The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Home Mortgage ServicingClass Action Lawsuit Anyone?

I think they should have a Class Action Lawsuit filed against them for these deceptive practices, fraudulent practices, and just down right not playing fair!!
My Story:
In December 2008 I applied for a loan modification. In January 2009 I received a call from Dena Moss a "negotiator" for my modification. She told me to stop making my payments while my account was being modified. She said I would have 1 lave fee and be reported on my credit for 1 late payment. She said my first payment would be April 1, 2009 at a rate of %5.5 percent and a 'graduating step program' where my interest rate would go from 5.5% to 6% the next year, 7% the year after that and stop at about 8% in the fourth year. She was giving me approximates as she said she would not have the exact figures until the modification had been completed.
In March 2009 when I did not hear from her, I called and she said that the lender put a hold on modification and she would call me back in 3 weeks.
Yesterday, April 1, 2009, my husband was called by AHMSI and told that we were in foreclosure and our modification was denied March 26, 2009. They wanted 4 months worth of payments plus 4 months worth of late fees totaling around $5k to bring the account current and stop foreclosure.

Responses

  • An
    Andrea Ross Coleman Nov 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am about to lose my home also because i paid over $3000 to American home servicing center and trust that they would help me i cant get try to get a new home because my credit is now mess up is there anything i can do for them to be responsible for their action? ????PLEASE HELP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patricia Wright Lambert May 02, 2013

    Let's start our own lawsuit against AHMC. Someone have go do something they practice illegal transactions with their modification program stringing people along for years and never given them a modification only sending their mortgage holders into foreclosure.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Royalty God's Daughter Mar 06, 2013

    I just want to say thanks to everyone who told their story. I am looking to purchase a home and this company is one of the only ones I will be able to get a loan with due to my bad credit. After reading this, I'm running from this company as fast as I can. God Bless You All. I'm sorry to read such terrible stories. I will say a prayer for you all tonight. Put your faith and trust in God. He will see you through this and you will come out stronger and closer to him.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John D Cramblit Oct 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Contact your states Division of Banking. I live in Iowa I contacted the Iowa Division of Banking and they are investigating them for discriminating against me for being disabled. I have got the most help from my Senators and my State Rep though. So I would contact your Senators, State Rep, and your state's Division of Banking. Then I would contact the Office of the Comptroller of Currency. If you got to www.gsa.gov and click on the "consumer" tab you can find A LOT of useful links and phone #'s of agencies who can help you including your local agencies that can help you.

    Good luck,

    John Cramblit

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leelees77 Sep 21, 2011

    American Home Mortgage Service lost one of our payments in April of 2010. They admit that they applied our payment to someone else's loan, which caused a snowball of effects for our family. They actually put two payments through in one month. We sent them a check for our April payment, that was taking longer then usual to be put through. My husband decided to call to see what the hold up was, and they told him that they hadn't received the check, so my husband proceeded to make a payment by phone. He got a conformation number and was informed that even if the check was received it would not be put through. This was indeed incorrect, they ended up getting the check, and putting it through. We are a pay check to pay check average American family, so you can imagine the hardship this put on our family. Two mortgage payments caused us many over draft fees. But we figured we could get caught up because we wouldn't have to pay in May because of the double payment in April. So, my husband calls in June only to find out that we need to make May and June's payment. So he faxes over the cashed check info, and the phone conformation thinking the matter would be resolved. No, it was not resolved. I finally had to turn the company into the BBB in October, they did apply our payment to our loan. In the mean time we did get behind because of the over draft fees, and it was such a hassle to call in a go through all the above info with every call. So, we sent western union our October payment knowing that by this time we were behind by 30 days. Our Mortgage company sent our payment back, and we were unsure of what to do. We contacted our attorney, and she was sure that we could just modify our loan not to worry about payments until after we modified. We sent in our paper work, it did take the mortgage company about 6 times of faxing and mailing before they had all of our paperwork needed. We did not qualify and now here we are. I have been a home owner for 15 years and have never had such a hard time paying ANY bill. When they first took over our loan, they must have locked me out of my account 5 different times online. The phone was next to impossible to figure anything out with, every time you call someone you can't understand from India answers. It took two months just for them to get the attorney's faxed consent form. I have two children that love their schools, and we have been active members in our community for almost 10 years living in the same house. If you can offer any help we could really use it.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    santified74 Sep 12, 2011

    I woner if anyone is reading these complaints again AHMSI ? So we can get some action here. HELLO DEPARTMETN OF TREASURY ! HELLO SENATORS! HELLO CONGRESSMEN! HELLO PRESIDENT!
    WELL AT LEAST GOD IS LISTENING!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    santified74 Sep 12, 2011

    When AHMSI did our modification we were paying 2, 013.00 a month and after the modification we are paying 2, 019.00 a month. Then later on they send us a bill saying that we had to pay an extra 600.00 for escrow or something of that nature. I am now in the process of advocating for our modification through congress and senate.
    I hope that they will give his issue priority.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    santified74 Sep 12, 2011

