SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Barnes & Noble Booksellersa book called "if you give a pig the whitehouse" by kaye fanouse

Review updated:

Why is this book in your store? This is absolutely disgusting, especially since it is targeting the minds of young children. I will never EVER shop your stores again if this book remains in your stores. I imagine if this was a parody on Obama, with is likeness to pig on the front . . . would that be OK for you? The fact that this book is being sold by Barnes and Noble speaks volumes about what you decide to sell . . .

El
Oct 04, 2019
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bg
      Oct 05, 2019
    Best Best Advice

    While I see it's listed as an "adult parody", it's still distasteful and disrespectful. What if it was about Obama or Clinton? Double standards? You think?!

    +33 Votes
  • Kr
      Oct 07, 2019

    @BGia It's not about Obama or Clinton. Why do you think this book was written? What chain of events took place to motivate someone to write such a book (good or bad)? No one wants to deal with those questions.

    +11 Votes
  • Gr
      Oct 16, 2019

    @Krishna Abu Chain of events? Well it certainly wasn't sexual harassment/sexual assault by a married sitting Gov. and President... Nothing says "ya buddy" like some good ol adultery, in the fricken Oval Office! Top it off with the scorned woman, to save her narcissistically driven need to keep her Political future alive. Disingenuously and reprehensibley defends the "pig" her husband. By slandering the 40 or so victims, while empowering the predator (AKA The Pig)! No need to even delve into the 40 plus lifelong friends... business partners... Security/Bodyguards... Political peers that have met untimely deaths, unfortunate and odds defying number of plane crashes...all of them had one common denominator...they knew too much, were about to testify against a certain former Gov/Pres Mr Pig and Mrs Piggy. When Secret Service that were charged with protecting a First Lady, are so compelled to publicly share how horrendous and demeaning those they're protecting are to people in private...The curtain was pulled back revealing the elitist frauds for all to see! Save for their Kool-Aid drinking constituency, who've mastered walking thru this life, with the entirety of they're heads up they're Asses.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      Oct 05, 2019

    I will NEVER buy another thing from Barnes and Noble. This is totally disgusting.

    +27 Votes
  • Kr
      Oct 07, 2019

    @Buckeye Mom Disgusting ? Disgusting to me is "grab them by the pu**y...", is that not disgusting? I'm buying stock in Barnes and Noble immediately.

    +7 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 09, 2019

    @Buckeye Mom You're an idiot. Trump IS a pig. A fraudulent conman. He is a liar, a fraud, a racist, a bigot, and has no redeeming value.

    +3 Votes
  • Us
      Oct 09, 2019

    @Sagan Hill Well maybe you are too. Let’s write a book about you? How’d you feel about that? Lol

    0 Votes
  • As
      Oct 13, 2019

    @Buckeye Mom Knock yourself out🤣. No one cares. They have plenty of educated, broad minded customers who don’t appreciate having a cheating liar for their president.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Oct 16, 2019

    @Sagan Hill Obvious to anybody here...Those exact words are quite familiar to ya, eh laddie... Although I'm certain you were more than deserving of them, the countless times you're Ma & Pa unleashed them on you...Maybe you can muster up the teaspoon of courage you may have, and beg for forgiveness for all the years of shame you've brought to your family! You'll still be the limp [censored]ed wart of the family, but it'll do all who've eventually had to admit the DNA connection between ya.

    -1 Votes
  • Gr
      Oct 16, 2019

    @A smart person Finally... A [censored] liberal who can publicly muster a semblance of manhood, and not appear to fear the repercussions of calling out Billy Boy Clinton! Congratulations almost assuredly...One of your tiny balls have dropped. Baby steps, but you may salvage some normalcy on this lifes journey.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Oct 05, 2019

    Thoroughly disgusted by this. I will never shop Barnes and Noble again.

    +23 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 09, 2019

    @Cath134 People like you don't read anyway. Im sure they will never miss you.

    +1 Votes
  • No
      Oct 06, 2019

    What we're you thinking stocking this. For the record this was why I stopped going to your store. Your humor section eliminated the humor, and replaced it with attack Trump books.

    +17 Votes
  • Jt
      Oct 06, 2019

    I spend hundreds of dollars in your store each year. I will not be back. You are contributing to the hateful mentality that is prevalent among some groups. I thought you were better than that. It's a moral issue. It's just wrong.

