52& RCA HDTVRepair is a nonsense!

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I purchased a 52" RCA HDTV in 2004 and just yesterday, when I went to turn it on the screen would not come up. There is no sound or picture, I have tried all the options in the owner's manual, but still nothing. I called the customer service team at RCA, but got now where. I informed the rep what the situation was, after she had gone thru all the procedures with out any success, she referred me to an "authorized" repair service in my area. I asked if RCA was going to cover the house call or the repair. She said that since my warranty was over I had to pay out of pocket. It was as if my TV was designed to shut down as soon as my warranty hit its expiration date!!! Which was 2 months ago. This has never happened before. I have not called the repair people, but come on, the price will be outrageous, we all know that!!! I think that this is nonsense, i believe that a manufacturer should stand by their product and guarantee the product to work past its expiration date. I would like to get some feedback about this situation.

Responses

  • Pe
    Peggy in Akron Oh Jun 14, 2016

    I bought a 55" RCA HDTV in May 2013, Now it's June 2016 and my tv just stopped coming on. When I try to turn it on, it tries to come on with a flash of light, but then does nothing. I am very diappointed with RCA, I cannot believe that these newer HDTV's stop working between 1-3 years. This is very poor quality! I do not have money to repair the tv or get a new one. The next tv I buy will not be RCA. I will go with whoever stands by their product and with a good warranty.

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    cyndi60 Jun 28, 2015

    It figures that RCA would not stand behind their products and customers. I read the sad story of TV inventor, Philo Farnsworth and it explains a lot. RCA stole the TV technology from the inventor who held the patent for it. They started their journey in TV by theft and deception, doesn't look like things have changed much.

    1 Votes
  • Me
    mespy Jan 09, 2015

    Rca a bad that should even out in store for sale I bought a DvD player and payed
    Shipping to get fix and instead they broke it now it dont even turn on.
    What scam fraud company.

    1 Votes
  • An
    AndreaJaLaw Dec 27, 2014

    The blow dryer trick worked!!! Thank you SO much, Elaine!!

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    wildpitchsports Oct 18, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a RCA 52" inch TV also on 11/23/2012 and in Sept of 2014, the main board went. RCA did not offer to fix it as the stated it was out of the "12 month warranty" by 8 months. They have also refused to offer any further assistance, even stonewalled the Better Business Bureau. Turns out all RCA TV's made after 2010 were made my On Corp USA Located in San Diego, CA. This TV Had a retail price of $699.99 back then and for that money should have lasted 20 years, not 20 months. Now I have another BBB complaint for them not replying to emails to help me even find or purchase the right part. I encourage everyone to contact the BBB so others can steer clear of RCA and maybe if they get mass complaints, they will do something. If there is a class action suit, please, someone let me know. WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT PURCHASE RCA PRODUCTS !!

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    kentucky1984 Jan 08, 2014

    I received a 52 inch rca floor model tv as well. you can hear the sound but the screen stays black. the power button shows it is being turned on but the green light goes off like its turning off but you can still hear everything. We have looked at everything in the tv and nothing seems to be wrong with it.

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    nickjones Jan 02, 2014

    Aim almost the same problem, I turn my 52 inch RCA on and after about four seconds is comes on, once on five white appears on a blue background, blinks three times and turn off, tried the dyer trick didn't work. Have any one else experience this problem. If their is a class action suite put me in coach.([email protected])

    1 Votes
  • Al
    Alienhunter1 Jul 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought a rear projection RCA HDTV in 2001 it is the best tv ever no problem works great it's 11 years old and we are very happy with it.

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    Paulie k May 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What a piece of crap. Worst tv ever and I will never allow a rca in my house till this is made rite. My grandmother worked for rca for 20 years and is prob turning in her grave from what they have become

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mark s. D. Apr 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So, I have been reading all these posts, and I guess I have been a little more fortunate with my 52" RCA HDTV projection TV. I bought mine in 2003, and just recently I have been experiencing a lot of the same problems. My TV will turn off and on while watching it. Lately it has been taking longer for it to turn back on, about 5-10 seconds. This has happened after the tv has been on for about an hour. one night it went off and on 5 times in less than 15 min. As I type this, it has happened once. Has anyone found the resolution for this? Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    NEED A RECALL Mar 12, 2012

    Same issue with my RCA floor model FlatScreen TV. The "3X DEATH BLINK"...first it would come on for 2 minutes or so, then turn itself off and wouldn't came back on for a few hours. Now it just blinks 3X with no picture or sound. My TV went out about 3years ago, I called a repair man to fix the problem. Less than 1 year later it went out again. Now it's just useless decor for my front room.

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    Galenn Smoker Dec 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was given the same kind of RCA tv by my cousin and she didnt want it cause she said it might cost to much to repair so i looked for a reset button and could not find one, the little green light goes off and on for about three times and then stays off, i feel pretty confident of repairing myself if i can get a repair manual on it and save some money, so why do these kind of tvs keep doing that ?

    1 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Reid Nov 05, 2011

    I bought a 2006 RCA HDTV . The power goes off by its self after about a hour?

    Is this a capacitor issue? What can I do to check this and fix it myself?

    1 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Reid Nov 05, 2011

    I bought a 2006 RCA HDTV Model #HD52W59. The power shuts off by itself after about a hour.
    What is the "hairdryer trick" everyone keeps talking about?

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    mrs.apottsville Oct 31, 2011

    im beginning to think RCA does not make anything good. i have 2 dead cd stereo players and a tv. stereos didn't even last a year.mrs.a, pottsville, pa nov.1, 2011

    1 Votes
  • De
    Denny/Doe Oct 28, 2011

    Thank you Elaine for your hair dryer trick...we stumbled upon your response by accident and had nothing to lose but to try your suggestion. Prior to using the hair dryer, we called a local tv repair man. After explaining the problem, he said that he wouldn't waste his time in even coming out because the tv was worthless. We then called the RCA support line and they gave us the name of an RCA service repair store. We called them 3 days ago and are still waiting for a call back (which I'm sure isn't going to happen). We are so grateful for your help and vow to never buy another RCA product either!

    0 Votes
  • Gt
    G-Town Oct 23, 2011

    i got my 52 inch looking goog but not working look up online and found cp150 vented bent it on the board rocking it on the circuit board and on the other side moving the extra metal back and forth lossen the solder then pulled the capasitor brand lelon 2200uf 16v 20%tolerence 105*c l310(m) http://www.mouser.com/Passive-Components/Capacitors/_/N-5g7r?P=1z0wqutZ1z0t6fgZ1z0x63t# feedback soon

    1 Votes
  • Jt
    JTHurley Sep 08, 2011

    WOW, I CANNOT believe it...The Hair Dryer trick WORKED!!!...Good thing Im not a betting person, cause I would have lost that bet...Geesh! We were about to go buy a new TV...Thanks for the posts.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Colleen Lutz Aug 01, 2011

    About the same problem as the rest of you. Does any one know how to start the class action law suit??? I really think it should be done. Let me know if you know how to do this?

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scw5935 Jun 22, 2011

    Wow! I thought I was the only one my TV blew over 2 years ago and yes I still have it. It is my divorce trophy now! Wonder if the hair dryer will still work? Please any info on the class action suite would greatly be appreciated. Single moms need all the help they can get Live, Love, Laugh & don't by any F$^&ING rca products they suck big time!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shaliesmom Mar 22, 2011

    I bought a 42 inch rca scenium HD flat screen tv on Febuary 2008. Within 6 months the buttons on top started failling. 1 Year later the side component hook ups do not work. Last night I played some killzone and then turned it off. This morning turned it on. It flashed on for half a second then shut off. Now it has a red light flashing on and off. I do not have the money for a new one right now. I HAVE NOW CONTACTED CLASSACTION.com Any body want to drop them a line.is it classactionlawsuits

    1 Votes
  • Tx
    txblondie Feb 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am having the same issue. I decided to try to find out online before calling a repair man. So glad I did!!! I think I will be better off getting a new TV. Thanks everyone for saving me money I really dont want to spend. I like my 52' but not this much. As a single mom every penny counts.And when I spend my income tax money on something nice I want to make it last. I thought this would last for many years and that the family could have it around a long time but sadly it has not lasted long enough. :(

    1 Votes
  • Tb
    TBGSonja Feb 06, 2011

    I am having the same problem with an RCA 52inch HDTV. It first had a red picture then it would just turn off while I was watching it, and now it just squeaks every few seconds if I turn it on but there is no picture or sound at all. I am having a hard time getting it out of my house, I will never buy anything from RCA again! I don't even know why they have a customer service line because they don't help at all, I just have this big piece of junk sitting in my living room and I want it out!

