The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Big City Ragdollsragdoll kittens with fip

U Review updated:

Selling kittens with coronavirus that turns into deadly FIP. What a devastating disease, leaving new owners heartbroken and kitten/young cat under two years old dying of a dreadful virus. What a truly awful experience.
This breeder has a great website and facebook page with beautiful and sweet Ragdoll kittens for sale. Contract stating: viruses, colds, URI (including FIP), parasites, bacterial infections are not covered under this guarantee...
Very interesting that the contract has FIP hidden among URI, which of course FIP is QUITE bit more than just an upper respiratory infection. FIP is a deadly disease without a cure and 100% fatal.
How can she sleep at night knowing her cats/kittens have been exposed to the virus and selling these kittens at a high price ( both figuratively and literally) that die of the disease less than one year of purchase. The kitten WAS EXPOSED at this cattery.
There really needs to be a Public Service Announcement that warns/alerts the public on this fatal feline disease and what to watch for especially within the pure bred community.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Gi
    Gina Wesley Jan 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is the only breeder I've experienced that breeds a true Ragdoll. Very well socialized and cared for. A breeder that pays enough attention to socialize them well would not ignore health issues, I'm sure. My mother's kitten is the only Ragdoll out of the 4 we've had over the years that is a true Ragdoll and she recieved this kitten from Big City Ragdolls.

    -1 Votes
  • Bi
    bigcityragdolls May 23, 2019

    Vixen only had one litter with Rebel on Jan 28, 2016. They only produced one girl who went as a pet. A beautiful kitten named Ivy. This is the first I am learning that Ivy had any health issues. Quite the contrary as I was receiving updates and pictures of a seemingly healthy kitten. Regardless, I am so sorry to hear that you lost her. I really wish you would’ve reached out to me so that I could have helped you through a very difficult and devastating situation. As a breeder, I don’t stop caring about my kittens once they leave my door. Remember, I loved them first. I have not heard of hemorrhagic eyes being a symptom of FIP and would have liked to have had my vet confer with yours about the diagnosis. It’s very important for the breeder to be apprised of issues that may potentially impact other kittens in that litter or whether or not we continue to use those parents for breeding. The first I learned about this Kitten passing was through this complaint board. I encourage all customers who purchase pedigree kittens to work with the breeder, (regardless if it came from me or elsewhere), Before resorting to posting a complaint.

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Up
    Upset customer 100 Apr 02, 2019

    My beautiful ragdoll did die of FIP and yes, Rebel was also the father. The mother was Vixen. FIP was in her eye that caused her beautiful aqua eyes to hemorrhage. She died 9 weeks later after the right eye hemorrhaged. Her eyes were very snotty when l picked her up from Big City. Unfortunately, the vet l took her to when l first picked her up said the information in the contract and my kitten's eyes were all red flags. I should have listened to the vet and my gut feeling about the breeder. Her eyes were watery in every picture that had been sent to me by the breeder. It was not herpes that cats get from large breeding programs. It was the coronavirus.

    -1 Votes
  • Il
    _iloveragdolls Sep 07, 2017

    I accidently hit the submit button. My vet also said it is so tricky and to make sure when all the adult breeder cats (females and males) are re homed and out of the program to make sure they go to households without other cats or kittens because they can be exposed. Usually the adult breeder cats are carriers and don't have the FIP subclinical symptoms. My fantastic vet has a wealth of knowledge and told me not to worry until the fluid results come in. He said FIP can be diagnosed from kitten hood until 5 years old if they were exposed to coronavirus as a kitten. He was blunt and said the cats with FIP will die. Please send your prayers.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Holbrook Seward Jul 12, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @_iloveragdolls Did the kitten have FIP or was it healthy?

    0 Votes
  • Il
    iloveragdolls Sep 07, 2017

    I am also worried because I have read some information from complaints on this site of other breeder companies. That having more than 10 cats in a facility including kittens are more susceptible to coronavirus meaning 3 adults only and then the kittens to make the maximum of cats= 10. I am worried that it says that breeders should shut down their program for at least 6 months and re home all of the adults currently in the breeding program. I am researching other web information and this seems consistent with their views too in order to safely get rid of the virus out of the breeding program. And that the herpes virus can decrease the kitten immune system and make them more susceptible for FIP.

    1 Votes
  • Il
    iloveragdolls Sep 07, 2017

    I wish I had seen this review. I purchased a kitten earlier this year and he is showing signs of wet fip. I am awaiting the pathology results to be certain. My vet informed me that usually the stud is usually the one that can contribute to passing on the coronavirus since studs breed with multiple females and produces more litters per year than the females. Rebel is the father. I am waiting for the lab work results to be certain before contacting the breeder since the breeder is really nice and I don't want to falsely make a statement. The breeder for this company I have a great deal of respect for her and I don't want to alarm her unnecessarily until I have all the facts.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denise Merlihan Oct 16, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @iloveragdolls We had a kitten from this breeder also and she died about the same time yours did. Her parent was Rebel and Rumor was the female. We then got two more with the same parents and had to put one of the two down yesterday...she had FIP also. Praying the third one we have does not have it too! We alerted Kristy with both of the sick cats...her last response with the one that went down yesterday was "I'm so sorry, I'm at a loss for words. That's it! I think her clients need to know she has this disease in her cattery!! We are sad and angry all at the same time. If the last one dies, she's in for a law suit by us!

    2 Votes
  • Up
    Upset customer 100 Apr 02, 2019

    @Denise Merlihan I am soooo sorry for both of your losses. I hope your 3rd kitty didn't get FIP too. Rebel was the father of my cat too.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    Upset customer 100 Apr 02, 2019

    @Upset customer 100 Also, your 1st kitten that died from Rumor? When was the kitten born and how old when passed away? I have a feeling my kitten was there and born around the same time as yours, just a different mother but same father.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    quiteconcerned Jul 07, 2017

    It really doesn't make sense that someone would not contact the breeder directly about their sick kitten. It also doesn't make sense that the breeder would not be extremely motivated to find out what kitten as to identify parents who may be genetically more susceptible to developing FIP from the corona virus so they could remove them from their breeding program and alert any possible breeders that were previously sold from that line. Since 80% of cats are exposed and there is no way to know what cats may develop FIP that's all that a breeder can do- It is most important though that a breeder does act responsibly and take those actions.

    2 Votes
  • Bi
    Big City Ragdolls Apr 12, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The lack of personal details leads me to believe this "anonymous" report was filed as part of a scam and not filed by an actual customer of Big City Ragdolls. I find it ironic that I was alerted of this complaint by a company through a third party who offered to remove it for a "fee." We pride ourselves in producing healthy kittens and work with all customers regarding any potential future health concerns. This negative report appears to be an attempt to extort money from Big City Ragdolls and is not a legitimate complaint. Please feel free to contact us to discuss our health guarantee or any other questions regarding our kittens.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.