Complaints & Reviews

post frame garage

Warring buyer beware if you are considering buying a Cleary building in the Butler Pa. Area
Cleary is now refusing to honor the warranty roof is buckinling up wall panels not screwed to wood on bottom 40 + large bee holes

I order a small building that was 37 X 27 and it was scheduled for a 3 day build and material was delivered on April 18 to the wrong building sight and then several hours reloaded on the same truck and then delivered the correct sight.
The material sat on the ground for several weeks blocking access
Then Cleary sent a inexperienced crew with no supervision most of the time that did major damage to the building
All 6 main support post on the east wall were cut off to short and the trusses are damaged
Posts on north wall are in the wrong spot
The wrong nails were used to attach the wall girt's, I had questioned the nails when I seen them I was told they were ok I had to contact main office many time to get it corrected sending them pictures and their own prints requiring the nails to be treaded and rated for treated lumber not smooth nails that pulled out when I pushed on the boards they did add the correct nails after multiple email
The purlins were not nailed properly spliced where no splice was permitted I have many pictures
Sheet metal cut wrong and installed incorrect roof multiple leaks used caulking which is not permitted
Trash thrown every ware
Dents and scratches throughout the building
To get anything fixed on this building I have been met with high resistance
Branch manger inappropriate conduct in front of other Cleary employees, my neighbors and grand children have a written agreement that he was never contact me or come on the property again that he violated both
After several month of doing patch jobs on the building Cleary sent in a crew from Indiana witch had to totally remove the roof the east wall and the south wall to rebuild them but did not replace the cut off post or damage trusses or the metal on the east wall that has multiple scratches form being installed 3 time
Again Cleary sent the replacement material to the wrong building sight
On august 23 2019 Cleary sent me a email that they were going to file a lien against my property when they were aware the building had problem and the building was not complete this is when I had to get a attorney involved
Late August or early September I contacted NFBA and then Cleary came to do a another patch job on the trusses 3 men show up with 1 2x4x8 and 1 bolt and 2 L brackets to reinforce the roof from uplift do to main post being cut off to short I had to wait there for well over a hour wile two men went to get more bolts L brackets and 1"screws
Final inspection and walk around was never completed by Cleary because it would not pass their own requirements
On September 23rd Cleary made more repair to the roof area where rain and lights and bugs entering the building, Cleary did reduce the final price by $3000 witch did not cover the aggravation and the damage cause by the delays, as per Cleary this Building is listed as "AS IS" with full warranty and now they sent the warranty papers that started on June 19 months before the building was completed
After I informed Cleary that I am contacting BBB and others they changed the date on the warranty to 8/9/19 in an email on 10/17/19 even with the final papers were not sigh until September 23 and they were still making repairs into October. You may wonder why I signed the paper when the building was not right I signed because I did not want any more phone calls 3 calls a day when I was at work and emails
The building is not right and never will be unless it is torn down and rebuild form ground up
I wish there was a way to send the hundred of pictures of the problems that started on day one
Attached I just thee of many emails trying to get this building resolved

-----Original Message-----
From: Timothy L. Johnson [mailto:[protected]@clearybuilding.com]
Sent: Monday, July 01, 2019 11:27 PM
To:
Cc: Ron R. Kempkers; Brian C. Ransom
Subject: Yes Sir

Chuck,

Saw the latest. Thank you. Here you are, now you have my address. I'm waiting on Sarge's pictures, etc. We will have a plan tomorrow. I'd recommend you direct your correspondence and govern accordingly as we solve this. As I've detailed today, or we can just get in front of the Magistrate now. Thank you.

