The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
BOMC2.COMCHARGING ME AFTER CANCELLATION OF MEMBERSHIP

D

I WAS A MEMBER BOUGHT ABOUT 0 BOOKS BUT STOPPED WANTED TO CANCEL WRTE SEVERAL TIMES AND TOOK MY INFORMATION OFF MY ACCOUNT AND TRIED TO CONTACT THEM BUT ODD ENOUGH NO WHERE IS THERE A NUMBER FOR THEM I EVEN CONTACTED MY BANK ASKED FOR A NUMBER OF THE COMPANY FILED A COMPLAINT BECAUSE THEY CONTINUE TO TAKE OUT 9.95 EVERY MONTH EVEN WHEN I TOOK MY INFO BACK WHICH OBVIOUSLY IS STORED EVEN AFTER ERASING BUT WHEN E-MAILING ME AFTER I WROTE 57 TIMES IN A ROW BECAUSE NO ONE WOULD RETURN AN E-MAIL THEY ASSURED ME MY ACCOUNT WAS CANCELLED SO I WILL SEND THIS TO THE BANK! SCAMMMMMMMMMMMMM

Responses

  • Al
    Alethea27 Sep 06, 2014

    I canceled my account about two weeks ago and I found they charged me $10.95 for what I don't have any idea. I tried calling them on 9/5/14 to cancel my membership again and find out what they were charging me for and after waiting for 20 minutes on hold the customer service person claimed they couldn't hear me and hung up. If it takes having the bank issue me a new debit card to get rid of them, than that's what I will do.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    kristinmd Jul 22, 2014

    Everyone needs to file a BBB complaint, it's the only way they'll respond. With that said, i filed a complaint and they are 'stalling" the complaint by saying they don't have an email, so I have to fax them paperwork to back up my complaint. Then, when I fax the paperwork, they wait several days and then say that they can't read it (even though we can see the fax is fine, they say it's too dark to read). The only thing that will "hurt" them is by MANY people filing BBB complaints to show that there is a pattern of bad behavior. My complaint, BTW, is them making unauthorized charges to my bank account, and then failing to respond adequately.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marlene T. Feb 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been with bomc2 since it's beginning and have never had a problem, until December 2013 when they took money twice out of my checking account for books I didn't receive. No books came off my reading list but they took money on 12/20 and 12/30. The phone no. is [protected] if you like listening to violin music forever, because nobody ever picks up the call. I've used the "contact us" several times and they don't read what you wrote. All I get is a form letter that has no answer to the problem.

    0 Votes
  • St
    StanDP Jun 04, 2012

    BOMC2.COM — CHARGING ME AFTER CANCELLATION OF MEMBERSHIP

    0 Votes
  • St
    StanDP Jun 04, 2012

    [Account: S1 - Transaction: 06/04/2012?-?DEBIT PURCHASE BOMC2 [email protected] PA [protected] VBASE2 Jun 4 @ 12:45am - Amount: $ -9.95 - Balance: $ 25.67]

    hEAPS AND HEAPS of people are getting charged by BOMC Book of the Month Club .com and i want reimbursed all the money's they have taken out of my account, they know what their doing, and it continues, Put a stop on this company from my account, i had an account many many months ago with them, and sent every book back unopened returned same as recieved. I have also rented from REDBOX Disc kiosk over at fred meyer, which nailed me with a good size late fee for being a day late then charging me more than they should have, However I DID NOT and have not rented any redbox discs from any kiosk in a few months now, so I want a refund, and by all means don't allow any more charges to my account from these money mongering two companies, they are out for all 1$'s they can get they should be imprisoned. Thanks and let me know soon, as I need the funds back in my account. thanks.

    p.s. just have a look at one link where folks are having the same issue with BOMC...

