Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Dog Breeders Review of BJ Mini Bulldogs
BJ Mini Bulldogs

BJ Mini Bulldogs review: Not a bulldog 7

A
Author of the review
9:35 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Bart & Beth Jessen--BJ Mini Bulldogs advertised mini bulldog puppies online. We paid $1, 900 plus $275 shipping through a Paypal account.

Puppy was examined by Bulldog Club of America recommended vet who confirmed that our puppy was not a bulldog.

Tail was docked. She doesn't have a bulldog head/face. Long legs and narrow body. Not broad and stocky at all.

Very cute but not the mini bulldog that we paid over $2, 000 for! Requested refund from the breeder as detailed in the Minnesota Pet Lemon Law. She has yet to refund our money.

Search Beth Jessen + AKC. AKC breeder status suspended several times. Currently suspended for false certification of litters.

Buyer beware!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

7 comments
Add a comment
M
M
Matt and Kathy
, US
May 16, 2011 9:01 pm EDT

Me and my wife bought a miniature english bulldog from Bart and Beth in 2006 and were very pleased with our wonderful dog. She is definately a beautiful dog with wonderful genetics and disposition. They went out of their way to make sure our little girl was shipped to us in great condition. We would definately recommend these breeders to anyone to aquire a puppy or two from them and we trust them completely. She is now almost 5 years old and very healthy and happy and loves all people and other animals. Our dog has been a blessing to us and so have Bart and Beth Jessen. God Bless. Matt and Kathy

A
A
Anonie
Grand Rapids, US
May 05, 2010 6:28 pm EDT

Thanks for posting Dannille!

The facts speak for themselves. Beth was suspended from the AKC three different times for false certification of puppies. The last time it was for 4 1/2 years. Call me a quack, but I don't think the AKC is a quack. Beth had repeated offenses of false certifications. According to the AKC it was multiple litters and multiple breeds.

The Jessens sold me a puppy they represented as a bulldog. I have had her examined by numerous breed experts and all agree she is not the "purebred" the Jessen's represented. One of the experts was a Governor of the Bulldog Club of America. She has been involved in breeding & judging bulldog competitions for over 30 years. Another expert is a vet recommended by the Bulldog Club of America. Both are bulldog experts and concur--she is a mixed breed dog.

Most importantly, I had a DNA Breed Analysis done. It clearly showed that she has very little bulldog in her. She was a mix of some bulldog, some terrier and French bulldog. The results showed Mixed Breed.

I paid over $2, 000 for what the Jessen's told me was a purebred bulldog. As the DNA proved, the Jessen's charged me a lot of money for a Mixed Breed.

We love our sweet Sophie girl! My children love her & she loves them. It's unfortunate that the Jessen's refuse to make things right.

If anyone would like to contact me, you can reach me at [protected].

D
D
Dannille Bullen
Hinckley, US
Apr 19, 2010 7:26 pm EDT

This lady sounds like a quack, Bart and Beth are wonderful people and I would recommend their puppies to anyone. I have bred Great Danes for over 6 years and have found my far share of scammers as well, breeders can NOT just give money back because you don’t like the dog months later. I did have a woman that wanted her money back after 9 months because the dog was to big; just to remind you I bred (GREAT DANES) did she think it was not going to grow. I purchased my first Mini Bulldog from Bart and Beth just over two years ago and then again in Feb. 2010. Bella and Shiva are my girls and are your typical mini bulldogs; Bella is a girly girl, and Shiva is a tomboy all the way. I could not be happier with my Minis from Bart and Beth, anyone that could bad mouth either one of these people are out of their minds and obviously do not know dogs at all. I look forward to future puppies I my get and would only think of purchasing them from the Jessen’s.
I would like to thank both Bart and Beth for the chance to include both our minis as part of our family, my kids cannot stop laughing every time Shiva takes a nap, because she can wake up the neighborhood with her snoring. We absolutely LOVE our Mini Bulldogs thanks again! I am sending pictures soon!