Tim

From: Scott A. Amen [mailto:[protected]@clearybuilding.com]
Sent: Tuesday, July 23, 2019 7:25 PM
To: ''
Cc: Timothy L. Johnson; Christopher Sweeney; Scott A. Amen
Subject: Building issues

Chuck,

Thank you for letting me come on your site and take a look at the issues with your building. At first site I thought the building was not to bad and we could make some small repairs and get this finalized. After listening to you, taking some measurements and looking a bit closer as you know have some big issues. The best way to fix these issues is not to again patch it more. As we discussed on site some major repairs are going to have to be done. I do not want to again take this roof off for the third time but I feel it is the best solution for the situation. Listed below are the issues and I what feel must be done to correct as best as possible. Please review and let me know if anything was missed.
#1-Remove the East side wall of steel
#2-Remove the roof steel
#3-Remove the peak purlins and extra blocking that was installed wrong. Install new peak purlins and check all other purlins for correct installation
#4-Raise the east side of the last 3 trusses to get them level and correct height
#5-Raise the two end wall headers.
#6-Check all the columns and get them as level as possible.
#7-Add the two header post to the south end wall that were missed.
#8-Move the center jack brace on south end wall to correct height, add the other two jack braces that are missing
#9-Install the correct amount of nails to all the corner bracing
#10-Install the correct amount of nails to the track mounts on the OHD's
#11-Install new OHD trim and J-trim on south end wall doors
#12-Install east side steel that was removed at the correct height, replace two damaged sheets
#13-Install new eave vent and trim at the eaves both sides correctly. ( I will review with engineering with applying gutters over this trim before we proceed)
#14-Install new roof steel with the correct overhang and no roof leaks
#15-Install new gable sheet on north end wall that is scratched
#16-Install new gable trim correctly
#17-Install new Marco ridge vent correctly at the peak
#18-Install new ridge cap correctly
#19-Install gable trim on corners where corner trim lands on the ribs
#20-Clean entire site of old trim and damaged steel
I will also get you a bid to add the roof DB insulation when we return to fix.
If you do agree to this repair and we do all this work once complete we will both have to approve the repairs and a full final payment will still be expected.
Let me know if I missed anything, as I will be your direct contact going forward.
Thanks again,
Scott Amen
Field Superintendent
Cleary Building Corp.
[protected]
[protected] ext. 2120
Cell# [protected]

From: Scott A. Amen [mailto:[protected]@clearybuilding.com]
Sent: Thursday, August 01, 2019 4:24 PM
To: 'Chuck'
Subject: RE: Building issues
I was the one the driver called when he was at the wrong site. We are looking into our system to try and figure out how we have two different addresses on the same job. Goes back to Ron Hill error, but our system should have not allowed this. Is all the material look to be in good order?
Thanks,
Scott Amen
Field Superintendent
Cleary Building Corp.
[protected]
[protected] ext. 2120

post frame garage

post frame building

Warring buyer beware if you are considering buying a Cleary building in the Butler Pa. Area
I order a small building that was 37 X 27 and it was scheduled for a 3 day build and material was delivered on April 18 to the wrong building sight and then several hours reloaded on the same truck and then delivered the correct sight.
The material sat on the ground for several weeks blocking access
Then Cleary sent an inexperienced crew with no supervision most of the time that did major damage to the building
All 6 main support post on the east wall were cut off to short and the trusses are damaged
Posts on north wall are in the wrong spot
The wrong nails were used to attach the wall girt's, I had questioned the nails when I seen them I was told they were ok I had to contact main office many time to get it corrected sending them pictures and their own prints requiring the nails to be treaded and rated for treated lumber not smooth nails that pulled out when I pushed on the boards they did add the correct nails after multiple email
The purlins were not nailed properly spliced where no splice was permitted I have many pictures
Sheet metal cut wrong and installed incorrect roof multiple leaks used caulking which is not permitted
Trash thrown every ware
Dents and scratches throughout the building
To get anything fixed on this building I have been met with high resistance
Branch manger inappropriate conduct in front of other Cleary employees, my neighbors and grand children have a written agreement that he was never contact me or come on the property again that he violated both
After several month of doing patch jobs on the building Cleary sent in a crew from Indiana witch had to totally remove the roof the east wall and the south wall to rebuild them but did not replace the cut off post or damage trusses or the metal on the east wall that has multiple scratches form being installed 3 time
Again Cleary sent the replacement material to the wrong building sight
On august 23 2019 Cleary sent me a email that they were going to file a lien against my property when they were aware the building had problem and the building was not complete this is when I had to get a attorney involved
Late August or early September I contacted NFBA and then Cleary came to do a another patch job on the trusses 3 men show up with 1 2x4x8 and 1 bolt and 2 L brackets to reinforce the roof from uplift do to main post being cut off to short I had to wait there for well over a hour wile two men went to get more bolts L brackets and 1"screws
Final inspection and walk around was never completed by Cleary because it would not pass their own requirements
On September 23rd Cleary made more repair to the roof area where rain and lights and bugs entering the building, Cleary did reduce the final price by $3000 witch did not cover the aggravation and the damage cause by the delays, as per Cleary this Building is listed as "AS IS" with full warranty and now they sent the warranty papers that started on June 19 months before the building was completed
After I informed Cleary that I am contacting BBB and others they changed the date on the warranty to 8/9/19 in an email on 10/17/19 even with the final papers were not sigh until September 23 and they were still making repairs into October. You may wonder why I signed the paper when the building was not right I signed because I did not want any more phone calls 3 calls a day when I was at work and emails
The building is not right and never will be unless it is torn down and rebuild form ground up
I wish there was a way to send the hundred of pictures of the problems that started on day one
Attached I just thee of many emails trying to get this building resolved