    I hear all of you. American Home mortgage servicing inc. does not want to help anyone. I went to Naca and they said I qualified for home modification. I am on unemployment and AHMS said that I do not qualify for a home modification because I am on unemployment. Which does not make any sense to me. They also said that I can apply for an unemployment modification, but my credit score with all 3 credit bureaus would be jeopordized. I told them even though I was not late on any of the payments I would still have a negative credit score. What a mess. God will deffinitely take care of his people.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John D Cramblit Aug 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Contact your States Division of Banking, that's who my Senator Tom Harkin filed a complaint with and they are investigating American right now. He also contacted the Department of Justice and Senator Grassley contacted the Office of Comptroller of Currency and the FTC. I then contacted my states Attorney General, Consumer Protection Agency and they too are looking into my matter. The squeaky wheel gets oiled, you just gotta squeak! Contact your Senators and State Rep and Dept of Justice, contact Fannie Mae or whomever actually owns the loan, I just did that yesterday. The State of Texas is sueing American Home Mortgage for all the bad dealings their residents have had. Start Squeaking dude. OH yeah, almost forgot, CONTACT HUD, Housing and Urban Development as I have them involved too.

    Good luck and happy squeaking :) lol

    John

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustrated mom of 4 Aug 18, 2011

    I have been constantly faxing and mailing them my documents due to modification and and they keep losing my docs. Not only did they tell me not to pay but the loan negotiator Demon Fowler does not even answer or pick up. From 13000 in back owe now they are telling me I owe 30k and today when I called again they are telling me I owe 19k where are they getting the figures from. They give me no info and won't let me talk to a supervisor.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PaulXXKA Aug 10, 2011

    I had the same problem. In January 2010 I applied for a loan modification with AHMSI. I was told not to make my payments. I waited and waited to hear if I was approved. I was calling them every other week and was being told the modification was still pending. Finally after 4 months and many many phone calls, I was told the modification was denied. In the meantime I am almost 5 months behind. They insisted I pay all that was due which was in excess of $12, 000 not to mention my credit rating went down the tubes. I finally worked out a payment plan with was a payment and a half for 3 months then they approve a modification. Even after the modification I am still struggling to make the payments. They are way above what I can afford. The people who answer the phones are from India. They do not understand what I am saying nor do I understand what they are saying. Does anyone know if there is a class action lawsuit against AHMSI. I'd like to join if so.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John D Cramblit Jul 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My home was foreclosed on by American Home Mortgage after I had been off work for two years because of medical issues. I told them I was being placed on disability and they said "disability is not a recognizable income" and a few months later they foreclosed on MY home. I complained to my senators Grassley and Harkin and in response American Home Mortgage has sent me two letters saying they are looking into my complaint. I drove by my home yesterday and it was sold? How in the hell is that looking into my complaint of discrimination? I want to sue them all the way to hell and back and have started looking for an attorney to just that!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shane Savage Jul 09, 2011

    I've had all the same problems listed above, if anyone had any current info on what legal steps to take please email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenny Pearcy May 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well we also lost our home because of AMHS when i had trouble i got ahold of them and try to work something out with lower payments or atleast paying the interst on my payment but we rold there was no way i could do this i have to make full payments we got 3 months behind i ask to put the 3 payments on the end of our load but noway was they going to do this, they want to do a loan modification so i sent them all the paperwork not only once but twice they kept tell me they didn't get everything they needed, then the sent me a name of a person they would help us with us with a loan modification i spoke with these people and they todl me not to make anykind of payments until they did the paperwork well $1.600 hundred dollars later nothing took place by then we were 4 or 5 payments behind and no way to catch them up had no choice but to let the forclose, I dont think we ever talked to the same person on the phone with AMHS and always got the run around with them on about what was going on and nobody ever had the authority to make any choices. I hope someone files a lawsuit against them maybe i can get in on it and get my $1.600 back or maybe more. Thanks [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Cb
    cbill72 Apr 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have been battleing with ahmsi for almost 2 years now someone in a legal capacity from hud or some federal capacity should look into this company due to the amount of complaints from across the country we are already having trouble with our mortgages and they will tell you to retain a lawyer but some cant do this if someone could somehow attatch all the complaints from the net and attatch the to an e-mail to some one who has the ability to do something abut it would be cool amhsi constantly screws poeple over evry chance they get

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    christinaandjohn Mar 29, 2011

    I was pre approved to put one past due payment on my principle back in August and was told that I would have to modify my loan just to do it. My husband and I started the paperwork in which case they would not except until we typed it. We were told that once they had all the paper work we would get an answer in 30 days. That did not happen every time we neared the 30days we received a letter or a phone call stating that there was paperwork missing. After calling American Home Mortgage back on several times they would locate the paperwork in there system than tell us we would hear back from them in 30 days. This went on from September all the way to Jan. In Jan my husband called back questioning why we had not received an answer and was told we had to apply for a hemp loan before we would be given an answer. So we filled all the correct paperwork again for the hemp loan. After faxing it in and American Home Mortgage excepting these documents we were told that we would receive a phone call in three days to answer some questions to move forward with the modification loan. We never heard from them other than the reps calling for payment on the back due amount. It is now almost April and we are loosing the house and moving. My husband and I do not believe American Home Mortgage was ever going to help us. It has been 7 months since we applied.