    +26 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 06, 2019

    Your business just lost my Christmas dollars If You Give a Pig the White House: A Parody, which you chose to display an sell. I haven't read the inside, the outside is offensive enough. I am ashamed of your business. Anything for a dollar I guess.

    +14 Votes
  • As
      Oct 13, 2019

    @Marilyn Quarles Good luck with that. This book is also on Amazon and in Target. You won’t be able to find a place that bans books anywhere. Just give everyone bibles🤣😂

    +1 Votes
  •   Oct 13, 2019

    @A smart person And sadly it's not these company's fault. They are MADE to stock and sell these things.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Oct 16, 2019

    @A smart person Whilst you give everyone Knobs...Fair enough Puddin.

    +1 Votes
  • 33
      Oct 06, 2019

    This is disgusting! I will NEVER shop at Barnes and Noble again. Even if you pull it off the shelf it shows the character of your corporation. You will sell yourselves to the devil if it makes you a buck. This is exactly what is wrong with our country, people like YOU poisoning people thoughts. Shame on you!

    +5 Votes
  • Be
      Oct 07, 2019

    This is genius! Lol all of you need to grow up, you can’t get mad at this author for writing facts that all of you are too blind to see. Barnes & nobles might have lost a few customers but it definitely gained some in return!🙌🏽

    +4 Votes
  • He
      Oct 07, 2019

    @Bernie for 2020 WOW!!! Would you have said that same thing if President Obama had been made a pig? President Trump has done 100 times more for African Americans (I see your black hands clapping, so assume you are African American...like myself) Check out "Candace Owens" and the Blexit Movement if you'd like to see facts and look up big people ideas!

    +9 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 09, 2019

    @He's Our President! That's because Clinton nor Obama never did anything as unlawful and traitorous as tRump has. tRump has done NOTHING for anyone in this country except make himself richer. How can a person like you who takes in oxygen/nitrogen be totally empty of all reason and critical thinking skills? tRump lies, cheats and steals and its all documented on factcheck. Stop listening to fox entertainment, it's mudding your mind.

    +5 Votes
  • Vo
      Oct 13, 2019

    @He's Our President! Shall we bring up all the times that GOP supporters made Obama look like a monkey and lynch an effigy of him?

    +3 Votes
  • Gr
      Oct 16, 2019

    @Sagan Hill You managed typing it with minimal problems...But could you orate as well with "Billy the #METOO Clinton's and "Hussein O'Kenyas" cheesey libtard sac's in you're C-Gobbler? You a gifted MoFo C. Gobbs.

    +1 Votes
  • Tw
      Oct 07, 2019

    This is disgusting that you are displaying this EVIL, HATEFUL BOOK in your store. President Trump has done so many Great things for our Veterans and ALL Americans and he has done more AGAINST the EVIL Partial-Birth Abortion and abortion, in general, than any other President EVER !!! ... I will NEVER shop at your store again !!!

    +4 Votes
  • Kb
      Oct 07, 2019

    @TweetyBurk Oh no!!! Whatever will they do?!!! 😱

    +7 Votes
  • Kr
      Oct 07, 2019

    @TweetyBurk I love this book, where can I get a thousand copies and hand out in Manhattan?

    +4 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 09, 2019

    @TweetyBurk Oh no, you're another religious nut. You should read your bible and see who the child abuser and killer is. Your god is. He has done nothing for our vets.

    0 Votes
  • Vo
      Oct 13, 2019

    @Sagan Hill Surprised at you. Trump has done a LOT for our veterans. He has deported plenty of patriotic soldiers who served our country. He has cut the budget on plenty of desperately needed Veterans programs as well.

    +1 Votes
  • Gr
      Oct 16, 2019

    @Krishna Abu Your Mamas house...She loves anything that involves Big Daddy Trump! Ask yo Daddy while he's still wearing the Trump mask, Mom's makes him wear before Trumping and Bumping.

    +1 Votes
  • Kb
      Oct 07, 2019

    I love it!!

