2009. They are using names of businesses that are no longer in operation! They have threatened me at my work phone, on my cell & even on family members voice mails. They will not get another penny from us. We work too hard for our money for some bogus alias of a business to screw with our finances. They may scare some people but know your states laws and always do your research. They can not do anything to anyone...know your rights! This so called CMG group is now calling me saying they are calling from M.Callahan & Associates, Attorneys office...yeah right! Do not let this company have any access to any of your accounts, they tried to take out $3 every single day for almost 3 months, until I was forced to close the account and reopen a new one. They will drain you for every dollar in your account and then some...even put your account into the negative...what kind of dishonest, crooks do this to hard working people? They will be reported through every means necessary &

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    samanthaandjames Dec 09, 2011

    My husband and I had the exact same problem. we applied for a payday loan online, but decided not to get it after we saw what we were going to get. A few days later CMG Group had deposited 300.00 into our account. We went to the bank and they said that by law they are allowed to take out the 300.00 but not a penny more. They had 30.00 more to take out and they are taking out 210.00 today! We are headed to the bank today to dispute all claims and block them from taking out any money or putting any more back into my account.

    1 Votes
  • Ld
    LDM1952 Dec 08, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anyone had any trouble with First IRS trying to get money to pay back CMG? They tried to take a payment off my MasterCard but i didn't have enough money on there when the tried so it bounced the payment. Now First IRS is charging me $150 every two weeks for non-payment, what started out as a $200 loan is now up to $975. I have told them I was not going to pay them and they actually screamed at me on the phone and talked to me something awful, threatened to have me arrested. Any help or advice would mean a lot to me, as tomorrow is payment day ago so I will charged another $150 and the phone calls when commence.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda2011 Aug 19, 2011

    I had receive a letter today fromA Moore Inc. Financial saying that CMG Group LLC had turn me over to them saying I owned them $510.00 and they want me to paid. So I am waiting for the information from this A Moore company so I can called my Bank to see if anything been put into my account. I know it hasn't cause when there is unknown money is put into my account my Bank call me to ask me about it. If I don't know who it is they always send it back, That is why I always Bank @ this Bank they are great.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jolines Aug 02, 2011

    this company is a fraud and a scam. i never have made any types of loan with no one else other then through the govener for student loans and this people are saying i did for $300 and try to threat me. when i only fill out a application but never sing to confirm the loan. and now there take money out of my account. THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO BE CLOSED DOWN AND THIS PEOPLE NEED TO BACK PAY BACK AND PUT IN JAIL FOR WHAT THEY ARE DOING TO HARD WORKING PEOPLE LIKE ME. I WILL NOT REST ON TILL THIS COMPANY IS TAKEN OUT...

    1 Votes
  • Le
    LeviWins Jun 30, 2011

    Yeah, the School is going to invest hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring in MACs (which nobody uses, except novice uneducated users) for one MAC class. Please, you shouldn't be in IT if you are a MAC guy- sorry, you should try medical assisting, something that doesn't involve technology

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    schilders Jun 23, 2011

    This company is FULL OF ###! I also looked into getting a payday loan. I went through money mutual, and without agreeing or signing anything, JUST looking at the website, I had this company and another company..pack management, deposit 200$ each into my account. I tried reversing the transactions and my bank said they wouldn't process. My next pay period each company took 60$ from my account... I tried to contact BOTH companies... no response... So I closed my account. 2 weeks later I started recieving VERY irritating and rude phone calls non-stop 3-4 times a day. They even called later at night while I am at work. After about a month of the harrasment from pack management asking me to pay $350 dollars, I got them to settle for $140 so that it wouldn't be on my credit report. Now that I've paid that (without them sending me a receipt like they said they would) the other company is calling EVERY DAY! I don't know what to do anymore!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    JBrown84 Apr 14, 2011

    File your complaints about this company on the following website. I called the Attorney Generals Office and they directed me to this website: http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx

    PLEASE EVERYONE FILE YOUR COMPLAINTS!