    0 Votes
  • To
    TommiL Mar 12, 2011

    We are going through the same things as you all...we are waiting on a negotiator on a SECOND modification loan because they didn't accept the way the cashier's check was written out when my mom made her first payment on the last home modification loan. Foreclosure date is set for the beginning of April . Has anyone had any success getting away from this company and still keeping their homes? Please post on here or email me at [email protected] Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sick of AHMSI Jan 05, 2011

    I've had nothing but problems with this Company. I was approved for a HAMP modification in January 2010, after making all of my payments on-time. In September 2010, they started misapplying my payments to a miscellaneous account and not to my loan’s P&I. They received these payments on-time, but because they misapplied the funds, they would call me everyday looking for me to pay. I would explain that they have my money, and ask them why they keep doing this month-after-month. I never got a valid response, but they said it was their mistake and would then apply the payment properly 10-20 days after they received it.

    Yesterday (1/4/11), I received a letter in the mail stating, "You previously received a HAMP Modification Agreement ("Agreement") mailed to you on 1/26/10. We have determined that the terms of the Agreement do not comply with HAMP requirements and have identified necessary changes that must be made to the Agreement to make the terms compliant."

    The letter gave me two options and neither option has any disclosure as to the terms or conditions of the new agreement. They want me to respond by 1/14/11 with my choice of option. After nearly a year, and of course after they received their money from the Federal Government, they have decided to change our agreement. They have stopped sending me payment coupons and are still misapplying payments.

    I'm not even sure if they own title to my house, as I've requested it several times. I checked with my county recorder, and it was last recorded by a company that is no longer in business. I cannot express the amount of grief that I feel everyday dealing with this horrific company. I have been trying to retain an attorney for the last several months, but nobody wants to take my case. I reported them to the Texas Attorney General, the California Attorney General (home state), the CA Department of Corporations, the Federal Trade Commission, the BBB, and for what? Nobody is doing anything about it. I wish the State of California would stand up to these idiots, just like Ohio and Texas have done. If you have any advice please e-mail me at [email protected] Good luck to you all!

    0 Votes
  • St
    stacey lay Jan 02, 2011

    American Home promise us a Loan Modification, but we had to do a 3months trial payment of 467 a month for 3 months, they toldus if we made all 3payments on time, then it would be approved. We made all 3 on time but American Home said the 2nd payment wasn't made on time. We made the payments Western Union with the date showing thaat it was made on time. They asked us to fax that Western Union Payment with the date and we faxed it back again. We call 7days later and asked them did they receive it, they said that they did receive it but it doesn't show where we made it on time, to fax it again. I don't know what is wrong with their fax or there is something very fishy going on. We called them again to ask what was the statics on hour loan and they keep telling us it's under review. The worst mortgage company EVER!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina LS Dec 16, 2010

    I am in the same situation with this company. I am located in Florida. My loan modification took over a year and then they just closed it and said we were not eligible and could never reapply (we were already told it was approved). Recently, we paid our payment but they put it in a misc. fund for no reason and then marked us late on our credit report for 2 months (we were not late at all). We called and they refused to take it off saying that it is our responsibility to send a fax to their legal department. They have charged us unauthorized amounts (I even had one rep tell me "look, you gave us your bank information. You can't give that to a stranger and expect them not to use it.'). Theyhave horrible customer service and no one can ever answer any question. If anyone starts a lawsuit, I am in! I have never dealt with such incompetence in my life.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anna m kimmet Nov 18, 2010

    I too have a similar situation with these people. My husband and I filled bankruptcy to save our home . After 5yrs of payments to a trustee and reviews asked for by american home mortage(formerly option one). We finished bankruptcy to be served with forclosure papers stating we were behind 6months. The amount for the loan reinstatement changed. i contacted another attorney to help me with this mess and after jumping through all their hoops they say the information is out dated and want to make me do it again and say they have no record of my attorney on file or even their own. what a nightmare... i lost my grandmothers home to these scam artist and i want them to be stopped

    0 Votes
  • Co
    coolmomwith2 Nov 17, 2010

    Can anyone tell me how to join the lawsuits filed against AHMS? I can't find an local attorney who handles this kind of situation.

    0 Votes
  • El
    elain12528 Oct 25, 2010

    I would appreciate if you can help provide me with resources/solutions to settling my issue. I did a loan modification on my house with AHMSI about a year ago. American home mortgage company put me on a three month trial to pay $2, 136.64. Payments were to be made on the first of each month beginning November 1, 2009 to January 1, 2010. I made sure that I kept my end of the agreement and made the payments in full and on time. The representative from the company instructed to me stop making payments until the company contacts me.