    +3 Votes
  • An
      Oct 07, 2019

    I love it! I ordered 5 and we are going to have schools order them. Principals are already on board in my area. Yaaayyyyy

    -4 Votes
  • Wi
      Oct 07, 2019

    @Angel46 No one is on board in your area. IF this were found in your school or any other, everyone from the superintendent to the janitor would be held responsible . The people who own the wealth, the one percent or whatever send their kids to private Christian schools anyway. The poor folks, like you, who are stuck generationally in awful public schools where no real opportunity exists and are the spawn of previous generations of poorly educated parents who had no opportunity can have a ball with something like this. That is if the 1%, the controllers of the wealth and power allow it. And so it goes: another generation of powerless losers who have bought into the great deception that they are making a statement and resisting the corruption or the injustice or whatever. Then, as your life spins out of control with a degree in some useless pursuit that can’t feed your family, and mounting debt crushing you in and robbing you of the ability to even dream, you realize the only alternative is the handgun in the basement. And, as your grieving parents cry inconsolably, another member of the one percent will sell them a plot they really can’t afford and a marker of granite that confirms that you existed.

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 09, 2019

    @winkangrin YOu are an idiot. Public schools are/were Americas greatest asset until the republicans and Devos gutted them. We put men on the moon from these schools. Your idiot Christian schools are the ones making people stupid with their anti-Science status and alternate facts by conservative NUTS. I see you life has already spun out of control with your support of a sexual deviant and adulterer. Then you support a party and a religion that supports pedophiles, child abusers, and other perverts who hang out in public bathrooms. Your god, your religion, your pig of a potus has no redeeming value.

    +1 Votes
  • Go
      Oct 09, 2019

    @winkangrin @winkangrin
    You’re a bigot, racist, hateful and EVIL Christian, just like tRump and all IT’S followers.

    -1 Votes
  •   Oct 11, 2019

    @Sagan Hill As if the schools were so much better under Obama and Clinton???

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Oct 16, 2019

    @Angel46 Liberal agenda delusional curriculum void of principal (LADCP)...Overseen by a Principal...Oxymoron HOF of the highest order! Liberal Left-wing Fundamentalless-ism...The gift that keeps on giving! LMAO
    Att. all Dumbmocrats... Tickets for the 4th annual Billary Clinton "Whine House Rejection Tour" will be reduced in price by 150% and dates reduced as necessary just prior to going on... giveaway. Hurry while supplies last.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Oct 08, 2019

    I am lived!! Can you imagine a similar book about Obama or Hillary being allowed to be published??!! It would never happen because the snowflakes would have to go to their safe room to color or cry. It needs to be removed inmediately!! I will boycott any business that sells or promotes it.

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Oct 08, 2019

    @Trump Fan So do you need a safe room to color and cry??
    BTW... *Livid

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 09, 2019

    @Trump Fan You are just more proof religion, and conservatism makes people mind numbing stupid.

    +2 Votes
  • Ch
      Oct 09, 2019

    I’m sure there are people who do not like or are offended by the Holy Bible does that mean every book store needs to remove them? No people who don’t like the Holy Bible avoid that section or they roll their eyes and move on. In fact there is someone who would have a problem with every single book in the book store so your solution is to have them remove the offensive book. Then there will be no books to sell. If there are no books to sell the libraries will no longer be able to obtain books. People would find the books that the libraries already have offensive so they would have to get rid of all those books. Then the libraries would have to close! Just because something is not to your liking does not mean it needs to be wiped away completely!

    +3 Votes
  • Go
      Oct 09, 2019

    @ChrisEd ChrisEd,
    Wise words!

    +3 Votes
  • Pt
      Oct 09, 2019

    This is the book all you . . . ahem . . . "conservatives" . . . are so up in arms about:

    "A coiffed and blustery pig has shoved his way into the White House! A cleverly worded and illustrated picture book, this is the adult parody of the beloved children’s cautionary tale, If You Give a Pig a Pancake.

    "Watch in dismay as the presidential pig gets into trouble, binges on too much Fox News and fast food, and cavalierly threatens national security. If You Give a Pig the White House both lovingly caricatures the original children's book and shows just what can happen when a greedy anti-hero tracks his hooves all over America."