    0 Votes
  • As
    ash-mash Apr 14, 2011

    This company is a total rip off. I had been applying to numerous company when apparently one of the online sites sent it to CMG GROUP who then deposited 250.00 in an account that I had already closed. The bank sent me a check and I had no clue where the money came from. They gave me the info from CMG group and i tried to send the money back but they said I would have to pay back the 250 plus interest. I never paid it back so they contacted my local county courthouse and sent sheriff's to my house to present me with a letter to appear in court for FRAUD. can you f'ing believe this mother F********. I contacted the BBB as I encourage you all to do so that they can once and for all close this stupid [censor] company. but the cmg group responded to the BBB request saying they contacted me at work, and my cell and left a voicemail, shouldnt they have to have actual contact with you and you give the second OK by phone before they deposit money. F'***** rip offs!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    JBrown84 Apr 14, 2011

    Wow. I cannot believe all of the complaints I am seeing about this company. I am yet another victim of this. I applied for a payday loan through money mutual, which is just a search engine for all types of different payday loan companies. But the kick is that you have to submit your personal information(ex. name, address, telephone number, email, bank routing and acct number and if I'm not mistaking also your social security number) before you are actually contacted by an agent who will approve you for a loan. Within minutes, I received over 200 emails, 100+ text messages and countless phone calls. This was 2 weeks ago(4-5-2011)
    and I am still receiving emails, phone calls and text messages from supposedly different companies. On April 11th, I check my bank account. There is a credit of $250 made by CMG LLC with a phone number listed under the transaction. I immediately called the referenced number and it then directed me to ANOTHER number to call which i did. I spoke to a woman on the phone(forgot her name), explained to her that I did not submit my information to their company authorizing them to deposit the $250 into my account. I asked to speak to a supervisor and I was given the same stupid excuse.."you have to wait 24 to 48 hours for a supervisor to call you back." I continued to speak to the woman on the phone and she then stated that the funds in the exact amount that was deposited into my account, would be reversed. Its been 3 days and the money is still sitting there. Like others did in this situation, my best option is to close out my account and reopen a new one, and just sit back and wait for the threatening phone calls. I was thinking of just withdrawing the $250 and getting a money order to send to them, but the only address that is given is overseas. This is outrageous. The amount of complaints about the same situation on this discussion board for the past 2 years and nothing has been done about it to this day. Its time for all of us to write the attorney general and the BBB all at the same time so the problem with this company can be addressed and taken care of.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicki Futrell Apr 04, 2011

    THEY WANTED TO BUY MY SHARES FOR A DISCLOSED AMOUNT YOU MIGHT AS WELL SAY THEY STOLE ALL MY MONEY, THEY ARE LIARS AN CHEATERS, AND I AM GOING TOO TELL EVERYBODY AND THEY NEED TOO BE REPORTED TO FDIC. THEY WONT RIP ME OFF AGAIN.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Goaniane Mar 18, 2011

    I don't know what to say about that CMG GROUP. They are nothing but scammers. I just became a victim of their fraude. They keep calling my cell phone and telling me that they put $350 on my bank account. The worst is they said that they are FBI and there is a charge against my name. So, when FBI get contacted by myself, they said that they don't know the phone number . Please! Please! don't do business with this company named CMG GROUP.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robr72 Mar 11, 2011

    Oh great!! After reading all these complaints wish I never applied for a loan!! Applied with checkngo.com, a well trusted company, I was denied through them and immediately sent to this company w/o even knowing and they already had my info!! I never even applied with them. They called but I ignored the phone call. Any input anyone?? if it helps, the number they used was [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    sweettart Feb 13, 2011

    the same thing happen to me i know didnt take out a laon with them .and that acct.was close for a why. n someone call me at my job . talkin about they gone to take lagel act for a laon i had took out. and for check faurd in they said bring the papers to my job. they gave me a number to call.in the girl name was jennifer in ext.213 but the thing i give my card # so i close my acct. n out a new i never been though nuthin like this before. she said my laon 430.00 i know that not true.what could i do please help!!! could i call lawery are what.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    viking6718 Feb 11, 2011

    Same thing happened to us I was looking for a payday loan but nevered signed for this, next thing my lady seen a loan for $200.00 in the bank and yelled at me. I told her I nevered asked or signed anything was just looking. Now they are taking out interest and we cann't afford this we live ck to ck HELP

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    viking6718 Feb 11, 2011

    Same thing happened to us My other was looking for a payday loan but nevered agreeded to anything next thing I know we have money deposited and then $60.00 in interest pending I am going to try to close this account and open another don't know what else to do?