    In March of 2010 the modification company sent me a letter notifying me that the mortgage modification was approved. The letter indicated that I need to make a payment of $2, 136.64 and to sign forms in agreement. These forms were to be signed and returned by the end of March. During the month of March I became hospitalized. During my hospitalization I received notification of the modification approval, the payment amount agreement, and a letter that needed to be notarized and returned by the March 19, 2010. I was unable to notarize the paper and mail them due to my condition. I called and informed American Home Mortgage of my situation and was told that as long as they received the signed papers by the end of March it would be accepted. I had my son fax the signed paper work to the office. After being discharged from the hospital I mailed the original signed paper work on March 24, 2010 with next day delivery. Along with the signed forms I sent two payments of $2, 136.64 for the month February and March 2010. I received confirmation that it was received. Since then I have never missed a payment.

    In July of 2010 I was hospitalized again prior to my admission I made a payment for the month of July. By the time I was released from the hospital I was concerned that my August payment would be late if mailed so I called the modification company to make a payment over the phone for the month of August. The representative told me he was unable to accept my payment over the phone because I owe $56, 000. He explained to me that I have a back payment of $56, 000 because my modification did not go through. When asked why the modification did not go through I was told that they did not receive the paperwork, which was not true because I had confirmation that the papers were received. When I asked what action that I needed to take as far as proving to them that I had confirmation, I was put on hold and the representative did not return on the phone. Two days later I called back and spoke to a representative that explained to me that the information given to me by the previous representative was false and that the modification was approved as of the 1st of March. He then began to explain the breakdown of the modification agreement and when asked why I was previously told that the modification did not go through he then put me on hold and never returned. As a concerned home owner with a back payment I called the mortgage company again, I spoke with someone that explained to me that in the system it showed that they did not receive the papers needed, I then explained to them that I did send the papers and have confirmation. The representative who did not understand the situation gave me the name of the individual who was taking care of my case, Mr. Brandon and informed me to inquire about my situation. I’ve been trying to contact and left several messages for Mr. Brandon at [protected] ext: 43341 for the pass month. However, I have been unable to reach him or receive a call back to send him proof of the signed documents and that they were received within the time frame required. My house is now in the process of foreclosure, I have not been able to reach Mr. Brandon and I am being told that even if I send them the proof it is not a guarantee that I will get the modification. They also have refused to accept my monthly payments.

    0 Votes
  • 7r
    7REAL Sep 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please Note: A formal written complaint is currently with the Federal Trade Commission(9/2010) against American Home Mortgage Servicing, Inc. but, it is stated by the FTC they need in their office complaints that have a pattern in order to investigate. At the very least nobody else should be subjected to such inferior servicing and questionable fees etc.. To file a formal complaint with the Federal Trade Commission the address is: Federal Trade Commission, Consumer Response Center, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC. 20580. Complaints may also be filed by phone at [protected].
    The Federal Trade Commission does NOT help with individual complaints but it may lead to an investigation such as Countrywide and there is a successful Class Action Suit against Countrywide Mortgage.

    0 Votes
  • Gp
    gptxhome Aug 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree very much with all of you dealing with AHMSI. They claim they are ready to help you but no none really knows what is going on. The people they claim are our "negotiators" are really uneducated and do not know what they are doing and we are at their mercy. I was approved for a Modification Loan 8/2010 and due to to decrease in my monthly income I fell behind and they automatically sent me a letter and packet from the HAMP processing department for me to fill out because I would probably qualify for a new modification loan which stands for Home Affordable Modificaiton Program. To begin with had they left my payment at the amount it was before the first modification rather than to increase it I would have been ok. I completed the packet of informaton and sent it back to HAMP processing and called to check on the status and a lady on the other line said that I was not being reviewed for HAMP but for the conventional modification and did not qualify beause I already had one! I never knew you could not apply for another one an was NEVER told!!! I have received so many letters in regards to the HAMP program fron AHMSI asking me for more information in order to process my HAMP modication loan which this company has Lied and nisrepresented what they stand for and their practices are very questionable to me. How can you send me letters asking me for information to help me then pull the rug fron under me!!! I am a single mom just recently diagnosed with cancer working full time and taking care of my 2 children. No time to take care of myself need help and getting ready to send a letter to the president CEO of this company letting him know that the people they have working do not know what they are doing and everybody you speak to says something differnt each time. My so called negotiator has not even sent me a denial letter telling me I did not qualify and where does it say you only quality once every 12 months. Seems it was the responsibility of the negotiator to tell me about this or at least have been more informative and informed me that I had choices of what programs availagle rather than to tell me I had to accept the offere she had in order to stay in my house!!! I am fed up with the company but every other company I call about a modification wants to charge a fee. Is this legit or what? I would appreciate some help out there.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danny Elliott Jun 21, 2010

    We are having the same type of problems with this worthless mortgage company. We are very interested in any information on a class action suit. Please email me at dannyelltt#yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Empire Home Savers May 26, 2010

    Once a homeowner is behind on payments it is not uncommon to feel great frustration when trying to deal with your lender. The fact is an overwhelming majority of homeowners have not been successful with government loan mod programs. Your bank does not share your same urgency to reach a solution a keep you in the loan - so try this:

    A FREE Forensic Mortgage Loan Audit by our legal team to uncover violation by your lender - used as leverage when negotiating a loan mod with a lower monthly payment you can afford:

    *use FREE audit code CB-100

    http://EmpireFREELoanAudit.com

    0 Votes
  • La
    larkt May 06, 2010

    Go online. Look for attorney general for the state your home is in and file a complaint against AHMSI if you are having legitimate problems.