-----Original Message-----
From: Timothy L. Johnson [mailto:[protected]@clearybuilding.com]
Sent: Monday, July 01, 2019 11:27 PM
To:
Cc: Ron R. Kempkers; Brian C. Ransom
Subject: Yes Sir

Chuck,

Saw the latest. Thank you. Here you are, now you have my address. I'm waiting on Sarge's pictures, etc. We will have a plan tomorrow. I'd recommend you direct your correspondence and govern accordingly as we solve this. As I've detailed today, or we can just get in front of the Magistrate now. Thank you.

Tim

From: Scott A. Amen [mailto:[protected]@clearybuilding.com]
Sent: Tuesday, July 23, 2019 7:25 PM
To: ''
Cc: Timothy L. Johnson; Christopher Sweeney; Scott A. Amen
Subject: Building issues

Chuck,

Thank you for letting me come on your site and take a look at the issues with your building. At first site I thought the building was not to bad and we could make some small repairs and get this finalized. After listening to you, taking some measurements and looking a bit closer as you know have some big issues. The best way to fix these issues is not to again patch it more. As we discussed on site some major repairs are going to have to be done. I do not want to again take this roof off for the third time but I feel it is the best solution for the situation. Listed below are the issues and I what feel must be done to correct as best as possible. Please review and let me know if anything was missed.
#1-Remove the East side wall of steel
#2-Remove the roof steel
#3-Remove the peak purlins and extra blocking that was installed wrong. Install new peak purlins and check all other purlins for correct installation
#4-Raise the east side of the last 3 trusses to get them level and correct height
#5-Raise the two end wall headers.
#6-Check all the columns and get them as level as possible.
#7-Add the two header post to the south end wall that were missed.
#8-Move the center jack brace on south end wall to correct height, add the other two jack braces that are missing
#9-Install the correct amount of nails to all the corner bracing
#10-Install the correct amount of nails to the track mounts on the OHD's
#11-Install new OHD trim and J-trim on south end wall doors
#12-Install east side steel that was removed at the correct height, replace two damaged sheets
#13-Install new eave vent and trim at the eaves both sides correctly. ( I will review with engineering with applying gutters over this trim before we proceed)
#14-Install new roof steel with the correct overhang and no roof leaks
#15-Install new gable sheet on north end wall that is scratched
#16-Install new gable trim correctly
#17-Install new Marco ridge vent correctly at the peak
#18-Install new ridge cap correctly
#19-Install gable trim on corners where corner trim lands on the ribs
#20-Clean entire site of old trim and damaged steel
I will also get you a bid to add the roof DB insulation when we return to fix.
If you do agree to this repair and we do all this work once complete we will both have to approve the repairs and a full final payment will still be expected.
Let me know if I missed anything, as I will be your direct contact going forward.
Thanks again,
Scott Amen
Field Superintendent
Cleary Building Corp.
[protected]
[protected] ext. 2120
Cell# [protected]