J
J
justnotsure
, US
Dec 18, 2009 10:58 am EST

It's hard to tell in the picture what your dog really looks like. If AKC does not register Minis than how to you expect to have a AKC pup? I agree, in the picture the legs do look long. It sounds like they have tried to work with you giving you 3 options. You love the dog ( and are not going to show or breed it) so why not take a partial refund? And honestly they do fill out as they age. I wouldn't want to have paid $1, 900 for a pup that doesn't fall into the standard of Mini bulldogs but I think a partial refund is fair. you really can't keep the dog and get all your money back just becasue you don't like the way it look at 7 months old. I can see if there was a health problem to get a full refund, but thats not the case.

A
A
annonn
Sioux Falls, US
Dec 11, 2009 1:16 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

WOW WOW WOW WOW I cant believe some people they think they can get something for nothing. I agree with you Beth & Bart that this lady sounds like she wants something for free. Our Friends bought a puppy from them 3 years ago and we just bought a puppy from them this summer. We went to go pickup our puppy and they have a wonderful business and is very honest. There place is very clean and neat. They have beautiful dogs and they helped us any way they could .You couldn't buy from a more honest breeder. I hope people don't listen to this kind of trash on the internet because THIS LADY WANTS TO RUIN THE GOOD HONEST BREEDERS THAT WE HAVE LEFT ON THE INTERNET. Our puppy was AKC registered and I got the papers just fine from them and sent them in to AKC and everything was fine. HEY ANNON YOU DON'T GET ANYTHING FOR FREE NOW A DAYS.

B
B
bjdog82
Edgerton, US
Dec 05, 2009 11:00 pm EST

This lady Kimberley Hamilton Grand Rapids MI  bought a puppy from me and 6 to 7 months later wanted her money back. I gave her a lot of pictures and she picked out her puppy. She decided on that puppy. She has the pictures of the puppy’s parents in which the puppy looks like. She has posted a picture on the internet that isn’t the mother of her puppy. Yes I have bred dogs for 30 years and never came across a person like this ever, I try to please my customers but you can’t please her.  I gave her three options: one is send the puppy back and I would refund her money, two I would replace the puppy for a different puppy and three I would refund her half the price of the puppy.  She refused all 3 options and still wants to keep the puppy and have all her money back.  So she really wants a puppy for FREE.  I guess all the time and money I put into the puppy doesn’t matter and I should really start raising puppies for FREE.  Any place she has posted her allegation have denied them when they have all the information.  The Better Business Bureau said that we can’t satisfy all customers but we have responded respectfully and they are satisfied that we have done everything we could. Puppyfind.com won’t put up any of her comments or reviews because they are not true. I am a good breeder, she received a healthy puppy and the one that she chose, I sent her pictures of the parents but she still wants a puppy for nothing, she probably doesn’t even have the puppy any more for all I know...I have never scammed anyone in my life and never will, I am very honest person and so is my wife.  A scammer tries to get your money and gives you nothing in return.  I have been scammed before, I sent money for a puppy and never got a puppy in return waited at the airport and nothing arrived.  They are ACA registered Mini bulldogs all bulldog, they are not recognized threw AKC yet but will be recognized soon and all our mini bulldogs, DNA prove parents.  . They are ACA in which I am in good standing all registries ACA, AKC, APRI call them for she has put all false information up on the internet. She obviously has enough money to put whatever she wants on the internet and has slandered my business on the internet .She told me that she makes 125.00 dollars an hour so she must have the time and money to wreck someone else’s business. I have worked hard to make my business a good one and it takes a person one minute over the internet to try to ruin someone reputation.  I have worked with my vet for over 30 years their number is [protected], you can talk to anyone we are a little town of 1100 people, everyone knows us. Please call me, Bart or Beth at [protected] and ask us, I can give you lots of people that bought puppies from us for years. Kimberley won’t give me numbers of the vet that looked at her dog or anyone else she says looked at her puppy.  She can sure slander my wife and my name on the internet.  This lady is a scammer and is trying to scam me for a FREE DOG. I am the owner of all AKC French and English Bulldogs and ACA Minis not my wife she raises a few APRI Yorkies and Maltese puppies and helps with book work and selling of the puppies .Bart and Beth Jessen

S
S
Samantha M
Edgerton, US
Nov 02, 2009 10:20 am EST

Beth and Bart Jessen have really nice quality dogs. They are raised well and have great personalities. Beth knows her Dogs and helps anyone with any questions.