    Ohio did, Texas collected a fine of 2.5 million from them and I am going to in WA and Hawaii. They charged us 2 times for insurance in one month and even when our house was NOT in foreclosure we were JUST late they asked for $10, 000 in fees.

    I just got off the phone with Hawaii Attorney Generals office and they are sending me the info immediately to file a complaint and they will investigate.
    Hawaii the number is
    [protected] for the Attorney General office the complaints go through.

    HAWAII
    http://hawaii.gov/ag/quicklinks/consumer_dial/index_html/view?searchterm=file%20a%20complaint

    I also researched...
    WASHINGTON
    http://www.atg.wa.gov/uploadedFiles/Another/Safeguarding_Consumers/File_a_Complaint/Complaint_Forms/CRCComplaintForm01.2010.pdf

    OR PICK YOUR STATE ONLINE AND DO SOMETHING. DO NOT JUST COMPLAIN AND WISH SOMETHING COULD BE DONE DO IT!

    0 Votes
  • La
    larkt May 06, 2010

    SEC Charges Former American Home Mortgage Executives for Misleading Investors About Company's Financial Condition
    Former CEO Agrees to Pay $2.45 Million to Settle Fraud Charges
    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
    2009-92

    Washington, D.C., April 28, 2009 — The Securities and Exchange Commission today charged two former executives at American Home Mortgage Investment Corporation for engaging in accounting fraud and making false and misleading disclosures to conceal from investors the company's worsening financial condition in early 2007 as the subprime crisis emerged.
    Additional Materials

    * Litigation Release No. 21014
    * SEC Complaint

    The SEC alleges that former chairman and CEO Michael Strauss and former CFO Stephen Hozie fraudulently understated American Home Mortgage's first quarter 2007 loan loss reserves by tens of millions of dollars, converting the company's loss into a fictional profit. The SEC alleges that Strauss and Hozie also misled investors about the financial condition of the company, including the riskiness of the mortgages originated and held by American Home Mortgage.

    The SEC additionally charged Strauss, Hozie and the company's former controller, Robert Bernstein, with misleading American Home Mortgage's auditor among other violations. Strauss has settled the SEC's charges by agreeing to pay more than $2.45 million and consenting to a five-year officer and director bar.

    "These senior executives did not just occupy a front row seat to the mortgage meltdown — they were part of the show, " said Robert Khuzami, Director of the SEC's Division of Enforcement. "As the housing market imploded, these executives kept secret that the company's holdings were collapsing like a house of cards."

    James A. Clarkson, Acting Director of the SEC's New York Regional Office, said, "As alleged in our complaint, these defendants suppressed the warning signs of the mortgage crisis and its impact on American Home Mortgage's business to the detriment of investors and the broader market."

    According to the SEC's complaint, Strauss and Hozie intentionally understated the company's reserves despite knowing that American Home Mortgage's own internal analysis showed that the company needed at least $38 million in additional reserves. The analysis also showed that the company's losses on its delinquent second liens were mounting quickly and that American Home Mortgage would lose at least 72 percent of the value of these loans after the properties went through foreclosure. Strauss and Hozie knowingly failed to reserve adequately for the expected losses caused by the company's delinquent loans. Strauss, Hozie and Bernstein also misled American Home Mortgage's auditor about the adequacy of the reserves for the first quarter of 2007.

    The SEC further alleges that Strauss and Hozie misled investors about the company's liquidity, including failing to disclose that American Home Mortgage was forced to sell the majority of its multi-billion dollar mortgage-backed securities portfolio in April 2007 to meet pressing liquidity demands. Strauss and Hozie also made misleading disclosures about the riskiness of the mortgages that the company originated and held. American Home Mortgage actually originated the majority of its loans in 2006 on a "stated income" basis without verifying the borrower's income.

    The SEC's complaint seeks a final judgment permanently enjoining the defendants from future violations of the federal securities laws and ordering them to pay financial penalties and disgorgement of ill-gotten gains plus prejudgment interest. The complaint also seeks a judgment barring Strauss and Hozie from serving as officers or directors of any public company.

    Strauss agreed to settle the SEC's charges without admitting or denying the allegations. He will be permanently enjoined from violating the antifraud, reporting, record-keeping, and internal controls provisions of the federal securities laws and will pay approximately $2.2 million in disgorgement and prejudgment interest and a $250, 000 penalty. Strauss also will be barred from serving as an officer or director of a public company for five years. The litigation against the other defendants is ongoing.