    1 Votes
  • As
    Ashleyogle Jan 18, 2011

    Like all of you I applied for a payday loan, when I didnt like the terms I decided to decline the offer and I thought that was that, then I noticed a week later that 200 had been deposited into my account, by then the 24 to 48 hr period was over for declining the loan, I had to get the number to CMG from my bank, when I called they told me it would be 260 to pay it off, and I had to notify them 3 days before due date to pay it off. I did not have the money then and was basically stuck, so after they took out 60 dollars every 2 weeks for 3 payments I decided enough was enough. I called CMG again and was told this time, by a woman chewing food very loudly on the phone that I would have to wait till the next pay period and call a WEEK in advance and it would be 375.00. I filed a complaint with my bank and withdrew my money, the bank has already credited me one payment back, and are trying to get me more. Worst case I am gonna give them their 20.00 thats left on my balance of the 200.00 and they can take me to court if they have the nerve!!! For all of you stuck with this call your back, file a report and put a stop merchant withdrawal on your account at least 3 days in advance before the payment is due to come out. CMG will be out of luck and hopefully eventually out of buisness!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stupid in New England Dec 16, 2010

    So, last June i applied for a pay day loan and recieved 2 that i knownly agreed to do then i got another loan but didnt realize it till after a month once i got my bank statement by then it was too late and i had already paid the other two off and closed my bank acct. Well, it is now 9 days before xmas and i recieved a threating phone call from a man name OWEN SHORE from the offices of MARCELLO AND CAMARILLO located at 8491 hospital drive Suite 230 Douglasville GA threating that this was a checking law violation and that they needed to do a formal deposition so they can file to take me to court and that i was looking at $4574.18 in legal fees as well as what i owe CMG which was 764.83. The orginal amount was 600.00... they gave me 3 choices i can pay this off in 72 hrs for $1374.18, 48 hrs $1112.42 OR 24 hrs $764.83.. i told them they were crazy and was not able to do this. OWEN said then you want to go to court and have a $200.00 fine and a year in jail instead and that this stays on your credit report and will ALWAYS show that you did check FRAUD. So i agreed to pay the 764.83 in 2 stallments... and gave them my bank care (STUPID) Come to find out they sent me a confirmation letter which looked fake via email... and so i looked up CMG and found out all this stuff and so i decided to look up this MARCELLO AND CAMARILLO GROUP and found out that they are not located in GA so i found some lawyers in GA and called them, they never heard of them then i looked up surronding businesses near that address and found a UPS store called them and they said they never heard of them and there was no Suite # 230... FUNNY thing is UPS store is located at the same address... SO NOW I AM OUT THIS MONEY UNLESS I PUT A STOP TO IT TO MY ACCOUNT... though i am afraid to do so since i do not need to go to court jail let alone lose my job (mind you i work for the government)... ANY IDEAS????

