SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Classic Conservatories Mountainside NJpoor workmanship

1
J Review updated:

I had a unit build by this company in 2005 and have nothing but problems with the
construction. At that time, they had an office in Maryland but have since closed that
office and moved back to New Jersey making service almost impossible.
The roof leaks so badly that I cannot keep furniture or carpets in the room because of
the water coming in during a storm.
The water runs down the walls which make me suspect I may now have hidden damage to the wall studs, floor joices, etc.
I sent a certified letter (one of many) on June 2, 2009 and have not heard from them
as to what they plan on doing with this roof. In the meanwhile we have had the wettest
spring/summer on record and I am constantly under water.
There are a lot of reputable sunroom builders out there - this is not one of them.

Responses

  • S
      Jun 20, 2009

    I hear ya Jen! I'm in NJ about 20 mins. from THEM. Had my conservatory built in 1997. It leaks everwhere, the gutters are broken and have fallen off in snow many times! There are several holes in the top layer of the Polycarbonate roof! One window handle is broken. The windows won't stay wide open and keep swinging in unless u prop them open. It's over 120 degrees in the summer as there is no shade trees and it faces the sun all day. Cold as outside in winter! Had to put doors on kitchen to help keep out the heat and cold, otherwise heat in house would never shut off in winter and air would never shut off in summer! It is a piece of CRAP! I have fought with these people for years even before the 10 yr warranty ran out. They say HAIL put the holes in the roof. For heat and cold, they say I should install a heating and cooling pump! Yea, right! I called my insurance company to come out and look at it..I have a letter from them saying that it was not hail but rather poor materials used in the construction. I feel ripped off and I hope I can still take them to small claims court. No lawyer needed. I am divorced and on a very small fixed income. This room is an eyesore and I pay taxes on it to boot! E-mail me @ [protected]@aol.com if you'd like to chat about "our problems" :-) Joanie

    -1 Votes
  • C
      Jun 27, 2009

    I have had the same experience and am now in the middle of a lawsuit.

    NEVER use them.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Jul 08, 2009

    Next time call someone more reliable, more reasonable.and more professional.
    Try Jelectrico services at [protected]
    they will take care of your construction needs within USA

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 29, 2009

    well this does not sound good. I bought a hous with a conservatory already on it and I have been having the same problems with leaks. form the sound of this it will be hard to get any type of service since I live in maryland as well

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 17, 2010

    In regards to the Complaint from the conservatory owner in Laurel MD, I would like to update this site in that I personally visited this homeowner and resolved any and all installation related issues and this customer has now been satisfied.
    I would also like the record to reflect that Classic Conservatories of MD is in fact closed and no longer in business, however although Classic Conservatories of NJ is an entirely different entity we have been doing our utmost to accomodate any conservatory owners in the MD area with their service needs.
    We have installed thousands of rooms over the last 14 years and unfortunately it is only natural that a few individuals may slip through the cracks and you cant please everybody, however should anyone feel the need to call in regards to service or installation related issues we can be reached in NJ at [protected] extension 1500 and we will be glad to help with any questions you may have.

    -1 Votes
  • C
      May 27, 2010

    The Better Business Bureau has dropped Classic as a result of their abyssmal service. Their BBB rating is now a "F". I would not be surprised if they are shortly our of business.

    0 Votes
  • G
      Jan 07, 2011

    I am a professional window cleaner and came across Classic Conservatory's workmanship this past week.

    My professional opinion:

    1: The roof leaks, badly, very badly

    2: Classic Conservatories never honored their service contract with the client. Not even one of the annual follow ups.

    3: The glass used was manufactured by a company named UniTuff. The client was informed that this was a British firm, but it is actually an Indian firm. The glass is stamped with "UniTuff" and a picture of a broken heart, but there is no tempering identification... I.E. nothing ID's the glass as being tempered, and this is against building code in NJ.

    8 years after the fact and my client still cannot get a Certificate of Occupancy because of this, and Classic Con is ignoring their calls.

    I am not sponsored by another sunroom contractor, nor will I name one here. This is just the observation of a glass expert.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Feb 22, 2012

    AS OF 20`2, MY SUNROOM IS WORSE THAN EVER! I DON'T KNOW IF I IHAVE THE UNTUFF GLASS. THE BUILDING CODE INSPECTOR IN PISCATAWAY, NJ, ONLY REALIZED IN 2004, THAT A CERTIFICATE OF OCCUPANCY WAS NEVER ISSUED. THE ROOM WAS BUILT IN THE SUMMER OF 97'. SO, THE INSPECTOR CAME OUT IN 04' TO LOOK AT IT AND APPROVED IT. I POINTED OUT ALL THE DEFECTS ETC. BUT HE SAID, IT SEEMED TO MEET OUR TOWN'S BUILDING CODE. THEN HE LEFT. I HAD MY INSURANCE ADJUSTER COME OUT IN 04' AFTER MR. ANDY BUCCO FROM CLASSIC WAS HERE AND TOLD ME THAT THE DAMAGE WOULD BE COVERED BY MY HOME OWNERS.. AT HIS SUGGESTION I CALLED ALLSTATE, AND THEY CAME OUT.. I WAS TOLD AND HAVE A LETTER STATING SAME FROM THE ALLSTATE PERSON, THAT THIS IS NOT HAIL DAMAGE TO THE ROOF, BUT RATHER POOR QUALITY MATERIALS AND THEY WOULD NOT COVER ANY OF IT! THE ARGUING WITH CLASSIC TOOK A TOLL ON MY HEALTH AND I'VE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIGHT THEM IN COURT DUE TO HEALTH PROBLEMS..NOW, I HAVE TO SELL MY HOUSE BUT THIS ROOM IS A GOD AWFUL MESS.. THE NICE WOOD WALL BY THE WINDOWS IS BLACK AND BULGING OUT SO THERE MUST BE DAMAGE TO THE DRY WALL BEHIND IT. THE ROOF HAS MORE HOLES AND CRACKS. AND MORE LEAKS! I DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO REDO THIS ROOM AND I'M SURE IT WILL CAUSE PROBLEMS FOR ME SELLING THE HOUSE WITHOUT ANY REPAIRS TO IT. BY THE WAY CLASSIC, YOUR COMMENT ON HERE REGARDING YOUR COMPANY IS JUST A COVER UP. NOBODY WHO HAS DEALT WITH YOU WOULD AGREE THAT YOUR CO. IS REPUTABLE AND HONEST. I HAD TO LAUGH WHEN I READ THAT POST.. IT'S PATHETIC! FIX MY SUNROOM FOR NO CHARGE AND THEN YOU CAN TAKE PICTURES AND POST THEM TO "SHOW' YOU DO CORRECT DEFECTS AND POOR QUALITY MATERIALS THAT ARE USED! WORDS MEAN NOTHING AND ARE A JOKE! NOW I'M GOING TO LOOK INTO THE TERMPERED GLASS THING, THANKS TO THE ABOVE GLASS EXPERT'S OPINION AND COMMENT.. IF IT IS NOT AS IT SHOULD BE, I'LL BE SUING CLASSIC AND MY TOWNSHIP FOR BREAKING THE NJ LAW! PICTURES OF MY POS SUNROOM WILL FOLLOW ON HERE SOON~

    0 Votes
  • E
      Aug 11, 2012

    I am very worried too. They are not returning any calls and I do not know who to contact. I cannot afford legal expenses and there must be some way of making them honor their warranty.

    0 Votes

Post your comment