    0 Votes
  • St
    StanDP Jun 04, 2012

    death and ETERNAL IMPRISONMENT FOR: BOMC ( BOOK OF THE MONTH CLUB.COM) AND ALSO TOO REDBOX DISC KIOSKS THEY BOTH TAKE MONEY MANY MANY MONTHS AFTER DOING ANY SORT OF BUSINESS AT ALL WITH THEM EVEN WHEN I DID NOT OPEN THE BOOKS AND RETURNED THEM IMMEDIATELY SAME WITH REDBOX DISCS, THIS IS IMPRISONMENT BEHAVIOR TO SAY THE LEAST, USE MY CREDIT CARD A YEAR OR 3 MONTHS DOWN THE ROAD, BOY THEY NEED REPRIMANDED BIGTIME, THEIR UPANDCOMINGS IS DUE VERY VERY SOON, NO WORRIES, THEIR TOASTED OATS FOLKS.

    0 Votes
  • St
    StanDP Jun 04, 2012

    they are in desperation milking any and all accounts they can right now they took 204 from my account 9.99$ twice as did REDBOX Disc Kiosk, so watch both of these wormy companies don't do business with them they are out to take every dollar they can... Peace and www.bbb.com and my credit union know about this now also... What a hassle... [censored] anyway, royal buttnugs they will be imprisoned quite soon i can foresee That coming up.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pot Apr 29, 2012

    Please cancel this I am very very angry no matter what I do you won't cancel. This wrong. I am so sick of dealing I have never order anything from from bomc and I don't being charge for something I don't use and don't intend on using ever, Your website or whatever this is a BIG FAT SCAM. SO PLEASECANCEL THIS. Why wasn't the cancel last year when I told them to cancel.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pot Apr 29, 2012

    I slao tried to cancel but of no use. I am tried of being charged for something I don't use and don't want. What a brunch of Crooks like one of the other complaints . I dont order books or whatever on line so please stop billing a service I don't use. Please stop belling me.
    I cancel this in the beginning and i see I am still being charge.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fu*** Dec 07, 2011

    When your subscription to BOMC2.com is approved, you will be charged $9.95 every month, beginning one month from the day you become a subscriber and continuing every month on that day for as long as you remain a subscriber. Your monthly fee includes one book of your choice shipped from a Reading List you create. You may also purchase additional books for $9.95 each, and some select titles for $12.95, simply by clicking the Buy Now button next to the book-shipping is always free. The $9.95 monthly fee and charges for any additional purchases will be charged to the credit/debit card or PayPal account you provide. BOMC2.com collects sales tax where applicable. Subscriptions to BOMC2.com and shipment of BOMC2.com books are limited to the U.S. and its territories.


    Start Today and Get a FREE Book!

    For $9.95 a month you are eligible as a subscriber to receive one book each month from your Reading List. Your first month and your first book from your Reading List are free when you subscribe today! As always, shipping is free. Start your subscription right now by selecting the first book in your Reading List. All we ask is that you agree to buy 3 books or remain a subscriber for 3 months during your BOMC2.com subscription at just $9.95 each with free shipping-but we know you'll want to buy many more for yourself, family and friends because BOMC2.com is an unbeatable book value!


    Satisfaction Guarantee

    BOMC2 guarantees your satisfaction. If you're not completely satisfied after receiving your initial book, you can return your first book within 10 days of receipt; we'll cancel your subscription. Your subscription is risk-free too-you can cancel your subscription at any time after purchasing three books.


    Your Reading List

    Creating your personalized Reading List is easy. Just browse through the great offerings available on BOMC2.com and put your favorites on your Reading List. Each month, on the same day you became a subscriber, you'll automatically receive the first available choice you've placed on your Reading List. You can add, remove, and change the order of books on your Reading List whenever you like. You'll never get a book you didn't select!

    If your Reading List is empty, we will send you e-mails reminding you to add books to your Reading List. Remember, you will be charged $9.95 each month (plus tax where applicable), even if you do not have a book on your Reading List. So, please be sure to keep your Reading List stocked and have book selections on your Reading List at least one day before your shipment date. Otherwise, we cannot ship a book for that month. If your first selection is unavailable, your next available selection will be shipped. If your Reading List is empty at the time, you will still be charged your monthly fee.

    BOMC2.com books are full-length hardcover editions (unless specified otherwise), sometimes altered in size.


