Wood for Life - Reclaimed Wood FurnitureScam! Fraud! Warning!

V
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Wood for Life is Fraudulent company! Watch out! The owner of the company Wood for Life, Brittany Boyd, stole our money! She took our deposit and never delivered the reclaimed wood furniture we ordered. It has been over a month since the originally promised delivery date. But we have only gotten repeated false promises of delivery and a refund from Wood for Life's owner Brittany Boyd . We filed complaints about Wood for Life with the Better Business Bureau, Canadian Anti-Fraud Center and the Consumer Protection Branch of the Ministry of Consumer Services. Avoid the company "wood for life"! They're web address is www.woodforlife.com and advertise in online classified ads like kijiji. They promote the fact that their features in the Ottawa Citizen and when we did our research before contacting with them, we didn't find any reviews. I'm hoping this review will help others.

We found out after our incident that Wood for Life received a FAIL rating on the better business bureau
http://www.bbb.org/ottawa/business-reviews/building-materials-used/wood-for-life-in-winchester-on-47039

This is the most unethical company we have ever dealt with. Wood for life are simply thieves!!

Responses

  • Ro
    robagain Dec 17, 2016

    as a business owner in the same industry as these people, we have had problems with them using our images on their site and presenting them as their own. we have brought it to their attention with no luck. We found them to be downright rude and disrespectful.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stop WFL Jan 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear fellow Wood For Life Upset Customers,

    Brittany Boyd of Wood For Life has also recently victimized me. Our initial meetings and communications were good, she was very quick to reply and showed beautiful photos of custom wood furniture that she claims to have done. However things quickly changed after she received our deposit. She claimed that it would take 6-8 weeks to complete our order. After 8 weeks I contacted her to request a completion date when she replied to me with design questions. It was obvious that the work on our order had not yet started. Fast forward many weeks later, our order was finally complete. When we went to pick it up, it was not what we expected. The final product was not as we discussed nor did it resemble the photo we provided; it was made of pine and not reclaimed hemlock as she claimed it would be and the quality and workmanship was poor. This was immediately brought to her attention, and she claimed she would make the fixes. At this point I began looking into Wood For Life and found all the negative reviews and testimonials.
    Knowing that we were not dealing with an honest and professional company I realized that I would have to cut my losses and have to make the best of this bad situation.

    Several attempts have been made to try and salvage this situation (there are many details of my story that I purposely left out but will share), but it has finally reached an end after several agonizing months. I am now prepared to commence a legal action against Wood For Life and Brittany Boyd. I have read many reviews and want to reach out to other victimized customers to see if you also wish to commence a legal action or if you are willing to provide a character reference. If you are interested please send me an email to [email protected] and I would be happy to discuss. I hope to commence my legal action before 31 January 2016.

    Thanks and hope to hear from you soon.

    If you are not a Wood For Life customer, do yourself a favor and stay far away. Save your hard earned money.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mariah-Lynne Feb 03, 2015

    For all that think your furniture is beautiful... Wait about half a year until your pieces start to warped, bend and have live edge pieces break right off! We bought a live edge table from Brittany and now it looks like a canoe you can take down the Ottawa river, is so bent. Can't even eat a bowl of soup on it because your bowl is on a hill. What a joke not to top it off she took the money no problem then we had to track her down chase her and basically scare her into delivering our products. Every single price we purchased from her which are 10 in total of thousands of dollars are all garbage. Really fire wood now! DO NOT EVER BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! The furniture is not even put together up to code. My children were sitting on the bench she made to go with our live table and it split! Now my kids are 3 and 1 and half. That's not a lot of weight on a 8 foot bench! I'm thinking of going for a law suit being that her furniture is unsafe and she knows that when she sells and delivers! Not good quality furniture at all! Will never buy there again!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    ShannonG95 Dec 19, 2014

    I ordered a counter top from Wood for life in July 2014 and was told an 8 week delivery time. We provided a deposit. It is now December 2014 and they have indicated they are not going to deliver the product. They are unprofessional and have not returned numerous requests for getting the deposit back. I have spoken to Ottawa Police and will be taking further legal action. Do not do business with these people.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thedude74 Jul 18, 2014

    We've had a similar experience just recently. We met her in person and didn't think to go looking for these sorts of complaints. Seemed like a small little business when we went to their hobby farm to look at their shop and place our order.
    We ordered a table and a bench 3 months ago and it still isn't here. Every negative post here is almost identical to our experience with Brittany...We have called many times to try and get an update on where the pieces are at, we've asked for pictures, etc... and finally just requested a flat out a refund of our deposit.
    It boggles my mind how this woman openly takes people's money and then has to deal with angry people calling and visiting to get their money back.
    If I don't get my deposit back next week, i'll be paying a visit to their place in person.
    Absolutely ridiculous scam! I should have done my homework I guess:(

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    billtheman Jul 07, 2014

    i too have had bad experiences, and would not deal with them again!

    0 Votes
  • I wish I had read all these complaints before I ordered my table and benches from Wood for life. After months of waiting and several emails & phone calls I finally received my table and benches. At first they looked good. Three days later the table warped so much it was almost impossible to keep from wobbling. The finish was rough and the wood was put on upside down on the benches. I contacted Brittany immediately and was "Guaranteed" that the products would be replaced. There were many excuses for the delay but now my calls and emails are unanswered. It has been over almost 3 months since I complained about the warping.