    # # #

    For more information, contact:

    Andrew M. Calamari
    Associate Director — Enforcement, SEC's New York Regional Office
    [protected]

    Alison Conn
    Assistant Director — Enforcement, SEC's New York Regional Office
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • La
    larkt May 06, 2010

    If there is a class action suit I would love to participate and if any one has information on how to file and individual claim I would do that as well. They are horrible. We were behind $12000. and they wanted $24000. to re-instate us even though our monthly statement showed that we needed to pay $13, 000. which we did. Now they say our loan number for our current payment does not exist and they sent back our payment and are going to charge late fees for it NOT being received. The bank is back tracking through the resolution department because the funds were sent but mean while we get fees. They do not even own the loans they say they are simply a servicing company. Some service. I do not believe them. Any suggestions. I am with you.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    juliefedupwahms Apr 30, 2010

    AHMSI is a nightmare and should be punished! My story is long and ongoing, but I am in for a class action suit against them. Email me at [email protected] if you have any information. Tired of being jerked around. One of several issues we have had with them is that I was disputing our "mortgage shortage", so I did not pay $95 for the monthly shortage $120 amount. They cashed the check and sat on the money, and did not apply it on time, then reported us as being late to the credit bureaus. They stated to me that "that dept. will not apply payments if they are even $5 short". This has have to be illegal! I paid more than our normal payment on time. This is just one of 8 or so fraud issues I have with them. Am trying to do a mod now, but Iknow they will drag it out, charge us fees, and screw us up, since that is what they have done in the past. We must band together and stop them.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    james Mistler Apr 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had option one as a lender and my loan was sold to Ahmsi, I have a 9.5% interest rate, my payment went from $2, 600 to $3, 200 because Ahmsi said they made a mistake with my escrow in 2008. I am in a chapter 13 for almost two years now, The chapter 13 payment is $1, 700 a month. These two payments are crushing me, the loan is only for about 240, 000. I have 5 children, my youngest has CP and my wife cannot work. Everytime I call Ahmsi I get a different answer, I have tried a loan mod on my own about a year ago, I was denied because they said I did not make enough money, How do I keep paying if I dont make enough money. I hired a loan mod company and they took me for a couple thousand. I now have a loan modification in the works with Ahmsi, but I do not know how it is going to work out. I am sick of paying all this money. I just read an article in Fortune MAg. about a guy named Lewie Ranieri, he is supposed to be the cause of the mortgage mess, he has started a company to try and give back, I guess he wants to make amends ( I do not know who to trust these days). His company is Selene Residential Mortgage Opportunity Fund. I am going to try and find out more. I feel like I am a pro at loan mods but can not get one myself. I am in for a class action suit. My emial is jimistler1 @aol.com If anyone has any advice or one of those pitbull real estate laywers I am in need. I am not going to lose my home. On the other hand I am sick of the stress and I want to get on with my life, I have much faith in my higher power and I am ready to fight.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kizzyV Apr 07, 2010

    Back in May of 2009, we made a payment of $9, 500.00 to catch up on our lateness. A months later we discovered that they lost the payment and our home was on foreclosure. THe unethical practice that follow was the worst I have ever since in my life. We enslave by the dram and the lies that this company put us through. We were also expecting our first child together and the stress put me on bed rest for the last 4 months of my pregnancy. I was hospitalized 3 times with preterm labor, after being on the phone with them and being told that they never receive our money and being abuse and coerce into loan agreements that were just impossible to keep up. In the end we ended up paying over $27, 000 in reinstating fees, escrow's fees, attorney's fees plus our monthly payments for 12 months so in all we paid them $46, 890.00 in only 10 months. In addition my daughter was born one month early and I have been medically depressed before my baby was even born. This company should be out of business. They should go to jail because of the way they treat their clients and the funds they have stolen should be repay.

