The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
AIM Health PlanNot giving you back full refund

I took out a policy with above company. I canceled before the effective date. They had already withdrew $393.00 from my checking account. I had to make many calls to finally get them to put my money back but they said they will keep $100.00 for proccessing fees. Though I did not agree with their policy I said ok. they still shorted me $63.05 when they finally put money back. The customer service would never give me a phone number to call, just email address. Which no one ever answered so I continued to contact customer service for answeres and getting nowhere. Finally was gived a number though she said she was not suppose to. (Something wrong with this picture) As of Oct 13, they say they will finally put money in my account. This has been gping on for months. We will see if they do!!! Please check into this companies practice.

Responses

  • Ha
    Haley1 Oct 14, 2009

    I too am having difficulties with AIM returning money taken from my bank account. I was working with a broker to help me find health insurance for after my cobra had run out. I filled out paperwork with the intention of utilizing AIM. However, before my plan was to start, I located another company with a plan that was better suited for me and would cover me immediately after my cobra ended, unlike AIM where I had to wait 3 months before the coverage would take effect. The plan with AIM had been cancelled, by my broker, and I have the correspondence to prove she did so. I was also told that if I were to receive anything from AIM, in the mail, I should mark it as unaccepted and return it to AIM, which is exactly what I did. AIM, conveniently, cannot find what I returned to them. I have even sent them a copy my current insurance card to prove to them I went with another company at the time I cancelled with them. They have since cancelled the "policy", but will not return my money. They have chosen to not answer my brokers emails or return her phone calls.

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    nikki298 Oct 23, 2009

    This company is ###. First, the packet they sent me is so fake looking - I could have printed it up on a computer myself. The table of contents said to check page 14 for something or other, and the packet only went up to page 7! I cannot get in contact with anyone on any phone number given on my card or in the "packet" - major red flag. I immediately went to work trying to cancel the policy. Go figure, the number to call to cancel or to even change your billing methods was just an answering machine - with no one calling me back - I even sent emails to cancel my policy, and my same exact email came back to me - I was left to wonder if it was actual confirmation of the cancellation or just an automated response? I finally contacted the middleman Vital One who hooked me up with these jerks and told him my issues. I am concerned they are still going to take money out of my account on 11/1/09, the date my policy was to start (because like a dummy I gave my information without checking into it - I was desperate as I am pregnant and have no health insurance). The Vital One guy said that I did everything I was supposed to do to cancel, and it should be cancelled (calling the number, sending the email that was on the website, leaving messages, etc)...he said if anything to tell the bank to put a stop hold payment...which is exactly what I plan to do. I am NOT going to let them take any money from me for services I am not even getting. As far as the processing the other poor lady had to pay...what processing? Its like a ghost town company - no one is ever there to do anything!

    DO NOT WORK WITH AIM OR NOVA CASUALTY (the "underwriter")!!!

    1 Votes
  • Le
    LEHIGH HEALTH Nov 03, 2009

    AMERICAN MEDICAL IS A LIMITED ACESS POLICY FOR PEOPLE WHO CANT GET MAJOR MEDICAL OR AFFORD AHIPPA PLAN THRU FEDRAL MANDATES.THIS COMPANY HAS BEEN AROUND A LOG TIME ANDARE EXPANDING AT AN UNCONTROLABLE RATE, THERE ARE MANY NEW HIRES AND NOT ENOGH PHONE LINES FOR THE VOLUME. THEY ARE PRIMARLY GOOD IN MY OPINION, AS A HEALTHBROKER IN FLORIDA. THEY USE SEVRAL UNDERWRTERS AND BECAUSE THEY OFFER ACCEPTABLE COVERAGES FOR PEOPLE WHO DONT QUALIFY FOR MUCH MANY PEOPLE WHO WE WOULD TURN AWAY ARE SIGNING UP THE FLOW OF GROWTH IS EMENSE AND SOMETIMES FUSTRATING FOR EVEN US TO CONTACT AS ANY COMPANY GROWING AT SUCH A RATE. THERE ARE SERIOUS GLITCHES .IT IS BEEN MY EXPERIENCE IF YOU HANG IN THESE ISSUES WILL BE RESOLVED. SO FAR SO GOOD FOR ME AND MY CLIENTS.I ONLY SELL REPUTABLE COMPANYS LET YOU KNOW, IF SOMTHING CHANGES