From: Scott A. Amen [mailto:[protected]@clearybuilding.com]
Sent: Thursday, August 01, 2019 4:24 PM
To: 'Chuck'
Subject: RE: Building issues
I was the one the driver called when he was at the wrong site. We are looking into our system to try and figure out how we have two different addresses on the same job. Goes back to Ron Hill error, but our system should have not allowed this. Is all the material look to be in good order?
Thanks,
Scott Amen
Field Superintendent
Cleary Building Corp.
[protected]
[protected] ext. 2120

post frame building
post frame building
post frame building
post frame building
post frame building

manager

Nic Herron has been extremely difficult to get ahold of and from the time we committed to the building and...

no follow up - salesmen quit - terrible business ethics

Be wary of this company. I was all signed up, deposit given and was ready for my new barn. Unfortunately my sales rep quit and I was never notified. After months of not hearing anything I called in only to find out this fact and the new rep of course say " I was just getting ready to call you " after time went on ( over a few more months) I find out that he has quit and now another rep has quit. Now being on my 3rd rep I felt wary of this company I'm about to give a lot of money too. After I call to cancel my contract Cleary decides it's in its best interest to keep a pretty substantial part of my down payment. :-(
While talking to management I was considering decided to continue my contract as they seemed very nice.
Unfortunately I just can't do business with a company putting my "back to the wall" concerning my down payment and feels it's in its best interest to keep monies that were not earned.
Before signing papers to build with Cleary, verify just how long the rep has been with the company and be ready to deal with others and do your own follow up since they do not. Very disappointed with their business practice!!!

  • Cleary Building Feb 14, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Cleary Building Corp has been in business for over 40 years and sold over 111, 000 buildings. We have never proclaimed that we are perfect and in construction this is sometimes an impossible task. What we do recognize is that we do fall down but always we work to correct the problem in a diligent and expeditious manner. We have branches throughout the United States and we have our corporate office in Verona, WI that monitors customer service throughout country. Our contract document is upfront about the next steps of the project and what happens if a party does not want to proceed. We make every effort possible to correct a situation and follow through with a contract, including in this case. Cleary Building Corp is a custom builder and every project is a unique design for us. This person does not want to proceed now but 6 months ago they said they may come back for a different building. We offered them a credit for the next building when they return. Thank you, Mike Wuennemann, Director of Marketing

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hard working horse owner Apr 19, 2019

    Cleary Building Corp must be in financial trouble. Buyer BEWARE. Do not even consider a Cleary Building Corp building. I do believe in the past they were a reputable company but they are certainly now not reputable. My story is very similar to yours. They have my deposit of 50, 000, and have said that it was my fault that after 9 months of being put off for some bogus reason or another and seeing 4 other Cleary Building Corp buildings within 50 miles of Butler PA have one construction trouble after another, that I I refused to let them start until they could prove that they have a quality crew that has the capability of building my 80 x 200 indoor arena that it is now somehow my fault. Yes, they have a contract, yes, they tried and succeeded in deceiving me when I signed the contract as I was not looking for them to be a scam artist, yes I even signed change orders under duress and I signed as much because they said they would not start construction unless I signed them. Then 9 months later they tried to say I requested the change orders. After one issue after another that I do not trust that they can actually make a quality building anymore, and I certainly did not expect to have extortion tactics used on me. So yes, my bad for not being aware that such a big company could be so awful to deal with. I should have expected the worst in a company, then I would not have been so disappointed . Funny for them to say I am in breach of contract, how many others have heard this same story. I think they are in financial trouble and their contract is just a way of fooling hard working people who are not lawyers, people who just want a building, not legal issues or hassles into financing their Super bowl commercials and who knows what else. Cleary Building Corp certainly has a big plan in mind for your money. And it does not always include a quality product nor satisfied customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Cleary Building Apr 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a follow up to the recent post from one of our clients in the Butler PA area, Cleary Building Corp is absolutely not in financial trouble. We are 100% debt free and have a mid-seven figure line of credit. And we have an extensive list of very satisfied clients. We have sold over 111, 000 buildings since we opened our doors for business in 1978 and we have built equally as many. We have a 99% customer satisfaction rating and while we know that we are not perfect, we certainly strive to be. The circumstances that have transpired on this particular client’s project are unfortunate; however, we are actively working with this client in attempt to construct the building that was purchased as per the terms of the contract. We have incurred significant expense on this project and we are under contract with this client. Cancelling the project at this point in the process comes with great costs to cover the expenses to date. Again, we are hopeful that we can come to a mutual agreement with this client and execute the contract as it was written. I welcome anyone to contact me directly at 800-373-5550 to discuss our company’s past and future performance along with our extensive list of satisfied customers. I would also encourage you to check out our website at www.clearybuilding.com along with additional client testimonials located at www.myclearybuilding.com.
    Thank you,
    Brian Ransom, General Manager of Operations at Cleary Building Corp.

