The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Budget-furniture.netscam!!!

This company changes its name every month. Last month, it was mysurplusdepot.net and scammed me and others for hundreds of dollars. The whole thing is run out of China and sells the same things every time: swing sets, exercise equipment, TVs, etc. all for low prices. The clincher is they demand Green Dot payment then run with the money after a few weeks. They mostly use craigslist to advertise. DON"T USE THEM!

Responses

  • La
    LaurenEBryant Oct 22, 2009

    I made a purchase with Budget-Furniture.net on Oct. 6th (just BEFORE you posted this complaint...aargh!) and have yet to receive my merchandise. Since Oct. 9th, when they confirmed that my order had shipped and would arrive on Oct. 20th, they have not responded to my numerous email and voice messages. Note that the BBB file for this business name was not opened until Oct. 2009. The BBB file for the alias listed above shows an "F" rating, with 6 unresolved complaints. I plan to file fraud charges with the FBI and a complaint with the BBB. However, I expect that I will never see my furniture or my money ever again. The whole GreenDot payment requirement should have been a giant red flag for me. It didn't feel right from the start, but I didn't follow my instincts. Consumers, please note that GreenDot=CASH=no ability to dispute charges or cancel payment! Hopefully others will read this before they make the same mistake as I did. As my Dad always said, "If it seems too good to be true, it probably is."

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    cynthiasue Oct 26, 2009

    I also bought a swingset from these people and they did the very same thing to me. I hope we all will get our money back. Cindy Mort

    0 Votes
  • Rh
    rharrell15 Oct 27, 2009

    I placed an order on the 8th of October using MoneyPak and was also told that I'd receive my order around October 20. I JUST NOW saw this post. I have sent multiple emails and called multiple times, but have gotten no response. I'm furious. Has anyone gotten anywhere with trying to get a refund? I was under the impression that payments were still protected with MoneyPak?

    0 Votes
  • La
    LaurenEBryant Oct 27, 2009

    I still have not received any response from Budget-Furniture.net, no merchandise, no refund. I just finished filing an official complaint with the federal Internet Crime Complaint Center at http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx. I also plan to file complaints with the BBB and the Federal Trade Commision Bureau of Consumer Protection at http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/index.shtml.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie - Canton, GA Oct 27, 2009

    I live in Atlanta metro and was going to buy a greenhouse from this company. What a deal, I thought! However, I told them I would just go to Macon, GA and pick my merchandise up. I would also pay then. They said that since I was so close to Macon, they would be happy to waive the shipping charge . Second red flag went up. Then, that Moneypak payment put up yet another flag. I called JD Kinders furniture that was at the 1433 Eisenhower Parkway address and they knew nothing about this company. I filed a complaint with the BBB in Macon, GA and sent them all the information that was listed about Budget Furniture's BBB accreditation. I never gave them any money. I did buy one of those Moneypak cards but only put $20 on it. I am so sorry that other people lost money with these crooks. If it seems too good to be true, it usually is! Julie - Canton, GA

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AmySGeen Oct 27, 2009

    No response but they still have a site and still selling items. I dont undersand how people can do this to another. I believe someone can do something for us its just getting to the right person. I am so mad this was my grandchildren's christmas but they didn't care.

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    TSchroeder Oct 27, 2009

    I too bought a swingset on October 6th and my "payment" through MoneyPak was posted on October 8th. I also received a response that my swingset would be delivered on October 20th. I have made several phone calls and sent several emails but haven't heard anything back from them. What else can we do to get our money back? Is there anything that we can do at this point? Looking at their website now, I see several things that should have made me ask questions. If anyone makes any headway with this situation, please email me at [email protected] Tim - Prosper, TX

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    cynthiasue Oct 28, 2009

    I have done alot of things so far. I have made a police report, BBB in Ga. also internet crime3 and a loss report to moneypak. There is something someone can do. I wanted this for a christmas present but of course these people dont' care. They will get caught, the thing of it is there still selling on craigslist.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    agmeyers Oct 31, 2009

    Same thing here, greenhouse, delivery on Oct 20th, nothing...looking for help as well. File a BBB conplaint. If anyone else has any ideas I would like to know [email protected] Greg, Illinois.

    0 Votes
  • B3
    b32taylor Nov 01, 2009

    me too! swing set white glove service for $100 to be delivered by oct 20th if "there are no problems". i've called bbb macon ga, they forwarded me to fbi claims division because their address is false. Please post if anyone makes headway.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    meg1977 Nov 02, 2009

    I am so hurt by this. As the gentleman above said, if I would have just followed my instincts. This type of thing has never happened to me, so I am just now learning on what to do in situations like this. I just can't believe that there is no way for these people to get caught. They should be forced to pay us all back. I will be filing a police report, amongst other things. If anyone has success with any of this please let us know. I am so sorry for everyone here, let's all hope we will see our money again soon.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    meg1977 Nov 02, 2009

    This is meg1977. I just posted a comment, but forgot to leave my email address for anyone that has any type of success re: this matter. If anyone else wants to leave their email addresses, I too will keep you all updated.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dogmama Nov 03, 2009

    This is Dogmama. I just posted a complaint about Budget Furniture on 11-2. I got to thinking..."Terri Nelson", the person that responds to all your messages always responds through the site...except for this one time. I went back in my emails and found where they hit the "REPLY" button to one of my emails. Does anyone know if they can be tracked down by the properties of that email?

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    cynthiasue Nov 03, 2009

    Just checked there site, it has been removed but they emailed my daughter on Nov. 1. She cancelled her swing cuz of all the complaints. They have to be able to catch these people, I have done everything there is to do. I also think that the Green dot moneypak is a joke, they will not help in getting my money back. They also told me if they get a supeona they would release the info.

    0 Votes
  • Cf
    CFCARUSO68 Nov 03, 2009

    I GOT SCAMMED ALSO. IF ANYONE GETS ANY INFO PLEASE EMAIL [email protected] i THOUGHT I HAD PURCHASED A GREENHOUSE AND SAME STORY. WAS SUPPOSED TO BE SHIPPED OUT AND DELIVERED BY 10-23 AND LIKE EVERYONE ELSE NO RESPONSE TO EMAILS TO TERRI NELSON.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JolynnForman Nov 06, 2009

    I am sorry about all this. I went through the same thing in August with the site mysurplusdepot.com (same people, they change names every two months) and tried to warn others when I caught on to the name change. There is nothing to be done--the company is based in China and it will only change names and domains as soon as the BBB attacks. All we can do is try and warn others when they come up again in 2 months.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    cynthiasue Nov 07, 2009

    I was just wondering how you found out they were based in China. I thought when I purchased the moneypak that it was a guarantee because it was suppose to pay a paypal account. I am so disappointed that are government cannot do anything about internet fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JolynnForman Nov 08, 2009

    I found out through an article that was made about the fraud with the company they created in June--discount furniture.com. The reporter mentioned that this was a scam and that the people were changing names every few months but selling the same items. He also mentioned that because the culprits lived in China, nothing could be done to stop them or prosecute them except shutting down the web sites.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    cynthiasue Nov 08, 2009

    Did you know that the Greendot moneypak is based out of the Phillipnes. No wonder noone will help us. We are americans and they are foreigners so why not rip us off but where do they do to college at, over here in the good ole USA. I am so upset, I just want to cry scream and the government overlooks us.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    raw Nov 29, 2009

    November 2009, now working as www.DiscountedMart.com, I got scamed out of $550.00 trying to buy a wooden playhouse swing set, the same way.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.