    This is adult political satire. It's unfortunate that you can tolerate neither satire nor political content with which you disagree. If you are so sensitive, I strongly recommend you also avoid Jonathan Swift who, in addition to writing the adult satire "Gulliver's Travels, " wrote an hilarious adult satire titled "A Modest Proposal." You might do a Google search on the latter and see what he proposed. Perhaps you'll want to boycott B&N over that.

    Meanwhile, to those of you who do intend to boycott B&N despite clearly having no clue about the book that is the source of your outrage, (1) I am, frankly, shocked that you actually buy and read books given your obvious level of ignorance, and (2) I say, good, as it means those of us capable critical thought will have a more pleasant environment when we browse.

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 11, 2019

    @ptauger The blustery pig was voted in because not enough Dem voters cared enough to go out and vote. This is your doing.

    0 Votes
  • Pt
      Oct 11, 2019

    @Um is not an answer! Though there's truth to that, the blustery pig lost the popular vote by nearly 3 million votes and is in the White House only because of an arcane and obsolete constitutional compromise for slave-owning states called the Electoral College. Nonetheless, I congratulate you for completely ignoring everything I wrote, which was solely and exclusively about the literary style called satire, and made no mention of politics or political parties. It takes a special kind of person to ignore reality in favor of their agenda.

    -1 Votes
  •   Oct 11, 2019

    @ptauger It also takes a special kind of person to hate a store that is forced to sell this rather than hate the psycho who wrote it and the [censored]s who published it.

    Go to Canada I'd you don't like him m

    -1 Votes
  •   Oct 11, 2019

    @ptauger It is adult political satire but it is written in the style of a famous children's book. This is what is upsetting me. A majority of parents today are blithering idiots when it comes to properly raising their children to be productive and respectful members of society. They actually think this is appropriate for reading.

    It doesn't matter what venue this is. What matters is that parents will buy this for their children because it's title is just like all those other If you give a___ a ___. books.

    0 Votes
  • Pt
      Oct 11, 2019

    @Um is not an answer! Wow, what kind of American are you? No, I don't have to go to Canada if I don't like Trump. I can simply vote for the Democrat. This is a democracy. If you don't like that, I suggest you go somewhere where they don't have elections.

    0 Votes
  • Pt
      Oct 11, 2019

    @Um is not an answer! Why does it upset you that it is written in the style of a famous children's book? I've also seen a lot of parodies of Dr. Seuss. Does those, similarly, upset you? You do know that parody is protected First Amendment expression. Is it the Constitution that troubles you?

    As for parents buying it because they think it's a children's book, I can't imagine the kind of parent (or, for that matter, non-parent) who would buy a child a book without knowing exactly what they are buying. I refer you, again, to Jonathan Swift. Though Gulliver's Travels is adult satire, children can enjoy as a simple tale of adventure, and many do. A Modest Proposal, however, would give most children nightmares (if you're not familiar with it, what Swift modestly proposed was eating children as a solution to the Irish Famine). Should Swift be banned because some careless parent with a passing familiarity with Gulliver's Travels decided to buy their child A Modest Proposal?

    It is clear to me that your problem is not with satire, adult or otherwise, or parody, but with anyone who opposes Trump. And that's just sad.

    +1 Votes
  •   Oct 11, 2019

    @ptauger Dr Seuss was a piece of shi7.

    -2 Votes
  •   Oct 11, 2019

    @ptauger It's not the opposition of Trump, he does many things that I don't appreciate or approve of.

    If anyone made a children's book about the process of diagnosing an Asperger's child or person, I'd be fine with it. If anyone made a children's book about what to do with a person or child who is diagnosed with Asperger's I'd also be fine with that.

    Hint hint... Trump has Asperger's. That and no gentleman's upbringing.

    -1 Votes
  • Pt
      Oct 11, 2019

    I don't know if Trump has Asberger's or not and honestly, I don't really care. And I'll note that your view of Dr. Seuss is certainly not a majority view, but that's neither here nor there. Again, you're totally off-topic.

    +1 Votes
  •   Oct 12, 2019

    @ptauger he publicly cheated on his dying-of-cancer-wife and she committed suicide because of his affairs. her suicide note says it.

    put that in your pipe and smoke it.

    0 Votes
  • Pt
      Oct 13, 2019

    @Um is not an answer! And what has that to do with anything?

    0 Votes

Post your comment