    0 Votes

bad construction

My husband hired Cleary Building Corp. to build our 42x60 shop. The posts were not put very far down in...

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Cleary building corp.

Our Cleary 30x64 building project has been an absolute nightmare! The entire process has been horrible...

[Resolved] My job has been pushed back and horrible customer service

My husband and I bought 2 buildings from you. We pd our down payments back in August of 2016 with the...

Pole shed construction time and extra cost

My shed was to be built in oct. Not jan. Now 15 below and trying to drill holes in frost. They want more...

Poor service, no coffee, long lines while workers outside smoking..

Dear Circle K, I often drive through Thornville Ohio for construction jobs in the area, and I stop by thi...

Thornville Employees

Install Date Keeps Getting Bumped Back

I am one of the unfortunate ones who signed a contract (August 13th of last year) with Cleary without...

Service

The end of July we ordered a 16 X 21 with a 8 foot lean-to barn. We told them we wanted it built the end of...

No timeline and nonexistent customer service

Do not use Cleary Building Corp for your building! They are a terrible builder! I will NEVER use them again...

Franktown Contractors

Poor communication, difficult to work with

I had a building built by Cleary Building Corp, based in Verona WI; I used their Lake Geneva Office. In...

Not what I paid for

Buyer Beware - Cleary made me wait over 6 months for poor quality I signed the contract on -May 12, 2014 with...

No Concern

Do not buy a Cleary Building unless you can wait 6 months and do not mind poor quality. I ordered my building...

Substandard building design & construction

Before buying a Cleary building do your homework. Our metal building was less than 90 days old when the wind blew off half the roof. Cleary immediately stated that they only insure the building up to 90 miles per hour and this windstorm was an act of God in excess of 90 miles and we needed to submit the claim to our insurance company. We submitted a claim to our insurance company and they hired an engineer. Cleary's building design was not engineered to stand up to even 90 miles per hour and was not constructed to withstand the proper snow load for the area it was constructed. They used poor construction - did not use hurricane clips or strapping which would have helped prevent the wind from taking the roof. This has cost us time & money not to mention having to file an insurance claim against our insurance company. Not only do we have to repair the roof but we need to do additional work to the building to make it structurally sound to withstand wind and snowloads. We expected better from a company like Cleary. I would not recommend a Cleary Building to anyone!

  • Cl
    Cleary Building Corp. Jan 12, 2012

    The Client made the choice to buy a standard design product instead of higher windload/rated building. We have built over 86, 000 buildings and have not had a building failure when the Client purchases the recommended product. Tim Johnson – General Manager of Operations, Cleary Building Corp.

    -3 Votes
  • Sh
    Shamrock of Shame Jan 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tim Johnson, sorry but we were not offered the difference between standard design product and higher windload/rated building. Never even had the conversation with the local salesperson. It certaintly was not recommended to us or we would have purchased the higher standard building if it had been brought to our attention and we had had the opportunity to review the differences between the two. We would have never decided against a recommended product unless it was not brought up to us in conversation and instead you buried this fact in the fine print of the contract. Now that Cleary building brings this standard design product issue up, it further reinforces my recommendation to potential buyers that it is a buyer beware world and you should do your homework and ask questions - don't just rely on your salesperson. Hire an engineer to look over the building plans to insure that the building that Cleary has designed and sold you meets your local area for wind speed and snow load. Ask them about this standard design vs higher windload/rated building issue as Tim Johnson brings up. Question everything and get second opinions!

    2 Votes

Horrible service, not finishing job, on and on

Don't even know where to start...Cleary buildings screwed me over every possible way. Had a contract to...

Buyers Beware of Cleary Buildings

I have purchased a cleary building for my farm about 1.5 years ago. It was a 42x56x12 machine storage...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem