The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Around The Clock Locksmith in Pasadena, MDUnauthorized Charges and Forgery

M

The locksmith quoted me $250.00 and charged my credit card for $1, 006.43. I refused to sign the receipt. When I filed a complaint with the BBB and a claim with my bank, the locksmith sent them two signed (forged) receipts and a letter stating I agreed to the charges by signing the receipts!!! One receipt I had never seen before!!! The BBB has received 6 more complaints in three weeks!

Responses

  • Mr
    Mr.Adams Jan 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What if you were ripped off before 8/2/10? I was charged 400.00 for a service in 10/09. He told me it was a good deal because I was getting a new lock for his cost.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MRoles Aug 06, 2010

    URGENT UPDATE!!
    Have you been ripped-off by this company after 8/2/10? If so, PLEASE contact Ms. Lucy Cardwell of Maryland's Attorney General Office at [email protected]
    She NEEDS to hear from YOU!! Let's finally stop this guy! If this post does not allow the e-mail I noted above...please google "Around the Clock Locksmith" and view my other reviews for the information.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    PrinceNaseem Jul 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the VERY SAME THING happen to me by this guy this past sunday. He tried to charge me $670 for getting me into my place of work after saying it would cost only $75. Like you, I refused to sign and called my credit card company to tell them it was a fraudelent charge. He also did not return my credit card and threatened me (Said that he was a locksmith and had my address so one way or another I would end up paying). I went to the police and filed a report and of course he denied everything and he faxed the police the documents with my forged signature. The police issued a warrant for his arrest for credit card fraud. I would greatly appreciate it if you could let me know how you resolved your issue with the credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MRoles Apr 08, 2010

    UPDATE: HE IS GOING DOWN!! :)

    Attorney General Gansler Issues Cease and Desist Against Maryland Locksmith Company
    Around the Clock Locksmith Allegedly Overcharged Consumers
    BALTIMORE, MD ( April 7, 2010) - Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler announced today that his Consumer Protection Division has issued a Cease and Desist Order against a Maryland locksmith, ATCL-MD, Inc., T/A Around the Clock Locksmith and its owner Joseph M. Horton. The Consumer Protection Division has charged Around the Clock Locksmith and Horton with billing consumers exorbitant fees, such as more than $4, 300 to replace a lock and deadbolt, and fees as high as $1, 400 simply to respond to a consumer’s request for locksmith services. According to the Division’s Statement of Charges, Around the Clock Locksmith refuses to give consumers an estimate of its fees or provides extremely low estimates. When consumers balked at paying the undisclosed fees, the company allegedly charged the consumers’ credit card without prior authorization.
    In addition to overcharging consumers, Around The Clock Locksmith and the company’s owner, Joseph Horton, are accused of falsely using a competitor’s name to steal the competitor’s customers and misrepresenting that the company is a member in good standing with the Better Business Bureau. The Consumer Protection Division ordered the company and Horton to immediately cease and desist from engaging in these and other unfair or deceptive trade practices. A hearing is scheduled for June 28, 2010, after which the Division will determine the amount of any restitution, penalties and costs that Around the Clock Locksmith and its owner must pay.
    “You can’t provide a low estimate to get your foot in the door and then charge multiples of that estimate to perform the service, ” said Attorney General Gansler. “The Order requires the company to provide realistic estimates and to stick by them.”
    Consumers should always ask for price estimates before requesting any service and be wary of companies that will not provide estimates. Consumers may contact the Consumer Protection Division to find out if there have been complaints filed against a business by other consumers. For more information, consumers may call the Consumer Protection hotline at [protected] or [protected] toll-free.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.