    Pricing

    In addition to receiving the first available book from your Reading List every month, you can purchase additional books at any time. Most books are $9.95 each; some selections are priced at $12.95. Shipping is always free. Occasionally, we may also offer you specially priced books and merchandise. We reserve the right to modify or change our regular pricing and discounting policies at any time. If we change or add any pricing, we will send an e-mail notice, at least 30 days in advance, to your e-mail address on file. You agree that we are authorized to begin charging your credit/debit card or PayPal account at the new pricing after the 30-day notice period. Of course, if you do not wish to continue, you can cancel your subscription by following the directions below.


    Cancellations

    You may cancel your subscription at any time after purchasing three books. In order to cancel, go to BOMC2.com, click on Account, go to Contact Us and select Cancel My Account from the drop-down menu box. We reserve the right to cancel subscriptions at any time.


    Returns Policy

    We stand behind the quality of our product and want to be sure you receive exactly what you ordered.

    If you receive a damaged, defective or incorrect Reading List selection or other purchase, please send us an e-mail at [email protected] or call us at [protected] within 30 days of receipt and we will send you a replacement. Please note: We will only replace a product if it was damaged, defective or an incorrect selection.


    For Personal Use Only

    In order for BOMC2.com to keep our prices low, we may limit quantities to 10 BUY NOW orders per month. All books purchased through BOMC2.com subscriptions are intended for personal use only and not for resale or any other commercial purpose. If we suspect product is being used other than for personal use, we will cancel your subscription.


    Resolving Disputes

    If there is any dispute between us, it is agreed that either of us may elect to have it resolved by proceeding in small claims court or by binding arbitration administered by the National Arbitration Forum, the American Arbitration Association, or JAMS under their rules for consumer arbitrations. All disputes in arbitration will be handled just between the named parties. The arbitrator shall not have authority to conduct any proceedings on a class, private attorney general, or other representative basis; nor to entertain any claim of, nor provide any relief to, any person who is not a named party; nor to join or consolidate claims by or for individuals with different accounts. You acknowledge that this means that you may not have access to a court or jury.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whiteknight2000 Sep 04, 2011

    I am starting my discontinue today the 4th of August 2011 and from what I've read above I am not looking forward to this. I thought this was a good idea and joined the BOMC but after receiving my first book I wanted to get out right then cause it's no where near worth the 11 bucks for the book I got. The book was made really cheap and the glue was falling apart, the paper they used was recycled brown paper bag or something and very weak. I'd give them maybe 2 bucks for the book and thats being generous. Then I was sent two more books in the past two months and I didn't even open them, I wrote on the package "Return to sender" and that was that I thought. I didn't order the books in the first place but the one they sent first, they charged me for that and fine that was my fault but then when they charged me for two others I never even ordered I was done. I sent them back and never got a refund on my card yet for them, now I gotta go threw the hassle of getting my money back which isn't the big problem but I just don't want to be billed anymore. Their should be a way to cancel them from being able to charge my credit card but I don't know how to find it, to bad it isn't threw pay pal, they made it easy to cancel payment to a company I had issues with. Its just to easy to get caught up in something online, it sounds so great at the time until you receive the item then its down hill from their.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bitch who dont play Apr 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have joined or ordered any books and I found this strange company on my bank statement. With no phone number just their web site, I am.contacting the FTC, BBB first thing in the morning, and I saw their phone...local for me, I will call. And they owe me bank over draft fee to top.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrsjennings2009 Dec 09, 2010

    I actually just had trouble with it today. I changed my payment information, and they still charged the old account. So I called them today. The kid I talked to "Justin" was obviously not the brightest crayon in the box. I finally gave up and called my bank. But after the trouble I've had over something so simple, and reading this, I do believe that I will be cancelling my account.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    msnmissy Nov 17, 2010

    I am having the same problem...what can i do, besides close my bank account? never mind i see the phone number above, i am going to call and give them a piece of my mind! P.S. thanx for the phone # Carol!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    barbara chamberlain Sep 17, 2010

    above comment

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    barbara chamberlain Sep 17, 2010

    i ordered 1 book and recieved it and since then i sent 2 books back not ordered but u have charged my acc for past 4 months and i want it taken of 10.87 a month. cancel... i dont want ure books and i want my money put back in my account. thank u Barbara Chamberlain 2469216kpooldk8oq is reference number

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Lennens Jul 14, 2010

    I have the phone number for the book if you want to cancel they are open from 8:00 am --- to 6:00 pm mon.- fri [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Lennens Jul 14, 2010