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DistruntledInsuranceAgent Nov 13, 2009

    Take it from an insurance agent, DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT GOING ANYWHERE NEAR THIS COMPANY. They can even pay the agents commissions. In fact, you can't even speak to the commissions department at all. It took me four months to get paid about $58. I thought that the check would bounce. I can only imagine what clients are going through. Tell as many as you can about this bogus company. Don't even waste your money.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justbecausefloral72 Nov 21, 2009

    My plan from AIM nova gold was cancelled and they STILL deducted money from my account. The coverage flat out SUCKS, and because of it i was denied help from the emergency room. I was in stomach pain and they told me to see agastro because there was nothing they ER could do for me!! Damn ridiculous. DO NOT USE

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DavidFlorida Jan 20, 2010

    It should be known that this policy is a HIPAA compliant that is backed by an A + A.M. Best rated company, Phoenix Insurance Company of Hartford, CT.

    It was real important for me to get a real policy in order that I should have continuation of coverage. This caused me not to have a pre-existing waiting period and I can take this certificate to my next insurer to also not have a pre-existing waiting period. This is a bit complicated but very important.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    medical Jan 20, 2010

    Some of these posts are absurd...AIM is a brandname for probably the most popular "Guarantee Issue" medical insurance in the USA. There are over 10, 000 licensed agents selling AIM. An insurance company called AMLI was underwriting this insurance. They are in AM best and are licensed in most states. Association plans are very popular...even United Healthcare uses the FACT association for its individual/family plans. AIM/IRG is based in Valhalla NY and has its offices there

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Winston Jan 30, 2010

    In some states the insurer is B+ rated AMLI of New York and in most states the insurer is Phoenix, rated A, of Hartford, CT. The corporate headquarters is in Valhalla, NY with satelite offices in Boca Raton, FL and Akron, Ohio.

    The Boca Raton, FL office is headed by David Rutstein and handles the technical aspects of the website as well as agent services.

    The Akron, OH office handles issues related to customer services.

    Folks, as far as I know, this is the only organization that I know of that has a daily conference call to answer any questions opr concerns that any agent may have. Every day at 2pm Eastern Time you can talk to David Rutstein. Call [protected] and access code [protected]. David founded the company.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Winston Jan 30, 2010

    Here is a lead system for agents.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Winston Jan 30, 2010

    This is a picture of David Rutstein, founder of the company.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    TxAgent Apr 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Lol AIM is one of the most popular guaranteed issue plans in America? You are insane, they have lost their insurance backing THREE TIMES in the last 6 months. AIM is also known as CEO Health Plans. Go give them a check: http://www.ceohealthplans.com/

    If you can't view it, here is their message:

    Welcome customers and agents:
    We wish to let you know we have suspended new applications, and ask that you check back for information on when applications will reopen.

    We want to assure all of our policy holders that their policies remain in full effect and that all claims will be processed and paid per the policy schedule.

    All current claims should be mailed to the address below. If you have a question on a prior claim, please contact customer service for address information.

    If you need to contact us for any policy changes, modifications or claims issues please use the links below.


    Yeah man. Real popular.

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    TxAgent Apr 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Also, Boca Raton had the most concentrated area of misrepresenting agents I've ever seen. I've seen Florida agents completely lie about plans that I even represent! And they lied. TO ME. Thinking I was a lead. That's what I get for being curious on how agents were doing their jobs. A big ### disappointment.

    0 Votes
  • Et
    ethical agent Jul 16, 2010

    If it is attached to the name David Rutstein...don't touch it !!! He is the charmer and quite the snake oil salesman !!!
    Beware...all he wants is your money !!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DavidFlorida Aug 11, 2011

    AIM is underwritten by AMLI, American Medical and Life Insurance Company. AMLI is a real fraudster that is B- rated by AM Best. Any time you are dealing with a B- rated company, they are just one lawsuit away from declaring bankruptcy. Buyer beware. If you are contemplating buying from this company it is in your best interest to search for a similar product from an A rated company.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.