    1 Votes
  • Th
    ThunderODB Jan 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Most of the complaints I see here are about the power light coming on and going off 3 times and the TV never turning on. This is USUALLY caused by a capacitor on the Deflection (High Voltage) circuit board. There are 3 Capacitors that usually cause this problem. For about $10 if you know how to solder /de-solder on a printed circuit board, this can be fixed at home. If the Flyback is the problem, it is on the same circuit board. I bought my D52W20 about 1½ years ago for $50 (yes, fifty) in a non-working state. I researched the problem and pulled out the deflection board myself. At that time I decided to take the board to a TV repair guy and have him do the soldering, even though I could have easily done it myself. He replaced the Flyback and one of the 3 capacitors that I was talking about for $125 I put the TV back together and it has worked fine for 1½ years. Recently it blew out another one of the capacitors and I just pulled the board and replacedthat myself for $1.50. If you have patience and decent soldering skills, these problems are relatively easy to fix. If you search online you can find people that talk about repairing these TV's themselves and where to get the parts, I just went to Radio Shack and bought the capacitor. Search on google for things like "D52W20 flyback" or "D52W20 Cp 114 CP120 and CP150"
    Most of the TV's I see here are built on the same Chassis (ITC222) whether it is a D52W20, D52W15 (same TV, no screen protector) or other similar model. These problems are very common to this chassis it would seem. I agree, an RCA tv used to be something that was high quality, not so much anymore, if this TV is any indication.
    Hope this helps someone.

    0 Votes
  • Ht
    HtOwNcHiCaNa Jan 18, 2011

    We have a 2005 d52w25 floor model. I'll be honest it did it's work, I suppose. Purchased in '05 and it's not '11 and it just barely gave out. It was a sad thing to see! I was going to get it checked out but after reading through most of these posts I see that I am going to have to buy a new tv. It really sucks. It used to shut off and come back on but now the power light turns green shuts off and comes back on doing it back and forth a few times but never a picture or sound. It was a good run... I'll keep searching for a solution if at all possible.

    0 Votes
  • Kp
    kprellop Jan 07, 2011

    Hair Dryer trick worked! AFTER I pulled the motherboard out and identified the capacitors I THOUGHT I was going to re-solder...I read about Elaine's trick...Don't know how permanent it is..but I look like a hero and since the start-up problem we haven't been turning off the TV anyway. I highly recommend you try the hair dryer trick BEFORE paying some [censored] to come re-solder capacitors. BTW...I had the back off already...but I wouldn't doubt it works without removing the back. Capacitors were domed, too...but...looks like I don't need to fix those just yet. THANKS ELAINE!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jamesar55 Nov 29, 2010

    I bought a 46" rca lcd tv in may of 07, In just a few weeks it started getting a scrambled picure on ch 13, just a a single frame usually from ch 8 with sound from ch 13.repairmen made 3 trips to fix it and couldn't then I was told it was just some kind of local interference, now that the warranty is gone it now does the same thing on ch 2.A 1300 dollar tv which is basically a piece of junk.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    TAKEASTAND26 Nov 28, 2010

    wow MY 52 INCH WONT COME ON AND STARTED SMOKING OUT THE BACK, IVE ALREADY HAD THE MOTHER BOARD REPLACED ONCE AND THE GUY TOLD ME IITS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE, IM GONNA CALL THE RCA PPL AND VENT IF YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN CRAPPY [censored] TV..