    0 Votes
  • So
    Softailgrl81 Dec 15, 2010

    I can't believe what I'm reading. The same thing happened to me I did a general request for a payday loan but decided that the fee was too much and much to my surprise I looked in my bank account and there was 300.00 from CMG. When I called them they told me the say thing they have apparently told everyone else that when you fill our the general application it allows them to deposit the money...what a crock! So now I'm stuck paying $90.00 every two weeks for something I really didn't want and don't know when I'll able to pay back the 300.00 plus the 90.oo in interest. I recommend that everyone read all the fine print before applying for a pay day loan. They actually had the nerve to charge me a 30.00 return fee when the money wasn't in the account to cover the $90.00 that I didn't know was coming out. My only advice is to STAY AWAY from the payday loans-it's like taking money from a loan shark!!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    almostgotjessica Dec 14, 2010

    the number is [protected] ext 213

    0 Votes
  • Al
    almostgotjessica Dec 14, 2010

    Well the person to contact is Jennifer and the number she left on my vm is [protected] ext. 213. also the fax number is [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sad! People! Nov 23, 2010

    My 80 year old unhealthy mother in law was contacted by a Jerk named Ryan Cohan, he stated that he was a lawyer and he needed to contact my husband about a bank to bank fraud!!! I was in shock! Had no idea what they were talking about. I got his number and called him back, he said he was working for the CMG Group and that I had till wed to contact this company or I my husband would be going to jail!!! I assumed it was a scam of sometime but it scared the crap out of me! I just contacted CMG Group and they told me they had no idea who this man was and we owe a payday loan that I was not aware of! I am contacting a lawyer! We are both unemployed at this time and this is very sad!

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leelee7896 Nov 05, 2010

    I just want everyone that is affected by this company to know that I found the e-mail they sent me (amongst the 800+ other e-mails I received about payday loans) after I called their number. It states that the loan is refinanced every two weeks (or every time you are supposed to pay) automatically unless you contact them to pay it off or paydown. They also told me on the phone when I said I did not authorize this loan that "once you hit submit online they use that as your electronic signature." So knowing that you have to hit submit in order to see how much, or if you are authorized for a loan, they take advantage of that. I was then told that they called me and left a "detailed" message and an e-mail. I responded that I had received millions of phone calls from many different companies and 800+ e-mails and she replied "I'm sure you did" sounding like they know that we will be getting all these e-mails and phone calls and ignoring most of them. So yeah, they are EXTREMELY sneaky in how they work! So I've talked to them and to my bank and if you catch it in time you can have the bank reverse the loan within 24 hours (this is the legal time they are allowed to do it) or within 24 hours OSL (CMG Groups other name and who answers when you call customer service) will take it back out of your account. However, if you find out too late, OSL will take it back out of your account IF you send them a bank statement that shows you didn't use the funds. Otherwise your option is to pay the loan amount and the finance charge (mine was $60) in full and they won't keep charging you. However, they can't give you a confirmation number saying that you have paid the balance in full. So yeah, I don't know if this will help anyone or not and I haven't gotten to the point of when they would start taking money out of my account and I'm still writing to the Attorney General about this because I don't know how a loan can be legal by them using your submit as an electronic signature when no terms or conditions were given BEFORE you hit submit! So we'll see. The number that I used to call them is [protected] and their fax is [protected]. There is no address on the e-mail I received either, which seems even more sneaky to me! Good luck everyone I hope something brings this company down!

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    MsJustice Oct 30, 2010

    TO ALL OF YOU TRYING TO FIND THE ADDRESS TO THIA LOW LIFE, SCAMMING COMPANY...CLICK THE LINK BELOW. YOU WILL FIND THE ADDRESS THERE.

    I applied for a loan, but quickly cancelled, after noticing that they were rushing the process, and not explain their policy. The only time they would explain, was if I asked...Plus I noticed how unprofessional they were. I called back three times, to make sure that my transaction was cancelled, and they were like "yeah", so unprofessional.
    I also called my bank, and asked them to make a record that I called them, with concerns, that CMG Group Payday Loan..may deposit funds into my account, without my approval. So at least, I have that on record, in case I have to take those dirty [censor] to court. They had the nerve to ask my for my check card number!!! Of course I did not give to them. They claimed they needed my card number, to make sure it's linked to my checking account..yeah right!! I was born at night, not last night, Even though I was a bit desperate for the funds..I am so glad that God intervened. That's right, it was a Divine Intervention! Thank you Lord, that I had sense to cancel my transaction, with this company that takes advantage of innocent, hard working people!