    0 Votes
  • Sg
    sgirl49 Mar 27, 2010

    My story deals with Insurance issues. I have 4 loans with this piss poor company, and my story deals with 2 of my loans. In the fine print of a Mortgage document that no one reads @ closing where they talk about insurance coverage it said I had to have "full replacement coverage" I didnt think nothing about it because as the owner of rentals I had always thought as long as the loan is covered then the lender should be happy and it use to be that way but now ... NOPE!!! They are making me raise my insurance to be based on what the house square footage is x $100 replacement cost per square foot. Problem with this is that the houses arent in the premo area of town, arent the nicest houses, and being rental houses if they burned to the ground I wouldnt build them back anyway. I would collect my insurance, which also pays for the debris removal and sell the lot and be smiling. And, you shouldnt have to insure the value of the land! So now they have me insuring houses for more than they are worth, for double what I owe on my mrtg, and then the insurance company added a 20% across the board increase this year because of the high cost of building materials to re-build! The insurance company OR AMHS cant force me to rebuild, and the way I see it is that the ONLY responsibility I have with AHMS is to pay off the lein, correct? So why do they have the right to make me insure it for more than what I owe? I cant sell it for what they are making me insure it for. I dont think my insurance company will pay the full amount they are making me insure it for, either. Just because you insure it for $$$ doesnt mean they will pay you $$$...another issue I have! Then, on top of this AHMS then made me raise my flood insurance to match my home owners policy amount. My Ins. comp says that it would be almost impossible to have a complete devestation due to "rising water", which is only what flood covers. Any disaster with "rising water" is accompanied by wind, rain, etc, so homeowners policy will cover a lot of the damage also, no need to double the policy. And again, if it flooded I would not build it back. Its not right that I have to insure for highest value 2 times, but I wont be getting 2 checks back from them if theres a loss paid @ face value of the policies. Then, they flip flop and only have a maximum of $250k for flood, and too bad if you have a house that needs more coverage. You have to go to Lords of London or something to buy a expensive policy I hear. However, they make you match up on loans under $250k...thats stupid and doesnt make sense. Last thing...they placed "lender placed flood insurance" on the home for the difference between the personal fire policy amount and the flood policy. I didnt catch it because the loans are escrowed and the insurance payment always crosses the mail with the notice due, and then I receive a notice that everythings paid and alls well. So I didnt know they were going to place the insurance, till I recieved the 3rd notice of insurance due. Then I went to my agent and got on the phone with AMHS escrow and did what they told me for raising the value. I was never out of the coverage that use to be ok, and there was no claim. Then I recieve a bill from AHMS for $175 each for the 2 properties to pay for their forced coverage! I called and went over the language of the letters that indicated to me that "they were going" to place the coverage...blah, blah, blah so why did they have the right to bill me when it wasnt till the last notice that they said "I am to be billed"? They charged me for 3 months on the 2 mortgages each, and I asked them how can you charge for insurance on on the property in arrears? You cant insure the past...only the future! AND, nothing happened anyway! I am very upset about this, especially when my ONLY responsibility is to pay off my mortgage. I have had these mortgages for almost 4 years before they hiked the insurance on me. Im sorry, but no one requires you to rebuild, or rebuild it back as it was, or the same size. So It should be my choice how much I want to insure, over their loan amount. My Ins agent said that the adjuster comes in, sees the flood line in the house and values the claim based on the horizontal line on the wall. If the house is wiped off the face of the earth then its also a homeowners policy claim also. If you read all this sorry for being long winded. I am trying to figure out how to deal with them legally so if you have any ideas please let me know. I am a landlord, and these increases have devestated my bottom line. I cant sell, and you cant raise the rents. Values have dropped, and the banks recieving my interest payment is the only one making money. I cant survive, yet I cant sell because of the economy. A refi would be expensive on 4 houses to get them away from AHMS, and besides Im self employed and cant get a Mrtg right now. Any help or advise please let me [email protected] Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian K. Walker Mar 25, 2010

    To All my Brothers and Sisters who are weathering this ordeal with American Home Mortgage Services.

    " The Only Thing Necessary For The Triumph Of Evil Is For Good Men and Woman to Do Nothing"

    This saying is on my desk to look at each day. We must fight this company with everything we have.

    First to help save your homes. They are owned by W.L.Ross LLC. in New York City. You need to contact Mr Josh Seegopaul VP at [protected]. He is a hard one to reach but he has the clout to help. Than you may here from Lydia Tanner-Flores from there Irvine Ca. office. Her number is [protected]. She came to AHMS from Option One Mortgage. Watch them closely!!!

    Second Contact Mr. Joseph Enoch at [email protected] He is very highly placed with the show " Inside Edition" I have been in touch with him in the past and they would be interested in doing a story on this if it can be shown to be wide spread.

    The only way we can get this company stopped is to have them tried in the media. They have no fear of the state governments and do everything to slow down the process if they are questioned.

    If anyone has a lawyer that would like to make a major case here and destroy this company, that post there name and number. That person will get more business than they can handle.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. C. Livingston Mar 23, 2010