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    marvin mays Nov 28, 2010

    I bought this RCA 52inch HDTV model D52W20 at a yard sale and i was wondering why it was only 15 bucks!!! thats right 15 dollars, lol. Well the problem im having is similar to all of yours. I can turn the the t.v. on and it would stay on for like 15-20 minutes then turns itself off but im not able to turn it on again for like 20 minutes.If someone has had the same problem and had it fixed please let me know what the problem was, i think im goin to become a tv repairman.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    vegasdad818 Nov 19, 2010

    After the fix how long did the TVs work?

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    vegasdad818 Nov 19, 2010

    Have 56" (D56W20) same 3 beeps and out.
    Blowdryer trick worked. Did not have to remove back. I just vacuumed the vents then applied blow dryer to lower left back for about 8-10 minutes. turned right on. Taking to Pawn Shop this weekend to at least get something for it. Wrong I know.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Family5_in_AZ Nov 11, 2010

    This hair dryer trick worked !!! Thanks Elaine :) I have the same 52 INCH RCA D52WD20 TV. Now we can wait until after Christmas to buy one and definitely not RCA.. I didn't want to spend our Christmas savings on a new TV. Happy Family of Five now!

    0 Votes
  • St
    steven1234 Nov 04, 2010

    I also have a JUNK 52" RCA tv it does the same thing, turn it on, 3 blinks, and nothing.RCA should have to pay for a new tv and pay to have this piece of trash hauled to their business so they can look at their handy work for a while.

    0 Votes
  • In
    indyce Oct 22, 2010

    I have the RCA 52" HD and the same problem with the light on and off 3 times but not turning on. For a few weeks it would eventually come on after 30-45 minutes of trying, but now not at all for days!! I want in on the class action suit! And if there isn't one, lets start one! Any lawyers out there? We all got a bad deal and deserve something back! My bedroom tv is an old generic Sears model and it's still working after 20 years! This is ridiculous!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrskelley Oct 04, 2010

    I agree with all the previous post. My husband I and bought the RCA 52' HDTV for $1000 3 years and 1 month ago. This evening our 2 year old turns on the TV and it comes on at first like normal. I was looking for her favorite show and a loud crackling sound and the picture went out.. I immediately turned the TV and moved the baby. I tried to turn it on again after that and still heard the crackling and no picture. We are furious. Will NEVER purchase RCA again!

    0 Votes
  • Mp
    Mpchamp77 Sep 14, 2010

    @helpNu I don't think we expect that but it should last longer than a year at the prices we pay!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mp
    Mpchamp77 Sep 14, 2010

    We to had this problem with our RCA, and it went out RIGHT after our warranty was up. We went and bought new TV. Still have RCA and was going to try to fix it, until we saw all these comments. Now I think RCA should have to pay..

    0 Votes
  • Hd
    HDTV OWNER Sep 06, 2010

    WE ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS(3X BLINKING, NOW IT WILL NOT COME ON)WAS WATCHING TV TONIGHT AND IT WENT OUT.WE WILL TRY THE BLOW DRYER TEST, HOPEFULLY IT WORKS.ONE THING I AM SURE OF IS THAT R C A (RIPOFF-CHEAP-ACCESSORIES) WILL NEVER MAKE ANOTHER CENT OFF OF ME.PURCHASED 52" HDTV DEC.2005, WE HAVE LESS EXPENSIVE AND OLDER MODEL TV'S IN THE HOUSE WHICH ARE WORKING GREAT.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Christina29302 Sep 04, 2010

    I agree with everyone...I believe we should file a class action suit against RCA!!! We are having the same problems as everyone else our green light would blink on and off and it would take a long time to get the tv to turn on. We left our tv on all the time because we were afraid that if it turned off it wouldn't turn back on. Our electric bill was over 400 a month and our power went off now the tv wont come on at all. It just shows a red dot in the center no picture or sound. I'm so angry that this company does nothing to help us out. We paid so much money for this tv and now it's just junk. We have three other tv's that are over 10 years olds in our house that work great it's ashamed that the newest most expensive doesn't work at all.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kesia Thomas Sep 03, 2010

    i purchased a 52" rca hdtv 3 yrs ago green light comes on but nothing i paid $60 for the repairman to tell me it was a transformer gone bad and it would be between $200-$700 to get fixed i am too pissed i wanna no bout that lawsuit as well!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.