    I hope that my experience has help some of you, in some way.
    Don't forget to click the link below for the address and phone number to: CMG Group Payday loan.
    (The website won't allow me to copy and paste the company's contacts)

    http://www.debtconsolidationcare.com/paydayloan/licensed-lender.html

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned payday user Oct 19, 2010

    this compnay is such a rip off.. I got a call today and they stated that they was gonna come to my job and arrest me for a pay day loan that I got with this company and then closed my account.. well I did the research here in jacksonville Florida and it clearly says that they cant prosecute for an account that has been closed.. I am so upset becuae this can possibly happen to other people.. Please Be AWARE THIS IS A SCAm.. the [censor] that will call u name is Anthony and he is a jerk..curse him out and hang up your phone!!

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    CMG Group can suck it Oct 06, 2010

    Just as everyone else has reported on here, CMG Group deposited $300 into my account without me ever specifically asking for money from them. They obtained my account information from a 3rd party payday loan website. At no point did I ever sign a promissory note with CMG Group, and I would imagine that no else on here signed one either.

    I'm a law student and technically not allowed to give legal advice, but in my (still non-lawyer) opinion, CMG Group has absolutely no legal grounds to stand on. With legitimate payday loan companies, you are required to sign a promissory note (in which you promise to repay the debt), which includes all of the federally required Truth in Lending Act informaton. CMG Group does not provide this information, which (likely) means there is no lending contract in the eyes of the law.

    Additionally, when they deposited the money into my account, they gave me absolutely no way of getting ahold of them to pay off the "loan" in full. No address, e-mail address, phone number. No number on the charge on bank statement. Nothing at all. Clearly, this is on purpose because they don't want you to pay the loan back. They just want to perpetually charge you the finance charge. This substantially builds your legal case that you don't owe them the money they claim because you didn't even have the opportunity to pay them back. After I closed my account they waited several months of non-payment to start calling/harrassing me because they wanted the "finance charge" to build up as much as possible so they could claim that I owed them a ridiculous sum of money.

    After I basically told the people calling that I know they're a fraud and not to waste their time with future calls, I started receiving calls from a purported law firm (the person I spoke with claimed he was a lawyer when he clearly wasn't) claiming to represent CMG. They pretend as if they are both investigator and prosecutor, and that they have the legal authority to criminally prosecute me for wire fraud if I don't pay them back. If they had a legal contract with me (they don't) that I was in breach of, they could press criminal charges against me. However, it is clear that they are trying to pretend as if they have the authority to criminally prosecute me, which of course, only a prosecutor could do.

    Between you and their law firm, it is purely a civil matter, which means the worst thing the law firm could do to you is sue you. But because there is no contract, there'd be no legal grounds to stand on. In my opinion, the threats to sue you are completely without legal grounds and are merely an attempt to scare you into paying them. They are a shady company that uses threats, intimidation, and harrassment to attempt to get you to pay. They claimed they were going to have me served with a legal summons, which doesn't scare me at all since they have no legal grounds to sue me.

    My best advice (again, I'm not yet a lawyer) would be what many other have already said:
    1) Close your bank account.
    2) Pay back the original amount they gave you, and NO more.
    3) In the process of paying them back, DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR NEW BANK ACCOUNT INFO, CREDIT CARD INFO, OR ANY OTHER FINANCIAL INFORMATION. Either buy a prepaid debit card, send them a money order (keep the receipt), etc.
    4) If they've already taken the amount they gave you or more, don't bother contacting them. If you receive a call from them threatening to sue you, tell them you know they are a fraud, and to stop calling you.
    5) If they continue calling you, collect as much information as you can and report them to your state's Attorney General.
    6) If anyone tries to claim (on this forum or otherwise) that this company has legal grounds to stand on THEY ARE LYING.
    7) Finally, DO NOT GIVE IN TO THIS COMPANY'S INTIMIDATION TACTICS.

    I hope this helps some of you. This company has wasted a lot of my time, and I don't want to see them scam a single other person.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.