    We had a mortgage with Citi Residential. We were in the middle of a modification with Citi that took them 6 months. Finally after 6 months Citi got the modification thru and 2 days later sold the loan to AHMSI. I have had nothing but headaches since then. Somehow when the loan was given to AHMSI, the total balance on our loan jumped by about 18, 000 dollars. I called AHMSI and asked why the balance jumped $18, 000 when it was transferred to them, the only answer I ever got was they would check into it, to this day I have not gotten an answer and my mortgage balance is still $18, 000 higher than it was when the modification was done with CIti Residential.
    In September of 2009 I mailed our payment in with a 2 money orders, both made our for $800. They were mailed in the same envelope. They claimed they only got one and only posted half of my payment. I called immediately and told them there were two money orders for the same amount in the same envelope and if they got one of them, they had to have gotten both of them. Well they told me to send a letter to there resolutions department. I have several times. I told them I could not afford to replace the money order and Western Union whom the money order was both thru said it would be six weeks before it could be replaced and it would cost me $35.00 to replace it. AHMS told me not to worry about it, just to send in my October payment and that they would wait until the other money order was found by them or Western Union could replace it. I sent in October's payment and they took half of it and posted it to September and showed my October and September payment late. I called again and went thru the whole story and was again assured that they were aware of the situation that THEY had lost the other half of September's payment and it would not be reported to the credit bureau as a late payment. I had faxed them a cop;y of the lost claim that had to be filed with Western Union. Well they did report both September and October's payment as being late to the credit bureau, they finally in November Western Union replaced the lost money order and I sent it in with my November payment. I was assured by three different customer serviced reps. that there would be no late charge on these two months. Well they are still billing me late charges for these two months and I have been continuously assured by customer service reps that these late charges will be removed and the derogatory remarks to the credit bureau will be removed. I have now faxed proof of all of this 4 times to their "resolutions" department but as of today 03/21/2010 they have not done either one nor have I heard from their resolutions department.
    We had on overage of $561.00 in our escrow account at the end of 2009 and it took them 4 phone calls and until a week ago to get it.
    I am definitely not happy with this mortgage company. We are self employed and it is very difficult to get a mortgage when you are self employed. We have owned our business for 25 years, and we have owned our home for 19 years. We originally bought our home on a contract to deed from some very good friends, which we did for 8 years. We then obtained a mortgage from Centex Home Mortgage who sold it to Ameriquest who went under, and Citi Residential took it over, who then sold it to AHMSI about 5 years later. I never asked these any of these people to move it or sell it. I am NOT Happy with any of them, especially AHMSI, but what do you do?

    I would still like to know HOW the balance jumped $18, 000 when AHMSI took it over.!!! To this day no answers.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Paiva Ball Mar 10, 2010

    Has anyone found an attorney filling this class action against American Home Mtg. I would like some info if they did, my info is email: [email protected] [protected].
    My brother is the home owner and I have now been trying to loan mod for him for several months with no one but a black hole to comunicate with. My brother is elderly retired fixed income and he intered a stated loan application because the loan officer made some cash out look good. He was told to take the cash spend some and put the rest away to help make the increase in his payment until value went up. It could go up until the 100th moon it would not make a difference. His loan amount doubled, the value is less than he first started and his whole retirement check makes the payment on a neg am option arm. I have help him with making the payment to keep his 800 fico because the American Home Mtg sais he would need to be current in order to get a loan mod... Today we receive a letter stating the negocator could not contact us so the mod was denied. I spent countless months re sending documentation and now that they ahve all docs they state "loss of customer contact". I have never received a phone call from them. The phone call message left on my brothers phone was a recording and when I returned the call customer service stated there is no news on the loan mod what we were calling for is to see when the payment was sent out for the month. When I call to customer service it is in India and they cannot help, they ae not a negocator. When they transfer the call it goes to a black hole, noone ever calls back.A this point we are contacting a BK attorney and see if they can fix this mess but I would relly like is a contact for a class action suit.
    My brother may stand to loose his home, a home he had hope to retire in until as long as he was alive. Very frustrated and ready to take action. Thanks, Susan

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tiredof AHMSI Mar 07, 2010

    We had so much trouble with AHMSI. They actually comitted fraud on our loan and forged our signatures on some of our loan documents. We reported them to our State Attorney General's Office and then they barely responsed to the request to answer through our State Attorney General. They tried to dance around all the complaints and make it seem like everything was our fault and we were just behind on payments; however they were stealing money from us, and putting forced place insurance on our account even though we already had insurance. Finally we got fed up and retained an attorney and we hit them with RESPA Request. When we get finished with them they will pay us three times the amount of our loan. My advice to everyone is to fight them with everything you have. Don't give up!!! This is your home, and it's worth fighting for. Also try to get a good lawyer. Our attorney is a Pitbull! He was also very impressed with all the work and letters we sent to AHMSI, and all the research I've been doing. Do not depend on anyone else to do your research for you. So many of us are being taken advantage of, and it's time we take a stand together! I will love to join a class-action lawsuit against AHMSI, and also share other documents and information to help others prevent foreclosure.

    If there is anyone out there that won a lawsuit against AHMSI, please let me know. We can share information and help each other the best way we can!

    God bless you all.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Northwest Sufferer Feb 24, 2010

    I agree to all the complaints listed above. We also almost lost our home, we had to pay one of those scam "we can modify your house loan" companies who had an insider to the loan modificiation department. Someone in that department is getting serious under the table money. We were promised a loan modification for over a year and finally got it at almost $2, 500 more than our previous payment. I would welcome a class action lawsuit. Everyone should send their story to their individual Attorney General's office, who will then forward it to the Federal Government. I would also send your complaint to:

    UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
    FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION
    WASHINGTON, D.C. 20580

    They keep a database for complaints against lenders and take action once they get enough complaints.

    We lost over $50, 000 to these creeps.

    0 Votes
  • Lk
    LK55 Feb 12, 2010

    Please contact me I am intrested in Class Action Suits againest American Home Mortgage, I totally agree and this company needs to be taken down. my e-mail is [email protected] thank you and Good luck to all.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.