    I have the phone number to cancel your books they are open from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm mon. - fri. [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joyce cote Jul 07, 2010

    I received a book & never joined.They are telling me I have to purchase 3 more books for joining.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seanster69 Jun 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Check out my posting. I found out some very helpful information about ownership, CEO and address and phone numbers!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seanster69 Jun 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This book club has charged me sales tax since I joined. The problem is that if the company is not based in Illinois, which they are not, then they can not charge me (an Illinoisan) sales tax for an item that is being procured from the web and from another state (NY). Further, the tax they are charging is not even the State of Illinois tax or the city of Chicago. They seem to be assessing a 6.25% tax.

    I have written them via their website. On my first request, from Vinnie, I was sent a copy of the welcome letter, setting forth the membership terms.

    I replied back and was told by Anne, " We are legally required to collect a sales tax on all products sold to resident members of your state. The tax charge is calculated on the item price plus the shipping and processing costs incurred in processing your order."

    My response to them was that they are the only out of state company and the only book club that is passing on a tax to me. I asked them to provide the legislation that indicates specifically that BOMC2 is required to tax Illinoisans.

    They are crooks and their answers are just off the wall. There are no shipping and handling charges, so this agent doesn't even know her accounting practices and offerings!

    I did research and I found out that this company is owned by Bookspan, that also owns www.Booksonline.com. They are based out of NY and the President and CEO is Deborah (Debi) I. Fine. I have listed the owning company's address and phone numbers in this complaint.

    So beware of this book club!!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seanster69 Jun 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes that they are! they seem to think that they can charge me sales tax on an item that comes from another state. In Illinois we are not taxed on items that come from out of state. Why they think that they can do this when all other book clubs I belong to I don't know!! I mentioned this to them and they indicated that it is because of a law that was passed in 2009. Again, any item I purchase outside of Illinois is not subject to sales tax but they keep charging me that!!

    So yes, they are crooks!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dave36mn Jun 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I canceled after they charged me 12.95 for one book, I did not even join this club, it was part of offer for free notebook computer, I didnt even do the requirements and this bomc2. com keeps debiting my account for 9.95, they cant take any money it is on a debit card, but what crooks they keep trying to rip people off, you cant even get a hold of anybody of this company in a hotel suite somewhere in timbuck too

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa May 11, 2010

    I had charges from BOMC2 [email protected] PA $10.55 on my account and I NEVER even joined a book club, or received any books! Here is some info that may help you.er

    Phone Number: [protected]

    Web Site: http://www.bomc2.com/pages/havePatience/message_C_1.jsp

    I contacted them and asked to talk to a supervisor, they told me they would credit all unauthorized charges to my account. I also contacted my bank with all the information and filed a fraud report to the bank. I have to wait a few days to see if my account actually gets credited. I also canceled my bank card which cost me $7.50, but I do not want to chance these people ripping me off again!

    I hope this helps someone out there!!!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suesie4430 Mar 29, 2010

    this is the email I sent and think everyone should send one simular

    BOMC2

    you charged my card 10.77 after and i mean a couple months after cancelling the account. Your company is listed as a scam company and I have started the proceeding to file a lawsuit.

    RETURN THE MONEY YOU TOOK FROM MY ACCOUNT

    You are a sorry pathetic online book club who wont even list a phone number. I have filed a complaint with theBBB and will continue to file complaints with whatever agency including the Consumer's Rights in Washington. This complaint will hit all the way tothe state senate and trust and believe that little 10.77 you stole will cost you millions

    Sue Robinett

    0 Votes
  • peter m Nov 03, 2009

    Early in 2009, I joined Book Of The Month, also known as BOMC2 on credit card bills, a division or one of a number of book clubs owned by Bookspan.

    I cancelled membership after I missed the free trial cancellation deadline so I had to continue for the agreed minimum period, which I think was for three months.
    I called the BOMC2 customer service number and cancelled my account. I got the name of the person I spoke to who confirmed my account was cancelled.
    Next month another $9.95 charge appeared on my credit card.

