The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Castle Rock BulldogsSOLD SICK ILLEGAL AKC PUPPY

This is the letter I sent to:
Castle Rock Bullies
595 Elm Ave.
Tallmadge, Oh.
Sept. 2, 2010

Melissa & Robert Riley,

I am offering you one last opportunity to do the right thing in regards to the puppy you sold me. If you do not respond within 3 days I fully intend to file a complaint with the County of Summit, Office of Consumer Affairs in Akron, Oh.

Here are the issues for which I am requesting a full refund of $2500.00 which I paid you for the puppy plus the $100.00 in vet bills which you insisted upon because you refused to accept the diagnosis from my vet.

AKC papers are not properly signed. I did not receive directly from David Yoder a puppy. I bought the puppy from you, Castle Rock Bullies. You failed to acquire a “Supplemental Transfer” when you either purchased this puppy from a puppy auction or purchased it from David Yoder, who sold it at a puppy auction or, you are a puppy broker. Regardless, the AKC papers do not reflect the person from whom I thought I was dealing with, namely Castle Rock Bullies.

You failed to live up to your first paragraph of your “Bulldogs Guarantee Castle Rock Bullies Health Guarantee/Contract

All bulldogs bred and sold by CRB are accompanied by an accurate, up-to-date medical history. Dogs are checked by a veterinarian prior to delivery or shipping and are guaranteed to be sound and in good health at this time.
This must not have been done, as you were unable to show us a vet’s exam sheet or a receipt for a vet visit for this puppy. Had one been done this very obvious heart murmur, ear mite and coccidian condition, which was easily diagnosed by my vet and also by another vet of your choice, would have been a clear sign to a reputable, honest, breeder that this puppy should never have been sold without making full disclosure and certainly the price adjusted. It is unconscionable that you would knowingly sell an unhealthy puppy to a client and make them pay for extra vet exams to prove that the puppy you sold them was not healthy at the time of sale, not to mention the emotional distress of getting attached to a puppy and then you refuse to make a refund, expecting me to trust you and purchase another puppy from you, after the very unprofessional way you dealt with this entire issue.
Then the worst issue is that you are going to allow this puppy to go back to the puppy mill/auction with not a second thought. You admitted that this puppy was purchased or brokered to you, from David Yoder in Millersburg, Oh. who has been selling dogs at puppy auction (puppy mills) in Holmes County since, as far as I was able to confirm on the internet, 2006. He is on a list compiled by the investigation done by CAPS in their crackdown on “Amish Puppy Mills in Ohio.” When I asked you what would happen to the puppy because I knew two people who were willing to purchase this puppy for a nominal fee, even with all of the conditions it has, neuter and love it for as long as it had to live, you said it would go back to David Yoder and you didn’t care what he did with it, you didn’t want to know, that it was none of your business. WELL, when you sold it to me as a healthy puppy for $2500.00 under the guise of it being the same as buying one of CRB puppies, YOU made it your business and mine. You also stated that he would probably put it through the puppy auction again and that was fine with you. Again, not what a reputable, conscientious breeder would do, but then they wouldn’t have bought one from a puppy mill, auction in the first place. I then filed a claim with Consumer Affairs, CRB agreed to pay $2500.00 on 12/20/2010. Date came and went, no money. Then filed a Small Claims suit against these people only to find that there are many people on line ahead of me. This seems to be a way of life for them. Go to www.sccjis.com, click public search, agree, all agencies, all case types, you will be amazed. You will also see my case filed 1/27/2011. #2011CVI100405. I won my case, but will have to add my name to the list of liens to get my money back. Don't let this happen to you. Refuse to sign ANY agreement FROM ANY BREEDER that WILL NOT refund your money if on your initial visit to the vet he says it has a "genetic" (life threating) problem. Why should you have to pay 2 vets to prove they sold you a SICK dog and then be forced, because they won't refund your money, to get another dog from them. The inital vet check should be to prove you have a healthy dog. If you are breeding properly you should not have a problem with that because you should not BE BREEDING unhealthy dogs. Remember they want to sell as many dogs as they can you only want one, make sure you don't get ripped off like I did. Melissa will tell you they only have a couple of dogs from a friend they are trying to help. Ask to see the parents, both mother & father. Ask the weight of the parents, ask where you can see the parents. You won't be able to because their friend is Amish and has no phone and dosen't like to deal with people. Ask yourself, is this who I want to buy a dog from??? So many of the pups on their site are NOT bred by them. I have watched their site they listed over 40 puppies and sold $60, 000 worth from Jan 1, to Feb 23, 2011. But they have no funds available in the bank...to pay the liens of other people the have ripped off. STOP SIGNING THESE ONE WAY CONTRACTS or you will be taking your chances.

Responses

  • An
    anonymous123456789012 May 30, 2012

    the supposed HSUS puppy mill "game changer" bill is all bologna! it will harm any shelter or responsible breeder with more than 5 unspayed females. It would require you keep your pets that you also breed, your precious babies, in sterilized pens instead of in your home with you. This bill is NOT intended to change the terrible puppy mill industry. The HSUS is trying to make pet ownership and small breeders disapear. Beleive me, their bill will not change the puppy mill industry but only harm.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    puppylover542 May 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you purchased a sick puppy or want to report a puppy mill, you can share your story with the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) puppy mills campaign online at http://www.humanesociety.org/forms/tell_us_your_puppy_mill_story.html.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jean brokate May 04, 2011

    DO YOU WANT TO BUY FROM THE BREEDER OR SOME other GUYS PUPPIES???
    AUTHOR: jean brokate - olmsted falls (United States of America)
    SUBMITTED: Wednesday, May 04, 2011

    POSTED: Wednesday, May 04, 2011
    CASTLE ROCK BULLDOGS is still listing puppies, that OTHER people breed, on their site. But they must be wonderful cause they are from "Wayne" not the Puppymiller guy anymore. STOP! Not if you can't see the parents, where they were bred, how they were cared for, vet reports etc. There is no information as to weight, mini or standard What's the weight of the parents, color? These puppies aren't 8 weeks old which is an AKC regulation, but they have been taken from the mother already, missing that important last few weeks of learning they get from her. Check the AKC papers to see whose name is the breeder and seller, if it isn't CASTLE ROCK BULLDOGS, then the papers ARE NOT LEGAL. They might look great on the outside, but let me tell you there is so much that could be wrong on the inside that you can't see. I could not see the 'HEART MURMUR" on the poor little thing they sold me. Read the first and second part of my complaint and remember "BUYER BEWARE" Read that contract and you will see they really don't cover anything once they have your money. All they will do is replace the puppy you fell in love with, with another one and they have pleanty of thoses. All of the expenses of them selling you a SICK puppy will be yours, vet bills, x-rays, autopsies to prove they sold you a SICK puppy, all the heartache will be yours, all the trouble of getting the info "THEY " require will be yours and all the expense of returning THEIR SICK puppy, WILL BE YOURS, and you don't have a choice, because their contract protects ONLY THEM, not you or your puppy. So you are forced to take another questionable puppy or lose all your money. Don't trust their story of being vet checked either, remember, they said mine was checked by their vet too. Why should you have to bare all the expense, when it was CASTLE ROCK BULLDOGS that bred or sold someones sick puppy??? You would not stand for that if it was anything else you were buying. Remember they want to sell that puppy, so stand up for what is at least fair to you and the puppy. It's their contract, they wrote it, so they can and should change it.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.