The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
A Better TomorrowLies

This place is nothing but a scam. They do not care about the people - they care about the money. They made me numerous promises - including making sure my dui classes would be taken cae of - then tried to make me mandated by the court to HAVE to be there, when I signed up voluntarily! They have made my life hell, and finally I realized what they were doing - got out of the program, just to call the courts and find out they were lying all along. Many others I met while in the program had the same complaints. Now I have to pick up the pieces of the mess they made and pay even MORE money to fix it! Eric Miller, (intake) Shannon Battle (client care consultant) ya right - and Tami Scarcella (intake director) a great scam artist team. STEER CLEAR of this place! ANY PLACE ELSE WOULD GIVE U BETTER HOPE FOR YOUR 'BETTER TOMORROW'!!!

Responses

  • Lo
    Lori Curott Nov 29, 2014

    I have so many horrific truths to tell about a better tomorrow from the call center that scams your loved ones out of every penny to the people running the facilities that are allowed to we work there after only 3 months sober. After i found out a woman there was paying half of what i was paying i informed here to get the phone #s from her credit card ccompany and we found out the we're trying 3 times a day to charge her cards for any amount they could... she was devastated. They make you fill out mountains of paperwork some pages asking about cars you own and what balance is left on a car loan also they asked for all credit card #s and balances and credit limit! Most people gave that information I wrote down none of your business lol! there were people brought to the detox center being told that they would be put under a safe detox through IV which was a lie.I was told to bring all of my pills and that I would be slowly weaned off of them which was a complete lie. This place stole whatever money they could from families w only trying to help their loved ones. If anybody is interested or knows of a lawsuit against this company I would be more than willing to participate my number is [protected] and my name is Lori

    0 Votes
  • K0
    K'sMom Aug 23, 2012

    I'm sorry for others negative experiences, mine is much different. I am a single mom on a single income. When I sent my daughter there, I was scared out of my mind! But, they did everything they said they were going to do. I got phone calls and emails returned promptly, we kept in almost constant contact as I was afraid for my daughter, they told me exactly what to do and kept reassuring me that she would be okay. My insurance kicked in and yes I had some out of pocket expenses that was hard for me, but my daughter is worth it! She is still drug free to this day and they still call to check on her every once in a while because they care. I wish everyone had the same experience we did.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SueSLW Jun 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For licensing info go to www.adp.cahwnet.gov or phone [protected] or [protected]
    For Dept of Alcohol & Drug Programs go to [protected]
    Can also contact CA state BBB and AG office

    Everyone who has anything to do with A Better Tomorrow adversely needs to send complaints to these agencies. My story is very long that includes many lies regarding care provided, fiduciary malfeasance, deception and insurance fraud!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    monica222 Apr 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am not a drug addict feign as implied in the comment above. I am a sober parent that has been dealing with more lies and deceit from A Better Tomorrow than I ever dealt with ANY addict! I was told our insurance WAS approved let's get him here(3000 miles across country). I trusted this organization.It's the worst mistake ever. Two days after my son reached CA we got a phone call saying the insurance wouldn"t pay after all!! So I called Blue Cross and learned the coverage was denied BEFORE (WAY BEFORE) he left NC. My options (if I really care about helping my son) cash or finance amount due for 25%. Absolute deceit!!! I fully encourage everyone to call the CA Attorney Generals office and file a formal complaint. THERE IS POWER IN NUMBERS. Please file the complaint and don"t let them do this to another family.

    0 Votes
  • Oh
    OhDonna Mar 26, 2012

    Don't forget that the people making these comments are addicted feigns. They will sell their children to get another pill or another fix. Drug addicts are the most manipulative people you can find.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    mawmaw1 Mar 21, 2012

    This place is horrible and does not offer what it promises. It is like being in a jail; if you leave before your assigned days, they bully you and try to manipulate your family members into not believing what you are telling them: these places are terrible and will treat you with no respect. The patients with chronic conditions such as hypertension and diabetes are often delayed in the giving of their medication because the nurses at certain houses are not certified to give injections, or because they will get "iin trouble" if you don't bring them a copy of your original prescription. One lady I observed there had been waiting for eight days to receive her high blood pressure medication. DO NOT SEEK HELP AT A BETTER TOMORROW - they do not deliver what they promise. They will tell you that you receive three weekly one on one sessions with your personal therapist when it is actually three weekly group sessions. I waited for five days before seeing their physician, though they promised me a WEEKLY visit with my own personal psychiatrist. Be very careful! They will tell you lies just to get your money. I told them I was leaving then had to call my husband and have him help me leave. They tried to bully him, also, but we finally got out. They will take all of your cash and credit cards when you check in, then threaten to keep your property (they tell you they will mail it to you) if and when you check out before you "graduate" from their program. They essentially just follow the AA and NA guidelines in recovery; don't waste your time and money here. If you need a medical detox, go somewhere else then use AA or NA and follow the steps. I am surprised A Better Tomorrow is even accredited. I have reported them to the Better Business Bureau. These people need to investigated!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Wilk Jan 19, 2012

    This is essentially an accurate review. Please don't take any loved-on there. Essentially provides a bed and no care at all. It is a sweat-shop designed entirely around extracting the most money as possible from people in a lot of need. I'm surprised they're even accredited. After boarding you and stealing basically everything you have (probably the staff), they will wait for the final insurance payment and then tell you at 3 PM on a Friday that you're out at 4 PM. When you call them to ask for more time, they'll be happy to oblige for an additional $2, 000. This is a fantastic scam - if you're fundamentally without ethics and want to run a money-maker on a completely fake business, you may want to apply for a job. You can get a lot of iPODs, clothing of all sorts, and other electronic bits. Watch the allowable payments closely from each client, throw them out when it's all gone, and quickly turn-around for a new one.

    1 Votes
  • Nu
    nudinbutdtruth Feb 14, 2011

    A better tomorrow is being investigated by the state of california. They have had multiple deaths, will tell patients anything to get them in and have been accused by current staff of insurance fraud. Jerrod mockingly calls the patients "victims" because they are victims of ABT. For every person who claims a success, there are a hundred who were financially and emotionally damaged by them. Their recent appearance on KTLA is laughable. KTLA should fire their newspeople who didn't check these guys out. Maybe the state will finally shut them down. After seven deaths, you'd think something would be done.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    A Better Tomorrow - Avoid - Dec 23, 2010

    This company is apparently run by a sly management team. Investors have been trying to contact the company since the firing of CEO Paul Howard. Paul Del Vacchio is a felon who stole 480, 000 from a casino and is now the company's CFO. Jerrod Menz, the current CEO who slipped into his position because of a unethical board of directors, does not return phone calls (except I'm sure if you want to send checks or money). This company should be shut down. Do you want unethical people helping people with drug problems? The only thing they appear to be good at is collecting $$. You can find the details of the current CFO here (yes, he was in fact a customer with a gambling problem, then they made him CFO!!!) Go figure. He doesn't return phone calls either. At least not unless you might be interested in sending the company a check, these people will try to sell you all day. http://www.abttcspanish.com/press_releases/pr.03.21.06.php

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    misleadagain May 06, 2010

    True that they lie

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    misleadagain May 06, 2010

    Promised the world... ie. court issues, and couldn't deliver. TAKE YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    calig69 May 06, 2010

    The company lies about what they can do

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.