    I called again and "cancelled" again. This was in June 2009.
    Also I called the credit card company (Chase), and they reversed the charge. Since I thought this time had taken care of it, I neglected to check my statements since I hardly used the card, then today (November) I looked, and there again was a BOMC2 charge for $9.95.
    09/01 BOMC2 [email protected] PA 9.95 (plus one in October)Early in 2009, I joined Book Of The Month, also known as BOMC2 on credit card bills, a division or one of a number of book clubs owned by Bookspan.

    I cancelled membership after I missed the free trial cancellation deadline so I had to continue for the agreed minimum period, which I think was for three months.
    I called the BOMC2 customer service number and cancelled my account. I got the name of the person I spoke to who confirmed my account was cancelled.
    Next month another $9.95 charge appeared on my credit card.

    I called again and "cancelled" again. This was in June 2009.
    Also I called the credit card company (Chase), and they reversed the charge. Since I thought this time had taken care of it, I neglected to check my statements since I hardly used the card, then today (November) I looked, and there again was a BOMC2 charge for $9.95.
    09/01 BOMC2 [email protected] PA 9.95 (plus one in October)
    07/31 BOMC2 [email protected] PA 9.95

    It is now November and the charge reversal was in June!
    06/18 BOMC2 [email protected] PA -9.95 -<<REVERSAL, SO WHY DID THEY KEEP CHARGING AFTER TWO CANCELLATIONS?
    06/18 BOMC2 [email protected] PA 9.95

    Now I was livid and I called Chase again, as I realize it's useless calling those crooks at BOMC2. Chase is going to cancel my account and issue me a new card, and reverse the disputed charges.

    Next I wll contact the Better Business Bureau and file a complaint with them, if it will do any good.

    From BOMC website:

    "Contact Us

    Customer service is available to assist you Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time.
    E-mail us at [email protected] or call [protected]. Your satisfaction is important to us." [RIIIIGHT!!!]
    07/31 BOMC2 [email protected] PA 9.95

    It is now November and the charge reversal was in June!
    06/18 BOMC2 [email protected] PA -9.95 -<<REVERSAL, SO WHY DID THEY KEEP CHARGING AFTER TWO CANCELLATIONS?
    06/18 BOMC2 [email protected] PA 9.95

    Now I was livid and I called Chase again, as I realize it's useless calling those crooks at BOMC2. Chase is going to cancel my account and issue me a new card, and reverse the disputed charges.

    Next I wll contact the Better Business Bureau and file a complaint with them, if it will do any good.

    From BOMC website:

    "Contact Us

    Customer service is available to assist you Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time.
    E-mail us at [email protected] or call [protected]. Your satisfaction is important to us." [RIIIIGHT!!!]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Searles Oct 08, 2009

    Can't even get ahold of their e-mail I canceled one time and after that I can't seem to
    get ahold of them for anything. I asked for a confirmation and they never sent me one.
    Don't know what to do except to call Attorney General and have them work on it.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cornado12 Sep 17, 2009

    Buy Beware!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cornado12 Sep 17, 2009

    The only way I find to contact them is if you put in the wrong passwords on purpose to get a phone number to pop up and then you can call and talk to someone but then you get the run around from them once in awhile to. They all say different things. I am trying to cancel my account to and was told I could not get the money back for all the books i did not order but to just add more books to my list and call them to have them sent to me until I catch up. Then cancel my account. I have a letter saying they cancelled it but now I cant even go to the web page to even see if its cancelled or not. Kinda strange if you ask me. They better not still be charging me since I have paid to them for over a year now.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pat Maslovich Jul 14, 2009

    I too am trying to cancel and cannot find contact.

    0 Votes
  • Nb
    NBligh Jun 23, 2009

    I checked my bank account and low and behold, Bomc2.com charged my account. I had an account with double day books a while back and canceled. Now all of a sudden without me ordering anything I am being charged 9.95 for something I did not order. I will take this up with my bank.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    terry stancer Apr 21, 2009

    I have been trying for over an hour now to contact customer service for bomc2. I '"m having trouble signing in. I changed my sign in and password info maybe a couple of months ago. I want to check my list, also order a couple of books for a family member. sign in info, terry stancer, password, bellagirl. Please check for me and e-mail at [email protected] Thanks!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.