    I will never deal with these people again and will gladly share my bad experience with others looking for reclaimed wood products.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    bubbly.bubbles.love.bubbles Jan 03, 2014

    I found this company online, and at first glance seemed great. I received a phone call back from Brittany relatively quickly. I ordered a kitchen island which required a deposit. I waited about a month and a bit, and after emailing with no response, finally heard back that the island would be ready for pick up on December 23rd. We had ordered it for the holidays, something they were well aware of. I emailed them on the 19th to confirm the pick up date, and received an email the morning on the 23rd that it wasn't ready. No reasoning as to why- simply that it wasn't ready. At that point I did a little more digging and found numerous complaints about this company. I left Brittany a voicemail expressing how incredibly upset I was, and that I expected a phone call back immediately. I also went onto their FB account and commented on several pictures saying that they needed to contact me as they took my money and weren't being accessible. This managed to get a phone call back. Brittany was going on about all the reasons she didn't have it ready, and that the BBB is a scam that business have to pay for to get a good review. She said it would be ready for January 3rd (today). Again, I emailed and FB her on the 2nd to ensure I could pick it up. I got a phone call that day from her- she said she was at the hospital with her husband and that the island wasn't ready. I asked at that time for my deposit back, as while I appreciated her circumstances, it was getting ridiculous. Any person who runs a business knows that you need to inform your customers well before the day of that a product isn't ready. Combined with the reviews online and the constant delay in pick up (not to mention the lack of communication and the constant refusal of sending photos of the island) it became clear we were not going to get this island.

    I am now in the process of trying to get my deposit back. Again, I am having to email, call and send FB messages to hopefully get this company to see that what they are doing is ridiculous.

    I am not saying that this company is a scam. If anything, it is a very, very poorly run group that has no appreciation for others' time and money. I really wish I had seen those other reviews before doing business with them. This entire thing has been such a colossal waste of my time. I'm sure they've had customers happy with their work, as Brittany mentioned to me many times. I can tell you that this was the worst experience I've ever had with a business of this nature. There are many other businesses in Ottawa that deserve your business.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scammed 21 Oct 22, 2013

    Anyone thinking of doing business with this company think again. The owners, Britney and Thomas BOYD will happily take your payment, full payment if they can get it but will not supply you with any furniture and will avoid your calls. Please take a look at the Better Business Bureau rating (F) and complaints received. If you’re still not put off by that then ask Wood For Life to actually show you what they’re making as I’ve been to their new premises in Manotick and there’s no sign of a workshop or that any furniture is being made.
    After receiving full payment in early June 2013 for a $1200 Harvest table with a completion date of late July, Britney then avoided my calls. I managed to speak to her early August, after calling from a different number and she told me they were behind due to the move from Winchester but that my table would be ready mid August. I then contacted her again on 1 September as I hadn’t heard from them to be told that the table was fully built but had not been varnished so they needed 2 more weeks.i I informed them that I had an Important dinner party in mid September and had sold my present table because of their promises. They informed me that it would be ready the night before the dinner party. I then called them in on that day and Britney confirmed that the table would be ready for collection at 7pm. She then called me back a 2pm telling me the table was in pieces and would therefore not be ready. On questioning her further she hung up. I then attended their new address on Downey Road, Manotick and, as I approached Thomas saw me and walked quickly to the house, leaving Britney to face the questions. She again told me that the table was faulty so they had to remove the legs. I asked to see the table in order to confirm her story. She then admitted she had been lying all along and that they hadn’t actually started building the table. She then promised, on video that it would be built and complete by 10 October 2013. On 10 October she contacted me to ask for 2 more days. I asked for proof that the table was being built and she sent me a photo, now believed to be a previous project from the Winchester premises. I again gave her the 2 days and so received a further text for yet another 2. On Sunday 20 Oct I travelled over to Manotick again to find the gate locked, even though Britney had told me it would be ready. I then called her and got voicemail. She then called back telling me no one was home and I couldn’t have the table or the $1200. I’ve since received texts from her indicating that I should stop complaining and not attend the premises.

    The company appears to have gone from a legitimate business, when based in Winchester to a couple that are openly defrauding people. On the surface they appear to be very pleasant but, once they have your money they will stop at nothing to avoid customers calls and complaints

    Do not deal with this company and, if like me, it appears that they took your payment with no intention of ever supplying the goods, file a report with the Ottawa Police as it’s clearly fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Victim of Scam / Fraud by Wood for Life Aug 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Update added by user less than a minute ago
    UPDATE: we did receive our furniture on April 30th after a few more broken promises of delivery. Brittany did give us a discount for our troubles which was appreciated. Overall, products were nice - they were sturdy and constructed well. But if you take a close look there were some areas that were not sanded well and there were stain drips/unevenness. From far away or a quick glance - you wouldn't notice. For the price though especially with the discount, we felt that the pieces were good value.

    0 Votes
  • To
    ToddSmith10 Jul 15, 2013

    we have had many pieces of beautiful reclaimed furniture built by wood for life and they blew our socks off every time. we recomend them to anybody.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gisrem May 30, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have experienced much unprofessional service and failed delivery of product requested! I do not recommend this company, Wood for Life, for thy have taken our payment in full while promising to exchange the product with he requested one. Two months later I have yet to receive a response from my emails requesting a receipt of payment and a returned phone call. Brittany is an unprofessional woman full of excuses and we trusted them with our money. She and her rude husband lost future business with us!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.